Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, claim 24 discloses “the thermal pad further comprises a second protective film that is attached to the second pad surface and covers the second plurality of recesses; the first protective film and the second protective film are configured to be removed; and the pad body is configured to be attached between a heat sink and an electronic component after the first protective film and the second protective film are removed” (emphasis added), which was not described in the specification; at best, the specification points to an alternative embodiments that does not use protective film(s), such as in Figs. 15 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-17, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuhira (WO 2004075291) in further view of Zhang (CN 112201634 A).
Regarding claim 1, Tokuhira teaches a thermal pad, comprising a pad body, wherein: in a thickness direction of the pad body, the pad body comprises a first pad surface and a second pad surface that are opposite to each other (Fig. 1 points to a heat conductor 4 (thermal pad) comprising a metal body/member 41 (pad body).).
Tokuhira alone fails to teach a first plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the first pad surface, a second plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the second pad surface, each of the first plurality of recesses is filled with a liquid metal material and has a depth less than a thickness of the pad body, and each of the second plurality of recesses is filled with the liquid metal material and has a depth less than the thickness of the pad body.
Zhang teaches a first plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the first pad surface (Fig. 3 points to a heat-conducting interface device 1 (pad body) comprising an absorbing structure 11 (first plurality of recesses).)., a second plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the second pad surface (Fig. 4 points to the heat-conducting interface device/liquid metal heat conducting pad 1 being positioned between a CPU 2 and a heat exchange part 31. It is considered obvious that liquid metal would be applied to both sides of said device 1 in order to create a proper path of heat dissipation, which would in turn require an additional absorbing structure 11 (second plurality of recesses) on the opposite surface (second pad surface).), each of the plurality of recesses is filled with a liquid metal material ([0039] points to liquid metal filling the absorbing structure(s) 11.) and has a depth less than a thickness of the pad body, and each of the second plurality of recesses is filled with the liquid metal material and has a depth less than the thickness of the pad body ([0038] points to the groove structure of the absorbing structure 11 (first plurality of recesses; second plurality of recesses) having a depth that can be less than the thickness of the heat-conducting interface device 1 (pad body). [0039] further points to liquid metal filling said absorbing structure(s) 11.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the pad body further comprises two pluralities of recesses filled with a liquid metal material in order to improve heat conductivity on both sides of the pad body/interface device and protect against overflow of the liquid metal material that could damage the surrounding area(s).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches wherein: the first plurality of recesses are arranged in an array (Fig. 1 points to an alternative embodiment of the absorbing structure 11 arranged along the peripheral edge of a heat-conducting interface device 1.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the first plurality of recesses are arranged in an array in order to create a uniform structure that equally protects against overflow in all directions.
Regarding claim 8, Tokuhira teaches wherein: the first pad surface comprises an opening area and a surrounding area that is located on a periphery of the opening area (Figs. 1 and 3 point to a heat conductor 4 (thermal pad) comprising a bottom portion 412 (opening area) and a surrounding body/member 41 (surrounding area).).
Tokuhira alone fails to teach wherein: openings of the first plurality of recesses are located in the opening area, and the surrounding area is provided with an anti-spill groove.
Zhang teaches wherein: openings of the first plurality of recesses are located in the opening area (Fig. 3 of Zhang points to the absorbing structure 11 comprising a groove structure.), and the surrounding area is provided with an anti-spill groove (Figs. 1-2 point to alternative embodiments of the absorbing structure 11 comprising a plurality of holes, gaps, or notches (anti-spill groove) located along a peripheral edge (surrounding area) of the device 1.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the pad body comprises a first opening area and a second surrounding area in order to improve heat conductivity while also maintaining control over any liquid metal overflow.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches wherein: the anti-spill groove is separated from the openings of the first plurality of recesses (Figs. 1-2 point to embodiments of the absorbing structure 11 comprising grooves (anti-spill groove), holes, or notches (openings).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the anti-spill groove is separated from the plurality of recesses in order to retain an adequate level liquid metal in the central opening area while still maintaining control over any overflow.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches wherein: the anti-spill groove extends in a circumferential direction of the opening area (Figs. 1-2 point to the absorbing structure 11 (anti-spill groove group) comprising a plurality of holes, gaps, or notches (anti-spill groove) located along the edge of the heat conducting interface device 1. It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would form a circumferential groove as opposed to a plurality of holes/gaps/notches in a ring shape in order to better protect against liquid metal overflow in any direction.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the pad body further comprises an anti-overflow safety structure that would prevent the liquid metal material layer from over extending in any possible direction.
