DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 05/06/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 05/06/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-19 and 22 are pending
Claims 1 and 22 are amended
Claims 20-21 and 23-36 are canceled
Claims 1-19 and 22 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 22 recites the limitation, "…the message is associated to a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMConext Request." However, the term “Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMConext” is not defined in the claims and specification. On the other hand, Para. [0086] of the instant specification recites, “…The AMF 208 sends a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request to the SMF+PGW-C 214, which includes the S-NSSAI from the PDU Session Establishment Request of step 1 (step 3).” Hence, for examination purposes the limitation, “Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMConext” has been construed to mean session establishment request. The office respectfully requests the applicant to amend the claim(s) in order to clarify the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20230300731 A1), hereinafter referenced as Lee, in view of SUGAWARA et al. (US 20220377693 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sugawara, and further in view of 3GPP (3GPP TR 23.700-40 V1.0.0 (2020-09), Phase 2, (Release 17), hereinafter referenced as 3GPP.
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Lee teaches a method for handling one or more quotas for a network slice that supports interworking between a Fifth Generation system, 5GS, and an Evolved Packet system, EPS, (Para. [0001]-Lee discloses a device and method for providing network slicing in a wireless communication system or a mobile communication system. Para. [0015]-Lee discloses an interworking method between a 5G network system structure providing a network slice function and an EPS network system, a service can be effectively provided in a mobile communication system. Figs. 1-3, Para. [0068]-Lee discloses the SMF 303 may call a request service for selecting a network slice (S-NSSAI) for PDN connection establishment to an NF 304 (in this disclosure, referred to as an interworking NF, but the name may be a network slice quota management function or an NSSF, PCF, UDM, UDR, and the like) the method comprising:
at a first Network Function, NF: receiving a message (Para. [0053]-Lee discloses the NF may receive a SUNS {Simultaneous Use of the Network Slice} policy from another NF. Para. [0071]-Lee discloses SUNS policy is included in a policy received by the SMF 303 from the PCF+PCRF or subscription information received from the UDM+HSS, the request message sending by the SMF 303 to the interworking NF 304 may include a SUNS policy. Para. [0043]-Lee discloses 5G core (5GC)-EPC interworking, 5G system (5GS)-EPS interworking, or 4G-5G interworking. Para. [0048]-Lee discloses SMF, SGW, and PGW are NFs that manage a session for the UE) associated to:
attachment of the UE with the EPS for a particular network slice that supports interworking between the 5GS and the EPS (Para. [0010]-Lee discloses a method and device for interworking a 5G network system structure (e.g., an evolved packet core (EPC) between a 5G core (5GC) and an evolved packet system (EPS) network system) that provides a network slice function in a wireless communication system. Para. [0044]-Lee discloses interworking (i.e., 5GS-EPS interworking) between a 5G network system structure providing a network slice function and an EPS network system or a 5GC-EPC interworking method. Para. [0053]-Lee discloses the NF may receive a SUNS {Simultaneous Use of the Network Slice} policy from another NF. Para. [0071]-Lee discloses the request message sending by the SMF 303 to the interworking NF 304 may include a SUNS policy. Fig. 2, Para. [0047-0049]-Lee discloses an interworking structure of a 5GS and an EPS ... The UE may access the MME of the EPS through the E-UTRA base station to use an EPS network service. Further, the UE may access the AMF of the 5GS through the NR base station to use a 5GS network service);
establishment of a Packet Data Network, PDN, connection in the EPS for the particular network slice (Para. [0053]-Lee discloses the NF may receive a SUNS {Simultaneous Use of the Network Slice} policy from another NF. Para. [0075]-Lee discloses the interworking NF 304 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may receive and/or manage S-NSSAI information associated with a session (PDU session or PDN connection) established by the UE. For example, the interworking NF 304 may store and manage S-NSSAI information associated with a session (PDU session or PDN connection) established by the UE. Para. [0062]-Lee discloses the case that the UE 300 is in an attach process for receiving a 4G service, or has been already registered in a 4G service, the UE 300 performs a process for creating a PDN connection. The UE 300 may merge and perform an operation for establishing a PDN connection during the attach process. The UE 300 may include desired access point name (APN) information in a non-access stratum (NAS) request message sending to the MME 302 in order to classify a service to be a target of session creation. Further, the UE 300 may include information (capability indication) indicating whether the UE supports a simultaneous use function of the network slice in the NAS request message sending to the MME 302. Para. [0043]-Lee discloses an EPS network (or referred to as an LTE-based network or a 4G network));
the message is associated to a Nsmf PDUSession CreateSMConext Request and includes a session identity, ID, that applies to a session regardless of whether the session is a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session in the 5GS or a Packet Data Network, PDN, connection in the EPS (Para. [0055]-Lee discloses session established by the UE, or a SUNS policy. Para. [0063]-Lee discloses MME 302 may transmit a request message for session creation to an SMF+PGW-C (for convenience of description, hereinafter, referred to as an SMF) 303, and such a request message for session creation may be transmitted to the SMF 303 through an SGW (not illustrated). The create session request message transmitted by the MME 302 may include an APN and a subscriber ID (international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI)) of the UE. Para. [0105]-Lee discloses The UE 300 may include a desired APN in a NAS request message sending to the MME 302 in order to identify a service to be a target of session creation, and include S-NSSAI selected by the UE 300 in step 410 together with the APN. Para. [0015]-Lee discloses embodiments of the disclosure, by providing an interworking method between a 5G network system structure providing a network slice function and an EPS network system. Para. [0043]-Lee discloses 5G core (5GC)-EPC interworking, 5G system (5GS)-EPS interworking, or 4G-5G interworking. Para. [0121]-Lee discloses one session (i.e., PDN connection) may be associated with one slice ID (S-NSSAI), and the UE 300 may store a slice ID (S-NSSAI) associated with each session (i.e., PDN connection). For example, a first session established by the UE in the EPC may be associated with a first slice ID, and a second session may be associated with a second Slice ID);
the first NF is a Session Management Function (SMF)+ PDN Gateway Control plane (PGW-C) (Para. [0063]-Lee discloses MME 302 may transmit a request message for session creation to an SMF+PGW-C (for convenience of description, hereinafter, referred to as an SMF) 303).
