DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 16-18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Read (WO 99/64794 A1) in view of Mercer (US PGPub No. 2017/0130974).
Regarding claim 1, Read discloses a condenser module (fan deck 10, Figs. 1-3) of a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning system (HVAC chiller system 5), comprising:
a first slab comprising a first plurality of tubes (outer condenser coils 20) configured to receive a refrigerant from a compressor of the HVAC system (the outer coils 20 are one of the four condenser coils, see paragraph 0019, that receive compressed refrigerant from a compressor), wherein the first plurality of tubes is arrayed along a first dimension of the first slab (the outer coils 20 arrayed horizontally, see three holes 180 for condenser tubes in Fig. 3, and annotated figure below) and the first slab is oriented along a vertical axis (the outer coils 20 is entirely oriented along a vertical side of the fan deck 10, see Fig. 2); and
a second slab comprising a second plurality of tubes (inner condenser coils 70) configured to receive the refrigerant from the compressor (the condenser coils 212 are one of the four condenser coils, paragraph 0019, that receive compressed refrigerant from a compressor), wherein the second plurality of tubes is arrayed along a second dimension of the second slab (the inner coils 70 arrayed along a “second dimension”, see annotated figure below), the second slab is oriented at an acute angle relative to the first slab (an angle between the coils 20 and 70), and the second dimension is greater than the first dimension (the second dimension is longer than the first dimension),
wherein a height of the first slab along the vertical axis is greater than a height of the second slab along the vertical axis (see the height of the coils 20 is greater than the height of the coils 70 in annotated figure below),
wherein a first end of the first slab and a second end of the second slab are disposed at a common height along the vertical axis (lower end of the coils 20 and 70, “first end” and “second end” in annotated figure below, are disposed at the same vertical position), and
wherein a first distance spanning from the second end of the second slab to the first slab along a horizontal axis is less than a second distance spanning from a third end of the second slab to the first slab along the horizontal axis (the first distance is less than the second distance in annotated figure below, both distances are in horizontal direction of Fig. 2).
Read fails to disclose a first slab comprising a first plurality of microchannel tubes configured to receive a refrigerant from a compressor of the HVAC system; and
a second slab comprising a second plurality of microchannel tubes, wherein each microchannel tube of the second plurality of tubes is configured to receive the refrigerant from the compressor.
Mercer discloses at least one coil 25 of the outdoor coil unit 20 in Fig. 2 configured as an air cooled condenser 14 in Fig. 1. The air cooled condenser 14 is a microchannel heat exchanger (paragraph 0051), and the air cooled condenser receives a refrigerant R from a compressor 12 the HVAC system (Fig. 1).
Therefore, the coils 20 and 70 may comprise microchannel tubes as taught by Mercer.
It is also commonly known that each tube in condenser coils 20 and 70 in Read may both receive compressed refrigerant from compressor as taught by Mercer to enable the cooling or heating in known HVAC systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a first plurality of microchannel tubes configured to receive a refrigerant from a compressor of the HVAC system; and a second slab comprising a second plurality of microchannel tubes, wherein each microchannel tube of the second plurality of tubes is configured to receive the refrigerant from the compressor in Read as taught by Mercer since microchannels provide more surface area per unit volume compared to conventional coil/tubes, and to enable the cooling/heating effect in the HVAC system.
Regarding claim 2, Read as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein the second dimension is greater than the first dimension by at least 5 percent, by at least 10 percent, or by at least 15 percent of the first dimension (the second dimension is substantially greater than the first dimension).
Regarding claim 3, Read as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein the first plurality of microchannel tubes comprises a first number of microchannel tubes, the second plurality of microchannel tubes comprises a second number of microchannel tubes, and the second number of microchannel tubes is greater than the first number of microchannel tubes (the number of inner coils 70 measured in the second dimension is substantially more the number of outer coils 20 as shown in Fig. 2A measured in the first dimension).
Regarding claim 4, Read as modified in claim 1 further discloses a condenser fan housing (a rectangular frame of the fan deck 10), wherein the first slab is directly coupled to the condenser fan housing (the outer coils 20 are directly coupled the frame of the fan deck 10).
