Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments: On page 13 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Paladugu does not teach the specific limitation 44 requiring the determination of whether a second UE is a relay candidate be conditioned, at least in part, on whether and agreement on a QoS parameter can be reached because the QoS negotiations is performed after the UE candidacy has already been determined not as criteria for determining the candidacy. Applicant further argues that Srinivasan does not remedy the deficiency because Paladugu’s relay selection occurs before QoS negotiation while Srinivasan’s QoS management occurs after the connection set up (See Remark page 15).
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. According to the claim language, Paladugu in view of Srinivasan teaches the claim 1 as recited. Paladugu teaches “ determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not at least partially based on the determination of whether the agreement can be reached or not” because Paladugu discloses whether the UEs including relay UE can support the QoS negotiations between the UEs (See Paladugu, Fig. 7, [0214]). In other words, the relay UE negotiates whether it can achieve the agreement based on negotiation of QoS (See Paladugu [0214]). Also, Paladugu discloses the UE may initiate a new relay session establishment procedure to request to the network to set up QoS flows satisfying (if) the QoS needs of the relaying service (See Paladugu [0229]). Therefore, the UE may need to negotiate the QoS needs first as the criteria for determining relay candidacy, before establishing the relay connection. Furthermore, The language of claim 1 does not specify the timing of the negotiation as to whether it occurs before or after the determination of the UE candidacy for a relay. Therefore, in the light of broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim 1, Paladugu discloses whether the second UE is the relay UE based on whether the agreement can be reached or not.”
Additionally, Srinivasan teaches the “first value of QoS” for the first QoS parameter that may be achievable on the sidelink communication and determined as the tolerance of QoS parameter on the sidelink which can show to value the first QoS that is been negotiated. (See Srinivasan, [0351]). Thus, Paladugu in view of Srinivasan teaches the limitation of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44- 50, 52, and 56-61, 64-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paladugu et al. (US 2021/0289391 A1) (hereafter “Paladugu”) in view of Srinivasan et al (US 20230127924 A1)( hereafter “Srinivasan”).
Regarding claim 44, A method at a user equipment (UE) for selecting a relay UE for transmission over a sidelink, the method comprising:
communicating, with a second UE, a first message comprising a first quality of service (QoS) parameter, wherein the first QoS parameter is related to bit rate, and is associated with a sidelink to be established between the UE and the second UE;
Paladugu, Fig. 8, [0222]; For example, at 815, the UE 115-1 (first UE) may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message (first message) for the sidelink communications (associated with a sidelink to be established between the UE and the second UE ) to the UE 115-m (Second UE). In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message may include a radio bearer configuration, such as a QoS flow to DRB mapping, a QoS profile of the DRB (e.g., including PQI, QoS parameters, etc.). Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters (comprising a first quality of service (QoS) parameter ) that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115.
Paladugu [0213]; Additionally, the QoS parameters (first QoS) may include flow bit rates (e.g., guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR), maximum flow bit rate (MFBR), etc.), aggregated bit rates (e.g., per-session aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR), per-UE AMBR for Uu, per-link AMBR such as a PC5 LINK-AMBR for V2X and non-V2X, etc.), a range (e.g., for groupcast communication in V2X and non-V2X), a maximum packet loss rate (e.g., supported in Uu), or a combination thereof.
determining whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached with the second UE or not at least partially based on the first QoS parameter;
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached)
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0223]; At 820, UE 115-m may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message for the sidelink communications. In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message may include an indication of accepted radio bearers. At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.)
and determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not at least partially based on the determination of whether the agreement can be reached or not.
Paladugu, Fig. 9 [0229]; In some cases, the UE 115-o (second UE) may either initiate a new relay PDU session establishment procedure or an existing PDU session modification procedure to request the network to setup QoS flows satisfying the QoS needs of the relaying service (whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not)
Paladugu [0214] FIG. 7; illustrates an example of QoS negotiations 700 in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, QoS negotiations 700 may implement aspects of or may be implemented by aspects of wireless communications system 100, wireless communications system 200, or both. QoS negotiations 700 may include a UE 115-i, a UE 115-j, and a UE 115-k, which may be examples of corresponding UEs 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1-6. In some cases, QoS negotiations 700 may be used for negotiating a QoS between UEs 115 for a unicast link. For example, based on the QoS negotiations 700, during a unicast link establishment, the UEs 115 may negotiate the QoS they can support.
Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (Whether the agreement can be reached or not)
While Paladugu teaches the QoS identifier value of QoS parameter, it does not teach the first value of QoS parameter.
Srinivasan teaches the first value of QoS parameter.
(Srinivasan, fig. 14b, [0351]; In other words, once the QoS profiles for the links 406 (sidelink between the first and second UE), 408 exist, the QoS manager 450 may measure the links so as to determine or calculate the value for the QoS parameters that are actually achievable (first value). On a certain link, the values for one or more parameters may be above the values actually needed for the predefined or negotiated QoS and the balance or surplus is signaled as the tolerance for the QoS parameter on the sidelink. The tolerances may be used by the relay UE 400 for allowing the sidelink link to exceed a certain QoS parameter by the tolerance while still achieving the overall predefined or negotiated QoS.
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that first QoS parameter has the first value.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
Regarding claim 45, The method of claim 44, wherein communicating the first message comprises: transmitting the first message to the second UE, wherein the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a required first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by the UE;
Paladugu, Fig. 8, [0222]; For example, at 815, the UE 115-l (first UE) may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message (first message) for the sidelink communications to the UE 115-m (second UE). In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message may include a radio bearer configuration, such as a QoS flow to DRB mapping, a QoS profile of the DRB (e.g., including PQI, QoS parameters, etc.). Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115.
