DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 3 March 2026 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 11, 14, 16, 18, and 19 are amended. The Office withdraws the drawing objections, section 112(a) rejections, and section 112(b) rejections and section 112(d) rejection identified in the Office Communication dated 11 December 2025 in view of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 1 and 16 in the Response dated 3 March 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1, lines 12-17, recites “the first capacitor plate of the capacitor … is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor through another via, … and the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of a drive transistor of the drive circuit layer,” which is not illustrated by the drawings. Instead, Figs. 4, 6 and 7A-7F and the penultimate paragraph of page 13 {e.g., [0074] of the published specification}, the last paragraph of page 16 {e.g., [0084] of the published specification}, the third paragraph of page 19 {e.g., [0091] of the published specification}, the first paragraph of page 23 {e.g., [0103] of the published specification}, and the second paragraph of page 29 {e.g., [0124] of the published specification} of the specification disclose that: (1) T3 is the drive transistor {Fig. 4; [0074, 0084, 0091]}, (2) a first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) of a capacitor (e.g., C:[381, 382]) is used as a light-shielding electrode of an active layer (e.g., 330) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 6A; [0103]}, and (3) the first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) is electrically connected to the gate (e.g., 331) of the drive transistor (T3) {Figs. 4, 7E; [0084, 0124]; as further supported by claims 4}, not to the “another oxide thin film transistor” recited in claim 1 differing from the “drive transistor” recited in claim 1. Stated another way for increased understanding, the “another oxide thin film transistor” and the “drive transistor” recited in claim 1 must refer to the same object. As indicated with respect to the section 112(b) rejection of claim 1 below and to better comport with the claims as a whole, all references to the drive transistor will be interpreted as the previously recited other oxide thin film transistor.
Claim 4, lines 1-4, recites “the pixel circuit comprises a drive transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to a gate of the drive transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element,” which is not illustrated by the drawings for the reason identified with respect to the drawing objection of base claim 1.
Claim 14, lines 1-6, recites “the at least one oxide thin film transistor comprises the drive transistor; a gate of the drive transistor is electrically connected with the first capacitor plate of the capacitor; and an orthographic projection of a channel region of the active layer of the drive transistor on the base substrate is overlapped with each of orthographic projections of the first capacitor plate and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor on the base substrate,” which is not illustrated by the drawings: (1) because the instant application identifies only T3 as the drive transistor and (2) for the reason identified with respect to the drawing objection of base claim 1.
Claim 16, lines 10-15, recites “the first capacitor plate of the capacitor … is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor through another via, … and the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of a drive transistor of the drive circuit layer,” which is not illustrated by the drawings. Instead, Figs. 4, 6 and 7A-7F and the penultimate paragraph of page 13 {e.g., [0074] of the published specification}, the last paragraph of page 16 {e.g., [0084] of the published specification}, the third paragraph of page 19 {e.g., [0091] of the published specification}, the first paragraph of page 23 {e.g., [0103] of the published specification}, and the second paragraph of page 29 {e.g., [0124] of the published specification} of the specification disclose that: (1) T3 is the drive transistor {Fig. 4; [0074, 0084, 0091]}, (2) a first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) of a capacitor (e.g., C:[381, 382]) is used as a light-shielding electrode of an active layer (e.g., 330) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 6A; [0103]}, and (3) the first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) is electrically connected to the gate (e.g., 331) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 7E; [0084, 0124]; as further supported by claims 4}, not to the “another oxide thin film transistor” recited in claim 1 differing from the “drive transistor” recited in claim 16. Stated another way for increased understanding, the “another oxide thin film transistor” and the “drive transistor” recited in claim 16 must refer to the same object. As indicated with respect to the section 112(b) rejection of claim 16 below and to better comport with the claims as a whole, all references to the drive transistor will be interpreted as the previously recited other oxide thin film transistor.
Claim 18, lines 1-4, recites “the pixel circuit comprises a drive transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to a gate of the drive transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element,” which is not illustrated by the drawings: (1) because the instant application identifies only T3 as the drive transistor and (2) for the reason identified with respect to the drawing objection of base claim 1.
Claim 19, lines 1-4, recites “the pixel circuit comprises a drive transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to a gate of the drive transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element,” which is not illustrated by the drawings: (1) because the instant application identifies only T3 as the drive transistor and (2) for the reason identified with respect to the drawing objection of base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, lines 12-17, recites “the first capacitor plate of the capacitor … is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor through another via, … and the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of a drive transistor of the drive circuit layer,” which is new matter because it is not disclosed by the original application. Instead, Figs. 4, 6 and 7A-7F and the penultimate paragraph of page 13 {e.g., [0074] of the published specification}, the last paragraph of page 16 {e.g., [0084] of the published specification}, the third paragraph of page 19 {e.g., [0091] of the published specification}, the first paragraph of page 23 {e.g., [0103] of the published specification}, and the second paragraph of page 29 {e.g., [0124] of the published specification} of the specification disclose that: (1) T3 is the drive transistor {Fig. 4; [0074, 0084, 0091]}, (2) a first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) of a capacitor (e.g., C:[381, 382]) is used as a light-shielding electrode of an active layer (e.g., 330) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 6A; [0103]}, and (3) the first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) is electrically connected to the gate (e.g., 331) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 7E; [0084, 0124]; as further supported by claims 4}, not to the “another oxide thin film transistor” recited in claim 1 differing from the drive transistor recited in claim 1. Stated another way for increased understanding, the “another oxide thin film transistor” and the “drive transistor” recited in claim 1 must refer to the same object. As indicated with respect to the section 112(b) rejection of claim 1 below and to better comport with the claims as a whole, all references to the drive transistor will be interpreted as the previously recited other oxide thin film transistor. Claims 2-15 and 17-20 are rejected due to their dependence from base claim 1.