Regarding claim 5, Read in claim 4 further discloses a condenser fan (fans mounted to fan deck 10, last paragraph on page 5) supported by the condenser fan housing (supported by the rectangular frame of the fan deck 10, Fig. 1), wherein the condenser fan is configured to direct a first air flow across the first slab and a second air flow across the second slab during operation of the condenser fan (“The fans operate to circulate air over the condenser coils”, last paragraph on page 5).
Regarding claim 7, Read in claim 4 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first slab and the second slab are arranged in a parallel fluid flow arrangement.
Mercer further discloses wherein the first slab and the second slab are arranged in a parallel fluid flow arrangement (tubes 44 or 44b are parallelly arranged, Figs. 5 and 6).
It has been held that a "simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” is obvious. In this instance the prior art (Mercer) provides for the known element of heat exchanger that is parallelly arranged. It is known in the art to substitute the tube arrangement in coil 20 and 70 in Read for the parallel tubes 44 or 44b of Mercer. The result of the substitution would have been predictable to perform the heat exchange between the air and refrigerant. MPEP 2143 B.
Regarding claim 8, Read as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein the first slab is an exterior slab of the condenser module, and the second slab is an interior slab of the condenser module (the outer coils 20 and the inner coils 70).
Regarding claim 16, Read discloses a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system (chiller unit 5, Fig. 1), comprising:
a condenser (a fan deck 10) comprising a first slab (outer condenser coils 20) and a second slab (inner condenser coils 70), wherein the first slab comprises a first plurality of tubes (the tubes in the outer condenser coils 20) extending along a first length of the first slab (see annotated figure below), the first slab comprises a first height transverse to the first length (see annotated figure below), the second slab comprises a second plurality of tubes (the tubes in the inner condenser coils 70) extending along a second length of the second slab (see annotated figure below), the second slab is oriented at an acute angle relative to the first slab (an angle between the coils 20 and 70), and the second slab comprises a second height that is transverse to the second length (see annotated figure below) and that is greater than the first height of the first slab (the height of the inner coil 212 is a hypotenuse of a triangle the front view of Fig. 2B and is longer than the height of the outer coil 210), and a first vertical height of the first slab along a vertical axis is greater than a second vertical height of the second slab along the vertical axis (see annotated figure above),
wherein a first end of the first slab and a second end of the second slab are disposed at a common height along the vertical axis (lower end of the coils 20 and 70, “first end” and “second end” in annotated figure above, are disposed at the same vertical position), and
wherein a first distance spanning from the second end of the second slab to the first slab along a horizontal axis is less than a second distance spanning from a third end of the second slab to the first slab along the horizontal axis (the first distance is less than the second distance in annotated figure above, both distances are in horizontal direction of Fig. 2).
Read fails to disclose the first plurality of tubes is configured to receive a refrigerant from a compressor of the HVAC system, and the second plurality of tubes is configured to receive the refrigerant from the compressor.
As noted in claim 1 above, Mercer discloses at least one coil 25 of the outdoor coil unit 20 in Fig. 2 configured as an air cooled condenser 14 in Fig. 1. The air cooled condenser 14 is a microchannel heat exchanger (paragraph 0051), and the air cooled condenser receives a refrigerant R from a compressor 12 the HVAC system (Fig. 1).
It is also commonly known that each tube in condenser coils 20 and 70 in Read may both receive compressed refrigerant from compressor as taught by Mercer to enable the cooling or heating in known HVAC systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the first plurality of tubes is configured to receive a refrigerant from a compressor of the HVAC system, and the second plurality of tubes is configured to receive the refrigerant from the compressor in Read as taught by Mercer in order to enable the cooling/heating effect in the HVAC system.
Regarding claim 17, Read as modified in claim 16 further discloses a condenser fan housing (the rectangular body of the fan deck 10), a first support member (bracket 75, Fig. 2) and a second support member (a horizontal member where both lower ends of the coils 20 and 70 attached, see annotated figure above, including bracket 76 in Figs. 2 and 3), wherein the first support member is directly coupled to the condenser fan housing (the first support member is directly coupled to top horizontal member of the rectangular body of the fan deck 10, see Fig. 2), a fourth end of the first slab is directly coupled to the condenser fan housing (top end of the outer coils 20 is directly connected to the top horizontal member of the rectangular body), the first end of the first slab is directly coupled to the second support member (bottom end of the outer coils 20 or “first end” in annotated figure in claim 1 is directly connected to the horizontal member), the third end of the second slab is directly coupled to the first support member (upper end of the inner coil 70 or “third end” in annotated figure in claim 1 is directly connected to the bracket 75), and the second end of the second slab is directly coupled to the second support member (bottom end of the inner coils 70 or “second end” in annotated figure in claim 1 is directly connected to the bracket 76).