Paladugu, Fig. 2, [0189]; To enable the techniques as described herein, relay service QoS information may be provisioned to the UE 115-a (e.g., the remote UE (first UE) and the UE 115-b (e.g., the relay UEB(second UE). For example, during a provisioning step of the sidelink establishment for the connection 205-a (e.g., ProSe provisioning) (message 205= message sent from the first UE (remote) to the second UE (relay)= first message), a PCF transmitted or preconfigured in the UEs 115 may include QoS needs of each (the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a required first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by UE)relay service code in a policy (e.g., a ProSe policy) sent to the UE 115-a and the UE 115-b. That is, the UEs 115 may be provisioned one or more authorized relay service code(s) supported by the policy (e.g., predefined codes assigned to the UEs 115 to indicate types of relaying the UE 115-b is capable of handling, such as data communications, voice communications, gaming, etc.) and end-to-end QoS requirements of the relay service code(s) mapped to a sidelink QoS (e.g., PC5 QoS) and a Uu QoS (e.g., PQI to 5QI mapping information). In some cases, an application function (AF) (e.g., of a network device) may provide the PCF with the end-to-end QoS needs for a relay service via a network exposure function (NEF).
While Paladugu teaches the QoS identifier value of QoS parameter, it does not teach the first value of QoS parameter.
Srinivasan teaches the first value of QoS parameter.
(Srinivasan, fig. 14b, [0351]; In other words, once the QoS profiles for the links 406 (sidelink between the first and second UE), 408 exist, the QoS manager 450 may measure the links so as to determine or calculate the value for the QoS parameters that are actually achievable (first value as required by UE). On a certain link, the values (first value) for one or more parameters may be above the values actually needed for the predefined or negotiated QoS and the balance or surplus is signaled as the tolerance for the QoS parameter on the sidelink. The tolerances may be used by the relay UE 400 for allowing the sidelink link to exceed a certain QoS parameter by the tolerance while still achieving the overall predefined or negotiated QoS.
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that first QoS parameter has the first value.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Paladugu [0106]).
or receiving the first message from the second UE, wherein the first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a supported first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as supported by the second UE.
Regarding claim 46, The method of claim 44, wherein either: communicating the first message comprises transmitting the first message to the second UE, wherein the first value of the first QoS parameter is a required first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by the UE, (please see claim 45 for the rejection)
and wherein determining whether an agreement can be reached or not comprises:
receiving, from the second UE, a second message;
Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0223]; At 820, UE 115-m (second UE) may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message (receiving, from the second UE, a second message) for the sidelink communications. In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message may include an indication of accepted radio bearers.
and determining whether the agreement can be reached or not;
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached)
Paladugu does not teach indicating whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not, and determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not according to the message.
Srinivasan teaches indicating whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not, and determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not according to the message.
Srinivasan [0128]; In accordance with embodiments, the UE (first UE) is to signal (indicating) the status using Radio Resource Control, RRC, signaling (second message sent by the second UE) or using a Media Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE.
Srinivasan [0129]; In accordance with embodiments, the status [0130] indicates that the sidelink no longer fulfils or fulfills again the predefined or negotiated QoS on the sidelink and/or the predefined or negotiated QoS between the remote UE and the destination (, e.g., by sending a QoS failure report, QoS_FR, or [0131] indicates a measurement result of the one or more QoS parameters associated with the predefined or negotiated QoS on the sidelink, e.g., by sending a QoS Measurement Report, QoS_MR, or [0132] indicates that the sidelink is capable to support a higher QoS than the predefined or negotiated QoS, e.g., by sending a QoS update report, QoS_UP (determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not.)
[0133] In accordance with embodiments, in case the UE acts as a relaying entity for a plurality of remote UEs, the QoS_FR indicates which of the sidelinks connecting the remote UEs to the UE do not fulfil or satisfy the predefined or negotiated QoS.
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that the second message shows the that whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Paladugu [0106]).
or receiving, from the second UE, a second message indicating a second value supported by the second UE for the first QoS parameter and determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the second value of the first QoS parameter is acceptable or not to the UE;
or communicating the first message comprises receiving the first message from the second UE, and wherein determining whether an agreement can be reached or not comprises determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the first value of the first QoS parameter is acceptable or not to the UE.
Regarding claim 47, The method of claim 44, wherein either: communicating the first message comprises transmitting the first message to the second UE,
Paladugu, Fig. 8, [0222] For example, at 815, the UE 115-1 may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message for the sidelink communications to the UE 115-m(second UE).
wherein the method further comprises, before transmitting the first message to the second UE, receiving, from a serving access network (AN) node of the UE, an indication.
Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0220]; , At 805 (before transmitting the first message to the second UE), the UEs 115 (first UE) may obtain QoS flow information and corresponding sidelink access stratum configurations (e.g., QoS flow to DRB mapping). In some cases, the UEs 115 may obtain this QoS flow information from either a base station 105 or network entity (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), an RRC Reconfiguration message, etc.) or through a pre-configuration.
and determining whether an agreement can be reached or not depending on the received indication.
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached)
Paradugu, Fig. 8 [0220] At 805, the UEs 115 may obtain QoS flow information and corresponding sidelink access stratum configurations (e.g., QoS flow to DRB mapping). In some cases, the UEs 115 may obtain this QoS flow information from either a base station 105 or network entity (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), an RRC Reconfiguration message (received indication), etc.) or through a pre-configuration.
Paladugu does not teach first value of the first QoS parameter; or communicating the first message comprises receiving the first message from the second UE, and wherein determining whether an agreement can be reached or not comprises: transmitting, to a serving access network (AN) node of the UE, an indication of the first value of the first QoS parameter; receiving, from the serving AN node, an indication of whether the first value is acceptable or not;
Srinivasan teaches first value of the first QoS parameter.
Srinivasan [0351], Fig. 14 (a); Further, the QoS manager 450 is illustrated, which may located at the destination, as illustrated in FIG. 14(a), or at the remote UE, as illustrated in FIG. 14(b), or at the relay UE, or at a network entity of the wireless communication network to which the relay UE is connected. The QoS manager 450 measures QoS parameters associated with the predefined or negotiated QoS on one or more or all of the links 406, 408 between the remote UE 402 and the destination 404 to determine or calculate a tolerance for one or more of the QoS parameters associated with the predefined or negotiated QoS parameter on the sidelink. The QoS manager 450 signals the tolerances to the relay UE 400, e.g., as so-called QoS assistance information, QoS_AI. In other words, once the QoS profiles for the links 406, 408 exist, the QoS manager 450 may measure the links so as to determine or calculate the value for the QoS parameters (first value of first QoS parameter ) that are actually achievable. On a certain link, the values for one or more parameters may be above the values actually needed for the predefined or negotiated QoS and the balance or surplus is signaled as the tolerance for the QoS parameter on the sidelink. The tolerances may be used by the relay UE 400 for allowing the sidelink link to exceed a certain QoS parameter by the tolerance while still achieving the overall predefined or negotiated QoS.
