Detail Action
Status of Claims
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed 9/29/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 7, and 14 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2025 and 11/12/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final on 07/01/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The amendment to the title is accepted and the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/29/2025 have been fully considered and while certain parts where not persuasive but taken as a whole are persuasive. With regards both to claim 1 and claim 14:
In response to applicant’s first argument pin 32 is defined as the terminal and the side wall is defined as side 43S of Wan Fig. 2. The housing 4 which includes the sidewalls 43S is defined as a housing, therefore absent further explanation as to why the sidewalls of a housing cannot be considered a housing 4 considered to be a “housing”.
With regards to applicant’s second argument, no special definition of the term “coupled” was found by the examiner in the specification and has included stated some parts could be coupled either directly or indirectly. Therefore without further language pin 32 can be at least considered to be coupled to the top wall.
With regards to the applicant’s third argument, the remarks clarify that the convex shape is related to the substate 18 not regarding the shape the terminals 16. The amendments and arguments clarify how the terminals relate to the top and bottom surfaces and cause the bending. Therefore, the rejection over Wan in view of Schulz s withdrawn.
Upon further consideration, however, a new rejection over Wan in view of Schulz and Bayerer is presented below.
Drawings
DIFFERENT NUMBERS WITH THE SAME PART
The drawings Figs. 1, 2, and 3 are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "metal substrate structure 10" and "middle section 18 in Figs. 2 and 3" have both been used to designate the substrate of the structure which in Fig. 1 includes 3 layers and in Fig. 2 and 3 is depicted as part of the housing 2.
The drawings Figs. 2, and 3 are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "terminal 16" and "contact surface of terminal 17" have both been used to designate the terminal and the same parts of the terminal in Figs.2 and 3.
DIFFERENT PARTS WITH THE SAME NUMBER
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “terminal 16 in Figs. 2 and 3” has been used to designate both terminals which "have a larger length compared to the sidewalls of the sidewalls" (Specification page 20, lines 1-5) and "the terminals 16 closer to the edge areas may have a smaller length than the terminal(s) 16 closer to edge area may have a smaller length" (page 20, lines14-15). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, should be corrected for clarity “and wherein with respect to the stacking direction a length of at least one terminal is configured in coordination with the predetermined distance, such that, due to the at least one terminal, the metal substrate structure is bent in a predetermined manner and comprises a convex shape in interaction with the housing.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al. US 20160351460 A1 (hereinafter Wan) in view of Schulz US 20100078807 A1 (hereinafter Schulz) and Bayerer US 20180184538 A1 (hereinafter Bayerer).
The following annotated Figure of Wan Fig. 2 will be included for discussion:
The following annotated Figure of Schulz Fig. 10 will be included for discussion:
The following annotated Fig. 7 from Bayerer will be used in discussion:
Regarding claim 1, Wan discloses:
A semiconductor power module (Wan, [0002]), comprising:
a metal substrate (Fig. 2 and [0025], substrate 3) structure with a metal top layer (first conductive layer 36), a metal bottom layer ( second conductive layer 37), and…
a housing (housing 4) configured to enclose electronics of the semiconductor power module (electronic component 7), wherein housing comprises a top wall and side walls (annotated Fig. 1, outer surface 43 having both a top surface 43L and side surfaces 43S), and the sidewalls being is coupled to the metal substrate (side surface 43S is coupled to substrate 3) structure such that with respect to the stacking direction (stacking direction A) there is a predetermined distance (distance D) between a lower surface of the top wall (top surface 43L) and an upper surface of the metal top layer (first conductive layer 36) adjacent to the side walls (side surfaces 43S), respectively and
at least one terminal (terminal 32) arranged inside the housing (housing 4), wherein the at least one terminal (terminal 32) is coupled to the lower surface of the top wall (top surface 43L) and coupled to the upper surface of the metal top layer (first conductive layer 36), and wherein with respect to the stacking direction (stacking direction A) a length of at least one terminal (terminal 32) is configured in coordination with the distance (distance D)…
While the substrate 3 may be an insulated metal substrate (IMS) Wan doesn’t explicitly teach that the substrate 3 includes “a dielectric layer that is coupled to both the metal top layer and the metal bottom layer in between with respect to a stacking direction of the metal substrate structure” or “ such that due to the at least one terminal the metal substrate structure is bent in a predetermined manner and comprises a convex shape in interaction with the housing.”
