DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims as amended have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 17-19 are directed to an invention that lacks unity of invention because even though the invention requires the technical feature of the product, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the Prior Art in view of US Publication 2020/0239737 to Guo.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 4-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication 2020/0239737 to Guo.
Regarding Claim 1, Guo teaches modified silica particles, comprising an alkoxy organosilane (Paragraphs 11, 20, 31, 32, 41, 42) on the surface, wherein the silica particles are water glass-based (colloidal).
Regarding Claim 2, Guo teaches (Paragraph 10) the silica particles are colloidal silica particles.
Regarding Claim 4, Guo teaches (Paragraphs 11, 20, 31, 32, 41, 42) the alkoxy organosilane is a hydrophilic alkoxy organosilane.
Regarding Claim 5, Guo teaches (Paragraphs 11, 20, 31, 32, 41, 42) the alkoxy organosilane silane is a poly(alkoxy) organosilane.
Regarding Claim 6, Guo teaches (Paragraphs 11, 20, 31, 32, 41, 42) the alkoxy organosilane is of the formula (I) wherein R¹ and R² are at each occurrence independently of each other selected from the group consisting of methyl, ethyl and propyl; a is an integer of at least 1 and at most 5; and b is an integer of at least 1 and at most 20; wherein preferably R+ and R² are all methyl, a is 3, and b is 11.
Regarding Claim 16, Guo teaches (Paragraphs 11, 20, 31, 32, 41, 42) the alkoxy organosilane is of the formula (I) wherein R¹ and R² are all methyl, a is 3, and b is 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERTS P CULBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716