Claim 4, lines 1-4, recites “the pixel circuit comprises a drive transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to a gate of the drive transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element,” which is new matter for the reason identified with respect to the section 112(a) rejection of base claim 1.
Claim 14, lines 1-6, recites “the at least one oxide thin film transistor comprises the drive transistor; a gate of the drive transistor is electrically connected with the first capacitor plate of the capacitor; and an orthographic projection of a channel region of the active layer of the drive transistor on the base substrate is overlapped with each of orthographic projections of the first capacitor plate and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor on the base substrate,” which is new matter: (1) because the instant application identifies only T3 as the drive transistor and (2) for the reason identified with respect to the section 112(a) rejection of base claim 1.
Claim 16, lines 10-15, recites “the first capacitor plate of the capacitor … is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor through another via, … and the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of a drive transistor of the drive circuit layer,” which is new matter because it is not disclosed by the original application. Instead, Figs. 4, 6 and 7A-7F and the penultimate paragraph of page 13 {e.g., [0074] of the published specification}, the last paragraph of page 16 {e.g., [0084] of the published specification}, the third paragraph of page 19 {e.g., [0091] of the published specification}, the first paragraph of page 23 {e.g., [0103] of the published specification}, and the second paragraph of page 29 {e.g., [0124] of the published specification} of the specification disclose that: (1) T3 is the drive transistor {Fig. 4; [0074, 0084, 0091]}, (2) a first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) of a capacitor (e.g., C:[381, 382]) is used as a light-shielding electrode of an active layer (e.g., 330) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 6A; [0103]}, and (3) the first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) is electrically connected to the gate (e.g., 331) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 7E; [0084, 0124]; as further supported by claims 4}, not to the “another oxide thin film transistor” recited in claim 15 differing from the drive transistor recited in claim 15. Stated another way for increased understanding, the “another oxide thin film transistor” and the “drive transistor” recited in claim 16 must refer to the same object. As indicated with respect to the section 112(b) rejection of claim 16 below and to better comport with the claims as a whole, all references to the drive transistor will be interpreted as the previously recited other oxide thin film transistor.
Claim 18, lines 1-4, recites “the pixel circuit comprises a drive transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to a gate of the drive transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element,” which is new matter: (1) because the instant application identifies only T3 as the drive transistor and (2) for the reason identified with respect to the section 112(a) rejection of base claim 1.
Claim 19, lines 1-4, recites “the pixel circuit comprises a drive transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to a gate of the drive transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element,” which is new matter: (1) because the instant application identifies only T3 as the drive transistor and (2) for the reason identified with respect to the section 112(a) rejection of base claim 1.
Claim 1, lines 12-17, recites “the first capacitor plate of the capacitor … is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor through another via, … and the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of a drive transistor of the drive circuit layer,” which is indefinite because Figs. 4, 6 and 7A-7F and the penultimate paragraph of page 13 {e.g., [0074] of the published specification}, the last paragraph of page 16 {e.g., [0084] of the published specification}, the third paragraph of page 19 {e.g., [0091] of the published specification}, the first paragraph of page 23 {e.g., [0103] of the published specification}, and the second paragraph of page 29 {e.g., [0124] of the published specification} of the specification disclose that: (1) T3 is the drive transistor {Fig. 4; [0074, 0084, 0091]}, (2) a first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) of a capacitor (e.g., C:[381, 382]) is used as a light-shielding electrode of an active layer (e.g., 330) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 6A; [0103]}, and (3) the first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) is electrically connected to the gate (e.g., 331) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 7E; [0084, 0124]; as further supported by claims 4}, not to the “another oxide thin film transistor” recited in claim 1 differing from the drive transistor recited in claim 1. Stated another way for increased understanding, the “another oxide thin film transistor” and the “drive transistor” recited in claim 1 must refer to the same object. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the other claims, this will be interpreted as “the first capacitor plate of the capacitor … is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor through another via, … and the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor.” Claims 2-15 and 17-20 are rejected due to their dependence from base claim 1.
Claim 4, lines 1-4, recites “the pixel circuit comprises a drive transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to a gate of the drive transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element,” which is indefinite: (1) because the instant application identifies only T3 as the drive transistor and (2) for the reason identified with respect to the section 112(b) rejection of base claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the other claims, this recitation will be interpreted as “the pixel circuit comprises the other oxide thin film transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to the gate of the other oxide thin film transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element.”
