Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 19-34) in the reply filed on 12/18/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 35-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/18/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-26, 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the central hole of the liquid-carrying shaft " in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN111029289A).
Regarding claim 19, Wang et al. teaches a liquid-carrying roller for wet etching (see abstract), characterized in that the roller 4 comprises a first end shaft (see reduced diameter end portion on a first distal end of the roller 4), a second end shaft (see reduced diameter end portion on distal end opposing the first distal end of the roller 4), and a liquid-carrying shaft 4, the first end shaft and the second end shaft being located at both ends of the liquid-carrying shaft 4 respectively (see figure 3, page 3 of the translation); the first end shaft, the second end shaft and the liquid-carrying shaft 4 being arranged concentrically (see figure 3), and the diameters of the first end shaft and the second end shaft being both adjustable (both end shafts are capable of expanding and/or contracting as a result of temperature changes, which reads on an adjustable diameter).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lamprecht (WO2009129989A1).
Regarding claim 19, Lamprecht teaches a liquid-carrying roller for wet etching (see abstract and page 3 of the translation), characterized in that the roller 20, 22 comprises a first end shaft (see reduced diameter end portion on a first distal end of the roller 20, 22, a second end shaft (see reduced diameter end portion on distal end opposing the first distal end of the roller 20, 22), and a liquid-carrying shaft 22, the first end shaft and the second end shaft being located at both ends of the liquid-carrying shaft 22 respectively (see figures 1-2, page 5 of the translation); the first end shaft, the second end shaft and the liquid-carrying shaft 22 being arranged concentrically (see figures 1-3), and the diameters of the first end shaft and the second end shaft being both adjustable (both end shafts are capable of expanding and/or contracting as a result of temperature changes, which reads on an adjustable diameter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN111029289A) as applied to claim 19, and further in view of Edgerly et al. (US20160254173).
Regarding claim 27, Wang et al. teaches the limitations of claim 19. Wang et al. does not teach that the material of the first end shaft, second end shaft and liquid carrying shaft is PVDF or PTFE. Edgerly et al. teaches a substrate etching system (see abstract, paragraph [0019]) and that PVDF or PTFE are appropriate materials for use with the substrate processing system depending on the particular chemical and thermal requirements of the application (see paragraph [0064]). Since both Wang et al. and Edgerly et al. teach substrate etching systems it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that PVDF or PTFE may be used for the first end shaft, second end shaft and liquid carrying shaft so as to provide an appropriate material depending on the chemical and thermal needs of the application, as shown to be known and conventional by Edgerly et al. Furthermore, it has been determined that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-26, 28-34 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Wang et al. (CN111029289A). Wang et al. fails to teach/disclose all of the limitations of claim 20. Furthermore, no other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part along with the requisite motivation for combination to anticipate or render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711