Regarding claim 11, Tokuhira in combination with Zhang teaches wherein: the surrounding area is provided with an anti-spill groove group, and the anti-spill groove group comprises a plurality of anti-spill grooves disposed around the opening area (Figs. 1-2 point to alternative embodiments of the absorbing structure 11 comprising a plurality of holes, gaps, or notches (anti-spill grooves) located along a peripheral edge (surrounding area) of the device 1.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the pad body further comprises a plurality of holes/recesses to together make up an anti-overflow safety structure in order to prevent the liquid metal material layer from over extending and causing damage to the surrounding areas.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches wherein: the surrounding area is provided with a plurality of anti-spill groove groups, and the plurality of anti-spill groove groups are arranged in a direction away from the opening area (Figs. 1-2 point to alternative embodiments of the absorbing structure 11 comprising a plurality of holes, gaps, or notches (anti-spill groove) located along a peripheral edge (surrounding area) of the device 1.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the pad body further comprises a plurality of anti-spill groove groups arranged away from the opening area in order to better control the flow of the liquid metal material layer prevent damage to the surrounding areas.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches wherein: each of the plurality of anti-spill grooves in the anti-spill groove group penetrates through the pad body ([0038] points to the groove structure of the absorbing structure 11 (anti-spill groove group) having a depth that can be equal to the thickness of the heat-conducting interface device 1 (pad body).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that each of the plurality of anti-spill grooves in the anti-spill groove group penetrates through the pad body in order to create more space for the liquid metal, which would better prevent it from over extending and causing damage to the surrounding areas.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches wherein: the anti-spill groove is a ring groove and is disposed around the opening area (Figs. 1-2 point to the absorbing structure 11 (anti-spill groove group) comprising a plurality of holes, gaps, or notches (anti-spill groove) located along the edge of the heat conducting interface device 1. It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would form a single ring groove as opposed to a plurality of holes/gaps/notches in a ring shape in order to better protect against liquid metal overflow in any direction.), and a groove depth of the anti-spill groove is less than the thickness of the pad body ([0038] points to the groove structure of the absorbing structure 11 (anti-spill groove) having a depth that can be less than the thickness of the heat-conducting interface device 1 (pad body).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the anti-spill groove is comprised of a single ring groove that penetrates, but not all the way through, the pad body in order to reduce the complexity in manufacturing that would occur from forming a plurality of holes, and to ensure that any overflowing liquid metal does not simply flow through the pad body and onto the underlying area(s).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches wherein: the surrounding area is provided with a plurality of anti-spill grooves, and the plurality of anti-spill grooves are arranged in a direction away from the opening area (Figs. 1-2 point to alternative embodiments of the absorbing structure 11 comprising a plurality of holes, gaps, or notches (anti-spill groove) located along a peripheral edge (surrounding area) of the device 1.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the pad body further comprises a plurality of anti-spill groove groups arranged away from the opening area in order to better control the flow of the liquid metal material layer prevent damage to the surrounding areas.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches wherein: one end of the anti-spill groove extends to an edge of the openings of the plurality of recesses (Fig. 2 points to an alternative embodiment of the absorbing structure 11 (anti-spill groove) comprising notches that point/extend from the periphery to the center (an edge of the openings) of the heat-conducting interface device 1.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the anti-spill groove located in the surrounding area of the pad body further includes an extension connecting the central openings/opening area to the rest of the anti-spill groove/surrounding area in order to direct the flow of the liquid metal material layer and minimize the damages as a result of possible overflow.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches wherein: a width range of the anti-spill groove is 0.1~0.2 mm (Figs. 1-2 point to an absorbing structure 11 (surrounding area) comprising a plurality of holes, gaps, or notches (anti-spill groove) located along the edge of the heat conducting interface device 1 (first pad surface). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the width of the anti-spill groove to be a result effective variable affecting overflow control. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Zhang to have the width within the claimed range in order to balance overflow control with the critical dimensions of the overall structure, and since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) and 2143. Furthermore, it has also been held that the applicant must show that a particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936, (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the law is replete with cases in which when the mere difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some dimensional limitation or other variable within the claims, patentability cannot be found. The instant disclosure does not set forth evidence ascribing unexpected results due to the claimed dimensions. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 1984), which held that the dimensional limitations failed to point out a feature which performed and operated any differently from the prior art.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the width of the anti-spill groove is 0.1~0.2mm in order to maximize protection against liquid metal overflow while also minimizing device footprint and delamination potential.