Regarding claim 18, Read in claim 17 further discloses a base (the horizontal extension of the horizontal member away from lower ends of the coils 20 and 70), wherein the second support member is directly coupled to the base (the horizontal extension is an extension and directly coupled to the horizontal member with both lower ends of the coils 20 and 70), such that the first slab and the second slab are elevated from the base to form an interior space within the HVAC system (the coils 20 and 70 are elevated from the base within an interior space formed by the fan deck 10).
Regarding claim 23, Read as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein the first plurality of microchannel tubes is configured to receive a first portion of the refrigerant (a first portion of the refrigerant flowing within the coils 20 as modified by Mercer), the second plurality of microchannel tubes is configured to receive a second portion of the refrigerant (a second portion of the refrigerant flowing within the coils 70 as modified by Mercer), each microchannel tube of the second plurality of microchannel tubes is configured to receive the second portion of the refrigerant (the entire stretch of the coils 70 receive the second portion of the refrigerant), and the first portion of the refrigerant and the second portion of the refrigerant are separate from one another (the first portion within the coils 20 and the second portion within the coils 70 are separate as shown in Fig. 2 of Read).
Claim(s) 10-15 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Read (WO 99/64794 A1) in view of Sugiyama (EP 1293731 A2).
Regarding claim 10, Read discloses a condenser (fan deck 10, Figs. 1-3) of a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning system (HVAC chiller system 5), comprising:
a first heat exchanger slab (outer condenser coils 20) and a second heat exchanger slab (inner condenser coils 70), wherein the first heat exchanger slab comprises a first plurality of tubes (the tubes in the coils 20), the first plurality of tubes is arrayed along a first dimension of the first heat exchanger slab (outer coils 20 arrayed horizontally, see three holes 180 for condenser tubes in Fig. 3, and annotated figure above), the second heat exchanger slab comprises a second plurality of tubes (the tubes in the coils 70), the second heat exchanger slab is oriented at an acute angle relative to the first heat exchanger slab (an angle between the coils 20 and 70), and the second plurality of tubes is arrayed along a second dimension of the second heat exchanger slab (the inner coils 70 arrayed along a “second dimension”, see annotated figure above) that is greater than the first dimension of the first heat exchanger slab (the second dimension is longer than the first dimension), and the first slab is oriented along a vertical axis (the outer coils 20 is entirely oriented along a vertical side of the fan deck 10, see Fig. 2); and
a third heat exchanger slab (another outer condenser coils 20 on an opposite side) and a fourth heat exchanger slab (another inner condenser coils 70 on the opposite side), wherein the third heat exchanger slab comprises a third plurality of tubes (the tubes in the coils 20), the third plurality of tubes is arrayed along a third dimension of the third heat exchanger slab (“third dimension”, see annotated figure above), the fourth heat exchanger slab comprises a fourth plurality of tubes (the tubes in the coils 70), the fourth heat exchanger slab is oriented at an acute angle relative to the third heat exchanger slab (an angle between the coils 20 and 70), and the fourth plurality of tubes is arrayed along a fourth dimension of the fourth heat exchanger slab (“fourth dimension”, see annotated figure above) that is greater than the third dimension of the third heat exchanger slab (the fourth dimension is longer than the third dimension), and the third slab is oriented along the vertical axis (the outer coils 20 is entirely oriented along a vertical side of the fan deck 10, see Fig. 2),
wherein a height of the first heat exchanger slab along the vertical axis is greater than a height of the second heat exchanger slab along the vertical axis, and a height of the third heat exchanger slab along the vertical axis is greater than a height of the fourth heat exchanger slab along the vertical axis (see annotated figure above),
wherein a first end of the first heat exchanger slab and a second end of the second heat exchanger slab are disposed at a common height along the vertical axis (lower ends of the coils 20 and 70, “first end” and “second end” in annotated figure above, are disposed at the same vertical position), and a third end of the third heat exchanger slab and a fourth end of the fourth heat exchanger slab are disposed at the common height along the vertical axis (lower end of the another coils 20 and 70, “third end” and “fourth end” in annotated figure above, are disposed at the same vertical position), and
wherein a first distance spanning from the second end of the second heat exchanger slab to the first heat exchanger slab along a horizontal axis is less than a second distance spanning from a fifth end of the second heat exchanger slab to the first heat exchanger slab along the horizontal axis (the first distance is less than the second distance in annotated figure above, both distances are in horizontal direction of Fig. 2), and a third distance spanning from the fourth end of the fourth heat exchanger slab to the third heat exchanger slab along the horizontal axis is less than a fourth distance spanning from a sixth end of the fourth heat exchanger slab to the third heat exchanger slab along the horizontal axis (the third distance is less than the fourth distance in annotated figure above, both distances are in horizontal direction of Fig. 2).
