DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 11-13, 16-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a cutting knife segment" in lines 4-5. It is unclear if it is referring to the limitation “at least one cutting blade segment” in line 17 of claim 3 or it is referring to the new element. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as it is referring to the limitation in claim 3.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a cutting knife segment" in line 14. It is unclear if it is referring to the limitation “at least one cutting blade segment” in line 17 of claim 3 or it is referring to the new element. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as it is referring to the limitation in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dehan et al. (US 20130274656 A1) (“Dehan”).
Re Claim 1, Dehan discloses an injector (Figs. 1-7, Fig. 18) comprising: a medicament container (2 or 3, ¶0060) having a container main body accommodating medicament (main body of 2 or 3 ¶0077 ) and a container connecting port mounted on a side of the container main body (close to 6 or 7, Fig. 1, ¶0060); an injection module having a conversion mechanism (5, 8, 10, 11, Fig. 1-7) connected to the medicament container (Fig. 3); the conversion mechanism having a conversion connecting base (5, Fig. 2) and a driving piston set (28, 15, ¶0072) mounted in the conversion connecting base (Fig. 3); the conversion connecting base having an input adapter (6, 7, Fig. 4-6) and an output adapter (13, Fig. 3); the conversion connecting base connected to the container connecting port of the medicament container via the input adapter (Fig. 3); and a needle output mechanism (14, 14a , ¶0058, Fig. 18, ¶0153) connected to the conversion mechanism (Fig. 3); the needle output mechanism having a needle set (14, ¶0058); the needle set adapted to be connected to the output adapter (¶0076); and a driving mechanism (20, 23) detachably connected to the conversion mechanism of the injection module (Fig. 2); the driving mechanism having a case (case of 20) and a driving unit mounted in the case (23) and adapted to be operated to move (¶0063); the case detachably connected to the conversion connecting base of the conversion mechanism (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3); the driving unit connected to the driving piston set and being capable of driving the driving piston set to draw and transport medicament from the medicament container to the needle output mechanism (¶0072, ¶0080), and then the needle set of the needle output mechanism injecting the medicament (¶0072, ¶0080 to suction the medication in the pump and then inject the medication).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Yoko et al. (US. 20100049129A1) (“Yoko”).
Re Claim 2, Dehan discloses the needle output mechanism (14a , 14, ¶0153) has a base (401), a connecting member (403), a needle output operation assembly (motor of 402), and a needle retraction operation member (rod-and nut or rack or spring, ¶00153); the base is connected to the conversion connecting base (Fig. 18); the connecting member is moveably mounted in the base (¶0153); the connecting member is connected to the output adapter of the conversion mechanism (Fig. 18); the needle set is moveably mounted in the connecting member (¶0153), but it fails to discloses the needle set has a soft needle, a needle plug mounted on an end of the soft needle, and a hard needle capable of being mounted in the soft needle; the needle output operation assembly is moveably mounted in the base and is connected to the needle set; the needle output operation assembly is adapted to be operated to drive the needle set located in the connecting member to protrude out of the base with the hard needle mounted in the soft needle, and then drive the hard needle to detach from the soft needle to make the soft needle connected to the output adapter of the conversion mechanism via the connecting member; the needle retraction operation member is moveably mounted in the base; the needle retraction operation member is adapted to be operated to drive the connecting member and the soft needle mounted in the connecting member to retract back to the base.
However, Yoko discloses an injection device (Fig. 1-14, ¶0045) and wherein the needle set has a soft needle (100a), a needle plug ( top end of 100a) mounted on an end of the soft needle (Fig. 4), and a hard needle (40) capable of being mounted in the soft needle (Fig. 2); the needle output operation assembly is moveably mounted in the base (1b, Fig. 1) and is connected to the needle set (Fig. 2); the needle output operation assembly is adapted to be operated to drive the needle set located in the connecting member to protrude out of the base with the hard needle mounted in the soft needle (Fig, 5 to Fig, 8. 6), and then drive the hard needle to detach from the soft needle to make the soft needle connected to the output adapter of the conversion mechanism via the connecting member (10, Fig. 4); the needle retraction operation member (50, 60) is moveably mounted in the base; the needle retraction operation member is adapted to be operated to drive the connecting member and the soft needle mounted in the connecting member to retract back to the base (Fig. 8 to Fig. 12).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified needle set and needle retraction operation assembly of Dehan to include soft needle so that the needle set has a soft needle, a needle plug mounted on an end of the soft needle, and a hard needle capable of being mounted in the soft needle; the needle output operation assembly is moveably mounted in the base and is connected to the needle set; the needle output operation assembly is adapted to be operated to drive the needle set located in the connecting member to protrude out of the base with the hard needle mounted in the soft needle, and then drive the hard needle to detach from the soft needle to make the soft needle connected to the output adapter of the conversion mechanism via the connecting member; the needle retraction operation member is moveably mounted in the base; the needle retraction operation member is adapted to be operated to drive the connecting member and the soft needle mounted in the connecting member to retract back to the base as taught by Yoko for the purpose of automatically insertion and retraction of the needle and suppressing accidental puncturing of the hard needle (Yoko, ¶0014).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Yoko et al. (US. 20100049129) (“Yoko”) and further in view of Janek et al. (US. 5935104) (“Janek”)..