Regarding claim 20, Tokuhira teaches a heat dissipation module, comprising: an electronic component; a heat sink; and a thermal pad, wherein: a pad body of the thermal pad is disposed between the electronic component and the heat sink, and in a thickness direction of the pad body, the pad body comprises a first pad surface and a second pad surface that are opposite to each other (Fig. 1 points to an electronic component device (heat dissipation module) comprising an electronic component device 2, a heat dissipating member 3 (heat sink), and a heat conductor 4 (thermal pad) formed in between.).
Tokuhira alone fails to teach a first plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the first pad surface, a second plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the second pad surface, each of the first plurality of recesses is filled with a liquid metal material and has a depth less than a thickness of the pad body, and each of the second plurality of recesses is filled with the liquid metal material and has a depth less than the thickness of the pad body.
Zhang teaches a first plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the first pad surface (Fig. 3 points to a heat-conducting interface device 1 (pad body) comprising an absorbing structure 11 (first plurality of recesses).)., a second plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the second pad surface (Fig. 4 points to the heat-conducting interface device/liquid metal heat conducting pad 1 being positioned between a CPU 2 and a heat exchange part 31. It is considered obvious that liquid metal would be applied to both sides of said device 1 in order to create a proper path of heat dissipation, which would in turn require an additional absorbing structure 11 (second plurality of recesses) on the opposite surface (second pad surface).), each of the plurality of recesses is filled with a liquid metal material ([0039] points to liquid metal filling the absorbing structure(s) 11.) and has a depth less than a thickness of the pad body, and each of the second plurality of recesses is filled with the liquid metal material and has a depth less than the thickness of the pad body ([0038] points to the groove structure of the absorbing structure 11 (first plurality of recesses; second plurality of recesses) having a depth that can be less than the thickness of the heat-conducting interface device 1 (pad body). [0039] further points to liquid metal filling said absorbing structure(s) 11.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the pad body further comprises two pluralities of recesses filled with a liquid metal material in order to improve heat conductivity on both sides of the pad body/interface device and protect against overflow of the liquid metal material that could damage the surrounding area(s).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang teaches wherein: the electronic component is a central processing unit; and the central processing unit comprises a substrate and a bare die disposed on the substrate, and the pad body is disposed between the bare die and the heat sink (Fig. 4 points to a CPU 2 set on a computer main board 21 (substrate), a heat exchange part 31 (heat sink), and a heat conducting interface device 1 (pad body) located between the two.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that a CPU is attached to a heat sink as part of a heat dissipation module in order to provide adequate thermal management and maintain stable operation.
Regarding claim 22, Tokuhira teaches an electronic device comprising: a housing; and a heat dissipation module disposed in the housing, wherein the heat dissipation module comprises an electronic component, a heat sink, and a thermal pad, a pad body of the thermal pad is disposed between the electronic component and the heat sink, in a thickness direction of the pad body, the pad body comprises a first pad surface and a second pad surface that are opposite to each other (Fig. 1 points to an electronic component device (heat dissipation module) comprising an electronic component 2, a radiator 3 (heat sink), a heat conductor 4 (thermal pad), and a metal body/member 41 (pad body). It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would provide some form of housing for this device/module in order to protect against any external damage and provide physical stability to its delicate components.).
Tokuhira alone fails to teach a first plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the first pad surface, a second plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the second pad surface, each of the first plurality of recesses is filled with a liquid metal material and has a depth less than a thickness of the pad body, and each of the second plurality of recesses is filled with the liquid metal material and has a depth less than the thickness of the pad body.
