DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 3/20/23, wherein:
Claims 1, 3, and 21-30 are currently pending; and
Claims 2 and 4-20 are cancelled.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on international application number PCT/JP2022041376. It is noted, however, that a certified copy of the priority documents has not been received from the International Bureau as required.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “Learning Mastery Calculator”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 recites a device and therefore, falls into a statutory category. Similar independent claims 21, 23, 26, and 29 recite a device, and therefore, also fall into a statutory category. Claim 1 is used as the exemplary claim.
Step 2A – Prong 1 (Is a Judicial Exception Recited?): The following underlined limitations identify the abstract limitations which are considered mental processes
a processor;
a first memory configured to store a program;
a second memory configured to store learning target contents and activity details respectively related to the learning target contents; and
a third memory configured to store learned contents corresponding to identification information regarding learners, wherein
each activity detail includes any of a type of business run by a corporation or an individual, a type of job, and an education detail provided by an educational institution, and an examination detail provided by an educational institution,
each content includes a vocabulary, and a chunk as an assembly of vocabularies that means a collective body of information recognized by humans, and
through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to
receive, from a terminal of a learner, information on a content having been learned,
cause the third memory to store the received content as a learned content in association with identification information regarding the learner,
receive identification information regarding a learner and information on an activity detail,
extract, based on the information stored in the second memory and the third memory, a learned content related to the received activity detail out of a learned content corresponding to the received identification information regarding the learner, and
calculate, based on the extracted learned content, a content mastery degree of the learner with respect to the received activity detail.
These limitations constitute calculating how much of the desired content that relates to a specific goal the user has learned, which are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting that the device includes:
Claim 1: a processor; a first memory; a second memory, a third memory, and a terminal of the learner;
Claim 21: a processor; a first memory; a second memory, a third memory, and a terminal of the learner;
Claim 23: a processor; a first memory; a second memory, a third memory, and a terminal of the learner;
Claim 26: a processor; a first memory; a second memory, a third memory, and a terminal of the learner; and
Claim 29: a processor; a first memory; a second memory, a third memory, and a terminal of the learner;
nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Alternatively, the following underlined limitations identify the abstract limitations which are considered certain methods of organizing human activity
a processor;
a first memory configured to store a program;
a second memory configured to store learning target contents and activity details respectively related to the learning target contents; and
a third memory configured to store learned contents corresponding to identification information regarding learners, wherein
each activity detail includes any of a type of business run by a corporation or an individual, a type of job, and an education detail provided by an educational institution, and an examination detail provided by an educational institution,
each content includes a vocabulary, and a chunk as an assembly of vocabularies that means a collective body of information recognized by humans, and
through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to
receive, from a terminal of a learner, information on a content having been learned,
cause the third memory to store the received content as a learned content in association with identification information regarding the learner,
receive identification information regarding a learner and information on an activity detail,
extract, based on the information stored in the second memory and the third memory, a learned content related to the received activity detail out of a learned content corresponding to the received identification information regarding the learner, and
calculate, based on the extracted learned content, a content mastery degree of the learner with respect to the received activity detail.
These limitations constitute calculating how much of the desired content that relates to a specific goal the user has learned, which are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are considered certain methods of organizing human activity – commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts and marketing or sales activities or behaviors) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. The types of identified abstract ideas are considered together as a single abstract idea for analysis purposes.
Step 2A-Prong 2 (Is the Exception Integrated into a Practical Application?): This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of a processor; a first memory; a second memory, a third memory, and a terminal of the learner. The computer components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processing device performing generic computer functions), such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Additionally, the storing and receiving limitations may be considered insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea when considered both individually and as a whole. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The limitations reciting “through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to…” provide nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). MPEP 2106.05(f) provides the following considerations for determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer: (1) whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished; (2) whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process; and (3) the particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception. Here, the computers are invoked merely as a tool to perform existing processes. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to Significantly More than the Judicial Exception?): The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer to perform the steps of the abstract idea amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, the claims simply append well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, in the form of the extra-solution activity. The courts have recognized that the computer functions claimed (the receiving and storing limitations) as WURC (see 2106.05(d), identifying receiving or transmitting data over a network as WURC, as recognized by Symantec, identifying storing information in memory as WURC, as recognized by Versata). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible, as when viewed individually, and as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 25, 28, and 30 merely recite further embellishments of the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 26, and 29 as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, and these features only serve to further limit the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 26, and 29; however, none of the dependent claims recite an improvement to a technology or technical field or provide any meaningful limits.
