DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 07/27/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinne (US 2021/0135070), in view of Brunner (US 2025/0143051), in view of Yang (US 2023/0178701), in view of Li (CN 109656059 A).
Regarding claim 1, Rinne (see, e.g., FIG. 7) discloses an array substrate, comprising:
a base substrate 10 (Para 0075);
a first conductive layer 14, 16, disposed on the base substrate 10, wherein the first conductive layer 14, 16 comprises a plurality of pads 14 (Para 0075); and
an electronic element 32 (30, 36), disposed on a side e.g., top side of the first conductive layer 14, 16 facing away from the base substrate 10, wherein the electronic element 32 (30, 36) comprises an electronic element body 34 and a plurality of pins 38 at a side e.g., bottom side of the electronic element body 34 facing the base substrate 10, and the plurality of pins 38 are connected with the plurality of pads 14 (Para 0069, Para 0070, Para 0075);
wherein the first conductive layer 14, 16 comprises first wires 16 arranged on a same layer e.g., both on the base substrate as the pads 14, and a thickness of the first wire 16 is less than a thickness of the pad 14 (Para 0075).
Although Rinne shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Rinne fails to expressly teach that each of the plurality of pads comprises a first metal layer, a material of the first metal layer comprises Cu, a content of the Cu is greater than or equal to 99%, and a thickness of the first metal layer is greater than 2 µm; a first insulating layer between the first conductive layer and the base substrate; and a second conductive layer between the first insulating layer and the base substrate; an orthographic projection of the second conductive layer on the base substrate completely covers an orthographic projection of the pin on the base; and an orthographic projection of the first insulating layer on the base substrate entirely and completely covers the orthographic projection of the second conductive layer on the base substrate.
Brunner (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches each of the plurality of pads 104, 105 comprises a first metal layer e.g., copper, a material of the first metal layer e.g., copper comprises Cu, a content of the Cu is greater than or equal to 99%, and a thickness of the first metal layer e.g., copper is greater than 2 µm (Para 0064, Para 0140). Yang, on the other hand, teaches that copper is a metallic material with good electrically conductivity (Para 0021, Para 0027).
Examiner note: of the available options, copper, without containing other materials therein, is listed as a metal material for the pads.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the pads in the device of Rinne to comprise a first metal layer where the material of the first metal layer comprises Cu, a content of the Cu is greater than or equal to 99% as described by Brunner/Yang for the purpose of providing a metallic material with good electrically conductivity (Para 0021, Para 0027).
Li (see, e.g., FIG. 7) teaches an array substrate further comprises: a first insulating layer 14 (pg 7, para 7); and a second conductive layer 4 between the first insulating layer 14 and the base substrate 13 (pg 7, para 7); and an orthographic projection of the first insulating layer 14 on the base substrate 13 entirely and completely covers the orthographic projection of the second conductive layer 4 on the base substrate 13 for the purpose of improving light extraction efficiency (pg 2, para 5; pg 6, para 2; pg 7, para 7).
The combination of Rinne (see, e.g., FIG. 7) / Li (see, e.g., FIG. 7) teaches a first insulating layer 14 (as taught by Li) between the first conductive layer 14, 16 (as taught by Rinne) and the base substrate 13 (as taught by Li); an orthographic projection of the second conductive layer 4 (as taught by Li) on the base substrate 13 (as taught by Li) completely covers an orthographic projection of the pin 38 (as taught by Rinne) on the base substrate 13 (as taught by Li)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base substrate of Rinne/Brunner/Yang to include the second conductive layer between the first insulating layer and the base substrate as described by Li to for the purpose of improving light extraction efficiency (pg. 8, para 6).
Regarding claim 19, Rinne (see, e.g., FIG. 7) teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein the electronic element 32 (30, 36) is a mini light-emitting diode, LED, a micro LED, or a micro driver chip (Para 0064, Para 0069).
Regarding claim 20, Rinne (see, e.g., FIG. 7) teaches an electronic apparatus e.g., display structure 99, comprising the array substrate according to claim 1 (Para 0073-Para 0075).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinne (US 2021/0135070), in view of Brunner (US 2025/0143051), in view of Yang (US 2023/0178701), in view of Li (CN 109656059 A), and further in view of Cao (WO 2022/056842 A1).
Regarding claim 2, although Rinne/Brunner/Yang/Li show substantial features of the claimed invention, Rinne/Brunner/Yang/Li fail to expressly teach that each of the plurality of pads further comprises a second metal layer; and the second metal layer is disposed on a side of the first metal layer close to the base substrate; wherein a material of the second metal layer comprises molybdenum-niobium alloy or molybdenum-nickel-titanium alloy.
Cao (see, e.g., FIG. 10) teaches array substrate according to claim 1, wherein a second metal layer 210 (pg. 8, para 4); and the second metal layer 210 is disposed on a side of the first metal layer 220 close to the base substrate 100 (pg. 8, para 4); wherein a material of the second metal layer 210 comprises molybdenum-niobium alloy or molybdenum-nickel-titanium alloy for the purpose of increasing the adhesion between the copper metal layer and other film layers (pg 7, para 6; pg. 8, para 4).