Lee fails to teach determining, in response to receiving the message, that a quota check for a quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice; and performing a procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice and, if needed, update an associated count, upon determining that a quota check is needed … wherein performing the procedure comprises using the session ID by the first NF to determine whether the session ID has already been counted towards a number of PDU sessions or PDN connections for the particular network slice.
However, Sugawara teaches determining, in response to receiving the message, that a quota check for a quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice (Para. [0201-0207]-Sugawara discloses the first condition fulfillment determination may be performed by a network function (also referred to as an NF) other than the new AMF. The NF may be, for example, ... a Network Slice Quota (NSQ). In a case that the NF other than the new AMF performs the first condition fulfillment determination, the new AMF may provide the NF with at least a part of information necessary for performing the first condition fulfillment determination, specifically, information received from the UE ... in a case that the number of UEs connected to the slice does not reach the maximum number of UEs, the first condition fulfillment determination may be true); and
performing a procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice (Para. [0096]-Sugawara discloses a Network Slice Quota (NSQ) may be an NF newly provided for supporting a function of management of a maximum number of UEs connected to a slice and/or a function of management of a maximum number of PDU sessions connected to a slice, and determining whether or not the number exceeds the maximum number of UEs and/or whether or not the number exceeds the maximum number of PDU sessions for a connectivity request to a specific slice) and,
performing the procedure comprises using the session ID by the first NF to determine whether the session ID has already been counted towards a number of PDU sessions or PDN connections for the particular network slice (Para. [0154]-Sugawara discloses identification information may be a PDU session ID for identifying the PDU session requested to be established. Para. [0096]-Sugawara discloses a Network Slice Quota (NSQ) may be an NF newly provided for supporting a function of management of a maximum number of UEs connected to a slice and/or a function of management of a maximum number of PDU sessions connected to a slice, and determining whether or not the number exceeds the maximum number of UEs and/or whether or not the number exceeds the maximum number of PDU sessions for a connectivity request to a specific slice).
Lee and Sugawara are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication networks, dealing with user equipment registration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of Sugawara on network slice, with a motivation to check the quota for the network slice, and guarantee 5GS, eNS can be supported, and the number of UEs allowed for each network slice can be managed, (Sugawara, Para. [0014]).
Lee fails to teach update an associated count, upon determining that a quota check is needed.
However, 3GPP teaches determining, in response to receiving the message, that a quota check for a quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice (Figure 6.2.3.4.2-1, Section [6.2.3.4.2]-3GPP discloses the vAMF sends Nnsq_NSQ_Check Request message to the hNSQ in order to check the quota availability for S-NSSAI_1 or sends Nnsq_NSQ_Update Request message in order to update the quota. Figure 6.11.3-1, Section [6.6.2 - 6.6.3], Page [51-52]-3GPP discloses PLMN may be configured to keep the counters also when the PDU Session becomes a PDN connection in EPS upon mobility. In this case the counter can be incremented also when the PDN connection corresponding to a certain S-NSSAI is established in the EPS ... PLMN may be configured to count PDU Sessions/PDN Connections associated to one S-NSSAI, The interworking related procedures ... they require some PCF+PCRF interactions at PDN Connection Establishment, Release and at mobility to/from EPS to implement the counting policies of the PLMN); and
performing a procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice and, if needed, update an associated count, upon determining that a quota check is needed (Figure 6.2.3.4.2-1, Section [6.2.3.4.2]-3GPP discloses the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update - If the request is for quota availability check, the hNSQ checks whether the 'max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1' has already been reached. If the request is for quota update, depending on the quota_update_flag value the hNSQ increments or decrements the available quota and either adds the UE_Id to the list of UEs registered for S-NSSAI_1 or removes it from the list. In case of multiple S-NSSAIs, the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update is repeated for each of them ... The hNSQ confirms the quota check/update for S-NSSAI_1. Figure 6.11.3-1, Section [6.6.2 - 6.6.3], Page [51-52]-3GPP discloses PLMN may be configured to keep the counters also when the PDU Session becomes a PDN connection in EPS upon mobility. In this case the counter can be incremented also when the PDN connection corresponding to a certain S-NSSAI is established in the EPS ... PLMN may be configured to count PDU Sessions/PDN Connections associated to one S-NSSAI, The interworking related procedures ... they require some PCF+PCRF interactions at PDN Connection Establishment, Release and at mobility to/from EPS to implement the counting policies of the PLMN).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check, with a motivation to update the network quota, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the method of claim 1,
Lee fails to teach the quota is a quota for a number of registered UEs for the particular network slice.