Claim 8, lines 3 and 4, recites “of another oxide thin film transistor,” which is indefinite because it is unclear whether this refers to the “another oxide thin film transistor” recited in base claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the other claims, this will be interpreted as “of a third oxide thin film transistor.”
Claim 9, lines 4 and 5, recites “of another oxide thin film transistor,” which is indefinite because it is unclear whether this is the same “another oxide thin film transistor” recited in base claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the other claims, this will be interpreted as “of the other oxide thin film transistor.”
Claim 11 recites “at least one light shielding electrode” in line 4 and recites “the at least one light shielding electrode” in line 5, which are both is indefinite because it is unclear whether this light shielding electrode is the same as that recited in base claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the other claims, both recitations will be interpreted as “the light shielding electrode.”
Claim 14, lines 1-6, recites “the at least one oxide thin film transistor comprises the drive transistor; a gate of the drive transistor is electrically connected with the first capacitor plate of the capacitor; and an orthographic projection of a channel region of the active layer of the drive transistor on the base substrate is overlapped with each of orthographic projections of the first capacitor plate and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor on the base substrate,” which is indefinite because: (1) because the instant application identifies only T3 as the drive transistor and (2) for the reason identified with respect to the section 112(b) rejection of base claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the other claims, this recitation will be interpreted as “a gate of the other oxide thin film transistor is electrically connected with the first capacitor plate of the capacitor; and an orthographic projection of a channel region of the active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor on the base substrate is overlapped with each of orthographic projections of the first capacitor plate and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor on the base substrate.”
Claim 16, lines 10-15, recites “the first capacitor plate of the capacitor … is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor through another via, … and the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of a drive transistor of the drive circuit layer,” which is indefinite because Figs. 4, 6 and 7A-7F and the penultimate paragraph of page 13 {e.g., [0074] of the published specification}, the last paragraph of page 16 {e.g., [0084] of the published specification}, the third paragraph of page 19 {e.g., [0091] of the published specification}, the first paragraph of page 23 {e.g., [0103] of the published specification}, and the second paragraph of page 29 {e.g., [0124] of the published specification} of the specification disclose that: (1) T3 is the drive transistor {Fig. 4; [0074, 0084, 0091]}, (2) a first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) of a capacitor (e.g., C:[381, 382]) is used as a light-shielding electrode of an active layer (e.g., 330) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 6A; [0103]}, and (3) the first capacitor plate (e.g., 381) is electrically connected to the gate (e.g., 331) of the drive transistor (T3) {Fig. 7E; [0084, 0124]; as further supported by claims 4}, not to the “another oxide thin film transistor” recited in claim 15 differing from the drive transistor recited in claim 15. Stated another way for increased understanding, the “another oxide thin film transistor” and the “drive transistor” recited in claim 16 must refer to the same object. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the other claims, this will be interpreted as “the first capacitor plate of the capacitor … is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor through another via, … and the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor.”
Claim 18, lines 1-4, recites “the pixel circuit comprises a drive transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to a gate of the drive transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element,” which is indefinite: (1) because the instant application identifies only T3 as the drive transistor and (2) for the reason identified with respect to the section 112(b) rejection of base claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the other claims, this recitation will be interpreted as “the pixel circuit comprises the other oxide thin film transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to the gate of the other oxide thin film transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element.”
Claim 19, lines 1-4, recites “the pixel circuit comprises a drive transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to a gate of the drive transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element,” which is indefinite: (1) because the instant application identifies only T3 as the drive transistor and (2) for the reason identified with respect to the section 112(b) rejection of base claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the other claims, this recitation will be interpreted as “the pixel circuit comprises the other oxide thin film transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to the gate of the other oxide thin film transistor, and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 14-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US20200144309A1) in view of Noh et al. (US20180033849A1), Wang et al. (WO2021253343A1) using Wang et al. (US20220199737A1) as the English translation, Song e al. (US20210399072A1), and Cai (US20210359279A1)
Regarding claim 1, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Jeon teaches in Fig. 4 a display substrate, comprising:
a base substrate (110) and a drive circuit layer (layers of 110-118) disposed on the base substrate (110), wherein the drive circuit layer (layers of 110-118) comprises at least one pixel circuit (130, 140), and the at least one pixel circuit (130, 140) comprises at least one oxide thin film transistor (130) and a capacitor (140) {¶0039};
the capacitor (140) comprises a first capacitor plate (141) and a second capacitor plate (142), wherein orthographic projections of the first capacitor plate (141) and the second capacitor plate (142) on the base substrate (110) are overlapped, and an inorganic (SiN/SiO or both; ¶0054) insulation layer (layer of 113) is disposed between the first capacitor plate (141) and the second capacitor plate (142) {¶0055};
an active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one oxide thin film transistor (130) {¶0057}.
Jeon does not expressly teach in a direction perpendicular to the display substrate, a distance between the inorganic insulation layer and the active layer of the at least one oxide thin film transistor is greater than or equal to 3000 angstroms.