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that first QoS parameter has the first value.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
Regarding claim 48, The method of claim 44, wherein the first QoS parameter comprises at least one of: ingress aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR), egress AMBR, ingress maximum flow bit rate (MFBR), and egress MFBR.
Paladugu [0213]; Additionally, the QoS parameters may include an allocation and retention policy (ARP) (e.g., supported in Uu), a reflective QoS attribute (RQA) (e.g., supported in Uu, but V2X may not include reflective QoS support), a notification control (e.g., supported in Uu), flow bit rates (e.g., guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR), maximum flow bit rate (MFBR), etc.), aggregated bit rates (e.g., per-session aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR), per-UE AMBR for Uu, per-link AMBR such as a PC5 LINK-AMBR for V2X and non-V2X, etc.), a range (e.g., for groupcast communication in V2X and non-V2X), a maximum packet loss rate (e.g., supported in Uu), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 49, The method of claim 44, further comprising establishing the sidelink with the second UE in response to determining that the second UE is a relay UE candidate.
Paladugu [0128]; In some examples, in response to a request from a remote UE for a QoS flow for a relay connection( in response to determining that the second UE is a relay UE candidate) , a sidelink QoS flow with a sidelink QoS identifier (e.g., a PQI) may be established for a sidelink connection (e.g., a PC5 QoS flow for a PC5 unicast link) between the relay UE second UE and the remote UE,
Regarding claim 50, Paladugu teaches the method of claim 44, further comprising: and establishing the sidelink with the relay UE candidate.
Paladugu [0223]; At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m (relay) may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.
Paladugu does not teach determining that multiple UEs are relay UE candidates; selecting one of the relay UE candidates with which to establish a sidelink, wherein selecting comprises: selecting one of the relay UE candidates which has the best measured link quality; or determining, from the relay UE candidates, one or more relay UE candidates that each has a higher measured link quality than a configured threshold and selecting a relay UE candidate from the determined one or more relay UE candidates which supports the highest value of the first QoS parameter;
Srinivasan further teaches determining that multiple UEs are relay UE candidates;
Srinivasan, Fig. 15 , [0372]; FIG. 15 illustrates an embodiment implementing a centralized calculation at the destination 404 by a QoS manager 450. The remote UE 402 is connected to the destination 404 via n relay UEs 400
selecting one of the relay UE candidates with which to establish a sidelink, wherein selecting comprises: selecting one of the relay UE candidates which has the best measured link quality;
Srinivasan [0226]; In accordance with embodiments, responsive to receiving the status, the network entity is to [0227] generate and send a QoS notification to a core network entity of the wireless communication network, or [0228] modify the connection to the remote UE, e.g., by triggering a relay reselection process, in case one or more other relaying entities are connected to the network entity.
[0229] In accordance with embodiments, responsive to the QoS on the sidelink falling below a predefined threshold, the network entity is to modify the connection to the remote UE responsively or is to trigger a relay reselection process.(selecting one of the relay UE candidates which has the best measured link quality)
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that multiple UEs are relay UE candidate and selecting one of the relay UE candidates with the best quality measurement.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters to determine the selected relay with the best measure quality link in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
Regarding claim 52, The method of claim 44, communicating the first message comprises transmitting the first message to the second UE, wherein the first QoS parameter is a required first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by the UE,
Paladugu, Fig. 8, [0222]; For example, at 815, the UE 115-l (first UE) may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message (first message) for the sidelink communications to the UE 115-m (second UE). In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message may include a radio bearer configuration, such as a QoS flow to DRB mapping, a QoS profile of the DRB (e.g., including PQI, QoS parameters, etc.). Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115.
Paladugu, Fig. 2, [0189]; To enable the techniques as described herein, relay service QoS information may be provisioned to the UE 115-a (e.g., the remote UE (first UE) and the UE 115-b (e.g., the relay UEB(second UE). For example, during a provisioning step of the sidelink establishment for the connection 205-a (e.g., ProSe provisioning) (message 205= message sent from the first UE (remote) to the second UE (relay), a PCF transmitted or preconfigured in the UEs 115 may include QoS needs of each (the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a required first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by UE)relay service code in a policy (e.g., a ProSe policy) sent to the UE 115-a and the UE 115-b. That is, the UEs 115 may be provisioned one or more authorized relay service code(s) supported by the policy (e.g., predefined codes assigned to the UEs 115 to indicate types of relaying the UE 115-b is capable of handling, such as data communications, voice communications, gaming, etc.) and end-to-end QoS requirements of the relay service code(s) mapped to a sidelink QoS (e.g., PC5 QoS) and a Uu QoS (e.g., PQI to 5QI mapping information). In some cases, an application function (AF) (e.g., of a network device) may provide the PCF with the end-to-end QoS needs for a relay service via a network exposure function (NEF).
receiving, from the second UE, a second message;
Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0223]; At 820, UE 115-m may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message for the sidelink communications. In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message may include an indication of accepted radio bearers. At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.
and determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not depending on the second message.
Paladugu, Fig. 2, [0186]; The UE 115-b (Second UE= relay UE) may forward a configuration message 220-c (second message) to the UE 115-a (First UE) based on the configuration message 220-b. Based on the configuration messages 220, the UEs 115 (115(b)= relay)may adjust parameters of the connections 205 to meet the specifications of the QoS configuration (determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not depending on the second message). For example, the UE 115-b (relay UE) may configure one or more data radio bearers (DRBs) for the sidelink interface and the Uu interface based on the QoS configuration. Additionally, the UE 115-b may determine a mapping of DRBs to use between the sidelink interface of the connection 205-a and the Uu interface of the connection 205-b (e.g., mapping between logical channel identifiers (LCIDs) of the different interfaces) based on the QoS configuration to relay (e.g., route) traffic between the UE 115-a and the base station 105-a. Based on the QoS configuration, the UE 115-a may communicate with the base station 105-a over the relay connection via the UE 115-b.