However, Sugawara teaches the quota is a quota for a number of registered UEs for the particular network slice (Para. [0139]-Sugawara discloses the maximum number of UEs connected to a slice may be herein referred to as a maximum number of UEs connected for each slice, or a maximum number of UEs that can be registered with the network slice or the S-NSSAI, or a maximum number of UEs, or a fixed value (also referred to as a quota)).
Sugawara is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication networks, dealing with user equipment registration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee in view of 3GPP to incorporate the teachings of Sugawara on network slice quota, with a motivation for the quota of the number of registered UE, and guarantee 5GS, eNS can be supported, and the number of UEs allowed for each network slice can be managed, (Sugawara, Para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the method of claim 2
Lee further teaches the first NF is a Unified Data Management, UDM, or a combined UDM / Home Subscriber Server, HSS (Para. [0048]-Lee discloses the UDM and the HSS are NFs that store and manage UE subscription information).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the method of claim 2
Lee further teaches determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that the network slice supports interworking and is subject to the quota (Fig. 3, Para. [0068]-Lee discloses the SMF 303 determines to apply a simultaneous use function of the network slice, a procedure of step 316 or less is performed. The SMF 303 may call a request service for selecting a network slice (S-NSSAI) for PDN connection establishment to an NF 304 (in this disclosure, referred to as an interworking NF, but the name may be a network slice quota management function or an NSSF, PCF, UDM, UDR, and the like among NFs that have previously provided other functions may include the corresponding function) for network slice interworking management. For example, the SMF 303 may transmit a slice selection request message to an interworking NF 304. Alternatively, the SMF 303 may support a function of the interworking NF).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the method of claim2
Lee fails to teach determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that the UE has not already been counted in a number of UEs registered for the particular network slice.
However, 3GPP teaches determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that the UE has not already been counted in a number of UEs registered for the particular network slice (Figure 6.2.3.4.2-1, Section [6.2.3.4.2]-3GPP discloses the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update - If the request is for quota availability check, the hNSQ checks whether the 'max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1' has already been reached. If the request is for quota update, depending on the quota_update_flag value the hNSQ increments or decrements the available quota and either adds the UE_Id to the list of UEs registered for S-NSSAI_1 or removes it from the list. In case of multiple S-NSSAIs, the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update is repeated for each of them ... The hNSQ confirms the quota check/update for S-NSSAI_1. Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [30]-3GPP discloses the NSQ checks first whether the UE has already been previously registered for S-NSSAI_1 (i.e. the UE has already been included in the list of UEs registered with S-NSSAI_1)).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check, with a motivation to determine counted and uncounted registered UE, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the method of claim2
Lee fails to teach prior to receiving the message, the UE was handed over from the 5GS to the EPS or vice versa, and determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that the UE has not already been counted in a number of UEs registered for the particular network slice prior to being handed over.