Claims 3, 22, 24, and 27 further recites the additional element of a terminal, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Even in combination, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims are ineligible.
In light of the detailed explanation and evidence provided above, the Examiner asserts that the claimed invention, when the limitations are considered individually and as whole, is directed towards an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 21, 22, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 22, 24, and 27 refer to “a terminal” which is unclear. The independent claims refer to a terminal of a learner. It is unclear if this is a second terminal or intended to refer to the terminal of a learner. Clarification is required.
Claim 21 states, “receive information …regarding a learner” which is unclear. The limitation before has already referred to a learner, so it is unclear if this is a different learner, or if this refers to the learner from that limitation. For the purposes of further examination, Examiner assumes that this refers to the learner from the preceding limitation.
Notice
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harris et al. (US 20190385471).
Referring to claim 1:
Harris discloses an information processing device comprising: a processor {Harris [0078]; one or more computer server computing devices 102 [0078]};
a first memory configured to store a program {Harris [0080]; Server 102 may be configured to run one or more server software applications or services, for example, web-based or cloud-based services [0080]};
a second memory configured to store learning target contents and activity details respectively related to the learning target contents {Harris [0085] [0112][0113]; one or more data stores 110 may reside on a non-transitory storage medium within the server 102 [0085] and The first data source, possibly a job profile database, data table, data record, etc., may include one or more job profiles containing one or more job descriptions [0112]}; and
a third memory configured to store learned contents corresponding to identification information regarding learners {Harris [0085][0128] Fig. 4A; one or more data stores 110 may reside on a non-transitory storage medium within the server 102 [0085] and where Fig. 4A shows the names of several learners as Liz, Arnold, and Carlos}, wherein
each activity detail includes any of a type of business run by a corporation or an individual, a type of job, and an education detail provided by an educational institution, and an examination detail provided by an educational institution {Harris [0050][0112]; The first data source, possibly a job profile database, data table, data record, etc., may include one or more job profiles containing one or more job descriptions. Each job profile/description may also include one or more required competencies including tasks required for competence in the associated job profile [0112]},
each content includes a vocabulary, and a chunk as an assembly of vocabularies that means a collective body of information recognized by humans {Harris [0184]; the parents may have access to a vocabulary for each one of the lessons, which the parent may select in their native language, which helps the parent to develop the context of what is being covered in a specific unit or chapter [0184]}, and
through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to receive, from a terminal of a learner, information on a content having been learned {Harris [0105][0123][0130] [0140]; Server 112 may generate a GUI for the user including the first assessment question and transmit the GUI to the user's client 106 for display. The user may input a response for the question and submit the GUI for transmission to server 112. Server 112 may receive and score the response [0130]},
cause the third memory to store the received content as a learned content in association with identification information regarding the learner {Harris [0085][0113][0128][0141] Fig. 4A; In response to the user logging in and beginning the assessment, server 112 may generate a dynamic structure for the assessment questions including a number of questions, and a randomly assigned question type for each of the questions [0128] where the user log in provides identification information and Server 112 may update the user's GSE score to reflect weighted score from their response to the question [0130]},
receive identification information regarding a learner and information on an activity detail {Harris [0128][0149]-[0153]; In response to the user logging in and beginning the assessment, server 112 may generate a dynamic structure for the assessment questions including a number of questions, and a randomly assigned question type for each of the questions [0128] and Server 112 may then receive input from each learner's GUI 360 as they complete each learning module [0151]},
extract, based on the information stored in the second memory and the third memory, a learned content related to the received activity detail out of a learned content corresponding to the received identification information regarding the learner {Harris [0110][0128]; Specifically, job seekers would benefit from a system that evaluates the career goals of particular employees and candidates, and generated a personalized course profile defining a series of learning objectives, skills and/or tasks that the employees or candidates must master to qualify for a job matching a job description for the employee or candidate's defined career goals [0110]}, and
calculate, based on the extracted learned content, a content mastery degree of the learner with respect to the received activity detail {Harris [0140]-[0147][0156]-[0159]; Server 112 may generate a learner GUI 360, providing access to the reporting data from the assessment, as well as the personalized curriculum 375 generated by server 112 for the learner [0147] and Each learner's online performance dashboard and/or Learner GUI 360 may then display the assessment results, informing the learner of strengths and weaknesses for the assessed skills, as well as the learner's customized core curriculum content 310 [0149]}.