Re Claim 3, Dehan fails to disclose that the base of the needle output mechanism has an action room; a back surface of the base has a base board and a penetration hole formed on the base board and connected to the action room; a side, which faces toward the conversion mechanism, of the base has an action opening connected to the action room; and a fixing buckling hook is mounted on the base and located outside the action room; the connecting member is moveably mounted in the action room of the base; the connecting member has a connecting base segment and a connecting head; the connecting base segment has a base annular wall and a needle set mounting segment mounted in the base annular wall; the needle set mounting segment has a needle room formed in the needle set mounting segment and a needle plug hole formed on an end, which faces toward the base board, of the needle set mounting segment and connected to the needle room; the needle plug hole corresponds to the penetration hole of the base board; the connecting head is mounted on the connecting base and connected to the needle room in the needle set mounting segment; the connecting head is mounted through the action opening of the base and is connected to the output adapter of the conversion mechanism; the base annular wall has at least one cutting blade segment; the soft needle of the needle set is moveably mounted in the needle room of the needle set mounting segment; the needle plug that is mounted on the soft needle is capable of being fixed in the needle plug hole; and the needle output operation assembly has a needle output operating unit, a needle base, a sealing unit, and anelastic unit; the needle output operating unit is moveably mounted in the base, and the needle output operating unit is capable of being fixed and buckled by the fixing buckling hook of the base; the needle output operating unit having a button segment and an accommodating room located on a side of the button segment; the accommodating room corresponds to the action room; the needle base is located in the accommodating room of the needle output operating unit and is connected to the needle output operating unit; the needle base has a needle base head end and a needle base connecting rod formed on the needle base head end; a connecting segment is mounted between a periphery of the needle base head end and an inner wall of the accommodating room of the needle output operating unit and is capable of being cut by the cutting blade segment; the needle base connecting rod is connected to the hard needle and is capable of pushing the needle plug of the needle set; the sealing unit assembled with the elastic unit is located in the connecting member; the sealing unit is located outside of the needle set mounting segment and covers the needle room; the sealing unit is tightly sleeved on an outer side of the needle base connecting rod; the elastic unit is sleeved on the outer side of the needle base connecting rod; two ends of the elastic unit are respectively connected to the needle base head end of the needle base and the sealing unit.
Howeevr, Yoko discloses that the base has an action room (room inside 1b); a back surface of the base has a base board (top surface of 1b, Fig. 4) and a penetration hole formed on the base board (hole around 1a) and connected to the action room (Fig. 4); a side of the base has an action opening (opening under 60, Fig. 4) connected to the action room (annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko); and a fixing buckling hook is mounted on the base and located outside the action room (top hook between 1b and 1a /1b, annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko, ¶0059); the connecting member is moveably mounted in the action room of the base (Fig.4); the connecting member (10) has a connecting base segment (lower surface of 10); the connecting base segment has a base annular wall (annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko) and a needle set mounting segment mounted in the base annular wall (segment around 100, Fig. 7); the needle set mounting segment has a needle room formed in the needle set mounting segment and a needle plug hole formed on an end (annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko, the plug hole to set on the segment), which faces toward the base board, of the needle set mounting segment and connected to the needle room (annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko); the needle plug hole corresponds to the penetration hole of the base board (annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko); the soft needle of the needle set is moveably mounted in the needle room of the needle set mounting segment (100a annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko); the needle plug that is mounted on the soft needle is capable of being fixed in the needle plug hole (annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko); and the needle output operation assembly has a needle output operating unit (a portion of 20 around 30, Fig. 1), a needle base (top surface of 20 wherein 31 is connected), a sealing unit (100c, Fig. 14, ¶0064), and an elastic unit (100d, ¶0064); the needle output operating unit is moveably mounted in the base, and the needle output operating unit is capable of being fixed and buckled by the fixing buckling hook of the base (annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko); the needle output operating unit having a button segment (1a) and an accommodating room located on a side of the button segment ( room inside 1a); the accommodating room corresponds to the action room (Fig. 4); the needle base is located in the accommodating room of the needle output operating unit and is connected to the needle output operating unit (Fig. 4); the needle base has a needle base head end ( top end of 40) and a needle base connecting rod (rod 30); a connecting segment is mounted between a periphery of the needle base head end and an inner wall of the accommodating room (annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko); the needle base connecting rod is connected to the hard needle and is capable of pushing the needle plug of the needle set (Fig. 5to 8); the sealing unit assembled with the elastic unit is located in the connecting member (annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko); the sealing unit is located outside of the needle set mounting segment and covers the needle room (annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko, ¶0064); the sealing unit is tightly sleeved on an outer side of the needle base connecting rod; the elastic unit is sleeved on the outer side of the needle base connecting rod; two ends of the elastic unit are respectively connected to the needle base head end of the needle base and the sealing unit (Fig. 14).