However, 3GPP teaches prior to receiving the message, the UE was handed over from the 5GS to the EPS or vice versa (Section [6.6.1], Page [51]-3GPP discloses in scenarios where restricting the number of PDU Sessions/UEs per S-NSSAI by also counting the UEs that have moved to or are in the EPS, this solution allows that by letting the PGW-C/SMF interact with PCF for this purpose. Figure 6.31.3.1-1, Section [6.31.3]-3GPP discloses Procedures {for Steering the UE to a network slice in different frequency band} ... {Step 1} The UE in idle mode registered via RAN-1 for S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-23 ... {Step 7} Handover from RAN-1 to RAN-2 ... {Step 8} PDU Session procedure for S-NSSAI-2 via RAN-29)), and
determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that the UE has not already been counted in a number of UEs registered for the particular network slice prior to being handed over (Figure 6.2.3.4.2-1, Section [6.2.3.4.2]-3GPP discloses the vAMF sends Nnsq_NSQ_Check Request message to the hNSQ in order to check the quota availability for S-NSSAI_1 or sends Nnsq_NSQ_Update Request message in order to update the quota. Figure 6.2.3.4.2-1, Section [6.2.3.4.2]-3GPP discloses the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update - If the request is for quota availability check, the hNSQ checks whether the 'max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1' has already been reached. If the request is for quota update, depending on the quota_update_flag value the hNSQ increments or decrements the available quota and either adds the UE_Id to the list of UEs registered for S-NSSAI_1 or removes it from the list. In case of multiple S-NSSAIs, the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update is repeated for each of them ... The hNSQ confirms the quota check/update for S-NSSAI_1. Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [30]-3GPP discloses the NSQ checks first whether the UE has already been previously registered for S-NSSAI_1 (i.e. the UE has already been included in the list of UEs registered with S-NSSAI_1). Section [6.6.1 - 6.6.3], Page [51-53]-3GPP discloses in scenarios where restricting the number of PDU Sessions/UEs per S-NSSAI by also counting the UEs that have moved to or are in the EPS, this solution allows that by letting the PGW-C/SMF interact with PCF for this purpose ... A PLMN may be configured to keep the counters also when the PDU Session becomes a PDN connection in EPS upon mobility. In this case the counter can be incremented also when the PDN connection corresponding to a certain S-NSSAI is established in the EPS ... A PLMN may be configured to keep the counters also when the PDU Session becomes a PDN connection in EPS upon mobility. In this ... In roaming case, only the PCF of the HPLMN performs the counting (involved via VPLMN PCF in LBO case, or via SMF of HPLMN in Home Routed case) ... if counting applies across EPS and 5GS, there is no need to inform the PCF when a PDU session becomes a PDN connection and vice versa, but there is a need to do so if the PLMN policy is to count only PDU sessions in 5GS. Similarly, if a PDN Connection Established in EPS is not counted, PCF+PCRF interaction for counting is not needed at PDN Connection Establishment).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check and UE handover, with a motivation to determine counted and uncounted registered UE before handover, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the method of claim 2
Lee fails to teach wherein the associated count is not increased if the UE has already been counted in a number of UEs registered for the particular network slice.
However, 3GPP teaches the associated count is not increased if the UE has already been counted in a number of UEs registered for the particular network slice (Figure 6.2.3.4.2-1, Section [6.2.3.4.2]-3GPP discloses the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update - If the request is for quota availability check, the hNSQ checks whether the 'max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1' has already been reached. If the request is for quota update, depending on the quota_update_flag value the hNSQ increments or decrements the available quota and either adds the UE_Id to the list of UEs registered for S-NSSAI_1 or removes it from the list. In case of multiple S-NSSAIs, the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update is repeated for each of them ... The hNSQ confirms the quota check/update for S-NSSAI_1. Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [30]-3GPP discloses the NSQ checks first whether the UE has already been previously registered for S-NSSAI_1 (i.e. the UE has already been included in the list of UEs registered with S-NSSAI_1)).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check, with a motivation to update the registered UE count, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the method of claim 1
Lee fails to teach the quota is a quota for a number of sessions for the particular network slice.
However, Sugawara teaches the quota is a quota for a number of sessions for the particular network slice (Para. [0096]-Sugawara discloses a Network Slice Quota (NSQ) may be an NF newly provided for supporting a function of management of a maximum number of UEs connected to a slice and/or a function of management of a maximum number of PDU sessions connected to a slice, and determining whether or not the number exceeds the maximum number of UEs and/or whether or not the number exceeds the maximum number of PDU sessions for a connectivity request to a specific slice).
Sugawara is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication networks, dealing with user equipment registration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee in view of 3GPP to incorporate the teachings of Sugawara on network slice quota, with a motivation for the quota of the number of sessions, and guarantee 5GS, eNS can be supported, and the number of UEs allowed for each network slice can be managed, (Sugawara, Para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the method of claim 8
Lee further teaches the first NF is a Session Management Function, SMF, or a combined SMF and Packet Data Network, PDN, Gateway Control plane, PGW-C (Fig. 3, Para. [0049-0050]-Lee discloses the SMF of the 5GS and the PGW-C of the EPS may be composed of one combo node (referred to as SMF+PGW-C) … NFs that simultaneously support different network systems may be indicated using a “+” symbol or a “/” symbol. For example, when the SMF and the PGW-C are composed of one combo node, they may be expressed as PGW-C/SMF, PGW-C+SMF, SMF/PGW-C, or SMF+PGW-C.).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the method of claim 8
Lee further teaches determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that the network slice supports interworking and is subject to the quota (Fig. 3, Para. [0068]-Lee discloses the SMF 303 determines to apply a simultaneous use function of the network slice, a procedure of step 316 or less is performed. The SMF 303 may call a request service for selecting a network slice (S-NSSAI) for PDN connection establishment to an NF 304 (in this disclosure, referred to as an interworking NF, but the name may be a network slice quota management function or an NSSF, PCF, UDM, UDR, and the like among NFs that have previously provided other functions may include the corresponding function) for network slice interworking management. For example, the SMF 303 may transmit a slice selection request message to an interworking NF 304. Alternatively, the SMF 303 may support a function of the interworking NF).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches the method of claim8
Lee fails to teach determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that a session of the UE over the particular network slice has not already been counted in a number of sessions for the particular network slice.