However, Jeon teaches in paragraph [0093] a second buffer layer (layer of 114) is disposed directly between and constitutes the entire vertical distance between inorganic insulation layer (layer of 113) and an active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one thin film transistor (130). Jeon further teaches in paragraph [0093] that the second buffer layer (layer of 114) comprises: (1) a silicon nitride layer (layer of 114a) for suppressing the transmission of charges from a capacitor (140) to the active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one thin film transistor (130) and (2) a silicon oxide layer (layer of 114b) for suppressing the diffusion of hydrogen from the silicon nitride layer (layer of 114a) to the active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one thin film transistor (130), which hydrogen is detrimental to the operation of the at least one thin film transistor (130) {see Jeon ¶0089}.
In an analogous art, Noh teaches in Fig. 2 and paragraph [0080] an interlayer insulating layer (114), comprising both a silicon nitride layer and a silicon oxide layer, separates an inorganic insulation layer (113; SiNx/SiOx ¶0070) from an active layer (141) of an oxide thin film transistor (140; ¶0071) by a distance of 2,000 Å to 6,000 Å. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate based on the teachings of Noh – such that in a direction perpendicular to the display substrate, a distance between the inorganic insulation layer and an active layer of the oxide thin film transistor is greater than or equal to 3000 angstroms – because all the claimed elements (e.g., distance, inorganic insulation layer, the active layer, oxide thin film transistor) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, substituting Noh’s inorganic insulation layer for Jeon’s yields the predictable results identified by Jeon and enumerated in the preceding paragraph. MPEP 2143(I)(B). Still further, Noh teaches in paragraphs [0079, 0080] that: (1) the thickness of the silicon oxide layer is a result-effective parameter for controlling the extent to which hydrogen diffuses into the active layer (141) of the oxide thin film transistor (140) and (2) each of the silicon oxide layer and silicon nitride layer of the interlayer insulating layer (114) may have a thickness of 1,000 Å to 3,000 Å. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate based on the teachings of Noh to discover the optimal or workable ranges of the respective thicknesses of the silicon oxide layer and silicon nitride layer – such that in a direction perpendicular to the display substrate, a distance between the inorganic insulation layer and an active layer of the at least one oxide thin film transistor is greater than or equal to 3000 angstroms – because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A).
Jeon as modified by Noh does not teach the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with the active layer of the at least one oxide thin film transistor, and is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches in Fig. 1B and paragraph [0090] a first capacitor plate (lower plate) of a capacitor (Cst) is electrically connected with an active layer of at least one oxide thin film transistor (M1/M2), and is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor (M3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate as modified by Noh based on the teachings of Wang – such that the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with the active layer of the at least one oxide thin film transistor, and is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor – to provide a pixel driving circuit … configured to drive the light-emitting element. Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, all the claimed elements (e.g., capacitor plate, capacitor, active layer, oxide thin film transistor, gate, another oxide thin film transistor) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Wang) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Jeon as modified by Noh and Wang above does not teach connecting each of the active layer and the gate to the first capacitor plate through separate vias.
However, Jeon teaches in Fig. 4 connecting an electrode of a transistor (130) to a capacitor plate (142) through a separate via. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate as modified by Noh and Wang based on the further teachings of Jeon – to include connecting each of the active layer and the gate to the first capacitor plate through separate vias – because all the claimed elements (e.g., active layer, gate, capacitor plate, via) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Jeon) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, making electrical interconnections in three dimensions (i.e., with vias) helps to reduce the two-dimensional area required for the display substrate.
Jeon as modified by Noh and Wang does not teach the first capacitor plate comprises a first body and a first bump projecting from a side of the first body along a first direction.
In an analogous art, Song teaches in Fig. 4 a first capacitor plate (LE/BML1) comprises a first body (body overlayed with CH1) and a first bump (bump overlayed with SE1, ACT1, DE1) projecting from a side of the first body (body overlayed with CH1) along a first direction (vertical). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate as modified by Noh and Wang based on the teachings of Song – such that the first capacitor plate comprises a first body and a first bump projecting from a side of the first body along a first direction – because [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, all the claimed elements (e.g., capacitor plate, bump, side) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Song) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Still further, such a bump supports interconnecting the capacitor plate to another electrical component through a via structure without diminishing the effective plate size (from which the capacitance is determined).
Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, and Song does not teach the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor.
In an analogous art, Cai teaches in Fig. 8 and paragraph [0065] a capacitor plate (20) is reused as a light shielding electrode (20) of an active layer (40) of a thin film transistor (40, 50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate as modified by Noh, Wang, and Song based on the teachings of Cai – such that the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor – to block light entering the active region from the outside, and to avoid carrier mobility of the active region being affected by illumination. Cai [0065].
Regarding claim 2, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 1, and Jeon further teaches wherein a material of the active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one oxide thin film transistor (130) comprises an indium gallium zinc oxide material (IGZO) {¶0060}.
Regarding claim 3, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 1, and Jeon further teaches wherein a material of the inorganic insulation layer (layer of 113) comprises a silicon nitride SiNx {¶0054}.