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified needle set and needle retraction operation assembly of Dehan to include soft needle so that the base of the needle output mechanism has an action room; a back surface of the base has a base board and a penetration hole formed on the base board and connected to the action room; a side, which faces toward the conversion mechanism, of the base has an action opening connected to the action room; and a fixing buckling hook is mounted on the base and located outside the action room; the connecting member is moveably mounted in the action room of the base; the connecting member has a connecting base segment; the connecting base segment has a base annular wall and a needle set mounting segment mounted in the base annular wall; the needle set mounting segment has a needle room formed in the needle set mounting segment and a needle plug hole formed on an end, which faces toward the base board, of the needle set mounting segment and connected to the needle room; the needle plug hole corresponds to the penetration hole of the base board; the soft needle of the needle set is moveably mounted in the needle room of the needle set mounting segment; the needle plug that is mounted on the soft needle is capable of being fixed in the needle plug hole; and the needle output operation assembly has a needle output operating unit, a needle base, a sealing unit, and anelastic unit; the needle output operating unit is moveably mounted in the base, and the needle output operating unit is capable of being fixed and buckled by the fixing buckling hook of the base; the needle output operating unit having a button segment and an accommodating room located on a side of the button segment; the accommodating room corresponds to the action room; the needle base is located in the accommodating room of the needle output operating unit and is connected to the needle output operating unit; the needle base has a needle base head end and a needle base connecting rod formed on the needle base head end; a connecting segment is mounted between a periphery of the needle base head end and an inner wall of the accommodating room of the needle output operating unit; the needle base connecting rod is connected to the hard needle and is capable of pushing the needle plug of the needle set; the sealing unit assembled with the elastic unit is located in the connecting member; the sealing unit is located outside of the needle set mounting segment and covers the needle room; the sealing unit is tightly sleeved on an outer side of the needle base connecting rod; the elastic unit is sleeved on the outer side of the needle base connecting rod; two ends of the elastic unit are respectively connected to the needle base head end of the needle base and the sealing unit as taught by Yoko for the purpose of automatically insertion and retraction of the needle and suppressing accidental puncturing of the hard needle (Yoko, ¶0014).
Annotated Fig. 4 of Yoko
The modified Dehan in view of Yoko fails to disclose that the base annular wall has at least one cutting blade segment and that the connecting segment is capable of being cut by the cutting blade segment the connecting head is mounted on the connecting base and connected to the needle room in the needle set mounting segment; the connecting head is mounted through the action opening of the base and is connected to the output adapter of the conversion mechanism.
However, Janek discloses a syringe (Fig. 1-18) and wherein connecting member (22) has a connecting head (52a , Fig. 17); the connecting head is mounted on the connecting base and connected to the needle room in the needle set mounting segment (room segment 48); the base annular wall (wall around 44a) has at least one cutting blade segment (78a-b); and connecting segment (44a) is capable of being cut by the cutting blade segment (Col. 6, lines 20-30).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan in view of Yoko to include the connecting head and at least one cutting blade segment so that that the base annular wall has at least one cutting blade segment and that the connecting segment is capable of being cut by the cutting blade segment the connecting head is mounted on the connecting base and connected to the needle room in the needle set mounting segment; the connecting head is mounted through the action opening of the base and is connected to the output adapter of the conversion mechanism as taught by Janek for the purpose of automatically retracting the hard needle as reaching the base segment (Janek, Col. 6, lines 20-30, abstract).
Re Claim 4, Dehan fails to discloses a diameter reducing segment is formed on an end, which is connected to the connecting base segment, of the connecting head of the connecting member, is formed with a reduced diameter and is capable of being cut off; a cutting knife segment is mounted on a side, which corresponds to the connecting head, of the needle output operating unit; the cutting knife segment is capable of being operated to cut off the diameter reducing segment of the connecting head of the connecting member.