However, 3GPP teaches determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that a session of the UE over the particular network slice has not already been counted in a number of sessions for the particular network slice (Figure 6.11.3-1, Section [6.6.3.1], Page [52]-3GPP discloses a PLMN may be configured to count PDU Sessions/PDN Connections associated to one S-NSSAI, The interworking related procedures. Section [6.36.2], Page [156]-3GPP discloses the UE can trigger PDU Session handover between 3GPP access and non-3GPP access. If the Request Type of PDU Session Establishment is "Existing PDU Session", it is not counted as the network has already granted the use of S-NSSAI to the UE. Section [6.5.1], Pages [45-46]-3GPP discloses the NWDAF knows about the maximum number of PDU Sessions that the network slice can support ... the NWDAF knows about the current number of PDU Sessions accessing the network slice; ... when a UE requests to establish a new PDU Session to the network slice and that would cause the quota to be exceeded ... The O&M system knows about the maximum number of PDU Sessions that the network slice can support ... When the O&M system instantiates a network slice constituent of several network functions, a network function of the network slice has an information available at the network function (e.g., NWDAF, SMF, PCF), whether a certain S-NSSAI is subject to a network slice quota checking on the maximum number of PDU Sessions. Section [6.5.2.2-6.5.2.3], Page [46]-3GPP discloses the SMF is a network function entity that accepts or rejects a PDU Session Establishment request sent by the UE, the SMF does have an information of how many PDU Sessions that are successfully established within a network slice identified by a S-NSSAI ... Once the SMF gets such information from the NWDAF, if the network slice quota has been reached is indicated, then the SMF sends to the UE the PDU Establishment Reject message. (See also Pages 50, 81, 155 and 182)).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check, with a motivation to determine if a session has been counted, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the method of claim8
Lee fails to teach wherein, prior to receiving the message, the UE was handed over from the 5GS to the EPS or vice versa, and determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that a session of the UE over the particular network slice has not already been counted in a number of sessions for the particular network slice prior to being handed over.
However, 3GPP teaches prior to receiving the message, the UE was handed over from the 5GS to the EPS or vice versa (Figure 6.31.3.1-1, Section [6.31.3]-3GPP discloses Procedures {for Steering the UE to a network slice in different frequency band} ... {Step 1} The UE in idle mode registered via RAN-1 for S-NSSAI-1 and S-NSSAI-23 ... {Step 7} Handover from RAN-1 to RAN-2 ... {Step 8} PDU Session procedure for S-NSSAI-2 via RAN-29)), and
determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that a session of the UE over the particular network slice has not already been counted in a number of sessions for the particular network slice prior to being handed over (Figure 6.11.3-1, Section [6.6.3.1], Page [52]-3GPP discloses a PLMN may be configured to count PDU Sessions/PDN Connections associated to one S-NSSAI, The interworking related procedures. Section [6.36.2], Page [156]-3GPP discloses the UE can trigger PDU Session handover between 3GPP access and non-3GPP access. If the Request Type of PDU Session Establishment is "Existing PDU Session", it is not counted as the network has already granted the use of S-NSSAI to the UE. Section [6.5.1], Pages [45-46]-3GPP discloses the NWDAF knows about the maximum number of PDU Sessions that the network slice can support ... the NWDAF knows about the current number of PDU Sessions accessing the network slice; ... when a UE requests to establish a new PDU Session to the network slice and that would cause the quota to be exceeded ... The O&M system knows about the maximum number of PDU Sessions that the network slice can support ... When the O&M system instantiates a network slice constituent of several network functions, a network function of the network slice has an information available at the network function (e.g., NWDAF, SMF, PCF), whether a certain S-NSSAI is subject to a network slice quota checking on the maximum number of PDU Sessions. Section [6.5.2.2-6.5.2.3], Page [46]-3GPP discloses the SMF is a network function entity that accepts or rejects a PDU Session Establishment request sent by the UE, the SMF does have an information of how many PDU Sessions that are successfully established within a network slice identified by a S-NSSAI ... Once the SMF gets such information from the NWDAF, if the network slice quota has been reached is indicated, then the SMF sends to the UE the PDU Establishment Reject message. (See also Pages 50, 81, 155 and 182)).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check and handover, with a motivation to determine if a slice has been counted, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the method of claim 8
Lee fails to teach the associated count is not increased if the session of the UE has already been counted for the particular network slice.