However, Schulz, which teaches a power semiconductor module assembly (Schulz, Abstract) discloses:
a dielectric layer (Schulz, Fig. 10, isolation substrate 13a) that is coupled to both the metal top layer (top side metallization 13b) and the metal bottom layer (bottom side metallization 13c) in between with respect to a stacking direction (annotated Fig. 10 direction A) of the metal substrate structure (circuit substrate 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan to have a dielectric layer that is coupled to both the metal top layer and the metal bottom layer in between with respect to a stacking direction of the metal substrate structure as taught by Schulz for purposes of for the purpose of having a circuit substrate with a isolation material. (Schulz [0029].)
Neither Wan or Schulz appear to disclose, “ such that due to the at least one terminal the metal substrate structure is bent in a predetermined manner and comprises a convex shape in interaction with the housing.”
However, Bayerer which teaches method for producing an electronic module assembly which reduces large air gaps between the heat exchange surface and the circuit carrier (Bayerer, [0001]) discloses:
such that due to the at least one terminal (plunger 55 and first mass 61) the metal substrate structure ([0027], circuit carrier/substrate 2 which can be an insulated metal substrate (IMS)) is bent in a predetermined manner and comprises a convex shape in interaction with the housing. ([0041]-[0043], the cured first mass 61 causes a convex deformation of the circuit carrier 2 due to elastic deformation and [0056] the methods as related to Fig. 3B apply to the design discussed in Fig. 7.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan and Schulz to have due to the at least one terminal the metal substrate structure is bent in a predetermined manner and comprises a convex shape in interaction with the housing as taught by Bayerer for the purpose of minimize any air gaps between the carrier and caused by the uneven heat sink surface that was created by assembly of the electronic module. (Bayerer, [0002].)
Regarding claim 2, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 1 as described above.
Wan discloses pin 32 which has a length that is not the same as the length (distance D) of the side wall of the housing 43S.
Bayerer further discloses:
a total length including the length (annotated Fig. 7, length L) of the at least one terminal (plunger 55c) is given such that in the direction towards the metal top layer (first surface 2t) the at least one terminal(plunger 55c) protrudes beyond the length of the side walls (annotated Fig. 7, distance D)
Bayerer does appear to explicitly teach that the length of the plunger protrudes “by at least 0.5 mm”, however Bayerer does teach a relationship between the downwards force and the amount of pre-bend that is expected such that the pend amount would be result effective variable of the downwards force. For example, Bayerer at [0054] discloses that a downwards force of 5N and 10N results in a distance of about . 1 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan and Schulz as since to determine the amount of the pre-bend and by applying the proper amount of force as described by Bayerer for the purpose of minimize any air gaps between the carrier and caused by the uneven heat sink surface that was created by assembly of the electronic module. (Bayerer, [0002].) (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 3, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 1 as described above.
Wan further discloses:
wherein the housing (housing 4) and the metal substrate (substrate 3) structure are coupled to each other by means of at least one of screwing, gluing, clamping, and sealing. (elastomer 6 which functions to by gluing the housing 4 to the metal substrate 3. )
Regarding claim 4, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer disclose all the elements of claim 3 as described above.
Wan further discloses:
the housing (housing 4) and/or the metal bottom layer (second conductive layer 37) comprise respective one or more screw holes (fastening hole 42), and the housing (housing 4) and the metal substrate structure (substrate 3) are coupled to each other by means of screwing connections (fastening element 82 (i.e. screws) and [0026] pressure to the housing is coupled to the substrate 3), wherein the screwing connections are positioned in a respective area adjacent to the side walls of the housing. (Fig. 2, [0026].)
Regarding claim 5, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer disclose all the element of claim 1 as described above.
Wan does not appear to disclose “wherein the housing is formed by means of molding, and wherein the at least one terminal is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing.”
Bayerer further discloses:
the housing (housing 5, including lid 50) is formed by means of molding ([0035], the housing 5 can be formed by injection molding), and wherein the at least one terminal ([0033], the housing 5, including plunger 55) is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing. (Fig. 7, [0033])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan and Schulz to have the housing is formed by means of molding, and wherein the at least one terminal is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing as taught by Bayerer for purposes of the molded housing being made as one piece as part of the lid. (Bayerer, [0034].)
Regarding claim 6, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 1 as described above.