However, Janek disclose a syringe (Fig. 1-18) and wherein connecting member (22) has a connecting head (52a , Fig. 17); the connecting head is mounted on the connecting base and connected to the needle room in the needle set mounting segment (room segment 48); the base annular wall (wall around 44a) has at least one cutting blade segment (78a-b); and connecting segment (44a) is capable of being cut by the cutting blade segment (Col. 6, lines 20-30) and a diameter reducing segment is formed on an end (close to 80a, Fig. 17), which is connected to the connecting base segment, of the connecting head of the connecting member, is formed with a reduced diameter and is capable of being cut off; a cutting knife segment is mounted on a side (Col. 6, lines 20-30), which corresponds to the connecting head, of the needle output operating unit (30a); the cutting knife segment is capable of being operated to cut off the diameter reducing segment of the connecting head of the connecting member (Col. 6, lines 20-30).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include the connecting head and at least one cutting blade segment so that a diameter reducing segment is formed on an end, which is connected to the connecting base segment, of the connecting head of the connecting member, is formed with a reduced diameter and is capable of being cut off; a cutting knife segment is mounted on a side, which corresponds to the connecting head, of the needle output operating unit; the cutting knife segment is capable of being operated to cut off the diameter reducing segment of the connecting head of the connecting member as taught by Janek for the purpose of automatically retracting the hard needle as reaching the base segment (Janek, Col. 6, lines 20-30, abstract).
Re Claim 5, Dehan fails to disclose through hole is formed on a side, which is adjacent to the action room, of the base and is connected to the action room; the needle retraction operation member extends into the action room from an outer side of the base via the through hole; the needle retraction operation member has a pressing segment, an abutting inclined surface and an extending segment; the pressing segment extends to the outer side of the base; the abutting inclined surface is located on a side, which extends into the action room, of the pressing segment; the abutting inclined surface abuts the base annular wall of the connecting member; the extending segment is located on the side, which extends into the action room, of the pressing segment and bypassing the needle set mounting segment of the connecting member; a diameter reducing segment is formed on an end, which is connected to the connecting base segment, of the connecting head of the connecting member, is formed with a reduced diameter and is capable of being cut off; a cutting knife segment is mounted on a side, which corresponds to the connecting head, of the needle output operating unit; the cutting knife segment is capable of being operated to cut off the diameter reducing segment of the connecting head of the connecting member.
However, Yoko disclose that a through hole is formed on a side,( holes around 60) which is adjacent to the action room, of the base and is connected to the action room (Fig. 4); the needle retraction operation member extends into the action room from an outer side of the base via the through hole (60); the needle retraction operation member has a pressing segment (surface of 60, RD60, Fig. 2), an abutting inclined surface (inner surface of 60) and an extending segment (the connected arm to 60); the pressing segment extends to the outer side of the base (Fig. 4); the abutting inclined surface is located on a side (inner surface of 60, Fig. 4), which extends into the action room (Fig. 4), of the pressing segment; the abutting inclined surface abuts the base annular wall of the connecting member ( wall of 10); the extending segment is located on the side (Fig. 5), which extends into the action room, of the pressing segment and bypassing the needle set mounting segment of the connecting member (Fig.5).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified needle set and needle retraction operation assembly of Dehan to include soft needle so that through hole is formed on a side, which is adjacent to the action room, of the base and is connected to the action room; the needle retraction operation member extends into the action room from an outer side of the base via the through hole; the needle retraction operation member has a pressing segment, an abutting inclined surface and an extending segment; the pressing segment extends to the outer side of the base; the abutting inclined surface is located on a side, which extends into the action room, of the pressing segment; the abutting inclined surface abuts the base annular wall of the connecting member; the extending segment is located on the side, which extends into the action room, of the pressing segment and bypassing the needle set mounting segment of the connecting member as taught by Yoko for the purpose of automatically insertion and retraction of the needle and suppressing accidental puncturing of the hard needle (Yoko, ¶0014).
The modified Dehan in view of Yoko fails to disclose that a diameter reducing segment is formed on an end, which is connected to the connecting base segment, of the connecting head of the connecting member, is formed with a reduced diameter and is capable of being cut off; a cutting knife segment is mounted on a side, which corresponds to the connecting head, of the needle output operating unit; the cutting knife segment is capable of being operated to cut off the diameter reducing segment of the connecting head of the connecting member.
However, Janek disclose a syringe (Fig. 1-18) and wherein connecting member (22) has a connecting head (52a , Fig. 17); the connecting head is mounted on the connecting base and connected to the needle room in the needle set mounting segment (room segment 48); the base annular wall (wall around 44a) has at least one cutting blade segment (78a-b); and connecting segment (44a) is capable of being cut by the cutting blade segment (Col. 6, lines 20-30) that an end, which is connected to the connecting base segment, of the connecting head of the connecting member (close to 80a, Fig. 17), which is connected to the connecting base segment, of the connecting head of the connecting member, is formed with a reduced diameter and is capable of being cut off; a cutting knife segment is mounted on a side (Col. 6, lines 20-30), which corresponds to the connecting head, of the needle output operating unit (30a); the cutting knife segment is capable of being operated to cut off the diameter reducing segment of the connecting head of the connecting member (Col. 6, lines 20-30).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include the connecting head and at least one cutting blade segment so that a diameter reducing segment is formed on an end, which is connected to the connecting base segment, of the connecting head of the connecting member, is formed with a reduced diameter and is capable of being cut off; a cutting knife segment is mounted on a side, which corresponds to the connecting head, of the needle output operating unit; the cutting knife segment is capable of being operated to cut off the diameter reducing segment of the connecting head of the connecting member as taught by Janek for the purpose of automatically retracting the hard needle as reaching the base segment (Janek, Col. 6, lines 20-30, abstract).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Yoko and further in view of Carmel (US. 20020177808A1).
