DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendments/Remarks filed on April 17, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claim 1, the limitation “the second electrode is in contact with a corresponding one of the plurality of epitaxial structures” fails to specify what “in contact” is directed to. As clearly seen in FIG. 2 of the Drawings, the second electrode 8 is in contact with the ohmic contact pattern 9 over the epitaxial structure 2. In other words, the ohmic contact pattern is between the second electrode and the epitaxial structure such that the second electrode is actually in contact with the ohmic contact pattern. It is not clear whether the limitation should read in contact with the ohmic contact pattern, which is already recited in claim 7. Thus, the limitation renders the claims indefinite and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110534542 A to Li et al. (“Li”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0284673 A1 to Kong et al. (“Kong”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0284822 A1 to Jung et al. (“Jung”). As to claim 1, although Li in view of Kong discloses a light-emitting diode chip, comprising: a substrate (10); a plurality of epitaxial structures on a side of the substrate (10), wherein a gap (at 50) exists between any two adjacent ones of the plurality of epitaxial structures, each epitaxial structure comprises a first semiconductor pattern (corresponding 40), a light-emitting pattern (61, 71, 81) and a second semiconductor pattern (63, 73, 83) which are sequentially stacked, and the first semiconductor patterns (corresponding 40) of the plurality of epitaxial structures are coupled to each other to form a first semiconductor layer (40); a first light-blocking layer (50/1) on a side of the first semiconductor layer (40) away from the substrate (10), wherein the first light-blocking layer (50/1) is provided therein with a plurality of accommodating holes (for at least light-emitting pattern) in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of epitaxial structures, and the light-emitting patterns (61, 71, 81) and the second semiconductor patterns (63, 73, 83) of the plurality of epitaxial structures are in corresponding ones of the plurality of accommodating holes (for at least light-emitting pattern); a second light-blocking layer (50/1) on a side of the first light-blocking layer (50/1) away from the substrate (10), wherein the second light-blocking layer (50/1) is provided therein with a plurality of pixel openings (for 110) in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of accommodating holes (for at least light-emitting pattern); an orthographic projection of each pixel opening (for 110) on the substrate (10) overlaps with an orthographic projection of the corresponding accommodating hole (for at least light-emitting pattern) on the substrate (10); a light processing pattern (110) is in at least one pixel opening (for 110) and includes a color conversion pattern (110) configured to convert light of a preset color emitted by the light-emitting pattern (61, 71, 81) into light of other color; at least one first electrode (102) electrically coupled to the first semiconductor layer (40); and a plurality of second electrodes (90, 101) in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of epitaxial structures and electrically coupled to the second semiconductor patterns (63, 73, 83) of corresponding ones of the plurality of epitaxial structures (See Li et al. Fig. 1, Page 2-Page 9, and Kong et al. Fig. 1, ¶ 0027-¶ 0037) (Notes: the first and second light-blocking layers are formed as one-piece opaque structure as recited in claim 2 to prevent light mix till the topmost emitting surfaces of the light processing patterns to reduce the volume of LED display chip panel as taught by Kong ¶ 0035), Li and Kong do not further disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of second electrodes is on a side of the second light-blocking layer away from the substrate, the second electrode is in contact with a corresponding one of the plurality of epitaxial structures through a first connection hole, and the first connection hole is located inside the pixel opening. However, Jung does disclose wherein at least one (31, 42, 44) of the plurality of second electrodes (31, 42, 44) is on a side of the second light-blocking layer (61, 63) away from the substrate (47), the second electrode (31, 42, 44) is in contact with a corresponding one of the plurality of epitaxial structures (30) through a first connection hole (at 31, 42, 44), and the first connection hole (at 31, 42, 44) is located inside the pixel opening (above 30) (See Fig. 9, ¶ 0061, ¶ 0093, ¶ 0098, ¶ 0101). In view of the teaching of Jung, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li and Kong to have wherein at least one of the plurality of second electrodes is on a side of the second light-blocking layer away from the substrate, the second electrode is in contact with a corresponding one of the plurality of epitaxial structures through a first connection hole, and the first connection hole is located inside the pixel opening because the first connection hole allows the second electrode to be exposed to form external connection (See ¶ 0061). As to claim 2, Li in view of Kong further discloses wherein the first light-blocking layer (50/1) and the second light-blocking layer (50/1) have one-piece structure (50/1) (See Li Fig. 1 and Kong Fig. 1). As to claim 3, Li in view of Kong further discloses wherein the orthographic projection of each pixel opening (for 110/80-82) on the substrate (10) completely covers the orthographic projection of the corresponding accommodating hole (for at least light-emitting pattern) on the substrate (10) (See Li Fig. 1 and Kong Fig. 1). As to claim 4, Li in view of Kong further discloses wherein the at least one first electrode (102) is on a side of the second light-blocking layer (50/1) away from the substrate (10), and is coupled to and in contact with the first semiconductor layer (40) in a via manner (See Li Fig. 1 and Kong Fig. 1) (Notes: the via manner is interpreted as through and adjacent to the light-blocking layer in a vertical