Referring to claim 3:
Harris discloses wherein through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to transmit, to a terminal, a display instruction signal for causing the terminal to display the calculated content mastery degree of the learner {Harris [0140]-[0147][0156]-[0159] and Fig. 3A; Server 112 may generate a learner GUI 360, providing access to the reporting data from the assessment, as well as the personalized curriculum 375 generated by server 112 for the learner [0147] and where Fig. 3A shows the GUI is generated on the learner client, thereby requiring transmittal from the server}.
Referring to claim 25:
Harris discloses wherein the identification information regarding a learner includes an identification number of the learner assigned in advance, an identification number of the terminal of the learner assigned in advance, or a user ID registered in a content learning application installed in the terminal of the learner {Harris [0085][0113][0128][0141] Fig. 4A; In response to the user logging in and beginning the assessment, server 112 may generate a dynamic structure for the assessment questions including a number of questions, and a randomly assigned question type for each of the questions [0128] where the user log in is the user ID}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. (US 20190385471), in view of Jedrzejewski et al. (US 20200372034).
Referring to claim 21:
Harris discloses an information processing device comprising: a processor {Harris [0078]; one or more computer server computing devices 102 [0078]};
a first memory configured to store a program {Harris [0080]; Server 102 may be configured to run one or more server software applications or services, for example, web-based or cloud-based services [0080]};
a second memory configured to store learning target contents and activity details respectively related to the learning target contents {Harris [0085] [0112][0113]; one or more data stores 110 may reside on a non-transitory storage medium within the server 102 [0085] and The first data source, possibly a job profile database, data table, data record, etc., may include one or more job profiles containing one or more job descriptions [0112]}; and
a third memory configured to store learned contents corresponding to identification information regarding learners {Harris [0085][0128] Fig. 4A; one or more data stores 110 may reside on a non-transitory storage medium within the server 102 [0085] and where Fig. 4A shows the names of several learners as Liz, Arnold, and Carlos}, wherein
each activity detail includes any of a type of business run by a corporation or an individual, a type of job, and an education detail provided by an educational institution, and an examination detail provided by an educational institution {Harris [0050][0112]; The first data source, possibly a job profile database, data table, data record, etc., may include one or more job profiles containing one or more job descriptions. Each job profile/description may also include one or more required competencies including tasks required for competence in the associated job profile [0112]},
each content includes a vocabulary, and a chunk as an assembly of vocabularies that means a collective body of information recognized by humans {Harris [0184]; the parents may have access to a vocabulary for each one of the lessons, which the parent may select in their native language, which helps the parent to develop the context of what is being covered in a specific unit or chapter [0184]}, and
through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to receive, from a terminal of a learner, information on a content having been learned {Harris [0105][0123][0130] [0140]; Server 112 may generate a GUI for the user including the first assessment question and transmit the GUI to the user's client 106 for display. The user may input a response for the question and submit the GUI for transmission to server 112. Server 112 may receive and score the response [0130]},
cause the third memory to store the received content as a learned content in association with identification information regarding the learner {Harris [0085][0113][0128][0141] Fig. 4A; In response to the user logging in and beginning the assessment, server 112 may generate a dynamic structure for the assessment questions including a number of questions, and a randomly assigned question type for each of the questions [0128] where the user log in provides identification information and Server 112 may update the user's GSE score to reflect weighted score from their response to the question [0130]},