While Paladugu teaches the QoS identifier value of QoS parameter, it does not teach the first value of QoS parameter, and wherein determining whether the UE is a relay UE candidate or not comprises: receiving, from the UE, a second message indicating at least one of following: whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not;
Srinivasan teaches the first value of QoS parameter.
(Srinivasan, fig. 14b, [0351]; In other words, once the QoS profiles for the links 406 (sidelink between the first and second UE), 408 exist, the QoS manager 450 may measure the links so as to determine or calculate the value for the QoS parameters that are actually achievable (first value as required by UE). On a certain link, the values (first value) for one or more parameters may be above the values actually needed for the predefined or negotiated QoS and the balance or surplus is signaled as the tolerance for the QoS parameter on the sidelink. The tolerances may be used by the relay UE 400 for allowing the sidelink link to exceed a certain QoS parameter by the tolerance while still achieving the overall predefined or negotiated QoS.
and wherein determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not comprises: at least one of following: whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not;
Srinivasan [0128]; In accordance with embodiments, the UE (first UE) is to signal (indicating) the status using Radio Resource Control, RRC, signaling (second message sent by the second UE) or using a Media Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE.
Srinivasan [0129]; In accordance with embodiments, the status [0130] indicates that the sidelink no longer fulfils or fulfills again the predefined or negotiated QoS on the sidelink and/or the predefined or negotiated QoS between the remote UE and the destination (, e.g., by sending a QoS failure report, QoS_FR, or [0131] indicates a measurement result of the one or more QoS parameters associated with the predefined or negotiated QoS on the sidelink, e.g., by sending a QoS Measurement Report, QoS_MR, or [0132] indicates that the sidelink is capable to support a higher QoS than the predefined or negotiated QoS, e.g., by sending a QoS update report, QoS_UP.
[0133] In accordance with embodiments, in case the UE acts as a relaying entity for a plurality of remote UEs, the QoS_FR indicates which of the sidelinks connecting the remote UEs to the UE do not fulfil or satisfy the predefined or negotiated QoS.
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that first QoS parameter has the first value.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
whether the second UE supports a priority based preemption;
and whether a third UE has to be preempted by the second UE before the sidelink between the UE and the second UE can be established,
Regarding claim 56, A user equipment (UE) for selecting a relay UE for transmission over a sidelink, the UE comprising: a processor; (Paladugu, Fig. 13, Ref. 1305)
and a memory (Paladugu, Fig. 16, Ref. 1630) storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
communicate, with a second UE, a first message comprising a first quality of service (QoS) parameter, wherein the first QoS parameter is related to bit rate, and is associated with a sidelink to be established between the UE and the second UE;
Paladugu, Fig. 8, [0222]; For example, at 815, the UE 115-1 (first UE) may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message (first message) for the sidelink communications (associated with a sidelink to be established between the UE and the second UE ) to the UE 115-m (Second UE). In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message may include a radio bearer configuration, such as a QoS flow to DRB mapping, a QoS profile of the DRB (e.g., including PQI, QoS parameters, etc.). Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters (comprising a first quality of service (QoS) parameter ) that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115.
Paladugu [0213]; Additionally, the QoS parameters (first QoS) may include flow bit rates (e.g., guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR), maximum flow bit rate (MFBR), etc.), aggregated bit rates (e.g., per-session aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR), per-UE AMBR for Uu, per-link AMBR such as a PC5 LINK-AMBR for V2X and non-V2X, etc.), a range (e.g., for groupcast communication in V2X and non-V2X), a maximum packet loss rate (e.g., supported in Uu), or a combination thereof.
determine whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached with the second UE or not at least partially based on the first QoS parameter;
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached)
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0223]; At 820, UE 115-m may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message for the sidelink communications. In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message may include an indication of accepted radio bearers. At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.)
and determine whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not at least partially based on the determination of whether the agreement can be reached or not.
Paladugu, Fig. 9 [0229]; In some cases, the UE 115-o (second UE) may either initiate a new relay PDU session establishment procedure or an existing PDU session modification procedure to request the network to setup QoS flows satisfying the QoS needs of the relaying service (whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not)
Paladugu [0214] FIG. 7; illustrates an example of QoS negotiations 700 in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, QoS negotiations 700 may implement aspects of or may be implemented by aspects of wireless communications system 100, wireless communications system 200, or both. QoS negotiations 700 may include a UE 115-i, a UE 115-j, and a UE 115-k, which may be examples of corresponding UEs 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1-6. In some cases, QoS negotiations 700 may be used for negotiating a QoS between UEs 115 for a unicast link. For example, based on the QoS negotiations 700, during a unicast link establishment, the UEs 115 may negotiate the QoS they can support.
Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (Whether the agreement can be reached or not)
While Paladugu teaches the QoS identifier value of QoS parameter, it does not teach the first value of QoS parameter.
Srinivasan teaches the first value of QoS parameter.
(Srinivasan, fig. 14b, [0351]; In other words, once the QoS profiles for the links 406 (sidelink between the first and second UE), 408 exist, the QoS manager 450 may measure the links so as to determine or calculate the value for the QoS parameters that are actually achievable (first value). On a certain link, the values for one or more parameters may be above the values actually needed for the predefined or negotiated QoS and the balance or surplus is signaled as the tolerance for the QoS parameter on the sidelink. The tolerances may be used by the relay UE 400 for allowing the sidelink link to exceed a certain QoS parameter by the tolerance while still achieving the overall predefined or negotiated QoS.
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that first QoS parameter has the first value.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
Regarding claim 57, A method at a relay user equipment (UE) for facilitating a UE in transmission over a sidelink, the method comprising:
communicate, with the UE, a first message comprising a first quality of service (QoS) parameter, wherein the first QoS parameter is related to bit rate, and is associated with a sidelink to be established between the UE and the relay UE;
Paladugu, Fig. 8, [0222]; For example, at 815, the UE 115-1 (UE) may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message (first message) for the sidelink communications (associated with a sidelink to be established between the UE and the second UE ) to the UE 115-m (Second UE). In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message may include a radio bearer configuration, such as a QoS flow to DRB mapping, a QoS profile of the DRB (e.g., including PQI, QoS parameters, etc.). Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters (comprising a first quality of service (QoS) parameter ) that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115.