Regarding claim 5, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 1, and Jeon further teaches wherein the drive circuit layer (layers of 110-118) comprises at least: a first conductive layer (layer of 141), a second conductive layer (layer of 142), and a semiconductor layer (layer of 131) sequentially disposed on the base substrate (110) {¶0055, 0057};
the semiconductor layer (layer of 131) comprises: the active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one oxide thin film transistor (130) {¶0057};
the first conductive layer (layer of 141) at least comprises: the first capacitor plate (141) {¶0055}; and
the second conductive layer (layer of 142) at least comprises: the second capacitor plate (142) {¶0055}.
Regarding claim 6, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 5, but Jeon does not expressly teach the first conductive layer is a light shielding layer.
Cai teaches in Fig. 8 and paragraph [0065] a conductive layer of a capacitor plate (20) is a light shielding layer (20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai based on the further teachings of Cai – such that the first conductive layer is a light shielding layer – to block light entering the active region 40 from the outside, and to avoid carrier mobility of the active region being affected by illumination. Cai [0065].
Regarding claim 7, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 5, and Jeon further teaches wherein a third insulating layer (layer of 114) is disposed between the second conductive layer (layer of 142) and the semiconductor layer (layer of 131), wherein a material of the third insulating layer (layer of 114) comprises a silicon oxide SiOx {¶0056}, and a thickness of the third insulating layer (layer of 114 as modified by Noh) is substantially 3500 angstroms to 4500 angstroms {see Noh’s modification of Jeon’s structure discussed with respect to claim 1}.
Regarding claim 8, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 5, and Jeon further teaches wherein the drive circuit layer (layers of 110-118) further comprises: a third conductive layer (layer of 134) located at a side of the semiconductor layer (layer of 131) away from the base substrate (110).
But Jeon does not teach wherein the third conductive layer comprises the gate of a third oxide thin film transistor.
Song teaches in Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0102, 0163] drive circuit layer (SUB - TSV) further comprises: a third conductive layer (layer of GE1) located at a side of a semiconductor layer (layer of ACT1) away from a base substrate (SUB), wherein the third conductive layer (layer of GE1) comprises the gate (GE2) of an oxide thin film transistor (T2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai based on the further teachings of Song – such that the third conductive layer comprises the gate of a third oxide thin film transistor – because all the claimed elements (e.g., conductive layer, gate, oxide thin film transistor) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Song) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 14, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 1, and Jeon as modified by the other references teaches wherein a gate of the other oxide thin film transistor is electrically connected with the first capacitor plate of the capacitor {this feature is fully addressed in the rejection of base claim 1}.
Jeon does not teach an orthographic projection of a channel region of the active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor on the base substrate is overlapped with each of orthographic projections of the first capacitor plate and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor on the base substrate.
Cai teaches in Fig. 8 and paragraphs [0062, 0073] an orthographic projection of a channel region (channel region of 40) of an active layer (layer of 40) of a thin film transistor (40, 50) on a base substrate (10) is overlapped with each of orthographic projections of a first capacitor plate (20) and a second capacitor plate (72 and/or 80) of a capacitor (20, 72 and/or 80) on the base substrate (10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai based on the further teachings of Cai – such that an orthographic projection of a channel region of the active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor on the base substrate is overlapped with each of orthographic projections of the first capacitor plate and the second capacitor plate of the capacitor on the base substrate – to reduce the area required for a pixel storage capacitor and drive transistor within a pixel driving circuit and reduce the likelihood of shorting the capacitor plates. Cai [0002, 0074, 0092].
Regarding claim 15, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 1, and Jeon further teaches a display apparatus (100) {Fig. 4, ¶0039}, comprising the display substrate of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Jeon teaches in Fig. 4 a method for preparing a display substrate, comprising:
forming the drive circuit layer (layers of 110-118) on the base substrate (110), wherein the drive circuit layer (layers of 110-118) comprises the at least one pixel circuit (130, 140), and the at least one pixel circuit (130, 140) comprises the at least one oxide thin film transistor (130) and a capacitor (140) {¶0039};
the capacitor (140) includes a first capacitor plate (141) and a second capacitor plate (142), wherein the orthographic projections of the first capacitor plate (141) and the second capacitor plate (142) on the base substrate (110) are overlapped, and an inorganic (SiN/SiO or both; ¶0054) insulation layer (layer of 113) is disposed between the first capacitor plate (141) and the second capacitor plate (142) {¶0055}; and
the active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one oxide thin film transistor (130) {¶0057}.
Jeon does not expressly teach a distance between the inorganic insulation layer and the active layer of the at least one oxide thin film transistor is greater than or equal to 3000 angstroms in the direction perpendicular to the display substrate.
However, Jeon teaches in paragraph [0093] a second buffer layer (layer of 114) is disposed directly between and constitutes the entire vertical distance between inorganic insulation layer (layer of 113) and an active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one thin film transistor (130). Jeon further teaches in paragraph [0093] that the second buffer layer (layer of 114) comprises: (1) a silicon nitride layer (layer of 114a) for suppressing the transmission of charges from a capacitor (140) to the active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one thin film transistor (130) and (2) a silicon oxide layer (layer of 114b) for suppressing the diffusion of hydrogen from the silicon nitride layer (layer of 114a) to the active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one thin film transistor (130), which hydrogen is detrimental to the operation of the at least one thin film transistor (130) {see Jeon ¶0089}.