Wan further discloses:
at least one terminal (pin 32 with a first end 320) is connected to the lower surface of the top wall (top surface 43L) and/or to the upper surface of the metal top layer (first conductive layer 36) by means of at least one of clamping, soldering, welding, gluing, and sintering. ([0028], the first end 320 is soldered.)
Regarding claim 7, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 1 as described above.
Wan and Schulz appear to be silent on “two or more terminals arranged inside the housing and coupled to the lower surface of the top wall on the one hand and to the upper surface of the metal top layer on the other hand, wherein the two or more terminals comprise different lengths with respect to the stacking direction between the lower surface and the upper surface.”
However, Bayerer which teaches method for producing an electronic module assembly which reduces large air gaps between the heat exchange surface and the circuit carrier (Bayerer, [0001]) discloses:
two or more terminals (annotated Fig. 7, plunger 55a and 55b ) arranged inside the housing and coupled to the lower surface of the top wall (lower surface of lid 50) and to the upper surface of the metal top layer (first surface 2t), wherein the two or more terminals (annotated Fig. 7, plunger 55a and 55b ) comprise different lengths (Fig. 7, [0053]) with respect to the stacking direction (stacking direction A) between the lower surface and the upper surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan and Schulz to have two or more terminals arranged inside the housing and coupled to the lower surface of the top wall on the one hand and to the upper surface of the metal top layer on the other hand, wherein the two or more terminals comprise different lengths with respect to the stacking direction between the lower surface and the upper surface as taught by Bayerer for the purpose of minimize any air gaps between the carrier and caused by the uneven heat sink surface that was created by assembly of the electronic module. (Bayerer, [0002].)
Regarding claim 8, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 7 as described above.
with respect to a middle axis (annotated Fig. 7, middle axis M) or a symmetric plane the two or more terminals (plunger 55a and 55d) are arranged symmetrically inside the housing along a lateral direction (direction B) perpendicular to the stacking direction. (stacking direction A)
Regarding claim 9, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 1 as described above.
Wan and Schulz appear to be silent on “the at least one terminal comprises a spring or an elastic or a stress relief structure configured to expose pressure on the metal substrate structure in a predetermined manner.”
However, Bayerer which teaches method for producing an electronic module assembly which reduces large air gaps between the heat exchange surface and the circuit carrier (Bayerer, [0001]) discloses:
at least one terminal (plunger 55) comprises a spring or an elastic or a stress relief structure (first mass 61) configured to expose pressure on the metal substrate structure in a predetermined manner. ([0032], the modulus of elasticity can get adjusted to adjust the minimum distance between the substrate assembly and the module housing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan and Schulz to have the at least one terminal comprises a spring or an elastic or a stress relief structure configured to expose pressure on the metal substrate structure in a predetermined manner as taught by Bayerer for the purpose of minimize any air gaps between the carrier and caused by the uneven heat sink surface that was created by assembly of the electronic module. (Bayerer, [0002].)
Regarding claim 10, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 1 as described above.
Wan and Schulz appear to be silent on “a cushion element that is coupled to the at least one terminal configured to expose pressure on the terminal and/or the metal substrate structure in a predetermined manner.”
However, Bayerer which teaches method for producing an electronic module assembly which reduces large air gaps between the heat exchange surface and the circuit carrier (Bayerer, [0001]) discloses:
a cushion element (annotated Fig. 7, first mass 61) that is coupled to the at least one terminal (plunger 55) configured to expose pressure on the terminal and/or the metal substrate ([0032], first surface 2t) structure in a predetermined manner. ([0032], the modulus of elasticity can get adjusted to adjust the minimum distance between the substrate assembly and the module housing)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan and Schulz to have a cushion element that is coupled to the at least one terminal configured to expose pressure on the terminal and/or the metal substrate structure in a predetermined manner as taught by Bayerer for the purpose of minimize any air gaps between the carrier and caused by the uneven heat sink surface that was created by assembly of the electronic module. (Bayerer, [0002].)
Regarding claim 11, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 1 as described above.
Wan further discloses:
at least one terminal (pin 32) comprises an elongated terminal body (elongated pin body 32a) and a plate-shaped terminal foot (first end 320 of pin 32) with a contact surface that contacts or faces the upper surface (first conductive layer 36) of the metal substrate (substrate 3) structure. (first end 320 is contact with the substrate 3 via the first surface 30.)
Regarding claim 13, Wan, Schulz and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 1 as described above.