Zhang teaches a first plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the first pad surface (Fig. 3 points to a heat-conducting interface device 1 (pad body) comprising an absorbing structure 11 (first plurality of recesses).)., a second plurality of recesses extend in the pad body along the thickness direction from the second pad surface (Fig. 4 points to the heat-conducting interface device/liquid metal heat conducting pad 1 being positioned between a CPU 2 and a heat exchange part 31. It is considered obvious that liquid metal would be applied to both sides of said device 1 in order to create a proper path of heat dissipation, which would in turn require an additional absorbing structure 11 (second plurality of recesses) on the opposite surface (second pad surface).), each of the plurality of recesses is filled with a liquid metal material ([0039] points to liquid metal filling the absorbing structure(s) 11.) and has a depth less than a thickness of the pad body, and each of the second plurality of recesses is filled with the liquid metal material and has a depth less than the thickness of the pad body ([0038] points to the groove structure of the absorbing structure 11 (first plurality of recesses; second plurality of recesses) having a depth that can be less than the thickness of the heat-conducting interface device 1 (pad body). [0039] further points to liquid metal filling said absorbing structure(s) 11.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the pad body further comprises two pluralities of recesses filled with a liquid metal material in order to improve heat conductivity on both sides of the pad body/interface device and protect against overflow of the liquid metal material that could damage the surrounding area(s).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang teaches wherein: the first plurality of recesses and the second plurality of recesses are staggered in a direction perpendicular to the thickness of the pad body (In light of claim 1 upon which claim 23 depends, which discloses that the first and second pluralities are located on opposing surfaces of the pad body, it is considered obvious that said pluralities would be staggered/offset from each other so as to prevent any accidental joining that would result in a through-hole in the pad body.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira and Zhang, such that the first plurality of recesses and the second plurality of recesses are staggered in order to better control the flow of liquid metal along both surfaces of the pad body.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuhira et al. in further view of Wang (CN 113517243 A).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches wherein: the openings of the plurality of recesses comprises two rows of the openings, each row comprises a plurality of openings, and each of the openings of the plurality of recesses separately communicates with at least one anti-spill groove (Figs. 1 and 4 point to two rows of multiple grooves (plurality of recesses) which are each coated in a liquid metal 5. Regarding each opening communicating with at least one anti-spill groove, it is considered obvious in light of Tokuhira in view of Zhang (see claim 16 above), which established communication between a plurality of recesses and an anti-spill groove, could be replicated by one of ordinary skill in the art such that multiple instances of said communication are formed using the multiple openings.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira et al. and Wang, such that the opening area of the pad body comprises a plurality of openings split into two rows in order to better handle the flow of the liquid metal material layer as it is formed and/or to simplify the fabrication process.
Claims 19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuhira et al. in further view of Tonapi (PGPub No. 20060275608).
Regarding claim 19, Tonapi teaches wherein: the thermal pad further comprises a first protective film, and the first protective film is attached to the first pad surface and covers the first plurality of recesses ([0006] points to a thermal pad comprising one or more protective films.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira et al. and Tonapi, such that a first protective film is formed to protect the underlying region(s) from external influence(s).
Regarding claim 24, Tonapi teaches wherein: the thermal pad further comprises a second protective film that is attached to the second pad surface and covers the second plurality of recesses; the first protective film and the second protective film are configured to be removed; and the pad body is configured to be attached between a heat sink and an electronic component after the first protective film and the second protective film are removed ([0006] points to the assembly of a heat-dissipating component (heat sink) to a heat-generating device (electronic component) using a thermal pad, which may involve manual removal of one or more protective films from the pad.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokuhira et al. and Tonapi, such that a second protective film is formed to protect the underlying region(s) from external influence(s), said second protective film being later removed along with the first protective film in order to ease assembly and improve adhesion between the thermal pad and surrounding components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 6, 8-18, and 20-22 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation(s) of the previously applied references Tokuhira (WO 2004075291) and Zhang (CN 112201634 A).
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 19 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tokuhira et al. in further view of Tonapi (PGPub No. 20060275608).
Conclusion
/PATRICK CULLEN/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899