Noh teaches in Fig. 2 and paragraph [0080] an interlayer insulating layer (114), comprising both a silicon nitride layer and a silicon oxide layer, separates an inorganic insulation layer (113; SiNx/SiOx ¶0070) from an active layer (141) of an oxide thin film transistor (140; ¶0071) by a distance of 2,000 Å to 6,000 Å. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s method based on the teachings of Noh – such that in a direction perpendicular to the display substrate, a distance between the inorganic insulation layer and an active layer of the oxide thin film transistor is greater than or equal to 3000 angstroms – because all the claimed elements (e.g., distance, inorganic insulation layer, the active layer, oxide thin film transistor) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, substituting Noh’s inorganic insulation layer for Jeon’s yields the predictable results identified by Jeon and enumerated in the preceding paragraph. MPEP 2143(I)(B). Still further, Noh teaches in paragraphs [0079, 0080] that: (1) the thickness of the silicon oxide layer is a result-effective parameter for controlling the extent to which hydrogen diffuses into the active layer (141) of the oxide thin film transistor (140) and (2) each of the silicon oxide layer and silicon nitride layer of the interlayer insulating layer (114) may have a thickness of 1,000 Å to 3,000 Å. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate based on the teachings of Noh to discover the optimal or workable ranges of the respective thicknesses of the silicon oxide layer and silicon nitride layer – such that a distance between the inorganic insulation layer and the active layer of the at least one oxide thin film transistor is greater than or equal to 3000 angstroms in the direction perpendicular to the display substrate – because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A).
Jeon as modified by Noh does not teach the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with the active layer of the at least one oxide thin film transistor, and is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor.
Wang teaches in Fig. 1B and paragraph [0090] a first capacitor plate (lower plate) of a capacitor (Cst) is electrically connected with an active layer of at least one oxide thin film transistor (M1/M2), and is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor (M3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s method as modified by Noh based on the teachings of Wang – such that the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with the active layer of the at least one oxide thin film transistor, and is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor – to provide a pixel driving circuit … configured to drive the light-emitting element. Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, all the claimed elements (e.g., capacitor plate, capacitor, active layer, oxide thin film transistor, gate, another oxide thin film transistor) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Wang) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Jeon as modified by Noh and Wang above does not teach connecting each of the active layer and the gate to the first capacitor plate through separate vias.
However, Jeon teaches in Fig. 4 connecting an electrode of a transistor (130) to a capacitor plate (142) through a separate via. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s method as modified by Noh and Wang based on the further teachings of Jeon – to include connecting each of the active layer and the gate to the first capacitor plate through separate vias – because all the claimed elements (e.g., active layer, gate, capacitor plate, via) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Jeon) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, making electrical interconnections in three dimensions (i.e., with vias) helps to reduce the two-dimensional area required for the display substrate.
Jeon as modified by Noh and Wang does not teach the first capacitor plate comprises a first body and a first bump projecting from a side of the first body along a first direction.
Song teaches in Fig. 4 a first capacitor plate (LE/BML1) comprises a first body (body overlayed with CH1) and a first bump (bump overlayed with SE1, ACT1, DE1) projecting from a side of the first body (body overlayed with CH1) along a first direction (vertical). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s method as modified by Noh and Wang based on the teachings of Song – such that the first capacitor plate comprises a first body and a first bump projecting from a side of the first body along a first direction – because [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, all the claimed elements (e.g., capacitor plate, bump, side) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Song) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Still further, such a bump supports interconnecting the capacitor plate to another electrical component through a via structure without diminishing the effective plate size (from which the capacitance is determined).
Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, and Song does not teach the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor.
Cai teaches in Fig. 8 and paragraph [0065] a capacitor plate (20) is reused as a light shielding electrode (20) of an active layer (40) of a thin film transistor (40, 50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s method as modified by Noh, Wang, and Song based on the teachings of Cai – such that the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor – to block light entering the active region from the outside, and to avoid carrier mobility of the active region being affected by illumination. Cai [0065].
Regarding claim 17, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 2, and Jeon further teaches wherein a material of the inorganic insulation layer (layer of 113) comprises a silicon nitride SiNx {¶0054}.
Regarding claim 20, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 2, and Jeon further teaches wherein the drive circuit layer (layers of 110-118) comprises at least: a first conductive layer (layer of 141), a second conductive layer (layer of 142), and a semiconductor layer (layer of 131) sequentially disposed on the base substrate (110) {¶0055, 0057};
the semiconductor layer (layer of 131) comprises: the active layer (131) of the at least one oxide thin film transistor (130) {¶0057};
the first conductive layer (layer of 141) at least comprises: the first capacitor plate (141) {¶0055}; and
the second conductive layer (layer of 142) at least comprises: the second capacitor plate (142) {¶0055}.
Claim(s) 4, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai as applied to claim 1 (for claim 4), claim 2 (for claim 18), and claim 3 (for claim 19) above, and further in view of Liu et al. (WO2021016946A1) using Liu et al. (US20220383811A1) as the English translation (all further references herein to Liu are to the English translation document).