Wan further discloses:
a heat sink (Wan, heat dissipation device 80) that is coupled to a bottom surface (second conductive layer 37) of the metal bottom layer (substrate 3). (Wan, [0025].)
Regarding claim 14, Wan discloses:
A method for manufacturing a semiconductor power module (Wan, [0002]), comprising:
providing metal substrate structure (Fig. 2 and [0025], substrate 3) with a metal top layer (first conductive layer 36), a metal bottom layer (second conductive layer 37), and …
providing a housing (housing 4) configured to enclose electronics of the semiconductor power module where the housing (Wan, [0027], the housing 4 have active components such a power module) comprises a top wall (top surface 43L) and side walls with given lengths, (side walls 43S having a length of distance D)
providing at least one terminal with a given length (terminal 32 with length L), and
coupling the at least one terminal (terminal 32), the housing (housing 4) and the metal substrate (substrate 3) structure together such that the side walls are coupled to the metal substrate structure (side surface 43S is coupled to substrate 3) and the at least one terminal (terminal 32) is arranged inside the housing and coupled to a lower surface of the top wall and coupled to an upper surface of the metal top layer, (Fig. 2)
wherein the length (length L) of at least one terminal (terminal 320 is configured in coordination with a distance between the lower surface of the top wall (lower surface of the top surface 43L) and the upper surface of the metal top layer (first conductive layer 36) adjacent to the side walls, respectively, and
While the substrate 3 may be an insulated metal substrate (IMS) Wan doesn’t explicitly teach that the substrate 3 includes “a dielectric layer that is coupled to both the metal top layer and the metal bottom layer in between with respect to a stacking direction of the metal substrate structure.”
However, Schulz, which teaches a power semiconductor module assembly (Schulz, Abstract) discloses:
a dielectric layer (Schulz, Fig. 10, isolation substrate 13a) that is coupled to both the metal top layer (top side metallization 13b) and the metal bottom layer (bottom side metallization 13c) in between with respect to a stacking direction (annotated Fig. 10 direction A) of the metal substrate structure (circuit substrate 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan to have a dielectric layer that is coupled to both the metal top layer and the metal bottom layer in between with respect to a stacking direction of the metal substrate structure as taught by Schulz for purposes of for the purpose of having a circuit substrate with a isolation material. (Schulz [0029].)
Wan and Schulz do not appear to explicitly disclose “thereby providing a compressive load on the metal substrate structure due to the at least one terminal such that the metal substrate structure is bent in a predetermined manner and comprises a convex shape in interaction with the housing and the at least one terminal.”
However, Bayerer teaches a method for producing an electronic module assembly which reduces large air gaps between the heat exchange surface and the circuit carrier (Bayerer, [0001]) discloses:
thereby providing a compressive load ([0069], the plunger 55 exerts a force F on the circuit carrier 2 which is compressive) on the metal substrate structure (circuit carrier 2 (which includes 2t and 2b)) due to the at least one terminal (plunger 55) such that the metal substrate structure is bent in a predetermined manner (Fig. 7, [0054]) and comprises a convex shape in interaction with the housing and the at least one terminal. (Fig.7, [0006] the circuit carrier is convex.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan and Schulz to have provide a compressive load on the metal substrate structure due to the at least one terminal such that the metal substrate structure is bent in a predetermined manner and comprises a convex shape in interaction with the housing and the at least one terminal as taught by Bayerer for purposes of firmly attaching the power module to the heat sink/larger device. (Bayerer, [0006].)
Regarding claim 15, Wan, Schulz, and Bayerer disclose all the elements of claim 14 as described above.
Wan further discloses:
coupling the molded housing (housing 4) and the embedded at least one terminal to the metal substrate (substrate 3) structure by means of at least one of screwing, clamping, gluing, and sealing. (elastomer 6 acts as gluing agent for attaching the substrate 3 to the housing 4)
Wan as modified above by Schulz does not appear to explicitly disclose “the housing is formed by means of molding, and wherein the at least one terminal is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing.
However, Bayerer further discloses:
the housing (Bayerer, housing 5, including lid 50) is formed by means of molding ([0035], the housing 5 can be formed by injection molding), and wherein the at least one terminal ([0033], the housing 5, including plunger 55) is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing. (Fig. 7, [0033])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan as modified by Schulz to have the housing is formed by means of molding, and wherein the at least one terminal is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing as taught by Bayerer for purposes of the molded housing being made as one piece as part of the lid. (Bayerer, [0034].)