Paladugu [0213]; Additionally, the QoS parameters (first QoS) may include flow bit rates (e.g., guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR), maximum flow bit rate (MFBR), etc.), aggregated bit rates (e.g., per-session aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR), per-UE AMBR for Uu, per-link AMBR such as a PC5 LINK-AMBR for V2X and non-V2X, etc.), a range (e.g., for groupcast communication in V2X and non-V2X), a maximum packet loss rate (e.g., supported in Uu), or a combination thereof.
determine whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached with the UE or not at least partially based on the first QoS parameter;
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached)
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0223]; At 820, UE 115-m may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message for the sidelink communications. In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message may include an indication of accepted radio bearers. At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.)
and determine whether the relay UE is can serve the UE or not at least partially based on the determination of whether the agreement can be reached or not.
Paladugu, Fig. 9 [0229]; In some cases, the UE 115-o (relay UE) may either initiate a new relay PDU session establishment procedure or an existing PDU session modification procedure to request the network to setup QoS flows satisfying the QoS needs of the relaying service (whether the UE can serve as the relay UE or not )
Paladugu [0214] FIG. 7; illustrates an example of QoS negotiations 700 in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, QoS negotiations 700 may implement aspects of or may be implemented by aspects of wireless communications system 100, wireless communications system 200, or both. QoS negotiations 700 may include a UE 115-i, a UE 115-j, and a UE 115-k, which may be examples of corresponding UEs 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1-6. In some cases, QoS negotiations 700 may be used for negotiating a QoS between UEs 115 for a unicast link. For example, based on the QoS negotiations 700, during a unicast link establishment, the UEs 115 may negotiate the QoS they can support.
Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (Whether the agreement can be reached or not)
While Paladugu teaches the QoS identifier value of QoS parameter, it does not teach the first value of QoS parameter.
Srinivasan teaches the first value of QoS parameter.
(Srinivasan, fig. 14b, [0351]; In other words, once the QoS profiles for the links 406 (sidelink between the first and second UE), 408 exist, the QoS manager 450 may measure the links so as to determine or calculate the value for the QoS parameters that are actually achievable (first value). On a certain link, the values for one or more parameters may be above the values actually needed for the predefined or negotiated QoS and the balance or surplus is signaled as the tolerance for the QoS parameter on the sidelink. The tolerances may be used by the relay UE 400 for allowing the sidelink link to exceed a certain QoS parameter by the tolerance while still achieving the overall predefined or negotiated QoS.
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that first QoS parameter has the first value.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
Regarding claim 58, The method of claim 44, wherein communicating the first message comprises: receiving the first message from the UE, wherein the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a required first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by the UE;
Paladugu, Fig. 8, [0222]; For example, at 815, the UE 115-l (first UE=UE) may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message (first message) for the sidelink communications to the UE 115-m (second UE). In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message may include a radio bearer configuration, such as a QoS flow to DRB mapping, a QoS profile of the DRB (e.g., including PQI, QoS parameters, etc.). Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115.
Paladugu, Fig. 2, [0189]; To enable the techniques as described herein, relay service QoS information may be provisioned to the UE 115-a (e.g., the remote UE (first UE) and the UE 115-b (e.g., the relay UEB(second UE). For example, during a provisioning step of the sidelink establishment for the connection 205-a (e.g., ProSe provisioning) (message 205= message sent from the first UE (remote) to the second UE (relay)= first message), a PCF transmitted or preconfigured in the UEs 115 may include QoS needs of each (the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a required first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by UE)relay service code in a policy (e.g., a ProSe policy) sent to the UE 115-a and the UE 115-b. That is, the UEs 115 may be provisioned one or more authorized relay service code(s) supported by the policy (e.g., predefined codes assigned to the UEs 115 to indicate types of relaying the UE 115-b is capable of handling, such as data communications, voice communications, gaming, etc.) and end-to-end QoS requirements of the relay service code(s) mapped to a sidelink QoS (e.g., PC5 QoS) and a Uu QoS (e.g., PQI to 5QI mapping information). In some cases, an application function (AF) (e.g., of a network device) may provide the PCF with the end-to-end QoS needs for a relay service via a network exposure function (NEF).
While Paladugu teaches the QoS identifier value of QoS parameter, it does not teach the first value of QoS parameter.
Srinivasan teaches the first value of QoS parameter.
(Srinivasan, fig. 14b, [0351]; In other words, once the QoS profiles for the links 406 (sidelink between the first and second UE), 408 exist, the QoS manager 450 may measure the links so as to determine or calculate the value for the QoS parameters that are actually achievable (first value as required by UE). On a certain link, the values (first value) for one or more parameters may be above the values actually needed for the predefined or negotiated QoS and the balance or surplus is signaled as the tolerance for the QoS parameter on the sidelink. The tolerances may be used by the relay UE 400 for allowing the sidelink link to exceed a certain QoS parameter by the tolerance while still achieving the overall predefined or negotiated QoS.
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that first QoS parameter has the first value.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Paladugu [0106]).
or receiving the first message from the second UE, wherein the first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a supported first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as supported by the second UE.
Regarding claim 59, The method of claim 44, wherein either: communicating the first message comprises receiving the first message from the UE, wherein the first value of the first QoS parameter is a required first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by the UE, (please see claim 58 for the rejection)
and wherein determining whether an agreement can be reached or not comprises:
and determining whether the agreement can be reached or not;
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached)
Paladugu does not teach indicating whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not, and determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not according to the message.
Srinivasan teaches indicating whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not, and determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not according to the message.
Srinivasan [0128]; In accordance with embodiments, the UE (first UE) is to signal (indicating) the status using Radio Resource Control, RRC, signaling (second message sent by the second UE) or using a Media Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE.
Srinivasan [0129]; In accordance with embodiments, the status [0130] indicates that the sidelink no longer fulfils or fulfills again the predefined or negotiated QoS on the sidelink and/or the predefined or negotiated QoS between the remote UE and the destination (, e.g., by sending a QoS failure report, QoS_FR, or [0131] indicates a measurement result of the one or more QoS parameters associated with the predefined or negotiated QoS on the sidelink, e.g., by sending a QoS Measurement Report, QoS_MR, or [0132] indicates that the sidelink is capable to support a higher QoS than the predefined or negotiated QoS, e.g., by sending a QoS update report, QoS_UP (determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not.)