receive identification information regarding a learner and information on an activity detail {Harris [0128][0149]-[0153]; In response to the user logging in and beginning the assessment, server 112 may generate a dynamic structure for the assessment questions including a number of questions, and a randomly assigned question type for each of the questions [0128] and Server 112 may then receive input from each learner's GUI 360 as they complete each learning module [0151]},
extract, based on the information stored in the third memory, learned contents corresponding to the received identification information regarding the learner {Harris [0110][0128]; Specifically, job seekers would benefit from a system that evaluates the career goals of particular employees and candidates, and generated a personalized course profile defining a series of learning objectives, skills and/or tasks that the employees or candidates must master to qualify for a job matching a job description for the employee or candidate's defined career goals [0110]},
calculate, based on the information stored in the second memory and the extracted learned contents, a content mastery degree of the learner with respect to each activity detail {Harris [0140]-[0147][0156]-[0159]; Server 112 may generate a learner GUI 360, providing access to the reporting data from the assessment, as well as the personalized curriculum 375 generated by server 112 for the learner [0147] and Each learner's online performance dashboard and/or Learner GUI 360 may then display the assessment results, informing the learner of strengths and weaknesses for the assessed skills, as well as the learner's customized core curriculum content 310 [0149]}, and
output information on said each activity detail [in a descending order] of the calculated content mastery degree of the learner {Harris [0140]-[0147] [0156]-[0159] and Fig. 3A; Server 112 may generate a learner GUI 360, providing access to the reporting data from the assessment, as well as the personalized curriculum 375 generated by server 112 for the learner [0147] where Harris does not disclose the portion of the claim in brackets, i.e., that the information is output in a descending order; however, this is addressed below}.
Harris discloses a system for assessment-based assignment of remediation and enhancement activities (abstract). Harris does not disclose outputting the information in a descending order.
However, Jedrzejewski discloses a similar system for scoring content that corresponds to an educational course or textbook (abstract). Jedrzejewski discloses outputting the information in a descending order {Jedrzejewski [0275]; When selected (e.g., via input circuitry of the client device), the sort button 3010 may cause the interface 3000 to be updated to display the assessment items of the table in an ordered list (e.g., ordered lowest to highest or highest to lowest) according to the content health scores of the assessment items of Section 1 [0275]}.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the information output by the system disclosed in Harris to incorporate outputting the information in a descending order as taught by Jedrzejewski because this would provide a manner for sorting the information (Jedrzejewski [0275]), thus aiding the user by allowing them to easily identify their strengths and weaknesses.
Referring to claim 22:
Harris, as modified by Jedrzejewski discloses wherein through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to transmit, to a terminal, a display instruction signal for causing the terminal to display the outputted information on said each activity detail [in the descending order] of the content mastery degree of the learner {Harris [0140]-[0147][0156]-[0159] and Fig. 3A; Server 112 may generate a learner GUI 360, providing access to the reporting data from the assessment, as well as the personalized curriculum 375 generated by server 112 for the learner [0147] and where Fig. 3A shows the GUI is generated on the learner client, thereby requiring transmittal from the server and where Harris does not disclose the portion of the claim in brackets, i.e., that the information is output in a descending order; however, this is addressed below}.
Harris, as modified by Jedrzejewski, discloses outputting the information in a descending order {Jedrzejewski [0275]; When selected (e.g., via input circuitry of the client device), the sort button 3010 may cause the interface 3000 to be updated to display the assessment items of the table in an ordered list (e.g., ordered lowest to highest or highest to lowest) according to the content health scores of the assessment items of Section 1 [0275]}.