However, 3GPP teaches the associated count is not increased if the session of the UE has already been counted for the particular network slice (Figure 6.11.3-1, Section [6.6.3.1], Page [52]-3GPP discloses a PLMN may be configured to count PDU Sessions/PDN Connections associated to one S-NSSAI, The interworking related procedures. Section [6.36.2], Page [156]-3GPP discloses the UE can trigger PDU Session handover between 3GPP access and non-3GPP access. If the Request Type of PDU Session Establishment is "Existing PDU Session", it is not counted as the network has already granted the use of S-NSSAI to the UE. Section [6.5.1], Pages [45-46]-3GPP discloses the NWDAF knows about the maximum number of PDU Sessions that the network slice can support ... the NWDAF knows about the current number of PDU Sessions accessing the network slice; ... when a UE requests to establish a new PDU Session to the network slice and that would cause the quota to be exceeded ... The O&M system knows about the maximum number of PDU Sessions that the network slice can support ... When the O&M system instantiates a network slice constituent of several network functions, a network function of the network slice has an information available at the network function (e.g., NWDAF, SMF, PCF), whether a certain S-NSSAI is subject to a network slice quota checking on the maximum number of PDU Sessions. Section [6.5.2.2-6.5.2.3], Page [46]-3GPP discloses the SMF is a network function entity that accepts or rejects a PDU Session Establishment request sent by the UE, the SMF does have an information of how many PDU Sessions that are successfully established within a network slice identified by a S-NSSAI ... Once the SMF gets such information from the NWDAF, if the network slice quota has been reached is indicated, then the SMF sends to the UE the PDU Establishment Reject message. (See also Pages 50, 81, 155 and 182)).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check and handover, with a motivation to update the counted number of sessions, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the method of claim1
Lee further teaches performing the procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice and, if needed, update an associated count comprises: sending a message to a central NF to request a quota check for the quota for the particular network slice (Fig. 3, Para. [0068]-Lee discloses SMF 303 determines to apply a simultaneous use function of the network slice, a procedure of step 316 or less is performed. The SMF 303 may call a request service for selecting a network slice (S-NSSAI) for PDN connection establishment to an NF 304 (in this disclosure, referred to as an interworking NF, but the name may be a network slice quota management function ... for network slice interworking management).
Lee fails to teach receiving a response from the central NF; and determining whether the quota has been reached based on the response from the central NF.
However, 3GPP teaches receiving a response from the central NF (Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [30]-3GPP discloses the NSQ returns Nnsq_NSQ_Check Response in which the NSQ includes the S-NSSAI_1 for which the quota availability check is done and NSQ status parameter which indicates whether the quota is available or not. The NSQ status parameter indicates 'no quota available' if the max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1 has already been reached. The NSQ status parameter indicates 'quota available' if the max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1 has not been reached yet); and
determining whether the quota has been reached based on the response from the central NF (Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [30]-3GPP discloses the NSQ returns Nnsq_NSQ_Check Response in which the NSQ includes the S-NSSAI_1 for which the quota availability check is done and NSQ status parameter which indicates whether the quota is available or not. The NSQ status parameter indicates 'no quota available' if the max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1 has already been reached. The NSQ status parameter indicates 'quota available' if the max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1 has not been reached yet).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check, with a motivation to determine quota based on response from NF, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the method of claim 14
Lee fails to teach performing the procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice and, if needed, update an associated count further comprises sending a notification to the central NF to adjust a count maintained for the quota upon determining that the quota has not been reached, and otherwise refraining from sending a notification to the central NF to adjust the count maintained for the quota.
However 3GPP teaches performing the procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice and, if needed, update an associated count further comprises sending a notification to the central NF to adjust a count maintained for the quota upon determining that the quota has not been reached (Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [30]-3GPP discloses if the max number of UEs per S-NSSAI 1 has not been reached yet, the AMF continues with the registration procedure ... Unless the S-NSSAI_1 is subject to Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorisation, the AMF sends Nnsq_NSQ_Update Request message to the NSQ entity in order to update the NSQ quota for S-NSSAI_1. The AMF includes in the message the UE_Id, the S-NSSAI_1 and a quota_update_flag set to decrement), and otherwise
refraining from sending a notification to the central NF to adjust the count maintained for the quota (Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [30]-3GPP discloses if the max number of UEs per S-NSSAI 1 has not been reached yet, the AMF continues with the registration procedure ... Unless the S-NSSAI_1 is subject to Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorisation, the AMF sends Nnsq_NSQ_Update Request message to the NSQ entity in order to update the NSQ quota for S-NSSAI_1. The AMF includes in the message the UE_Id, the S-NSSAI_1 and a quota_update_flag set to decrement).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check, with a motivation to determine and update quota based on response from NF, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches the method of claim 14 further comprising,
Lee further teaches at the central NF: receiving a message from the first NF to request the quota check for the quota for the particular network slice (Fig. 3, Para. [0068]-Lee discloses SMF 303 determines to apply a simultaneous use function of the network slice, a procedure of step 316 or less is performed. The SMF 303 may call a request service for selecting a network slice (S-NSSAI) for PDN connection establishment to an NF 304 (in this disclosure, referred to as an interworking NF, but the name may be a network slice quota management function ... for network slice interworking management.).
Lee fails to teach sending the response to the first NF.
However, 3GPP teaches sending the response to the first NF (Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [30]-3GPP discloses the NSQ returns Nnsq_NSQ_Check Response in which the NSQ includes the S-NSSAI_1 for which the quota availability check is done and NSQ status parameter which indicates whether the quota is available or not. The NSQ status parameter indicates 'no quota available' if the max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1 has already been reached. The NSQ status parameter indicates 'quota available' if the max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1 has not been reached yet).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check, with a motivation to send quota response/update to NF, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches the method of claim 15 further comprising,
Lee fails to teach at the central NF, adjusting the count in response to receiving the notification from the first NF.