Regarding claim 4, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 1, and Jeon in combination with the other references teaches wherein the pixel circuit comprises the other oxide thin film transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to the gate of the other oxide thin film transistor {these features are fully addressed in the rejection of base claim 1}.
Jeon does not teach the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches in Fig. 3B/3C and paragraphs [0085] and [0091] a pixel circuit (121a/121b) comprises another oxide thin film transistor (T1), a first capacitor plate (CC4a) of a capacitor (C11) is equipotential to a gate (gate) of the other oxide thin film transistor (T1), and a second capacitor plate (CC3a) of the capacitor (C11) is electrically connected with an anode (anode) of a light emitting element (120a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai based on the teachings of Liu – such that the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element – because [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 18, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 2, and Jeon in combination with the other references teaches wherein the pixel circuit comprises the other oxide thin film transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to the gate of the other oxide thin film transistor {these features are fully addressed in the rejection of base claim 1}.
Jeon does not teach the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element.
Liu teaches in Fig. 3B/3C and paragraphs [0085] and [0091] a pixel circuit (121a/121b) comprises another oxide thin film transistor (T1), a first capacitor plate (CC4a) of a capacitor (C11) is equipotential to a gate (gate) of the other oxide thin film transistor (T1), and a second capacitor plate (CC3a) of the capacitor (C11) is electrically connected with an anode (anode) of a light emitting element (120a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai based on the teachings of Liu – such that the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element – because [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 19, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Jeon as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 3, and Jeon in combination with the other references teaches wherein the pixel circuit comprises the other oxide thin film transistor, the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is equipotential to the gate of the other oxide thin film transistor {these features are fully addressed in the rejection of base claim 1}.
Jeon does not teach the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element.
Liu teaches in Fig. 3B/3C and paragraphs [0085] and [0091] a pixel circuit (121a/121b) comprises another oxide thin film transistor (T1), a first capacitor plate (CC4a) of a capacitor (C11) is equipotential to a gate (gate) of the other oxide thin film transistor (T1), and a second capacitor plate (CC3a) of the capacitor (C11) is electrically connected with an anode (anode) of a light emitting element (120a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s display substrate as modified by Noh, Wang, Song, and Cai based on the teachings of Liu – such that the second capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with an anode of a light emitting element – because [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh in view of Wang, Jeon, Song, and Cai.
Regarding claim 9, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Noh teaches in Fig. 2 a display substrate, comprising:
a base substrate (110) and a drive circuit layer (layers of 111-116) disposed on the base substrate (110), wherein the drive circuit layer (layers of 111-116) comprises at least one pixel circuit (130, 151, 161), and the at least one pixel circuit (130, 151, 161) comprises at least one oxide thin film transistor (140) and a capacitor (Cst) {¶0045, 0046, 0091, 0096};
the capacitor (Cst) comprises a first capacitor plate (133) and a second capacitor plate (161), wherein orthographic projections of the first capacitor plate (133) and the second capacitor plate (161) on the base substrate (110) are overlapped, and an inorganic (SiN/SiO ¶0138) insulation layer (layer of 115) is disposed between the first capacitor plate (133) and the second capacitor plate (161) {¶0090}; and
in a direction (e.g., vertical) perpendicular to the display substrate (110), a distance between the inorganic insulation layer (layer of 115) and an active layer (layer of 141) of the at least one oxide thin film transistor (140) is greater than or equal to 3000 angstroms {¶0080},
wherein the drive circuit layer (layers of 111-116) comprises: a semiconductor layer (layer of 131), a second conductive layer (layer of 134), a fourth conductive layer (layer of 133), and a fifth conductive layer (layer of 161) sequentially disposed on the base substrate (110) {¶0063};
the semiconductor layer (layer of 131) comprises: the active layer (layer of 131) of the other oxide thin film transistor (Noh’s 130 as modified by Wang below) {¶0063};
the second conductive layer (layer of 134) comprises: the gate (142) of the at least one oxide thin film transistor (130) {¶0063};
the fourth conductive layer (layer of 133) at least comprises: the first capacitor plate (133) {¶0092}; and
the fifth conductive layer (layer of 151) at least comprises: the second capacitor plate (151) {¶0092}.
Noh does not teach the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with the active layer of the at least one oxide thin film transistor, and is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor.
Wang teaches in Fig. 1B and paragraph [0090] a first capacitor plate (lower plate) of a capacitor (Cst) is electrically connected with an active layer of at least one oxide thin film transistor (M1/M2), and is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor (M3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Noh’s display substrate based on the teachings of Wang – such that the first capacitor plate of the capacitor is electrically connected with the active layer of the at least one oxide thin film transistor, and is electrically connected with a gate of another oxide thin film transistor – to provide a pixel driving circuit … configured to drive the light-emitting element. Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, all the claimed elements (e.g., capacitor plate, capacitor, active layer, oxide thin film transistor, gate, another oxide thin film transistor) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Wang) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Noh as modified by Wang above does not teach connecting each of the active layer and the gate to the first capacitor plate through separate vias.