Referring to claim 23:
Harris discloses an information processing device comprising: a processor {Harris [0078]; one or more computer server computing devices 102 [0078]};
a first memory configured to store a program {Harris [0080]; Server 102 may be configured to run one or more server software applications or services, for example, web-based or cloud-based services [0080]};
a second memory configured to store learning target contents and activity details respectively related to the learning target contents {Harris [0085] [0112][0113]; one or more data stores 110 may reside on a non-transitory storage medium within the server 102 [0085] and The first data source, possibly a job profile database, data table, data record, etc., may include one or more job profiles containing one or more job descriptions [0112]}; and
a third memory configured to store learned contents corresponding to identification information regarding learners {Harris [0085][0128] Fig. 4A; one or more data stores 110 may reside on a non-transitory storage medium within the server 102 [0085] and where Fig. 4A shows the names of several learners as Liz, Arnold, and Carlos}, wherein
each activity detail includes any of a type of business run by a corporation or an individual, a type of job, and an education detail provided by an educational institution, and an examination detail provided by an educational institution {Harris [0050][0112]; The first data source, possibly a job profile database, data table, data record, etc., may include one or more job profiles containing one or more job descriptions. Each job profile/description may also include one or more required competencies including tasks required for competence in the associated job profile [0112]},
each content includes a vocabulary, and a chunk as an assembly of vocabularies that means a collective body of information recognized by humans {Harris [0184]; the parents may have access to a vocabulary for each one of the lessons, which the parent may select in their native language, which helps the parent to develop the context of what is being covered in a specific unit or chapter [0184]}, and
through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to receive, from a terminal of a learner, information on a content having been learned {Harris [0105][0123][0130] [0140]; Server 112 may generate a GUI for the user including the first assessment question and transmit the GUI to the user's client 106 for display. The user may input a response for the question and submit the GUI for transmission to server 112. Server 112 may receive and score the response [0130]},
cause the third memory to store the received content as a learned content in association with identification information regarding the learner {Harris [0085][0113][0128][0141] Fig. 4A; In response to the user logging in and beginning the assessment, server 112 may generate a dynamic structure for the assessment questions including a number of questions, and a randomly assigned question type for each of the questions [0128] where the user log in provides identification information and Server 112 may update the user's GSE score to reflect weighted score from their response to the question [0130]},
receive information on an activity detail {Harris [0050][0112]; where the job description, job-related tasks, learning objectives, and GSE skill level for each learning objective has not been integrated within the database 110, server 112 may generate integrated data (e.g., integrated data records) from two or more data sources. The first data source, possibly a job profile database, data table, data record, etc., may include one or more job profiles containing one or more job descriptions. Each job profile/description may also include one or more required competencies including tasks required for competence in the associated job profile [0112]},
calculate, based on the information stored in the second memory and the third memory, a content mastery degree of each learner with respect to the received activity detail according to the learned contents corresponding to identification information regarding learners {Harris [0140]-[0147][0156]-[0159]; Server 112 may generate a learner GUI 360, providing access to the reporting data from the assessment, as well as the personalized curriculum 375 generated by server 112 for the learner [0147] and Each learner's online performance dashboard and/or Learner GUI 360 may then display the assessment results, informing the learner of strengths and weaknesses for the assessed skills, as well as the learner's customized core curriculum content 310 [0149]}, and
output identification information regarding said each learner [in a descending order] of the calculated content mastery degree {Harris [0122] and Fig. 4A; initially, this control panel 320 may display: instructional and/or training materials for operating the disclosed system; instructor training materials; instructor profile data 330, including details about each of the instructors within the institution; learner data 335 including details about each of the learners within the institution; etc. [0122] and where Fig. 4A shows the GUI includes the names of the learners and their mastery and where Harris does not disclose the portion of the claim in brackets, i.e., that the information is output in a descending order; however, this is addressed below}.
Harris discloses a system for assessment-based assignment of remediation and enhancement activities (abstract). Harris does not disclose outputting the information in a descending order.
However, Jedrzejewski discloses a similar system for scoring content that corresponds to an educational course or textbook (abstract). Jedrzejewski discloses outputting the information in a descending order {Jedrzejewski [0275]; When selected (e.g., via input circuitry of the client device), the sort button 3010 may cause the interface 3000 to be updated to display the assessment items of the table in an ordered list (e.g., ordered lowest to highest or highest to lowest) according to the content health scores of the assessment items of Section 1 [0275]}.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the information output by the system disclosed in Harris to incorporate outputting the information in a descending order as taught by Jedrzejewski because this would provide a manner for sorting the information (Jedrzejewski [0275]), thus aiding the user by allowing them to easily identify their strengths and weaknesses.
