DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/26/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11 are pending, of which claim(s) 1 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013-94717 (herein known as SUZUKI).
With regard to claim 1, SUZUKI sufficiently teaches an air filter medium comprising (as follows, and), especially at abstract
a porous polytetratluoroethylenc (PTFE; fluorine resin) membrane, especially at claim 1
a collection layer 30 (pre-filter), especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, par. [0054]-[0062], [0084]
an air-permeable adhesive layer 20, 21, 22, especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, par. [0054]-[0062], [0084]
an air-permeable supporting layer 12 (breathable fiber layer), especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, par. 13,54-62, 84
wherein the collection layer, the air-permeable adhesive layer, the air-permeable supporting layer, and the porous fluorine resin membrane are placed in this order from upstream to downstream of the air filter medium (as shown) capable of allow an air flow to pass through the air filter medium, especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, par. 13,54-62, 84
the collection layer 30 (pre-filter) is formed of a fibrous material having an average fiber diameter within the claimed range, especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, para 54 among others such as par. 13,17,54-62, 84
the air-permeable adhesive layer has a grammage within the claimed range, especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, para 61 among others such as, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
and is formed of a fibrous adhesive, especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, para 41,42 among others such as, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
the air-permeable supporting layer is formed of a fibrous material having an average fiber diameter within the claimed range, especially at Fig. 1-2, cl. 1 among others such as, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
SUZUKI does not specifically teach the air-permeable adhesive layer has a hot-melt adhesive
But, SUZUKI sufficiently teaches an adhesive layer with hot-melt adhesive as an alternative to thermal bonding, especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, para 41,42,50 among others such as, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to provide hot melt adhesive of SUZUKI rather than thermal bonding, because SUZUKI sufficiently teaches these two structures were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to substitute the thermal bonding for hot melt adhesive
With regard to claim 3, SUZUKI sufficiently teaches
wherein the air-permeable supporting layer has a grammage within the claimed range, especially at para 36 among others such as Fig. 1-2, cl. 1, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
With regard to claim 5, SUZUKI sufficiently teaches
an additional air-permeable supporting layer (second 12, breathable fiber layer) placed on a downstream side in a direction of the air flow with respect to the porous fluorine resin membrane (as shown), especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, par. 13,54-62, 84
With regard to claim 6, SUZUKI sufficiently teaches
wherein the porous fluorine resin membrane is a porous polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) membrane, especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, par. [0054]-[0062], [0084]
With regard to claim 9, SUZUKI sufficiently teaches a filter pleat pack comprising an air filter medium folded into pleats, especially at para 9 among others such as Fig. 1-2, cl. 1, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
wherein the air filter medium is the air filter medium according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1, and), especially at Fig. 1-2, cl. 1, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
With regard to claim 10, SUZUKI sufficiently teaches an air filter unit comprising an air filter medium, especially at Fig. 1-2, cl. 1, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
wherein the air filter medium is the air filter medium according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1, and), especially at Fig. 1-2, cl. 1, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
With regard to claim 11, SUZUKI sufficiently teaches an air filter unit comprising a filter pleat pack, especially at para 9 among others such as Fig. 1-2, cl. 1, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
wherein the filter pleat pack is the filter pleat pack according to claim 9 (see discussion of claim 9, and), especially at Fig. 1-2, cl. 1, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013-94717 (herein known as SUZUKI)
With regard to claim 2, SUZUKI sufficiently teaches wherein the fibrous material includes a glass fiber, especially at para 2
SUZUKI does not specifically teach wherein the fibrous material of the collection layer includes a glass fiber;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to provide the collection layer of SUZUKI with the fibrous material includes a glass fiber of SUZUKI for the benefit of fulfill the material need of the collection layer; otherwise, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP 2144.07); otherwise, it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more materials disclosed by the prior art to form a third material that is to be used for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06 PART I); otherwise, because the substitution of one type of filter material for another that are both used for the same purpose (i.e. air filter) would be well within the scope of the skilled artisan. (See MPEP 2141 III,B)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP 2013-94717 (herein known as SUZUKI) in view of US 20140165517 (herein known as HARA)
With regard to claim 4, SUZUKI does not specifically teach wherein the porous fluorine resin membrane has an average fiber diameter of 0.2 µm or less.