Re Claim 6, Dehan fails to disclose the needle output mechanism further has a safety cover and a safety bolt; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly and is capable of engaging with the base; the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly; a pushing elastic unit is mounted between the safety cover and the needle output operating unit.
However, Carmel discloses a needle insert device (Fig. 3) and wherein the needle output mechanism has a safety cover (22, Fig. 3) and a safety bolt (28) ; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly (30, 32) and is capable of engaging with the base (120); the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly (¶0033, Fig. 3) and a pushing elastic unit (40) is mounted between the safety cover (22) and the needle output operating unit (30, ¶0033, Fig. 3)..
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include a safety cover and a safety bolt so that the needle output mechanism further has a safety cover and a safety bolt; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly and is capable of engaging with the base; the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly; a pushing elastic unit is mounted between the safety cover and the needle output operating unit as taught by Carmel for the purpose of preventing activation and insertion the needle without completing the desired situation and intention (Carmel, ¶0003, ¶0032, abstract).
Claim(s) 7-8 , 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Davis (US. 4842581).
Re Claim 7, Dehan discloses the conversion connecting base has a base body (5, Fig. 3) and a valve base segment mounted on the base body (10), the valve base segment has a sleeving opening (32); the input adapter is mounted on the valve base segment and is located on as side opposite to the sleeving opening (6, 7, Fig. 5); the output adapter is mounted in the base body (13, Fig. 3); the input adapter and the output adapter are connected to the sleeving opening (Fig. 3) ; the driving piston set has a piston cylinder having a piston room ( room of the piston of 28, Fig. 3), a valve ( piston seal on the plunger 28, Fig. 3), and a piston rod (plunger 28) being capable of moving linearly in the piston cylinder (¶0072); the piston cylinder has a valve connecting end segment located on an end of the piston cylinder ( lower end); but it fails to disclose that the valve connecting end segment is assembled with the valve and is mounted in the valve base segment; the valve has an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter; the piston rod is mounted in the piston cylinder and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism.
However, Davis discloses a medical syringe (Fig. 1) and wherein the valve connecting end segment (54, 56, 60) is assembled with the valve (104, 106, 102) and is mounted in the valve base segment (Fig. 2); the valve has an input one-way valve (104) connected to the input adapter (61) and an output one-way valve (106) connected to the output adapter (100); the piston rod (70, 24) is mounted in the piston cylinder (32, 28) and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism (72).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include inlet one-way valve and outlet one-way valve so that the valve connecting end segment is assembled with the valve and is mounted in the valve base segment; the valve has an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter; the piston rod is mounted in the piston cylinder and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism as taught by Davis for the purpose of using double action of stroke motion of the syringe by allowing suction and delivery actions (Davis, Col. 3, lines 20-25, abstract).
Re Claim 8, Dehan discloses the case has a connecting sleeve segment ( lower segment of 22) located on a side of the case (Fig. 3); the connecting sleeve segment is detachably sleeved on the piston cylinder of the conversion mechanism (Fig. 3) ; the driving unit is mounted in the connecting sleeve segment (20) and is capable of moving linearly ( at least during the assembly); the driving mechanism has an electrical driving unit (Fig. 1, 19b, ¶0065) and a controlling unit (19, ¶0065); the electrical driving unit is mounted in the case (Fig.1); the electrical driving unit has a driving assembly ( electric connection, button , ¶0065) and a transmission assembly (23 gear); the transmission assembly is connected to the driving assembly and the driving unit (Fig. 2); the controlling unit is mounted in the case; the controlling unit has a controlling circuit board and a display panel (19a, display) electrically connected to the controlling circuit board; the display panel is exposed outside the case (¶0065).
Re Claim 10, Dehan discloses the driving mechanism has a power storage unit (19b, ¶0065); the power storage unit is mounted in the case and is electrically connected to the controlling circuit board of the controlling unit (19A, 19, ¶0065).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Davis and further in view of Krijger et al. (US 20140324023 A1) (“Krijger”).
Re Claim 9, Dehan fails to discloses that the transmission assembly has a transmission rod and a gear assembly; the transmission rod is pivotally mounted in the case; the transmission rod has at least one eccentric cam; the gear assembly is connected between the driving assembly and the transmission rod; the eccentric cam of the transmission rod is connected to the driving unit; a restoring elastic unit is mounted between the driving unit and the case.