Referring to claim 24:
Harris, as modified by Jedrzejewski, discloses wherein through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to transmit, to a terminal, a display instruction signal for causing the terminal to display the outputted identification information regarding said each learner in the descending order of the content mastery degree {Harris [0122] and Fig. 4A; initially, this control panel 320 may display: instructional and/or training materials for operating the disclosed system; instructor training materials; instructor profile data 330, including details about each of the instructors within the institution; learner data 335 including details about each of the learners within the institution; etc. [0122] and where Fig. 4A shows the GUI includes the names of the learners, their activity detail, in that the GSE scores (an education detail) are provided, and where Harris does not disclose the portion of the claim in brackets, i.e., that the information is output in a descending order; however, this is addressed below}.
Harris, as modified by Jedrzejewski, discloses outputting the information in a descending order {Jedrzejewski [0275]; When selected (e.g., via input circuitry of the client device), the sort button 3010 may cause the interface 3000 to be updated to display the assessment items of the table in an ordered list (e.g., ordered lowest to highest or highest to lowest) according to the content health scores of the assessment items of Section 1 [0275]}.
Claims 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. (US 20190385471), in view of Qu (US 20120164607).
Referring to claim 26:
Harris discloses an information processing device comprising: a processor {Harris [0078]; one or more computer server computing devices 102 [0078]};
a first memory configured to store a program {Harris [0080]; Server 102 may be configured to run one or more server software applications or services, for example, web-based or cloud-based services [0080]};
a second memory configured to store learning target contents and related contents respectively to the learning target contents {Harris [0056][0085] [0112][0113]; one or more data stores 110 may reside on a non-transitory storage medium within the server 102 [0085] and Each job profile/description may also include one or more required competencies including tasks required for competence in the associated job profile [0112]}; and
a third memory configured to store learned contents corresponding to identification information regarding learners {Harris [0085][0128] Fig. 4A; one or more data stores 110 may reside on a non-transitory storage medium within the server 102 [0085] and where Fig. 4A shows the names of several learners as Liz, Arnold, and Carlos}, wherein
each content includes [a part forming a character, a character,] a vocabulary, and a chunk as an assembly of vocabularies that means a collective body of information recognized by humans {Harris [0184]; the parents may have access to a vocabulary for each one of the lessons, which the parent may select in their native language, which helps the parent to develop the context of what is being covered in a specific unit or chapter [0184] where Harris does not disclose the portion of the limitation in brackets, and this is addressed below}, and
through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to receive a learning target content and identification information regarding a learner {Harris [0105][0123] [0128] [0130][0140] [0149]-[0153]; Server 112 may generate a GUI for the user including the first assessment question and transmit the GUI to the user's client 106 for display. The user may input a response for the question and submit the GUI for transmission to server 112. Server 112 may receive and score the response [0130] and In response to the user logging in and beginning the assessment, server 112 may generate a dynamic structure for the assessment questions including a number of questions, and a randomly assigned question type for each of the questions [0128] and Server 112 may then receive input from each learner's GUI 360 as they complete each learning module [0151]},
extract, based on the information stored in the second memory, a related content corresponding to the received learning target content {Harris [0110][0128]; Specifically, job seekers would benefit from a system that evaluates the career goals of particular employees and candidates, and generated a personalized course profile defining a series of learning objectives, skills and/or tasks that the employees or candidates must master to qualify for a job matching a job description for the employee or candidate's defined career goals [0110]}, and
output, based on the information stored in the third memory and out of the extracted related content, a learned content corresponding to the received identification information regarding the learner {Harris [0110][0140]-[0147] [0156]-[0159] and Fig. 3A; Server 112 may generate a learner GUI 360, providing access to the reporting data from the assessment, as well as the personalized curriculum 375 generated by server 112 for the learner [0147]}.
Harris discloses a system for assessment-based assignment of remediation and enhancement activities (abstract). Harris does not disclose each content includes a part forming a character, a character, and each related content includes a content related to the corresponding learning target content in terms of pronunciation, shape, or meaning.