But, HARA sufficiently teaches wherein the porous fluorine resin membrane has an average fiber diameter within the claimed range, especially at para 47
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to provide SUZUKI with wherein the porous fluorine resin membrane has an average fiber diameter within the claimed range of HARA for the benefit of an average fiber diameter for the benefit of high dust collection efficiency, as sufficiently taught by HARA, especially at abstract, para 2,47
Claim(s) 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2013-94717 (herein known as SUZUKI).
With regard to instant claim(s) 7, SUZUKI does not specifically state a property of
wherein when polyalphaolefin particles are allowed to pass through the air filter medium at a concentration of 0.2 to 0.5 g/m3 and
a linear velocity of 5.3 cm/sec and
a variation of a pressure drop of the air filter medium is measured,
an amount of the polyalphaolefin particles having been collected by the air filter medium is 60 g/m2 or more at a moment when the pressure drop reaches 500 Pa,
the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm.
But, SUZUKI teaches the air filter medium according to claim 1 (as already discussed herein, respectively) which as the claimed property.
Thus, the claimed property of ‘the air filter medium,’ is taken to be necessarily present in the air filter medium of SUZUKI, since products of identical or substantially identical chemical structure or composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. (See MPEP 2112.01 Parts I-II)
MPEP 2112.01 Part I states…
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
MPEP 2112.01 PART II states…
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
In an alternative, assuming that it was determined that SUZUKI does not sufficiently teach a property of
wherein when polyalphaolefin particles are allowed to pass through the air filter medium at a concentration of 0.2 to 0.5 g/m3 and
a linear velocity of 5.3 cm/sec and
a variation of a pressure drop of the air filter medium is measured,
an amount of the polyalphaolefin particles having been collected by the air filter medium is 60 g/m2 or more at a moment when the pressure drop reaches 500 Pa,
the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the air filter medium of SUZUKI, such that it had the property of
wherein when polyalphaolefin particles are allowed to pass through the air filter medium at a concentration of 0.2 to 0.5 g/m3 and
a linear velocity of 5.3 cm/sec and
a variation of a pressure drop of the air filter medium is measured,
an amount of the polyalphaolefin particles having been collected by the air filter medium is 60 g/m2 or more at a moment when the pressure drop reaches 500 Pa,
the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm,
since where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established
With regard to instant claim(s) 8, SUZUKI does not specifically state a property of
wherein a collection efficiency measured using polyalphaolefin particles under conditions where an evaluation target particle size is 0.1 to 0.2 µm and a permeate flow rate is 5.3 cm/sec is 85% or more,
the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm.
But, SUZUKI teaches the air filter medium according to claim 1 (as already discussed herein, respectively) which as the claimed property.
Thus, the claimed property of ‘the air filter medium,’ is taken to be necessarily present in the air filter medium of SUZUKI, since products of identical or substantially identical chemical structure or composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. (See MPEP 2112.01 Parts I-II)
MPEP 2112.01 Part I states…
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
MPEP 2112.01 PART II states…
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
In an alternative, assuming that it was determined that SUZUKI does not sufficiently teach a property of
wherein a collection efficiency measured using polyalphaolefin particles under conditions where an evaluation target particle size is 0.1 to 0.2 µm and a permeate flow rate is 5.3 cm/sec is 85% or more,
the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the air filter medium of SUZUKI, such that it had the property of
wherein a collection efficiency measured using polyalphaolefin particles under conditions where an evaluation target particle size is 0.1 to 0.2 µm and a permeate flow rate is 5.3 cm/sec is 85% or more,
the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm,
since where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established
In an alternative, Claim(s) 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP 2013-94717 (herein known as SUZUKI) in view of JP 2019-58903 (see US 20200230536 for translation; herein known as HORIE)
With regard to claim 7, SUZUKI does not specifically teach a property of (later referred to herein ‘polyalphaolefin particles property’ of claim 7)
wherein when polyalphaolefin particles are allowed to pass through the air filter medium at a concentration of 0.2 to 0.5 g/m3 and
a linear velocity of 5.3 cm/sec and
a variation of a pressure drop of the air filter medium is measured,
an amount of the polyalphaolefin particles having been collected by the air filter medium is 60 g/m2 or more at a moment when the pressure drop reaches 500 Pa,
the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm.