[0133] In accordance with embodiments, in case the UE acts as a relaying entity for a plurality of remote UEs, the QoS_FR indicates which of the sidelinks connecting the remote UEs to the UE do not fulfil or satisfy the predefined or negotiated QoS.
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that the second message shows the that whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Paladugu [0106]).
or receiving, from the second UE, a second message indicating a second value supported by the second UE for the first QoS parameter and determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the second value of the first QoS parameter is acceptable or not to the UE;
or communicating the first message comprises receiving the first message from the second UE, and wherein determining whether an agreement can be reached or not comprises determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the first value of the first QoS parameter is acceptable or not to the UE.
Regarding claim 60, The method of claim 59, wherein communicating the first message comprises receiving the first message from the UE, wherein the first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a required first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by the UE, (please see claim 58 for the rejection)
and wherein determining whether an agreement can be reached or not comprises: transmitting, to the UE, a second message
Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0223]; At 820, UE 115-m may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink (second message) message for the sidelink communications. In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message may include an indication of accepted radio bearers. At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.
While Paladugu teaches the QoS identifier value of QoS parameter, it does not teach the first value of QoS parameter, and whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not;
Srinivasan teaches the first value of QoS parameter, whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not.
Srinivasan [0128]; In accordance with embodiments, the UE (first UE) is to signal (indicating) the status using Radio Resource Control, RRC, signaling (second message sent by the second UE) or using a Media Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE.
Srinivasan [0129]; In accordance with embodiments, the status [0130] indicates that the sidelink no longer fulfils or fulfills again the predefined or negotiated QoS on the sidelink and/or the predefined or negotiated QoS between the remote UE and the destination (, e.g., by sending a QoS failure report, QoS_FR, or [0131] indicates a measurement result of the one or more QoS parameters associated with the predefined or negotiated QoS on the sidelink, e.g., by sending a QoS Measurement Report, QoS_MR, or [0132] indicates that the sidelink is capable to support a higher QoS than the predefined or negotiated QoS, e.g., by sending a QoS update report, QoS_UP (determining whether the agreement can be reached or not depending on whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not.)
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that the second message shows the that whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Paladugu [0106]).
or transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating a second value supported by the relay UE for the first QoS parameter.
Regarding claim 61, The method of claim 57, wherein either: communicating the first message comprises receiving the message from the UE, wherein the first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a required first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by the UE, and wherein determining whether the agreement can be reached or not comprises transmitting, to a serving AN node of the relay UE, an indication of the required first value of the first QoS parameter, receiving, from the serving AN node, an indication of whether the required first value can be supported or not, and determining whether the agreement can be reached or not based on the received indication;
or communicating the first message comprises transmitting the first message to the UE, wherein the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a supported first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as supported by the relay UE
Paladugu, Fig. 2, [0189]; To enable the techniques as described herein, relay service QoS information may be provisioned to the UE 115-a (e.g., the remote UE (first UE) and the UE 115-b (e.g., the relay UEB(second UE). For example, during a provisioning step of the sidelink establishment for the connection 205-a (e.g., ProSe provisioning), a PCF transmitted or preconfigured in the UEs 115 may include QoS needs of each (the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a required first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by UE)relay service code in a policy (e.g., a ProSe policy) sent to the UE 115-a and the UE 115-b (first message comprises transmitting the first message to the UE) . That is, the UEs 115 may be provisioned one or more authorized relay service code(s) supported by the policy (e.g., predefined codes assigned to the UEs 115 to indicate types of relaying the UE 115-b is capable of handling, such as data communications, voice communications, gaming, etc= first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a supported first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as supported by the relay UE) and end-to-end QoS requirements of the relay service code(s) mapped to a sidelink QoS (e.g., PC5 QoS) and a Uu QoS (e.g., PQI to 5QI mapping information). In some cases, an application function (AF) (e.g., of a network device) may provide the PCF with the end-to-end QoS needs for a relay service via a network exposure function (NEF).
wherein the method further comprises, before transmitting the first message to the second UE, receiving, from a serving access network (AN) node of relay UE, an indication of the first value of the first QoS parameter; (Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0220]; , At 805 (before transmitting the first message to the second UE), the UEs 115 (first UE) may obtain QoS flow information and corresponding sidelink access stratum configurations (e.g., QoS flow to DRB mapping). In some cases, the UEs 115 may obtain this QoS flow information from either a base station 105 or network entity (e.g., via a system information block (SIB), an RRC Reconfiguration message, etc.) or through a pre-configuration.
While Paladugu teaches the QoS identifier value of QoS parameter, it does not teach the first value of QoS parameter.
Srinivasan teaches the first value of QoS parameter.
(Srinivasan, fig. 14b, [0351]; In other words, once the QoS profiles for the links 406 (sidelink between the first and second UE), 408 exist, the QoS manager 450 may measure the links so as to determine or calculate the value for the QoS parameters that are actually achievable (first value). On a certain link, the values for one or more parameters may be above the values actually needed for the predefined or negotiated QoS and the balance or surplus is signaled as the tolerance for the QoS parameter on the sidelink. The tolerances may be used by the relay UE 400 for allowing the sidelink link to exceed a certain QoS parameter by the tolerance while still achieving the overall predefined or negotiated QoS.
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that first QoS parameter has the first value.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
or communicating the first message comprises receiving the first message from the second UE, and wherein determining whether an agreement can be reached or not comprises: transmitting, to a serving access network (AN) node of the UE, an indication of the first value of the first QoS parameter; receiving, from the serving AN node, an indication of whether the first value is acceptable or not;
Regarding claim 64, Paladugu teaches the method of claim 44, further comprising: The method of claim 44, wherein determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not is performed as part of a discovery procedure for discovering a for the UE:
Paladugu, Fig. 2 [0179]; In some example, the UE 115-a may transmit a discovery message 210 (discovery procedure) based on receiving the broadcast message from UE 115-b indicating the relay service code(s) provided by the UE 115-b. Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115-b may provide the relay service code(s) in response to receiving the discovery message 210, where the relay service code(s) identify the connectivity service(s) the UE 115-b is enabled to provide (e.g., relay connectivity).
which an agreement on a value of the first QoS parameter for a sidelink can be reached,
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached)
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0223]; At 820, UE 115-m may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message for the sidelink communications. In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message may include an indication of accepted radio bearers. At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.)
and performing a sidelink establishment procedure with the relay UE candidate in order to establish a sidelink with the relay UE candidate
Paladugu [0223]; At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m (relay) may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.