However, Krijger disclose a drug delivery (Fig. 1-10) and wherein the transmission assembly has a transmission rod (158) and a gear assembly (140); the transmission rod is pivotally mounted in the case (107, by the arm 162 ); the transmission rod has at least one eccentric cam (166); the gear assembly is connected between the driving assembly (104) and the transmission rod (158); the eccentric cam of the transmission rod is connected to the driving unit (140); a restoring elastic unit (180) is mounted between the driving unit and the case (108, Fig. 9).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify driving unit of Dehan the transmission assembly has a transmission rod and a gear assembly; the transmission rod is pivotally mounted in the case; the transmission rod has at least one eccentric cam; the gear assembly is connected between the driving assembly and the transmission rod; the eccentric cam of the transmission rod is connected to the driving unit; a restoring elastic unit is mounted between the driving unit and the case as taught by Krijger for the purpose of using the transmission for switching between injection or retraction (Krijger, ¶0039).
Claim(s) 11-13, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Yoko and Janek and further in view of Carmel (US. 20020177808A1).
Re Claim 11, Dehan fails to disclose the needle output mechanism further has a safety cover and a safety bolt; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly and is capable of engaging with the base; the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly; a pushing elastic unit is mounted between the safety cover and the needle output operating unit.
However, Carmel discloses a needle insert device (Fig. 3) and wherein the needle output mechanism has a safety cover (22, Fig. 3) and a safety bolt (28) ; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly (30, 32) and is capable of engaging with the base (120); the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly (¶0033, Fig. 3) and a pushing elastic unit (40) is mounted between the safety cover (22) and the needle output operating unit (30, ¶0033, Fig. 3)..
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include a safety cover and a safety bolt so that the needle output mechanism further has a safety cover and a safety bolt; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly and is capable of engaging with the base; the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly; a pushing elastic unit is mounted between the safety cover and the needle output operating unit as taught by Carmel for the purpose of preventing activation and insertion the needle without completing the desired situation and intention (Carmel, ¶0003, ¶0032, abstract).
Re Claim 12, Dehan fails to disclose the needle output mechanism further has a safety cover and a safety bolt; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly and is capable of engaging with the base; the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly; a pushing elastic unit is mounted between the safety cover and the needle output operating unit.
However, Carmel discloses a needle insert device (Fig. 3) and wherein the needle output mechanism has a safety cover (22, Fig. 3) and a safety bolt (28) ; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly (30, 32) and is capable of engaging with the base (120); the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly (¶0033, Fig. 3) and a pushing elastic unit (40) is mounted between the safety cover (22) and the needle output operating unit (30, ¶0033, Fig. 3)..
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include a safety cover and a safety bolt so that the needle output mechanism further has a safety cover and a safety bolt; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly and is capable of engaging with the base; the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly; a pushing elastic unit is mounted between the safety cover and the needle output operating unit as taught by Carmel for the purpose of preventing activation and insertion the needle without completing the desired situation and intention (Carmel, ¶0003, ¶0032, abstract).
Re Claim 13, Dehan fails to disclose the needle output mechanism further has a safety cover and a safety bolt; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly and is capable of engaging with the base; the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly; a pushing elastic unit is mounted between the safety cover and the needle output operating unit.
However, Carmel discloses a needle insert device (Fig. 3) and wherein the needle output mechanism has a safety cover (22, Fig. 3) and a safety bolt (28) ; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly (30, 32) and is capable of engaging with the base (120); the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly (¶0033, Fig. 3) and a pushing elastic unit (40) is mounted between the safety cover (22) and the needle output operating unit (30, ¶0033, Fig. 3)..
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include a safety cover and a safety bolt so that the needle output mechanism further has a safety cover and a safety bolt; the safety cover covers an outer side of the needle output operation assembly and is capable of engaging with the base; the safety bolt is mounted in the safety cover and the needle output operating unit of the needle output operation assembly; a pushing elastic unit is mounted between the safety cover and the needle output operating unit as taught by Carmel for the purpose of preventing activation and insertion the needle without completing the desired situation and intention (Carmel, ¶0003, ¶0032, abstract).
Re Claim 18, Dehan discloses the case has a connecting sleeve segment ( lower segment of 22) located on a side of the case (Fig. 3); the connecting sleeve segment is detachably sleeved on the piston cylinder of the conversion mechanism (Fig. 3) ; the driving unit is mounted in the connecting sleeve segment (20) and is capable of moving linearly ( at least during the assembly); the driving mechanism has an electrical driving unit (Fig. 1, 19b, ¶0065) and a controlling unit (19, ¶0065); the electrical driving unit is mounted in the case (Fig.1); the electrical driving unit has a driving assembly ( electric connection, button , ¶0065) and a transmission assembly (23 gear); the transmission assembly is connected to the driving assembly and the driving unit (Fig. 2); the controlling unit is mounted in the case; the controlling unit has a controlling circuit board and a display panel (19a, display) electrically connected to the controlling circuit board; the display panel is exposed outside the case (¶0065).
