DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 1-2, recites “the composition”. The claim should instead read “the compression molding composition”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A compression molding composition comprising:
an emulsion-polymerized polytetrafluoroethylene;
a heat-processible fluoropolymer;
And a filler;
wherein:
a melt flow rate (MFR) of the heat-processible fluoropolymer is from 0.01 to 100 g/10 min; and
a content of the heat-processible fluoropolymer is from 1 to 40 mass% relative to a total of the emulsion-polymerized polytetrafluoroethylene and the heat-processible fluoropolymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto (EP 3246583 as listed on IDS dated March 17, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto discloses in Example 2 a composition comprising 65 wt% of a modified polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), 25 wt% of a tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether (PFA), and 15 wt% of carbon fiber ([0057-0063], Table 1), thereby reading on the polytetrafluoroethylene, heat-processible fluoropolymer, and filler. The amount of the heat-processible fluoropolymer is calculated to be a content of 23 mass% of relative to the total of the polytetrafluoroethylene and heat-processible fluoropolymer, thereby lying within the claimed range. Matsumoto disclose the PFA resin is ACX21, which has a MFR of 6 g/10 min as evidenced by the datasheet provided in this Office Action and thereby lying within the claimed range.
Matsumoto is silent on if the polytetrafluoroethylene is emulsion-polymerized.
However, the present claim is a product-by-process claim. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (MPEP § 2113 (quoting In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).) If the prior art teaches the same product as the product formed by the process recited in the claims at issue, the claims are unpatentable. However, if the process of the claims at issue results in a product that is different from the product taught by the prior art, then the prior art does not teach the invention recited in the claims at issue.
Regarding claim 2 and 3, Matsumoto discloses in Example 2 the heat-processible fluoropolymer is a tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether copolymer [0057-0063], thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4 and 5, Matsumoto discloses the composition of Example 2 was molded to form a bearing [0057-0063], thereby reading on the molded product of claim 4 and the sliding material of claim 5.
Regarding claim 8, Matsumoto discloses the composition of Example 2 is formed by mixing the polytetrafluoroethylene, heat-processible fluoropolymer, and filler together in a mixer and compression molded [0057-0063], thereby reading on the method for producing the compression molding composition as recited in the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (EP 3246583 as listed on IDS dated March 17, 2023).
The compression molding composition of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 7, Matsumoto discloses the composition of Example 2 is formed by mixing the polytetrafluoroethylene, heat-processible fluoropolymer, and filler together in a mixer and compression molded [0057-0063].
Matsumoto do not teach the emulsion-polymerized polytetrafluoroethylene and heat-processible are mixed first as recited in the instant claim.
However, Matsumoto broadly teaches any blending methods as long as three elements are maintained in a good dispersion state [0033]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to change the order of the blending method as recited in the instant claim.
Furthermore, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. (In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (EP 3246583 as listed on IDS dated March 17, 2023) in view of Echizen (JP 2018109149 as listed on IDS dated July 12, 2018).
The examiner refers to the machine English translation of Echizen provided in this Office Action.
The molded product of claim 4 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 6, Matsumoto is silent on the molding product is a sealing material.
Echizen teaches a polytetrafluoroethylene composition used to form a molded article that is a sliding material or a sealing material (claim 3). Matsumoto is also concerned with molded articles formed from a polytetrafluoroethylene composition (claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the composition of Matsumoto to form a molded article that is a sealing material as taught by Echizen since both are related to molded polytetrafluoroethylene compositions and it is well known in the industry to use polytetrafluoroethylene compositions to form a sealing material.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763