Paladugu doe not teach first value of QoS parameter, set of multiple relay UE candidates that are candidates for serving as a relay UE, wherein the multiple relay UE candidates in the set comprise UEs and wherein the method further comprises, after determining the set of multiple relay UE candidates: selecting one of the relay UE candidates with which to establish a sidelink, based on a measured link quality with each relay UE candidate and/or based on a value that each relay UE candidate supports for the first QoS parameter;
Srinivasan teaches first value of QoS parameter.
(Srinivasan, fig. 14b, [0351]; In other words, once the QoS profiles for the links 406 (sidelink between the first and second UE), 408 exist, the QoS manager 450 may measure the links so as to determine or calculate the value for the QoS parameters that are actually achievable (first value). On a certain link, the values for one or more parameters may be above the values actually needed for the predefined or negotiated QoS and the balance or surplus is signaled as the tolerance for the QoS parameter on the sidelink. The tolerances may be used by the relay UE 400 for allowing the sidelink link to exceed a certain QoS parameter by the tolerance while still achieving the overall predefined or negotiated QoS.
set of multiple relay UE candidates that are candidates for serving as a relay UE
Srinivasan [0374] FIG. 15; illustrates an embodiment implementing a centralized calculation at the destination 404 by a QoS manager 450. The remote UE 402 is connected to the destination 404 via n relay UEs 400 ( multiple relay UE candidates that are candidates for serving as a relay UE)
wherein the multiple relay UE candidates in the set comprise UEs and wherein the method further comprises, after determining the set of multiple relay UE candidates:
Srinivasan [0372] The QoS profiles, as described above, may be negotiated during the session and flow establishment and at this time, when the QoS manager is implemented, also the tolerances may be determined and signaled via the QoS_AI.
Srinivasan [0374] FIG. 15; illustrates an embodiment implementing a centralized calculation at the destination 404 by a QoS manager 450. The remote UE 402 is connected to the destination 404 via n relay UEs 400 (multiple relay UE candidates ) and the QoS manager 450 provides, via the relay specific QoS_AI_1 to QoS_AI_n (negotiated QoS) the respective tolerances for one or more of the QoS parameters that may be applied when determining at the respective relay UEs (after determining the set of multiple relay UE candidates) whether one or more of the QoS parameters over a sidelink connecting the relay UE to the remote UE or to another relay UE fulfill for the desired overall QoS. The QoS manager 450 may calculate the tolerances using certain link information, like a hop count, a link measurement,
selecting one of the relay UE candidates with which to establish a sidelink, based on a measured link quality with each relay UE candidate and/or based on a value that each relay UE candidate supports for the first QoS parameter;
Srinivasan [0226]; In accordance with embodiments, responsive to receiving the status, the network entity is to [0227] generate and send a QoS notification to a core network entity of the wireless communication network, or [0228] modify the connection to the remote UE, e.g., by triggering a relay reselection process, in case one or more other relaying entities are connected to the network entity.
[0229] In accordance with embodiments, responsive to the QoS on the sidelink falling below a predefined threshold, the network entity is to modify the connection to the remote UE responsively or is to trigger a relay reselection process.(selecting one of the relay UE candidates which has the best measured link quality)
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that multiple UEs are relay UE candidate and selecting one of the relay UE candidates with the best quality measurement.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters to determine the selected relay with the best measure quality link in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
Regarding claim 65, Paladugu teaches The UE of claim 56, wherein the instructions cause the processor (Paladugu, Fig. 13, Ref. 1305)to determine whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not is performed as part of a discovery procedure for discovering a for the UE:
Paladugu, Fig. 2 [0179]; In some example, the UE 115-a may transmit a discovery message 210 (discovery procedure) based on receiving the broadcast message from UE 115-b indicating the relay service code(s) provided by the UE 115-b. Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115-b may provide the relay service code(s) in response to receiving the discovery message 210, where the relay service code(s) identify the connectivity service(s) the UE 115-b is enabled to provide (e.g., relay connectivity).
which an agreement on a value of the first QoS parameter for a sidelink can be reached,
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached)
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0223]; At 820, UE 115-m may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message for the sidelink communications. In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message may include an indication of accepted radio bearers. At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.)
and performing a sidelink establishment procedure with the relay UE candidate in order to establish a sidelink with the relay UE candidate
Paladugu [0223]; At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m (relay) may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.
Paladugu doe not teach first value of QoS parameter, set of multiple relay UE candidates that are candidates for serving as a relay UE, wherein the multiple relay UE candidates in the set comprise UEs and wherein the method further comprises, after determining the set of multiple relay UE candidates: selecting one of the relay UE candidates with which to establish a sidelink, based on a measured link quality with each relay UE candidate and/or based on a value that each relay UE candidate supports for the first QoS parameter;
Srinivasan teaches first value of QoS parameter.
(Srinivasan, fig. 14b, [0351]; In other words, once the QoS profiles for the links 406 (sidelink between the first and second UE), 408 exist, the QoS manager 450 may measure the links so as to determine or calculate the value for the QoS parameters that are actually achievable (first value). On a certain link, the values for one or more parameters may be above the values actually needed for the predefined or negotiated QoS and the balance or surplus is signaled as the tolerance for the QoS parameter on the sidelink. The tolerances may be used by the relay UE 400 for allowing the sidelink link to exceed a certain QoS parameter by the tolerance while still achieving the overall predefined or negotiated QoS.
set of multiple relay UE candidates that are candidates for serving as a relay UE
Srinivasan [0374] FIG. 15; illustrates an embodiment implementing a centralized calculation at the destination 404 by a QoS manager 450. The remote UE 402 is connected to the destination 404 via n relay UEs 400 ( multiple relay UE candidates that are candidates for serving as a relay UE)
wherein the multiple relay UE candidates in the set comprise UEs and wherein the method further comprises, after determining the set of multiple relay UE candidates:
Srinivasan [0372] The QoS profiles, as described above, may be negotiated during the session and flow establishment and at this time, when the QoS manager is implemented, also the tolerances may be determined and signaled via the QoS_AI.