However, Qu discloses a similar system for multidimensional Chinese learning (abstract). Qu discloses each content includes a part forming a character, a character, and each related content includes a content related to the corresponding learning target content in terms of pronunciation, shape, or meaning {Qu [0057]-[0069]; PinYin study is to learn the initials, finals, overall pronunciations, syllabic pronunciations, and four tones of Chinese characters, including initial study, single-final study, multiple-final study, overall pronunciations and PinYin exercises. PinYin study sets up buttons for initials, single-final, multiple final, overall pronunciations and PinYin exercises in computer user interface, each stage of the study comprising function buttons for PinYin and alphabetic writing, pronunciation tips [0057] and Recognizing study is to learn the five basic strokes, stroke orders and structures of Chinese characters, to learn components which can construct characters, and single characters and integrated characters constructed by said components, and then to practice component encoding [0058]}.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed in Harris to incorporate studying forming characters and learning pronunciation as taught by Qu because this would provide a manner for learning Chinese characters step by step (Qu [0058]), thus aiding the user by allowing them to learn a new language.
Referring to claim 27:
Harris, as modified by Qu, discloses wherein through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to transmit, to a terminal of the learner, a display instruction signal for causing the terminal to display the outputted learned content {Harris [0110][0128][0140]-[0147] [0156]-[0159] and Fig. 3A; Specifically, job seekers would benefit from a system that evaluates the career goals of particular employees and candidates, and generated a personalized course profile defining a series of learning objectives, skills and/or tasks that the employees or candidates must master to qualify for a job matching a job description for the employee or candidate's defined career goals [0110] and Server 112 may generate a learner GUI 360, providing access to the reporting data from the assessment, as well as the personalized curriculum 375 generated by server 112 for the learner [0147] and where Fig. 3A shows the GUI is generated on the learner client, thereby requiring transmittal from the server}.
Referring to claim 28:
Harris, as modified by Qu, discloses wherein the learned contents corresponding to identification information stored in the third memory are also stored in the second memory {Harris [0085][0110][0128]; Computing environment 100 also may include one or more data stores 110 [0085] where the location of storing data is a design choice which does not result in any purported advantage Specifically, job seekers would benefit from a system that evaluates the career goals of particular employees and candidates, and generated a personalized course profile defining a series of learning objectives, skills and/or tasks that the employees or candidates must master to qualify for a job matching a job description for the employee or candidate's defined career goals [0110]}, and
after the related content corresponding to the received learning target content is extracted based on the information stored in the second memory, a learned content corresponding to identification information regarding another learner is also allowed to be outputted based on the information stored in the second memory and out of the extracted related content {Harris [0050]-[0052][0172][0186]; This intake assessment placement test is focused on efficacy, and allows the four primary users to determine and understand the standing of a specific school or other institution, the standing of each student within the school/institution [0050] and This intake assessment placement test is focused on efficacy, and allows the four primary users to determine and understand the standing of a specific school or other institution, the standing of each student within the school/institution [0052] and The director may view any of the grades individually in relation to the GSE, or may drill down to view details of the school, as seen in FIG. 4A to view teacher or student activities [0186]}.
