Detailed Action
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment submitted on December 8, 2025.
Claims 24-25, 29, 33-38 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-23, 31-32 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claims 22-23, 31-32 have been cancelled. Accordingly, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-25, 27-28, 31-34 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0369218 in view of Kim et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0362784, Foreign Priority to June 2020.
The amendments to claims 24, 33, and 34 have overcome the rejections. Therefore, the prior rejection has been withdrawn, and new grounds of rejection are made in this Office action. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by Applicant's amendment, and accordingly, this Office action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-25, 29, 33-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al US Patent Publication No. 2023/0008647, Foreign Priority to March 2020, (“Yao”) in view of Gupta et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0369218 (“Gupta”) and Kim et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0362784, Foreign Priority to June 2020 (“Kim”).
Regarding claim 24, Yao teaches a method in a network node implementing an Edge Configuration Server, ECS, comprising:
receiving, from a core network node, a notification of a user plane path management event associated with application traffic, wherein the notification comprises a target DNAI for the application traffic (para. [0083] core network element 101 is a network element that implements a session management function (session management function, SMF). para. [0097] user plane management event notification carries a changed DNAI. para. [0272] SMF detects that the user plane management event occurs and notifies the central AF of the event. para. [0262] central AF is an ECS);
determining which EES and EAS with a DNAI matching the target DNAI (para. [0229] EES… responsible for managing, performing registration… each EAS deployed in the EDN. para. [0230] edge configuration server (edge configuration server, ECS) is a global management network element that maintains information of each EDN such as a service range and an EES address. para. [0273] central AF selects connection information of one or more edge networks (EHEs or EDNs), or selects connection information of network elements (EESs or EASs). para. [0274] in response to a notification message including one or more DNAI identifiers, the ECS determines that an edge network corresponding to the DNAI identifier. ECS determines the first network element); and
transmitting, to an Edge Enabler Client a service provisioning notification containing information on the EES and the EAS with the DNAI matching the target DNAI (para. [0095] after receiving a DNAI identifier, the control network element determines that an edge network corresponding to the DNAI identifier. para. [0231] functions of the EEC include: retrieving EDN information by using EDGE-4, enabling the UE to register with the EES. para. [0273] ECS sends connection information of configured EDNs to the UE. connection information of the edge network (EHE or EDN) includes but is not limited to: EES address information, and EAS (list) information and EAS address information in the EDN.).
Yao does not teach receiving, from an Edge Enabler Server, EES, an EES registration request or an EES registration update request containing one or more Data Network Access Identifiers, DNAIs, associated with an Edge Application Server, EAS, or the EES.
Gupta teaches receiving, from an Edge Enabler Server, EES, an EES registration request or an EES registration update request containing one or more Data Network Access Identifiers, DNAIs, associated with an Edge Application Server, EAS, or the EES (para. [0037] receiving, by an edge configuration server (ECS), information of at least one edge application server (EAS) provided by a source edge enabler server (EES). para. [0051] EAS information profile comprises a list of service areas served by the EAS. para. [0071] service area of the EAS (112) or the service area of the EES (114) can be defined as… list of data network access identifiers (DNAIs) associated with the EDN which is hosting the EAS. para. [0055] EES1… sends a registration request to the ECS. registration request contains EAS information profile.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yao with Gupta’s disclosure of receiving, from the EES, an EES registration request or an EES registration update. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yao discloses that the ECS maintains information of EDNs and provides the information in response to requests. It would have been beneficial for the ECS to be updated and store information regarding the EES and EAS for management and servicing of requests.
Yao discloses determining an EES and an EAS with a DNAI matching the target DNAI. Yao suggests determining an EES with a registered EAS based on DNAI matching a target DNAI as Yao discloses that the ECS determines a EES matching the DNAI and the EAS is registered with the EES (see para. [0229]). However, it is not expressly disclosed by Yao.
Kim discloses determining which EES has a registered EAS with a DNAI matching one of the one or more DNAIs (para. [0134] in order to interact with the ECS 30, the target DNAI provided from the 3GPP network 40 may be transmitted to the ECS 30. ECS 30 may select the target EES based on the target DNAI). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yao with Kim’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the ECS is a central control element that selects edge networks and edge elements, and it would have been beneficial to determine the EES for enabling discovery and access to the correct EAS by the UE.