Read fails to explicitly disclose a first plurality of tubes configured to receive a first portion of a first refrigerant flow, each tube of the second plurality of tubes is configured to receive a respective amount of a second portion of the first refrigerant flow, a third plurality of tubes configured to receive a third portion of a second refrigerant flow, and each tube of the fourth plurality of tubes is configured to receive a respective amount of a fourth portion of the second refrigerant flow.
Sugiyama (Fig. 9) discloses a first plurality of tubes (101a) configured to receive a first portion (receiving an amount of refrigerant in branch 103c) of a first refrigerant flow (a branch 103b from 103a), each tube of the second plurality of tubes (102a) is configured to receive a respective amount of a second portion of the first refrigerant flow (receiving an amount of refrigerant from another branch of the flow 103b), a third plurality of tubes (101b) configured to receive a third portion (receiving an amount of refrigerant in branch 103d) of a second refrigerant flow (another branch from 103a), and each tube of the fourth plurality of tubes (102b) is configured to receive a respective amount of a fourth portion of the second refrigerant flow (receiving an amount of refrigerant from another branch connecting the 102b).
The condenser coils 20 and 70; and another condenser coils 20 and 70 in Read may include refrigerant lines as taught by Sugiyama to deliver refrigerant to the respective condenser coils (so that each condenser receives a refrigerant portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a first plurality of tubes configured to receive a first portion of a first refrigerant flow, each tube of the second plurality of tubes is configured to receive a respective amount of a second portion of the first refrigerant flow, a third plurality of tubes configured to receive a third portion of a second refrigerant flow, and each tube of the fourth plurality of tubes is configured to receive a respective amount of a fourth portion of the second refrigerant flow in Read as taught by Sugiyama in order to supply refrigerant to the condenser coils in Read to perform heat exchange with the air flow.
Regarding claim 11, Read as modified in claim 10 further discloses wherein the first heat exchanger slab, the second heat exchanger slab, the third heat exchanger slab, and the fourth heat exchanger slab are arranged to form an inverted M-shaped configuration (inverted M, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Read as modified in claim 10 further discloses wherein a first arrangement of the first heat exchanger slab and the second heat exchanger slab (an arrangement of a pair of the coils 20 and 70 on left side of Fig. 2) and a second arrangement of the third heat exchanger slab and the fourth heat exchanger slab (an arrangement of another pair of the coils 20 and 70 on right side of Fig. 2) are symmetric to one another about a central axis of the condenser (the two arrangements are symmetric about a vertical axis in the annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 13, Read as modified in claim 10 further discloses a plurality of condenser modules (a plurality of fan decks 10 in Fig. 1), wherein the plurality of condenser modules is arranged in pairs of opposing condenser modules (pairs of the outer condenser coils 20 and the inner condenser coils 70 in the fan decks 10), each pair of opposing condenser modules comprises a first condenser module (the outer condenser coils 20 and the inner condenser coils 70 on left side of the “central axis” in annotated figure in claim 1 above) and a second condenser module (the another outer condenser coils 20 and the another inner condenser coils 70 on right side of the “central axis” in annotated figure in claim 1 above) disposed opposite one another relative to a central axis of the condenser (they are opposite to each other about the “central axis”), the respective first condenser module of a first pair of opposing condenser modules comprises the first heat exchanger slab (the outer condenser coils 20 in claim 10) and the second heat exchanger slab (the inner condenser coils 70 in claim 10), and the respective second condenser module of the first pair of opposing condenser modules comprises the third heat exchanger slab (the another outer condenser coils 20 in claim 10) and the fourth heat exchanger slab (the another inner condenser coils 70 in claim 10).