However, 3GPP teaches at the central NF, adjusting the count in response to receiving the notification from the first NF (Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [31]-3GPP discloses the number of UEs per network slice quota update - If the UE_Id is not in the list of UEs registered with S-NSSAI_1, the NSQ entity adds the UE_Id to the list of UEs registered for S-NSSAI 1 and increases the number of the UEs registered for S-NSSAI 1, i.e. decrements the available quota. In case of multiple S-NSSAIs, the number of UEs per network slice quota update is repeated for each of them).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check, with a motivation to adjust quota count, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches the method of claim1
Lee fails to teac performing the procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice and, if needed, update an associated count comprises adjusting the count locally upon determining that the quota has not been reached.
However, 3GPP teaches performing the procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice and, if needed, update an associated count comprises adjusting the count locally upon determining that the quota has not been reached (Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [31]-3GPP discloses the number of UEs per network slice quota update - If the UE_Id is not in the list of UEs registered with S-NSSAI_1, the NSQ entity adds the UE_Id to the list of UEs registered for S-NSSAI 1 and increases the number of the UEs registered for S-NSSAI 1, i.e. decrements the available quota. In case of multiple S-NSSAIs, the number of UEs per network slice quota update is repeated for each of them).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check, with a motivation to adjust quota count, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches the method of claim1
Lee fails to teach performing the procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice and, if needed, update an associated count comprises checking the quota locally at the first NF.
However, 3GPP teaches performing the procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice and, if needed, update an associated count comprises checking the quota locally at the first NF (Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [31]-3GPP discloses the number of UEs per network slice quota update - If the UE_Id is not in the list of UEs registered with S-NSSAI_1, the NSQ entity adds the UE_Id to the list of UEs registered for S-NSSAI 1 and increases the number of the UEs registered for S-NSSAI 1, i.e. decrements the available quota. In case of multiple S-NSSAIs, the number of UEs per network slice quota update is repeated for each of them).
3GPP is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with enhancement of network slicing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lee to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP on network slice quota check, with a motivation to update the count locally, and ensure interworking between EPC and 5GC, (3GPP, Section [6.32.2]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 05/06/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-19 and 22 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on pages 9 and 10, Lines [21-22 and 20-22 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…neither of these documents in isolation or in combination teach or suggest that a quota check for a network slice may be performed in response to connections being established on an EPS network, either by a UE attaching to an EPS or establishment of a PDN connection in the EPS,” and “…there is no teaching or suggestion of performing quota checks when a UE makes a connection to an EPS as quota checks are not aspects of EPS networks” respectively.
However, Sugawara teaches determining, in response to receiving the message, that a quota check for a quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice (Para. [0201-0207]-Sugawara discloses the first condition fulfillment determination may be performed by a network function (also referred to as an NF) other than the new AMF. The NF may be, for example, ... a Network Slice Quota (NSQ). In a case that the NF other than the new AMF performs the first condition fulfillment determination, the new AMF may provide the NF with at least a part of information necessary for performing the first condition fulfillment determination, specifically, information received from the UE ... in a case that the number of UEs connected to the slice does not reach the maximum number of UEs, the first condition fulfillment determination may be true); and performing a procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice (Para. [0096]-Sugawara discloses a Network Slice Quota (NSQ) may be an NF newly provided for supporting a function of management of a maximum number of UEs connected to a slice and/or a function of management of a maximum number of PDU sessions connected to a slice, and determining whether or not the number exceeds the maximum number of UEs and/or whether or not the number exceeds the maximum number of PDU sessions for a connectivity request to a specific slice); while,
3GPP teaches determining, in response to receiving the message, that a quota check for a quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice (Figure 6.2.3.4.2-1, Section [6.2.3.4.2]-3GPP discloses the vAMF sends Nnsq_NSQ_Check Request message to the hNSQ in order to check the quota availability for S-NSSAI_1 or sends Nnsq_NSQ_Update Request message in order to update the quota. Figure 6.11.3-1, Section [6.6.2 - 6.6.3], Page [51-52]-3GPP discloses PLMN may be configured to keep the counters also when the PDU Session becomes a PDN connection in EPS upon mobility. In this case the counter can be incremented also when the PDN connection corresponding to a certain S-NSSAI is established in the EPS ... PLMN may be configured to count PDU Sessions/PDN Connections associated to one S-NSSAI, The interworking related procedures ... they require some PCF+PCRF interactions at PDN Connection Establishment, Release and at mobility to/from EPS to implement the counting policies of the PLMN); and performing a procedure to check the quota for the particular network slice (Figure 6.2.3.4.2-1, Section [6.2.3.4.2]-3GPP discloses the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update - If the request is for quota availability check, the hNSQ checks whether the 'max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1' has already been reached. If the request is for quota update, depending on the quota_update_flag value the hNSQ increments or decrements the available quota and either adds the UE_Id to the list of UEs registered for S-NSSAI_1 or removes it from the list. In case of multiple S-NSSAIs, the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update is repeated for each of them ... The hNSQ confirms the quota check/update for S-NSSAI_1. Figure 6.11.3-1, Section [6.6.2 - 6.6.3], Page [51-52]-3GPP discloses PLMN may be configured to keep the counters also when the PDU Session becomes a PDN connection in EPS upon mobility. In this case the counter can be incremented also when the PDN connection corresponding to a certain S-NSSAI is established in the EPS ... PLMN may be configured to count PDU Sessions/PDN Connections associated to one S-NSSAI, The interworking related procedures ... they require some PCF+PCRF interactions at PDN Connection Establishment, Release and at mobility to/from EPS to implement the counting policies of the PLMN).