The combination of Rinne (see, e.g., FIG. 7) / Brunner (see, e.g., FIG. 1) / Cao (see, e.g., FIG. 10) teaches each of the plurality of pads 14 (as taught by Rinne with material modified by Brunner) further comprises a second metal layer 210 (as taught by Cao); and the second metal layer 210 (as taught by Cao) is disposed on a side of the first metal layer e.g., copper material of 14 (as taught by Rinne with material modified by Brunner) close to the base substrate 10 (as taught by Rinne); wherein a material of the second metal layer 210 (as taught by Cao) comprises molybdenum-niobium alloy or molybdenum-nickel-titanium alloy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the second metal layer wherein a material of the second metal layer comprises molybdenum-niobium alloy or molybdenum-nickel-titanium alloy as described by Cao in the device of Rinne/Brunner for the purpose of increasing the adhesion between the copper metal layer and other film layers (pg 7, para 6).
Regarding claim 3, although Rinne/Brunner/Yang/Li show substantial features of the claimed invention, Rinne/Brunner/Yang/Li fail to expressly teach that a plurality of first protective layers between the plurality of pins and the plurality of pads, wherein a material of the first protective layers is a conductive material.
Cao (see, e.g., FIG. 10) teaches array substrate according to claim 2, wherein a plurality of first protective layers 240, wherein a material of the first protective layers 240 is a conductive material e.g., copper-nickel alloy for the purpose of preventing the copper metal layer from being oxidized (pg 8, para 1, para 4).
The combination of Rinne (see, e.g., FIG. 7) / Brunner (see, e.g., FIG. 1) / Cao (see, e.g., FIG. 10) teaches a plurality of first protective layers 240 (as taught by Cao) between the plurality of pins 38 (as taught by Rinne) and the plurality of pads 14 (as taught by Rinne with material modified by Brunner), wherein a material of the first protective layers 240 (as taught by Cao) is a conductive material e.g., copper-nickel alloy (as taught by Cao) (pg 8, para 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the plurality of first protective layers, wherein a material of the first protective layers is a conductive material as described by Cao into the device of Rinne/Brunner for the purpose of preventing the copper metal layer from being oxidized (pg 8, para 1).
Regarding claim 4, Cao (see, e.g., FIG. 10) teaches array substrate according to claim 3, wherein a thickness of each of the first protective layer 240 ranges from 100 A to 5000 A (pg 8, para 4).
Regarding claim 5, Cao (see, e.g., FIG. 10) teaches array substrate according to claim 4, wherein a material of each of the first protective layers 240 comprises CuNi (pg 8, para 4).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinne (US 2021/0135070), in view of Brunner (US 2025/0143051), in view of Yang (US 2023/0178701), in view of Li (CN 109656059 A), in view of Cao (WO 2022/056842 A1), and further in view of Yoo (KR 2019 0097739 A), in view of Nitta (US 2024/0408703).
Regarding claim 6, although Rinne/Brunner/Yang/Li/Cao show substantial features of the claimed invention, Rinne/Brunner/Yang/Li/Cao fail to expressly teach that the plurality of pins are connected with the plurality of first protective layers by means of soldering flux, and a material of the soldering flux comprises Sn; each of the plurality of pads further comprises: a first intermetallic compound layer disposed on a side of the first metal layer facing away from the second metal layer; and a material of the first intermetallic compound layer comprises CuxSny, wherein x=1 or x=6, and y=3 or y=5.
Yoo (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the array substrate according to claim 4, wherein that the plurality of pins 121, 122 are connected by means of soldering flux 191, 192, and a material of the soldering flux 191, 192 comprises Sn (Para 0062, Para 0064); each of the plurality of pads P11, P21 further comprises: a first intermetallic compound layer IMC disposed on a side of the first metal layer e.g., metal material of P11, P21 for the purpose of providing a physically, electrically, stably coupling between the first and second bonding parts and the first and second pad parts (Para 0065-Para 0069).
The combination of Rinne (see, e.g., FIG. 7) / Brunner (see, e.g., FIG. 1) / Cao (see, e.g., FIG. 10) / Yoo (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches that that the plurality of pins 38 (as taught by Rinne) are connected with the plurality of first protective layers 240 (as taught by Cao) by means of soldering flux 191, 192 (as taught by Yoo), and a material of the soldering flux 191, 192 (as taught by Yoo) comprises Sn; each of the plurality of pads 14 (as taught by Rinne) further comprises: a first intermetallic compound layer IMC (as taught by Yoo) disposed on a side of the first metal layer e.g., copper material layer of 14 (as taught by Rinne with material modified by Brunner) facing away from the second metal layer 210 (as taught by Cao).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the soldering flux, and a material of the soldering flux comprises Sn; each of the plurality of pads further comprises: a first intermetallic compound layer IMC disposed on a side of the first metal layer as described by Yoo into the device of Rinne/Brunner/Yang/Li/Cao for the purpose of providing a physically, electrically, stably coupling between the first and second bonding parts and the first and second pad parts (Para 0069).
Nitta teaches that a material of the first intermetallic compound layer e.g., bonding layer CuSn.sub.3 comprises CuxSny, wherein x=1 or x=6, and y=3 or y=5 for the purpose of providing a bonding layer with extremely high shear resistance, heat resistance, electrical conductivity, and heat dissipation properties (Para 0111-Para 0112, Para 0115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first intermetallic compound layer of Rinne/Brunner/Yang/Cao/Yoo to be a material of the first intermetallic compound layer that comprises CuxSny, wherein x=1 or x=6, and y=3 or y=5 as described by Nitta for the purpose of providing a bonding layer with extremely high shear resistance, heat resistance, electrical conductivity, and heat dissipation properties (Para 0115).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817