Regarding claim 14, Read as modified in claim 13 further discloses wherein the first condenser modules (20, 70) are arrayed along a longitudinal axis of the condenser (arrayed along a horizontal direction of the fan deck 10 in Fig. 2), the second condenser modules (another 20, 70) are arrayed along the longitudinal axis (arrayed along the horizontal direction of the fan deck 10 in Fig. 2), and wherein the respective first condenser module and the respective second condenser module of each pair of opposing condenser modules are disposed on opposite sides of the condenser (the coils 20, 70; and the another coils 20, 70 are disposed on left and right side of the fan deck 10 shown in Fig. 2) and are arrayed along a lateral axis of the condenser extending crosswise to the longitudinal axis (the coils 20, 70; and the another coils 20, 70 are arrayed in a lateral direction where the plurality of fan decks 10 arranged, see Fig. 1 and the direction of “ first length” in annotated figure in claim 16 above, the lateral direction is crosswise to the horizontal axis in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Read in claim 13 further discloses wherein each condenser module of the plurality of condenser modules comprises two condenser fans (“each fan deck 10 has two fans”, last paragraph on page 5).
Regarding claim 21, Read as modified in claim 10 further discloses a first condenser module (the outer condenser coils 20 and the inner condenser coils 70 on left side of the “central axis”) and a second condenser module (the another outer condenser coils 20 and the another inner condenser coils 70 on right side of the “central axis” in annotated figure above), wherein the first condenser module comprises the first heat exchanger slab and the second heat exchanger slab (the coils 20, 70), the second condenser module comprises the third heat exchanger slab and the fourth heat exchanger slab (the another coils 20 and 70), and the first condenser module and the second condenser module are disposed on opposite sides of a central axis of the condenser (left and right sides of the vertical “central axis” in annotated figure above), and
wherein the central axis extends along the vertical axis (the vertical “central axis”), the condenser comprises a structural support member (bracket 75) extending along the vertical axis (extending downwardly), and the second heat exchanger slab and the fourth heat exchanger slab are engaged with opposite sides of the structural support member (upper ends of the two coils 70 attached on left and right sides of the bracket 75).
Regarding claim 22, Read in claim 21 further discloses wherein: the first plurality of tubes, the second plurality of tubes, the third plurality of tubes, and the fourth plurality of tubes extend along a longitudinal axis of the condenser (the coils 20 and 70; and another coils 20 and 70 extend along the direction of “first length” in annotated figure in claim 16 above),
the first condenser module and the second condenser module are arranged along the horizontal axis of the condenser extending crosswise to the longitudinal axis (the first condenser module and the second condenser module in claim 21 above have horizontal extension, see horizontal direction of Fig. 2. The horizontal extension is crosswise to the direction of “first length” in annotated figure in claim 16),
the second end of the second heat exchanger slab is offset from the first heat exchanger slab along the horizontal axis (offset by a “first distance”, see annotated figure in claim 1 above), and the fifth end of the second heat exchanger slab, opposite the second end of the second heat exchanger, is engaged with the structural support member (upper end of the inner coil 70 or “fifth end (clm 10)” in annotated figure in claim 1 is directly connected to the bracket 75), and
the fourth end of the fourth heat exchanger slab is offset from the third heat exchanger slab along the horizontal axis (offset by a “third distance (clm 10)”, see annotated figure in claim 1 above), and the sixth end of the fourth heat exchanger, opposite the fourth end of the fourth heat exchanger, is engaged with the structural support member (upper end of the another inner coil 70 or “sixth end (clm 10)” in annotated figure in claim 1 is directly connected to the bracket 75).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Read (WO 99/64794 A1) in view of Mercer (US PGPub No. 2017/0130974) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Han (KR 100756018 B1).
Regarding claim 19, Read as modified in claim 16 fails to disclose wherein the acute angle is at least 35 degrees.
Han discloses an angle θ between a vertical condensing coil 5 and an inclined condensing coil 5 is 35-55 degrees and preferably 45 degrees (Fig. 4 and page 7 of the translation).
Therefore, when the preferred angle of 45 degrees is applied between the coils 10 and 70.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the acute angle is at least 35 degrees in Read as taught by Han in order to make space for the fan since the angle/height of the coils directly increases/decrease the diameter of the fan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10-19 and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763