direction). As to claim 9, Li in view of Kong further discloses wherein the light of the preset color is blue light; and the light of other color comprises at least one of red light, green light, cyan light, magenta light, and yellow light (See Li ¶ 0058, ¶ 0060, ¶ 0069 and Kong ¶ 0033). As to claim 10, Li in view of Kong further discloses wherein the substrate (10) comprises a first region and a second region along a second direction; the at least one first electrode (102) is in the first region; the plurality of epitaxial structures are in the second region and are sequentially arranged in the second region along a first direction; the plurality of pixel openings (for 110) corresponding to the plurality of epitaxial structures are in the second region and are sequentially arranged in the second region along the first direction; and an orthographic projection of each second electrode (90, 101) on the substrate (10) overlaps with an orthographic projection of the pixel opening (for 110) of the corresponding epitaxial structure on the substrate (10), and the orthographic projection of each second electrode (90, 101) on the substrate (10) is at one end, which is close to the first region, of the orthographic projection of the pixel opening (for 110) of the corresponding epitaxial structure on the substrate (10) (See Li Fig. 1) (Notes: the 3D epitaxial structures are arranged in the first direction and the one end is adjacent/close the edges). As to claim 11, Li in view of Kong further discloses wherein the at least one first electrode (102) comprises one first electrode (102) at a middle position of the first region in the first direction; the plurality of pixel openings (for 110) corresponding to the plurality of epitaxial structures are arranged at equal intervals along the first direction in the second region; and the plurality of second electrodes (101) corresponding to the plurality of epitaxial structures are arranged at equal intervals along the first direction in the second region (See Li Fig. 1). As to claim 12, Li in view of Kong further discloses wherein a length of each light-emitting pattern (61, 71, 81) in the first direction is in a range from 10 μm to 100 μm; and a length of each light-emitting pattern (61, 71, 81) in the second direction is in a range from 30 μm to 200 μm (See Li ¶ 0057) (Notes: an array of the light-emitting patterns is generally formed in squares and is formed with about 100 μm in first and second directions. The dimensions also determine the numbers of the light-emitting patterns can be packed on the substrate). As to claim 21, Li in view of Kong and Jung further rediscloses wherein a distance from a surface of the at least one of the plurality of second electrodes (90, 101/31, 42, 44) away from the substrate (10) to an upper surface of the substrate (10) is greater than a distance from a surface of the light processing pattern (110/50) away from the substrate (10) to the upper surface of the substrate (10); and an orthogonal projection of the second electrode (90, 101/31, 42, 44) on the substrate (10) overlaps with an orthogonal projection of the light processing pattern (110/50) on the substrate (10) (See Li Fig. 1, ¶ 0036 and Jung Fig. 9).
Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110534542 A to Li et al. (“Li”), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0284673 A1 to Kong et al. (“Kong”), and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0284822 A1 to Jung et al. (“Jung”) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0258161 A1 to Edmond et al. (“Edmond”). The teachings of Li, Kong, and Jung have been discussed above. As to claim 5, Li in view of Kong, Jung, and Edmond further discloses wherein each epitaxial structure further comprises an ohmic contact pattern (90/20, 21) on a side of the second semiconductor pattern (63, 73, 83/12, 13) away from the substrate (10), the ohmic contact pattern (90/20, 21) is in the corresponding accommodating hole (for at least light-emitting pattern); and the plurality of second electrodes (101) are on the side of the second light-blocking layer (50/1) away from the substrate (10), and each second electrode (101) is coupled to and in contact with the ohmic contact pattern (90/20, 21) of the corresponding epitaxial structure in a via manner (See Li Fig. 1, ¶ 0062, Kong Fig. 1, and Edmond Fig. 1, ¶ 0039, ¶ 0042-¶ 0044) (Notes: the via manner is interpreted as through and adjacent to the light-blocking layer in a vertical direction) such that the transparent ohmic contact pattern allows great light extraction and low contact resistance. As to claim 6, Li in view of Kong further discloses wherein the light processing pattern (110/80-82) is in each pixel opening (for 110/80-82); and wherein the light processing pattern (110/80-82) in a part of the plurality of pixel openings (for 110/80-82) is the color conversion pattern (110/80-82), and the light processing pattern (110/80-82) in other part of the plurality of pixel openings (for 110/80-82) is a light-transmitting pattern configured to allow light of the preset color to pass therethrough (See Kong ¶ 0032, ¶ 0033) (Notes: different combinations of the light processing patterns of filters and phosphors and the preset color are considered as desired). As to claim 7, Li in view of Kong and Edmond further discloses wherein the first electrode (102) is in contact with the first semiconductor layer (40) through a second connection hole (not occupied by 50/1) in the first light-blocking layer (50/1) and the second light-blocking layer (50/1); and each second electrode (101) is in contact with the ohmic contact pattern (90/20, 21) of the corresponding epitaxial structure through the first connection hole (between, not occupied by 50/1) in the corresponding light processing pattern (110/80-82) (See Li Fig. 1, Kong Fig. 1, and Edmond Fig. 1). As to claim 8, Li further discloses wherein the at least one first electrode (102) and the plurality of second electrodes (101) are in a same layer (See Li Fig. 1) (Notes: the same layer as the common patterned and deposited layer on the epitaxial structures (See Fig. 1, ¶ 0064).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815