Regarding claim 33, Yao teaches a network node, comprising a communication interface, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor whereby the network node is operative to, when implementing an Edge Configuration Server, ECS:
receive, from a core network node, a notification of a user plane path management event associated with application traffic, wherein the notification comprises a target DNAI for the application traffic (para. [0083] core network element 101 is a network element that implements a session management function (session management function, SMF). para. [0097] user plane management event notification carries a changed DNAI. para. [0272] SMF detects that the user plane management event occurs and notifies the central AF of the event. para. [0262] central AF is an ECS);
determining which EES and EAS with a DNAI matching the target DNAI (para. [0229] EES… responsible for managing, performing registration… each EAS deployed in the EDN. para. [0230] edge configuration server (edge configuration server, ECS) is a global management network element that maintains information of each EDN such as a service range and an EES address. para. [0273] central AF selects connection information of one or more edge networks (EHEs or EDNs), or selects connection information of network elements (EESs or EASs). para. [0274] in response to a notification message including one or more DNAI identifiers, the ECS determines that an edge network corresponding to the DNAI identifier. ECS determines the first network element); and
transmit, to an Edge Enabler Client a service provisioning notification containing information on the EES and the EAS with the DNAI matching the target DNAI (para. [0095] after receiving a DNAI identifier, the control network element determines that an edge network corresponding to the DNAI identifier. para. [0273] ECS sends connection information of configured EDNs to the UE. connection information of the edge network (EHE or EDN) includes but is not limited to: EES address information, and EAS (list) information and EAS address information in the EDN.).
Yao does not teach receiving, from an Edge Enabler Server, EES, an EES registration request or an EES registration update request containing one or more Data Network Access Identifiers, DNAIs, associated with an Edge Application Server, EAS, or the EES.
Gupta teaches receiving, from an Edge Enabler Server, EES, an EES registration request or an EES registration update request containing one or more Data Network Access Identifiers, DNAIs, associated with an Edge Application Server, EAS, or the EES (para. [0037] receiving, by an edge configuration server (ECS), information of at least one edge application server (EAS) provided by a source edge enabler server (EES). para. [0051] EAS information profile comprises a list of service areas served by the EAS. para. [0071] service area of the EAS (112) or the service area of the EES (114) can be defined as… list of data network access identifiers (DNAIs) associated with the EDN which is hosting the EAS. para. [0055] EES1… sends a registration request to the ECS. registration request contains EAS information profile.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yao with Gupta’s disclosure of receiving, from the EES, an EES registration request or an EES registration update. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yao discloses that the ECS maintains information of EDNs and provides the information in response to requests. It would have been beneficial for the ECS to be updated and store information regarding the EES and EAS for management and servicing of requests.
Yao discloses determining an EES and an EAS with a DNAI matching the target DNAI. Yao suggests determining an EES with a registered EAS based on DNAI matching a target DNAI as Yao discloses that the ECS determines a EES matching the DNAI and the EAS is registered with the EES (see para. [0229]). However, it is not expressly disclosed by Yao.
Kim discloses determining which EES has a registered EAS with a DNAI matching one of the one or more DNAIs (para. [0134] in order to interact with the ECS 30, the target DNAI provided from the 3GPP network 40 may be transmitted to the ECS 30. ECS 30 may select the target EES based on the target DNAI). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yao with Kim’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the ECS is a central control element that selects edge networks and edge elements, and it would have been beneficial to determine the EES for enabling discovery and access to the correct EAS by the UE.
Regarding claim 34, Yao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable instructions stored thereon, the computer-readable instructions, when executed by a processor of a network node, configure the network node to, when implementing an Edge Configuration Server, ECS:
receiving, from a core network node, a notification of a user plane path management event associated with application traffic, wherein the notification comprises a target DNAI for the application traffic (para. [0083] core network element 101 is a network element that implements a session management function (session management function, SMF). para. [0097] user plane management event notification carries a changed DNAI. para. [0272] SMF detects that the user plane management event occurs and notifies the central AF of the event. para. [0262] central AF is an ECS);
determining which EES and EAS with a DNAI matching the target DNAI (para. [0229] EES… responsible for managing, performing registration… each EAS deployed in the EDN. para. [0230] edge configuration server (edge configuration server, ECS) is a global management network element that maintains information of each EDN such as a service range and an EES address. para. [0273] central AF selects connection information of one or more edge networks (EHEs or EDNs), or selects connection information of network elements (EESs or EASs). para. [0274] in response to a notification message including one or more DNAI identifiers, the ECS determines that an edge network corresponding to the DNAI identifier. ECS determines the first network element); and
transmitting, to an Edge Enabler Client a service provisioning notification containing information on the EES and the EAS with the DNAI matching the target DNAI (para. [0095] after receiving a DNAI identifier, the control network element determines that an edge network corresponding to the DNAI identifier. para. [0273] ECS sends connection information of configured EDNs to the UE. connection information of the edge network (EHE or EDN) includes but is not limited to: EES address information, and EAS (list) information and EAS address information in the EDN.).