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [15-17], Applicant argues that, “…Claim 6 defines handing over the UE from the SGS to the EPS, or vice versa. This handover maintains the UE in the same network slice, since the network slice supports interworking between the SGS and the EPS.”
However, claim 6 of the incumbent application recites:
“…prior to receiving the message, the UE was handed over from the 5GS to the EPS or vice versa,” which is disclosed in (Para. [0010]-Lee discloses a method and device for interworking a 5G network system structure (e.g., an evolved packet core (EPC) between a 5G core (5GC) and an evolved packet system (EPS) network system) that provides a network slice function in a wireless communication system. Para. [0044]-Lee discloses interworking (i.e., 5GS-EPS interworking) between a 5G network system structure providing a network slice function and an EPS network system or a 5GC-EPC interworking method. Para. [0053]-Lee discloses the NF may receive a SUNS {Simultaneous Use of the Network Slice} policy from another NF. Para. [0071]-Lee discloses the request message sending by the SMF 303 to the interworking NF 304 may include a SUNS policy) and in (Section [6.6.1], Page [51]-3GPP discloses in scenarios where restricting the number of PDU Sessions/UEs per S-NSSAI by also counting the UEs that have moved to or are in the EPS, this solution allows that by letting the PGW-C/SMF interact with PCF for this purpose); and
“…determining that a quota check for the quota is needed for the UE for the particular network slice comprises determining that the UE has not already been counted in a number of UEs registered for the particular network slice prior to being handed over,” which is discloses in (Para. [0201-0207]-Sugawara discloses the first condition fulfillment determination may be performed by a network function (also referred to as an NF) other than the new AMF. The NF may be, for example, ... a Network Slice Quota (NSQ). In a case that the NF other than the new AMF performs the first condition fulfillment determination, the new AMF may provide the NF with at least a part of information necessary for performing the first condition fulfillment determination, specifically, information received from the UE ... in a case that the number of UEs connected to the slice does not reach the maximum number of UEs, the first condition fulfillment determination may be true) and in (Figure 6.2.3.4.2-1, Section [6.2.3.4.2]-3GPP discloses the vAMF sends Nnsq_NSQ_Check Request message to the hNSQ in order to check the quota availability for S-NSSAI_1 or sends Nnsq_NSQ_Update Request message in order to update the quota. Figure 6.2.3.4.2-1, Section [6.2.3.4.2]-3GPP discloses the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update - If the request is for quota availability check, the hNSQ checks whether the 'max number of UEs per S-NSSAI_1' has already been reached. If the request is for quota update, depending on the quota_update_flag value the hNSQ increments or decrements the available quota and either adds the UE_Id to the list of UEs registered for S-NSSAI_1 or removes it from the list. In case of multiple S-NSSAIs, the number of UEs per network slice quota check/update is repeated for each of them ... The hNSQ confirms the quota check/update for S-NSSAI_1. Figure 6.2.3.1-1, Section [6.2.3.1], Page [30]-3GPP discloses the NSQ checks first whether the UE has already been previously registered for S-NSSAI_1 (i.e. the UE has already been included in the list of UEs registered with S-NSSAI_1). Section [6.6.1 - 6.6.3], Page [51-53]-3GPP discloses in scenarios where restricting the number of PDU Sessions/UEs per S-NSSAI by also counting the UEs that have moved to or are in the EPS, this solution allows that by letting the PGW-C/SMF interact with PCF for this purpose ... A PLMN may be configured to keep the counters also when the PDU Session becomes a PDN connection in EPS upon mobility. In this case the counter can be incremented also when the PDN connection corresponding to a certain S-NSSAI is established in the EPS ... A PLMN may be configured to keep the counters also when the PDU Session becomes a PDN connection in EPS upon mobility. In this ... In roaming case, only the PCF of the HPLMN performs the counting (involved via VPLMN PCF in LBO case, or via SMF of HPLMN in Home Routed case) ... if counting applies across EPS and 5GS, there is no need to inform the PCF when a PDU session becomes a PDN connection and vice versa, but there is a need to do so if the PLMN policy is to count only PDU sessions in 5GS. Similarly, if a PDN Connection Established in EPS is not counted, PCF+PCRF interaction for counting is not needed at PDN Connection Establishment).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472