But, HORIE sufficiently teaches an air filter medium with the property polyalphaolefin particles are allowed to pass through the air filter medium at a concentration of "4 x 108 particles/L or more" , especially at para 47 among para 43-47; and para 26 of the instant specification admits that "4 x 108 particles/L or more" is within the claimed "a concentration of 0.2 to 0.5 g/m3"
HORIE sufficiently teaches a flow rate (linear velocity) of 5.3 cm/sec , especially at para 43 a flow rate (linear velocity) of 5.3 cm/sec
HORIE sufficiently teaches a variation of a pressure loss (drop) of the air filter medium is measured , especially at para 44, among such as para 43 a variation of a pressure loss (drop) of the air filter medium is measured
HORIE sufficiently teaches a collection efficiency of the polyalphaolefin particles having been collected by the air filter medium is 90% or more at pressure drop of 400 Pa , especially at para 43-46; and instant claim 8 admits "wherein a collection efficiency measured using polyalphaolefin particles under conditions where an evaluation target particle size is 0.1 to 0.2 µm and a permeate flow rate is 5.3 cm/sec is 85% or more" is within the claimed range of "an amount of the polyalphaolefin particles having been collected by the air filter medium is 60 g/m2 or more at a moment when the pressure drop reaches 500 Pa" a collection efficiencyt of the polyalphaolefin particles having been collected by the air filter medium is 90% or more at pressure drop of 400 Pa
HORIE sufficiently teaches the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm (is taken within the range of a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm) , especially at para 43-46 the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm (is taken within the range of a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to optimize air filter of SUZUKI with polyalphaolefin particles property of HORIE within the claimed range, for the benefit of sufficient collection efficiency; in an alternative, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.05 PART II-A)
With regard to claim 8, SUZUKI does not specifically teach a property of (later referred to herein ‘polyalphaolefin particles property’ of claim 8) wherein a collection efficiency measured using polyalphaolefin particles under conditions where an evaluation target particle size is 0.1 to 0.2 µm and a permeate flow rate is 5.3 cm/sec is 85% or more,
the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm.
But, HORIE sufficiently teaches wherein a collection efficiency measured using polyalphaolefin particles under conditions where an evaluation target particle size is 0.1 to 0.2 µm and a permeate flow rate is 5.3 cm/sec is within the claimed range , especially at para 38, 43-46
HORIE sufficiently teaches the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm (is taken within the range of a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm) , especially at para 43-46 the polyalphaolefin particles being polydisperse particles having range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm (is taken within the range of a peak in number in a particle size range of 0.1 to 0.2 µm)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to optimize air filter of SUZUKI with polyalphaolefin particles property of HORIE within the claimed range, for the benefit of sufficient collection efficiency; in an alternative, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.05 PART II-A)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at page(s) 6, particularly “Without agreeing to the propriety of the rejections, Applicant submits that claim 1 is amended solely to expedite prosecution of the present application."
page(s) 6, particularly “Claim 1 recites:
page(s) 6, particularly “An air filter medium comprising a porous fluorine resin membrane, the air filter medium further comprising:
page(s) 6, particularly “a collection layer;
page(s) 6, particularly “an air-permeable adhesive layer; and
page(s) 6, particularly “an air-permeable supporting layer, wherein
page(s) 6, particularly “the collection layer, the air-permeable adhesive layer, the air-permeable supporting layer, and the porous fluorine resin membrane are placed in this order from upstream to downstream of the air filter medium configured to allow an air flow to pass through the air filter medium,
page(s) 6, particularly “the collection layer is formed of a fibrous material having an average fiber diameter of 5 µm or less,
page(s) 6, particularly “the air-permeable adhesive layer has a grammage of 5.5 g/m2 or more and is formed of a fibrous adhesive, wherein the adhesive is a hot-melt adhesive, and
page(s) 6, particularly “the air-permeable supporting layer is formed of a fibrous material having an average fiber diameter of more than 5 µm.
page(s) 6, particularly “Discussion
page(s) 6, particularly “In setting forth the rejections, the Official Action asserts, inter alia, that "SUZUKI sufficiently teaches an air filter medium comprising (as follows, and), especially at abstract a porous polytetratluoroethylenc (PTFE; fluorine resin) membrane, especially at claim 1 a
page(s) 6, particularly “collection layer 30 (pre-filter), especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, par. [0054]-[0062], [0084] an air-
page(s) 6, particularly “permeable adhesive layer 20, 21, 22, especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, par. [0054]-[0062], [0084] an air-permeable supporting layer 12 (breathable fiber layer), especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, par.
page(s) 6, particularly “13,54-62, 84". Emphasis Added. See page 3 in the Official Action.
page(s) 7, particularly “By the present amendment, claim 1 is amended to recite that "the air-permeable adhesive layer has a grammage of 5.5 g/m2 or more and is formed of a fibrous adhesive, wherein the
page(s) 7, particularly “adhesive is a hot-melt adhesive".
page(s) 7, particularly “In contrast, SUZUKI does not disclose the adhesive layer formed of a fibrous adhesive
page(s) 7, particularly “that is a hot melt adhesive.
page(s) 7, particularly “Absent a disclosure in a single reference of each and every element recited in a claim, a prima facie case of anticipation cannot be made under 35 U.S.C. § 102. Since SUZUKI fails to disclose the features of claim 1, claim 1 and claims 2-11 depending therefrom are not anticipated by SUZUKI.