Referring to claim 29:
Harris discloses an information processing device comprising: a processor {Harris [0078]; one or more computer server computing devices 102 [0078]};
a first memory configured to store a program {Harris [0080]; Server 102 may be configured to run one or more server software applications or services, for example, web-based or cloud-based services [0080]}; and
a second memory configured to store learning target contents, related contents respectively to the learning target contents, and activity details respectively related to the learning target contents {Harris [0056][0085] [0112][0113][0144]; one or more data stores 110 may reside on a non-transitory storage medium within the server 102 [0085] and Each job profile/description may also include one or more required competencies including tasks required for competence in the associated job profile [0112] and The first data source, possibly a job profile database, data table, data record, etc., may include one or more job profiles containing one or more job descriptions [0112]}, wherein
each activity detail includes any of a type of business run by a corporation or an individual, a type of job, and an education detail provided by an educational institution, and an examination detail provided by an educational institution {Harris [0050][0112]; The first data source, possibly a job profile database, data table, data record, etc., may include one or more job profiles containing one or more job descriptions. Each job profile/description may also include one or more required competencies including tasks required for competence in the associated job profile [0112]},
each content includes [a part forming a character, a character,] a vocabulary, and a chunk as an assembly of vocabularies that means a collective body of information recognized by humans {Harris [0184]; the parents may have access to a vocabulary for each one of the lessons, which the parent may select in their native language, which helps the parent to develop the context of what is being covered in a specific unit or chapter [0184] where Harris does not disclose the portion of the limitation in brackets, and this is addressed below}, and
through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to receive information on a learning target content and an activity detail from a terminal of a learner {Harris [0105][0123] [0128][0130][0140] [0149]-[0153]; Server 112 may generate a GUI for the user including the first assessment question and transmit the GUI to the user's client 106 for display. The user may input a response for the question and submit the GUI for transmission to server 112. Server 112 may receive and score the response [0130] and In response to the user logging in and beginning the assessment, server 112 may generate a dynamic structure for the assessment questions including a number of questions, and a randomly assigned question type for each of the questions [0128] and Server 112 may then receive input from each learner's GUI 360 as they complete each learning module [0151]},
extract, based on the information stored in the second memory, a related content corresponding to the received learning target content {Harris [0075][0110][0112][0128][0144]; The GSE framework extends, and fills gaps in, the framework of the CEFR and modifies the way in which the learning objectives are presented. Much like the CEFR learning objectives, descriptors for GSE learning objectives relate to functional activities (i.e., specific language tasks) in addition to competencies. . . In order to create a set of learning objectives [0075] and Specifically, job seekers would benefit from a system that evaluates the career goals of particular employees and candidates, and generated a personalized course profile defining a series of learning objectives, skills and/or tasks that the employees or candidates must master to qualify for a job matching a job description for the employee or candidate's defined career goals [0110]}, and
output, out of the extracted related content, a related content corresponding to the received activity detail {Harris [0110][0140]-[0147] [0156]-[0159] and Fig. 3A; generated a personalized course profile defining a series of learning objectives, skills and/or tasks that the employees or candidates must master to qualify for a job matching a job description for the employee or candidate's defined career goals [0110] and Server 112 may then generate a report, to be displayed on GUI 320, 340, 365, 360 including the learner's GSE score, the desired GSE score to be completed within the time frame, and access (e.g., hyperlinks) to the learner's personalized curriculum 375 [0144]}.
Harris discloses a system for assessment-based assignment of remediation and enhancement activities (abstract). Harris does not disclose each content includes a part forming a character, a character, and each related content includes a content related to the corresponding learning target content in terms of pronunciation, shape, or meaning.
However, Qu discloses a similar system for multidimensional Chinese learning (abstract). Qu discloses each content includes a part forming a character, a character, and each related content includes a content related to the corresponding learning target content in terms of pronunciation, shape, or meaning {Qu [0057]-[0069]; PinYin study is to learn the initials, finals, overall pronunciations, syllabic pronunciations, and four tones of Chinese characters, including initial study, single-final study, multiple-final study, overall pronunciations and PinYin exercises. PinYin study sets up buttons for initials, single-final, multiple final, overall pronunciations and PinYin exercises in computer user interface, each stage of the study comprising function buttons for PinYin and alphabetic writing, pronunciation tips [0057] and Recognizing study is to learn the five basic strokes, stroke orders and structures of Chinese characters, to learn components which can construct characters, and single characters and integrated characters constructed by said components, and then to practice component encoding [0058]}.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed in Harris to incorporate studying forming characters and learning pronunciation as taught by Qu because this would provide a manner for learning Chinese characters step by step (Qu [0058]), thus aiding the user by allowing them to learn a new language.
Referring to claim 30:
Harris, as modified by Qu, discloses wherein through execution of the program stored in the first memory, the processor is configured to transmit, to the terminal of the learner, a display instruction signal for causing the terminal to display the outputted related content {Harris [0144]; Server 112 may then generate a report, to be displayed on GUI 320, 340, 365, 360 including the learner's GSE score, the desired GSE score to be completed within the time frame, and access (e.g., hyperlinks) to the learner's personalized curriculum 375 [0144]}.
Conclusion
/CARRIE S GILKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626