Re Claim 19, Dehan discloses the case has a connecting sleeve segment ( lower segment of 22) located on a side of the case (Fig. 3); the connecting sleeve segment is detachably sleeved on the piston cylinder of the conversion mechanism (Fig. 3) ; the driving unit is mounted in the connecting sleeve segment (20) and is capable of moving linearly ( at least during the assembly); the driving mechanism has an electrical driving unit (Fig. 1, 19b, ¶0065) and a controlling unit (19, ¶0065); the electrical driving unit is mounted in the case (Fig.1); the electrical driving unit has a driving assembly ( electric connection, button , ¶0065) and a transmission assembly (23 gear); the transmission assembly is connected to the driving assembly and the driving unit (Fig. 2); the controlling unit is mounted in the case; the controlling unit has a controlling circuit board and a display panel (19a, display) electrically connected to the controlling circuit board; the display panel is exposed outside the case (¶0065).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Yoko and further in view of Davis (US. 4842581).
Re Claim 14, Dehan discloses the conversion connecting base has a base body (5, Fig. 3) and a valve base segment mounted on the base body (10), the valve base segment has a sleeving opening (32); the input adapter is mounted on the valve base segment and is located on as side opposite to the sleeving opening (6, 7, Fig. 5); the output adapter is mounted in the base body (13, Fig. 3); the input adapter and the output adapter are connected to the sleeving opening (Fig. 3) ; the driving piston set has a piston cylinder having a piston room ( room of the piston of 28, Fig. 3), a valve ( piston seal on the plunger 28, Fig. 3), and a piston rod (plunger 28) being capable of moving linearly in the piston cylinder (¶0072); the piston cylinder has a valve connecting end segment located on an end of the piston cylinder ( lower end); but it fails to disclose that the valve connecting end segment is assembled with the valve and is mounted in the valve base segment; the valve has an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter; the piston rod is mounted in the piston cylinder and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism.
However, Davis discloses a medical syringe (Fig. 1) and wherein the valve connecting end segment (54, 56, 60) is assembled with the valve (104, 106, 102) and is mounted in the valve base segment (Fig. 2); the valve has an input one-way valve (104) connected to the input adapter (61) and an output one-way valve (106) connected to the output adapter (100); the piston rod (70, 24) is mounted in the piston cylinder (32, 28) and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism (72).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include inlet one-way valve and outlet one-way valve so that the valve connecting end segment is assembled with the valve and is mounted in the valve base segment; the valve has an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter; the piston rod is mounted in the piston cylinder and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism as taught by Davis for the purpose of using double action of stroke motion of the syringe by allowing suction and delivery actions (Davis, Col. 3, lines 20-25, abstract).
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Yoko and Janek and further in view of Davis (US. 4842581).
Re Claim 15, Dehan discloses the conversion connecting base has a base body (5, Fig. 3) and a valve base segment mounted on the base body (10), the valve base segment has a sleeving opening (32); the input adapter is mounted on the valve base segment and is located on as side opposite to the sleeving opening (6, 7, Fig. 5); the output adapter is mounted in the base body (13, Fig. 3); the input adapter and the output adapter are connected to the sleeving opening (Fig. 3) ; the driving piston set has a piston cylinder having a piston room ( room of the piston of 28, Fig. 3), a valve ( piston seal on the plunger 28, Fig. 3), and a piston rod (plunger 28) being capable of moving linearly in the piston cylinder (¶0072); the piston cylinder has a valve connecting end segment located on an end of the piston cylinder ( lower end); but it fails to disclose that the valve connecting end segment is assembled with the valve and is mounted in the valve base segment; the valve has an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter; the piston rod is mounted in the piston cylinder and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism.
However, Davis discloses a medical syringe (Fig. 1) and wherein the valve connecting end segment (54, 56, 60) is assembled with the valve (104, 106, 102) and is mounted in the valve base segment (Fig. 2); the valve has an input one-way valve (104) connected to the input adapter (61) and an output one-way valve (106) connected to the output adapter (100); the piston rod (70, 24) is mounted in the piston cylinder (32, 28) and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism (72).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include inlet one-way valve and outlet one-way valve so that the valve connecting end segment is assembled with the valve and is mounted in the valve base segment; the valve has an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter; the piston rod is mounted in the piston cylinder and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism as taught by Davis for the purpose of using double action of stroke motion of the syringe by allowing suction and delivery actions (Davis, Col. 3, lines 20-25, abstract).