In response, respectfully, the Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013-94717 (herein known as SUZUKI)
SUZUKI sufficiently teaches an adhesive layer with hot-melt adhesive as an alternative to thermal bonding, especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, para 41,42,50 among others such as, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
Applicant argues at page(s) 7, particularly “Furthermore, the remaining references do not disclose anything that can reasonably be considered to supply this deficiency in SUZUKI."
In response, respectfully, the Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues at page(s) 7, particularly “Moreover, it should be appreciated that the present claimed features are advantageous at least because "an air filter medium suitable for reducing a pressure drop increase even in an"
page(s) 7, particularly “present disclosure.
page(s) 7, particularly “environment including liquid particles such as oil mist" is obtained. See the abstract of the
In response, respectfully, the Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. Prima facie obviousness is not rebutted by merely recognizing additional advantages or latent properties present in the prior art. (MPEP 2145 PART II)
Applicant argues at page(s) 7, particularly “Additionally, according to SUZUKI, thermal bonding such as infrared lamination or"
page(s) 7, particularly “thermal roll nipping is required to join the pre-filter layer 30 and the filter layer 10 using the
page(s) 7, particularly “adhesive layer 20 (para. 0051). In contrast, the present claimed air filter medium is advantageous in that the joining of layers using the claimed air-permeable adhesive layer can be performed, for example, by simple press lamination (para. 0114). It should be appreciated that the ability to omit thermal bonding reduces the occurrence of ventilation obstruction caused by thermal melting of materials included in the layers to be joined.
In response, respectfully, the Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. SUZUKI sufficiently teaches an adhesive layer with hot-melt adhesive as an alternative to thermal bonding, especially at cl. 1, Fig. 1-2, para 41,42,50 among others such as, par. 13,17,54-62, 84
In response, respectfully, the Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. Prima facie obviousness is not rebutted by merely recognizing additional advantages or latent properties present in the prior art. (MPEP 2145 PART II)
Applicant argues at page(s) 8, particularly “Therefore, Applicant submits that SUZUKI, alone or in any properly reasoned combination, fails to disclose An air filter medium comprising a porous fluorine resin membrane, the air filter medium further comprising: a collection layer; an air-permeable adhesive layer; and an air-permeable supporting layer, wherein the collection layer, the air-permeable adhesive layer, the air-permeable supporting layer, and the porous fluorine resin membrane are placed in this order from upstream to downstream of the air filter medium configured to allow an air flow to pass through the air filter medium, the collection layer is formed of a fibrous material having an average fiber diameter of 5 µm or less, the air-permeable adhesive layer has a grammage of 5.5 g/m2 or more and is formed of a fibrous adhesive, wherein the adhesive is a hot-melt adhesive, and the air-permeable supporting layer is formed of a fibrous material having an average fiber diameter of more than 5 µm, as recited in claim 1."
page(s) 8, particularly “Accordingly, for at least the reasons discussed supra, Applicant submits that the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 are improper and should be withdrawn.
In response, respectfully, the Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. Applicant’s argument(s) refer to previous argument(s), which the Applicant is invited to see previous rebuttal(s), respectively.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues at page(s) 8, particularly “In view of the amendments and remarks herein, Applicant submits that independent claim 1 is in condition for allowance, for reasons discussed supra. Regarding dependent claims 2-11, Applicant submits that these claims are allowable on their own merit, as well as because of their dependency from claim 1, which is allowable for reasons discussed supra."
page(s) 8, particularly “Thus, it is respectfully submitted that the claims in the present application are clearly
page(s) 9, particularly “patentable over the reference(s) cited by the Examiner, either alone or in combination, and an indication to such effect is respectfully requested, in due course.
In response, respectfully, the Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. Applicant’s argument(s) refer to previous argument(s), which the Applicant is invited to see previous rebuttal(s), respectively.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY SHUMATE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776