However, Jeon teaches in Fig. 4 connecting an electrode of a transistor (130) to a capacitor plate (142) through a separate via. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Noh’s display substrate as modified by Wang based on the further teachings of Jeon – to include connecting each of the active layer and the gate to the first capacitor plate through separate vias – because all the claimed elements (e.g., active layer, gate, capacitor plate, via) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Jeon) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, making electrical interconnections in three dimensions (i.e., with vias) helps to reduce the two-dimensional area required for the display substrate.
Noh as modified by Wang and Jeon does not teach the first capacitor plate comprises a first body and a first bump projecting from a side of the first body along a first direction.
Song teaches in Fig. 4 a first capacitor plate (LE/BML1) comprises a first body (body overlayed with CH1) and a first bump (bump overlayed with SE1, ACT1, DE1) projecting from a side of the first body (body overlayed with CH1) along a first direction (vertical). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Noh’s display substrate as modified by Wang and Jeon based on the teachings of Song – such that the first capacitor plate comprises a first body and a first bump projecting from a side of the first body along a first direction – because [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, all the claimed elements (e.g., capacitor plate, bump, side) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Song) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Still further, such a bump supports interconnecting the capacitor plate to another electrical component through a via structure without diminishing the effective plate size (from which the capacitance is determined).
Noh as modified by Wang, Jeon, and Song does not teach the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor.
In an analogous art, Cai teaches in Fig. 8 and paragraph [0065] a capacitor plate (20) is reused as a light shielding electrode (20) of an active layer (40) of an oxide thin film transistor (40, 50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Noh’s display substrate as modified by Wang, Jeon, and Song based on the teachings of Cai – such that the first capacitor plate is reused as a light shielding electrode of an active layer of the other oxide thin film transistor – to block light entering the active region 40 from the outside, and to avoid carrier mobility of the active region being affected by illumination. Cai [0065].
Regarding claim 10, Noh as modified by Wang, Jeon, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 9, and Noh further teaches wherein a fifth insulation layer (layer of 114) is disposed between the fourth conductive layer (layer of 133) and the second conductive layer (layer of 134), wherein a material of the fifth insulation layer (layer of 115) comprises a silicon oxide SiOx {¶0077}, and a thickness of the fifth insulation layer (layer of 114) is substantially 4500 angstroms to 5500 angstroms {¶0080}.
Regarding claim 11, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Noh as modified by Wang, Jeon, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 9, and Noh further teaches wherein the drive circuit layer (layers of 111-116) further comprises: a first conductive layer (layer of 120) located at a side of the semiconductor layer (layer of 131) close to the base substrate (110) {¶0056}; and
the first conductive layer (layer of 120) comprises: the light shielding electrode (120/BSM) {¶0057}, wherein an orthographic projection of the light shielding electrode (120/BSM) on the base substrate (110) covers an orthographic projection of a channel region (CA) of the active layer (layer of 131) of the at least one oxide thin film transistor (130) on the base substrate (110) {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 12, Noh as modified by Wang, Jeon, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 9, and Noh further teaches wherein the inorganic insulation layer (layer of 115) and an organic insulation layer (layer of 116) are disposed between the fourth conductive layer (layer of 133) and the fifth conductive layer (layer of 161) {¶0095}, wherein the inorganic insulation layer (layer of 115) is located at a side of the organic insulation layer (layer of 116) close to the base substrate (110) {Fig. 2}; and
an overlapping region (e.g., region directly above and below via interconnecting 151 and 161) of the first capacitor plate (133) and the second capacitor plate (161) is not overlapped with an orthographic projection of the organic insulation layer (layer of 116) on the base substrate (110) {Fig. 2}.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh in view of Wang, Jeon, Song, and Cai as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US20200203461A1).
Regarding claim 13, Noh as modified by Wang, Jeon, Song, and Cai teaches the display substrate of claim 9, but Noh does not teach wherein the fifth conductive layer further comprises: a data signal line and a first power supply line.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches in Fig. 4 and paragraph [0042] a power signal line (VDD1) and a data signal line (Data) can be disposed on the same layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Noh’s display substrate as modified by Wang, Jeon, Song, and Cai based on the teachings of Chen – such that the fifth conductive layer further comprises: a data signal line and a first power supply line – to simplify the preparation processes. Chen ¶0042. Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US20200219770A1) teaches an organic light emitting diode display device comprises a driving thin film transistor including a first semiconductor layer, a gate insulating layer formed on the first semiconductor layer. The device further includes a storage capacitor including a first capacitor electrode electrically coupled to a drain electrode of the driving thin film transistor, a buffer layer formed on the first capacitor electrode, a second semiconductor layer formed on the buffer layer, and a second capacitor electrode formed on the second semiconductor layer and electrically coupled to a gate electrode of the driving thin film transistor. The device also includes an organic light emitting diode connected to the drain electrode of the driving transistor. The gate insulating layer has at least one hole in a region where the gate insulating layer overlaps the second semiconductor layer, thereby exposing the second semiconductor layer to the second capacitor electrode.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891