Regarding claim 16, Wan, Schulz, and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 2 as described above.
Wan further discloses:
wherein the housing (housing 4) and the metal substrate (substrate 3) structure are coupled to each other by means of at least one of screwing, gluing, clamping, and sealing. (elastomer 6 which functions to by gluing the housing 4 to the metal substrate 3. )
Regarding claim 17, Wan, Schulz, and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 16 as described above.
Wan further discloses:
the housing (housing 4) and/or the metal bottom layer (second conductive layer 37) comprise respective one or more screw holes (fastening hole 42), and the housing (housing 4) and the metal substrate structure (substrate 3) are coupled to each other by means of screwing connections (fastening element 82 (i.e. screws) and [0026] pressure to the housing is coupled to the substrate 3), wherein the screwing connections are positioned in a respective area adjacent to the side walls of the housing. (Fig. 2, [0026].)
Regarding claim 18, Wan, Schulz, and Bayerer teach all the elements of claim 2 as described above.
Wan as modified above by Schulz does not appear to explicitly disclose “the housing is formed by means of molding, and wherein the at least one terminal is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing.
Bayerer further discloses:
the housing (housing 5, including lid 50) is formed by means of molding ([0035], the housing 5 can be formed by injection molding), and wherein the at least one terminal ([0033], the housing 5, including plunger 55) is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing. (Fig. 7, [0033])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan as modified by Schulz to have the housing is formed by means of molding, and wherein the at least one terminal is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing as taught by Bayerer for purposes of the molded housing being made as one piece as part of the lid. (Bayerer, [0034].)
Regarding claim 19, Wan and Schulz disclose all the element of claim 3 as described above.
Wan does not appear to disclose “wherein the housing is formed by means of molding, and wherein the at least one terminal is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing.”
Bayerer further discloses:
the housing (housing 5, including lid 50) is formed by means of molding ([0035], the housing 5 can be formed by injection molding), and wherein the at least one terminal ([0033], the housing 5, including plunger 55) is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing. (Fig. 7, [0033])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan and Schulz to have the housing is formed by means of molding, and wherein the at least one terminal is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing as taught by Bayerer for purposes of the molded housing being made as one piece as part of the lid. (Bayerer, [0034].)
Regarding claim 20, Wan and Schulz disclose all the element of claim 4 as described above.
Wan does not appear to disclose “wherein the housing is formed by means of molding, and wherein the at least one terminal is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing.”
Bayerer further discloses:
the housing (housing 5, including lid 50) is formed by means of molding ([0035], the housing 5 can be formed by injection molding), and wherein the at least one terminal ([0033], the housing 5, including plunger 55) is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing. (Fig. 7, [0033])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan and Schulz to have the housing is formed by means of molding, and wherein the at least one terminal is integrally coupled to the top wall partially embedded in the molded housing as taught by Bayerer for purposes of the molded housing being made as one piece as part of the lid. (Bayerer, [0034].)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wan, Schulz and Bayerer as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Uezato US 20210257284 A1 (hereinafter Uezato).
Regarding claim 12, Wan and Schulz disclose all the elements of claim 11 as described above.
Wan as modified by Schulz and Bayerer, appear to be silent regarding “the contact surface of the terminal foot and/or a contact portion of the upper surface of the metal top layer is covered with a coating comprising at least one layer of at least one of gold, silver, and nickel.”
Uezato, which teaches a semiconductor module with external connection terminals (Uezato, Background of Invention), discloses:
the contact surface of the terminal foot (Fig. 1, the bottom part of connection terminal 18) and/or a contact portion of the upper surface of the metal top layer (top of the circuit pattern metal plate 12) is covered with a coating (solder 23) comprising at least one layer of at least one of gold, silver, and nickel. ([0025], the solder 23 contains silver and nickel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wan and Schulz and Bayerer to have the contact surface of the terminal foot and/or a contact portion of the upper surface of the metal top layer is covered with a coating comprising at least one layer of at least one of gold, silver, and nickel. as taught by Uezato for purposes of having good wettability for contacting the connection terminals. (Uezato, [0025].)
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Spann US 20210272874 A1 which teaches a power semiconductor module including housing in Fig. 1.
Stolze US 20100038758 A1 which discloses cooling of power supply technology with efficient cooling. Fig. 1
Conclusion
/HEIM KIRIN GREWAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812