Yao does not teach receiving, from an Edge Enabler Server, EES, an EES registration request or an EES registration update request containing one or more Data Network Access Identifiers, DNAIs, associated with an Edge Application Server, EAS, or the EES.
Gupta teaches receiving, from an Edge Enabler Server, EES, an EES registration request or an EES registration update request containing one or more Data Network Access Identifiers, DNAIs, associated with an Edge Application Server, EAS, or the EES (para. [0037] receiving, by an edge configuration server (ECS), information of at least one edge application server (EAS) provided by a source edge enabler server (EES). para. [0051] EAS information profile comprises a list of service areas served by the EAS. para. [0071] service area of the EAS (112) or the service area of the EES (114) can be defined as… list of data network access identifiers (DNAIs) associated with the EDN which is hosting the EAS. para. [0055] EES1… sends a registration request to the ECS. registration request contains EAS information profile.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yao with Gupta’s disclosure of receiving, from the EES, an EES registration request or an EES registration update. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yao discloses that the ECS maintains information of EDNs and provides the information in response to requests. It would have been beneficial for the ECS to be updated and store information regarding the EES and EAS for management and servicing of requests.
Yao discloses determining an EES and an EAS with a DNAI matching the target DNAI. Yao suggests determining an EES with a registered EAS based on DNAI matching a target DNAI as Yao discloses that the ECS determines a EES matching the DNAI and the EAS is registered with the EES (see para. [0229]). However, it is not expressly disclosed by Yao.
Kim discloses determining which EES has a registered EAS with a DNAI matching one of the one or more DNAIs (para. [0134] in order to interact with the ECS 30, the target DNAI provided from the 3GPP network 40 may be transmitted to the ECS 30. ECS 30 may select the target EES based on the target DNAI). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yao with Kim’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the ECS is a central control element that selects edge networks and edge elements, and it would have been beneficial to determine the EES for enabling discovery and access to the correct EAS by the UE.
Regarding claim 25, Yao in view of Gupta and Kim teach the method of claim 24, wherein the one or more DNAIs are included in an EES profile or an EAS profile in the registration request or the registration update request (Gupta discloses provides information in an EAS profile in the registration request. para. [0055] EES1… sends a registration request to the ECS. registration request contains EAS information profile).
Regarding claim 29, Yao in view of Gupta and Kim teach the method of claim 24, wherein the notification of the user plane path management event comprises a DNAI change (Yao: para. [0097] core network element generates first information. the first information is a user plane management event notification, and the user plane management event notification carries a changed DNAI).
Regarding claim 35, Yao in view of Gupta and Kim teach the network node of claim 33, wherein the one or more DNAIs are included in an EES profile or an EAS profile in the registration request or the registration update request (Gupta discloses provides information in an EAS profile in the registration request. para. [0055] EES1… sends a registration request to the ECS. registration request contains EAS information profile. Kim is relied upon to teach providing a DNAI).
Regarding claim 36, Yao in view of Gupta and Kim teach the network node of claim 33, wherein the notification of the user plane path management event comprises a DNAI change (Yao: para. [0097] core network element generates first information. the first information is a user plane management event notification, and the user plane management event notification carries a changed DNAI).
Regarding claim 37, Yao in view of Gupta and Kim teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 34, wherein the one or more DNAIs are included in an EES profile or an EAS profile in the registration request or the registration update request (Gupta discloses provides information in an EAS profile in the registration request. para. [0055] EES1… sends a registration request to the ECS. registration request contains EAS information profile).
Regarding claim 38, Yao in view of Gupta and Kim teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 34, wherein the notification of the user plane path management event comprises a DNAI change (Yao: para. [0097] core network element generates first information. the first information is a user plane management event notification, and the user plane management event notification carries a changed DNAI).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA JOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445