Re Claim 16, Dehan discloses the conversion connecting base has a base body (5, Fig. 3) and a valve base segment mounted on the base body (10), the valve base segment has a sleeving opening (32); the input adapter is mounted on the valve base segment and is located on as side opposite to the sleeving opening (6, 7, Fig. 5); the output adapter is mounted in the base body (13, Fig. 3); the input adapter and the output adapter are connected to the sleeving opening (Fig. 3) ; the driving piston set has a piston cylinder having a piston room ( room of the piston of 28, Fig. 3), a valve ( piston seal on the plunger 28, Fig. 3), and a piston rod (plunger 28) being capable of moving linearly in the piston cylinder (¶0072); the piston cylinder has a valve connecting end segment located on an end of the piston cylinder ( lower end); but it fails to disclose that the valve connecting end segment is assembled with the valve and is mounted in the valve base segment; the valve has an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter; the piston rod is mounted in the piston cylinder and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism.
However, Davis discloses a medical syringe (Fig. 1) and wherein the valve connecting end segment (54, 56, 60) is assembled with the valve (104, 106, 102) and is mounted in the valve base segment (Fig. 2); the valve has an input one-way valve (104) connected to the input adapter (61) and an output one-way valve (106) connected to the output adapter (100); the piston rod (70, 24) is mounted in the piston cylinder (32, 28) and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism (72).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include inlet one-way valve and outlet one-way valve so that the valve connecting end segment is assembled with the valve and is mounted in the valve base segment; the valve has an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter; the piston rod is mounted in the piston cylinder and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism as taught by Davis for the purpose of using double action of stroke motion of the syringe by allowing suction and delivery actions (Davis, Col. 3, lines 20-25, abstract).
Re Claim 17, Dehan discloses the conversion connecting base has a base body (5, Fig. 3) and a valve base segment mounted on the base body (10), the valve base segment has a sleeving opening (32); the input adapter is mounted on the valve base segment and is located on as side opposite to the sleeving opening (6, 7, Fig. 5); the output adapter is mounted in the base body (13, Fig. 3); the input adapter and the output adapter are connected to the sleeving opening (Fig. 3) ; the driving piston set has a piston cylinder having a piston room ( room of the piston of 28, Fig. 3), a valve ( piston seal on the plunger 28, Fig. 3), and a piston rod (plunger 28) being capable of moving linearly in the piston cylinder (¶0072); the piston cylinder has a valve connecting end segment located on an end of the piston cylinder ( lower end); but it fails to disclose that the valve connecting end segment is assembled with the valve and is mounted in the valve base segment; the valve has an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter; the piston rod is mounted in the piston cylinder and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism.
However, Davis discloses a medical syringe (Fig. 1) and wherein the valve connecting end segment (54, 56, 60) is assembled with the valve (104, 106, 102) and is mounted in the valve base segment (Fig. 2); the valve has an input one-way valve (104) connected to the input adapter (61) and an output one-way valve (106) connected to the output adapter (100); the piston rod (70, 24) is mounted in the piston cylinder (32, 28) and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism (72).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify device of Dehan to include inlet one-way valve and outlet one-way valve so that the valve connecting end segment is assembled with the valve and is mounted in the valve base segment; the valve has an input one-way valve connected to the input adapter and an output one-way valve connected to the output adapter; the piston rod is mounted in the piston cylinder and is capable of moving linearly; the piston rod is detachably connected to the driving unit of the driving mechanism as taught by Davis for the purpose of using double action of stroke motion of the syringe by allowing suction and delivery actions (Davis, Col. 3, lines 20-25, abstract).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehan in view of Yoko and Janek and Davis and further in view of Krijger et al. (US 20140324023 A1) (“Krijger”).
Re Claim 20, Dehan fails to discloses that the transmission assembly has a transmission rod and a gear assembly; the transmission rod is pivotally mounted in the case; the transmission rod has at least one eccentric cam; the gear assembly is connected between the driving assembly and the transmission rod; the eccentric cam of the transmission rod is connected to the driving unit; a restoring elastic unit is mounted between the driving unit and the case.
However, Krijger disclose a drug delivery (Fig. 1-10) and wherein the transmission assembly has a transmission rod (158) and a gear assembly (140); the transmission rod is pivotally mounted in the case (107, by the arm 162 ); the transmission rod has at least one eccentric cam (166); the gear assembly is connected between the driving assembly (104) and the transmission rod (158); the eccentric cam of the transmission rod is connected to the driving unit (140); a restoring elastic unit (180) is mounted between the driving unit and the case (108, Fig. 9).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify driving unit of Dehan the transmission assembly has a transmission rod and a gear assembly; the transmission rod is pivotally mounted in the case; the transmission rod has at least one eccentric cam; the gear assembly is connected between the driving assembly and the transmission rod; the eccentric cam of the transmission rod is connected to the driving unit; a restoring elastic unit is mounted between the driving unit and the case as taught by Krijger for the purpose of using the transmission for switching between injection or retraction (Krijger, ¶0039).
Conclusion
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783