Srinivasan [0374] FIG. 15; illustrates an embodiment implementing a centralized calculation at the destination 404 by a QoS manager 450. The remote UE 402 is connected to the destination 404 via n relay UEs 400 (multiple relay UE candidates ) and the QoS manager 450 provides, via the relay specific QoS_AI_1 to QoS_AI_n (negotiated QoS) the respective tolerances for one or more of the QoS parameters that may be applied when determining at the respective relay UEs (after determining the set of multiple relay UE candidates) whether one or more of the QoS parameters over a sidelink connecting the relay UE to the remote UE or to another relay UE fulfill for the desired overall QoS. The QoS manager 450 may calculate the tolerances using certain link information, like a hop count, a link measurement,
selecting one of the relay UE candidates with which to establish a sidelink, based on a measured link quality with each relay UE candidate and/or based on a value that each relay UE candidate supports for the first QoS parameter;
Srinivasan [0226]; In accordance with embodiments, responsive to receiving the status, the network entity is to [0227] generate and send a QoS notification to a core network entity of the wireless communication network, or [0228] modify the connection to the remote UE, e.g., by triggering a relay reselection process, in case one or more other relaying entities are connected to the network entity.
[0229] In accordance with embodiments, responsive to the QoS on the sidelink falling below a predefined threshold, the network entity is to modify the connection to the remote UE responsively or is to trigger a relay reselection process.(selecting one of the relay UE candidates which has the best measured link quality)
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that multiple UEs are relay UE candidate and selecting one of the relay UE candidates with the best quality measurement.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to calculate the first value of QoS parameters to determine the selected relay with the best measure quality link in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
Claims 51, 53-54, 62-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paladugu in view of Srinivasan in further view of Martin (US 2020/0244342 A1) .
Regarding claim 51, Paladugu teaches The method of claim 44, wherein the second UE to which the first message is transmitted.
Paladugu, Fig. 8, [0222] For example, at 815, the UE 115-1 may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message for the sidelink communications to the UE 115-m(second UE).
Paladugu does not teach a second parameter indicating a load level and/or a congestion level at the UE or the second UE, determining that the load level and/or the congestion level is not acceptable by the UE or the second UE.
Srinivasan teaches a second parameter indicating a load level and/or a congestion level at the UE or the second UE,
Srinivasan [0351]; The QoS manager 450 measures QoS parameters associated with the predefined or negotiated QoS on one or more or all of the links 406, 408 between the remote UE 402 and the destination 404 to determine or calculate a tolerance for one or more of the QoS parameters associated with the predefined or negotiated QoS parameter on the sidelink. In accordance with embodiments, a tolerance for the QoS parameters may be determined or calculated based on the number of hops between the remote UE and the destination and the measurements of the individual links between the remote UE and the destination. The QoS manager 450 signals the tolerances to the relay UE 400 (second UE), e.g., as so-called QoS assistance information, QoS_AI.
[0238] In accordance with embodiments, the QoS_AI includes tolerances for one or more of the following QoS parameters: [0246] a sidelink congestion (second parameter) , e.g., the Channel Busy Ratio, CBR, or the Channel occupancy Ratio, CR CBR or CR.
determining that the load level and/or the congestion level is not acceptable by the UE or the relay UE.
Srinivasan [0389]; For example, when the relay UE determines that the calculated queuing load exceeds the values as indicated in the QoS_AI, the relay UE may use the early BSR mechanism to reduce the queuing load. For example, when the relaying entity has a queuing capacity or tolerance of 8 packets for a particular remote UE, if it is assumed that the relaying entity receives a BSR from the remote UE claiming to send 10 packets (determining that the load level and/or the congestion level is not acceptable by the second UE)
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that load level and/or the congestion level is not acceptable by the second UE.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to determine the congestion level in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
Paladugu in view of Srinivasan does not teach wherein determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not comprises determining that the second UE is not a relay UE candidate in response to determining that the load level and/or the congestion level.
Martin teaches wherein determining whether the UE is a relay UE candidate or not comprises determining that the UE is not a relay UE candidate in response to determining that the load level and/or the congestion level.
Martin [0073]; To avoid relay UEs having to broadcast excessive amounts of information to a remote
UE, and to avoid the remote UE performing additional processing when performing a reselection
calculation, the relay UEs first calculate a priority based on measurements of the Uu link quality (i.e.
measurement of eNodeB downlink signal, wherein a better quality means a higher priority) and/or
calculate a priority based on load (e.g. lower priority if the relay is already serving one or more UEs).
The priority may be explicitly set by the eNB rather than calculated in the UE, for example based on
measurements reported by the relay to the eNB. There may be a set of predetermined priority levels
from which one can be chosen.
Martin [0075]; The remote UE would then perform a measurement and reselection procedure similar
to that used today for inter-frequency and inter-RAT mobility. The UE selects the best quality relay
based on the PC5 (device-to-device) link quality from the highest priority relays measured.
Alternatively the remote UE selects the highest priority relay from the set of relays meeting a
selection condition (e.g. signal is above a threshold) ( some relay (second relay) does not get selected
= determining that the second UE is not a relay UE candidate in response to determining that
the load level and/or the congestion level)
In view of Martin, Paladugu in view Srinivasan is modified such it is determined that the UE is not a relay candidate in response to the load level and/or the congestion level.
Paladugu in view Srinivasan and Martin are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, sidelink communication with the criteria for the relay UE.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in view of Srinivasan in the manner described above to determine the UE is not a relay UE in response to the congestion level showing the low quality of the connections of sidelink communication in the network experiencing high loads of communication (Martin [0009]).
Regarding claim 53, The method of claim 52, wherein determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not depending on the second message comprises:
determining that the second UE is a relay UE candidate based on the second message
Paladugu, Fig. 2, [0186]; The UE 115-b (Second UE= relay UE) may forward a configuration message 220-c (second message) to the UE 115-a (First UE) based on the configuration message 220-b. Based on the configuration messages 220, the UEs 115 (115(b)= relay)may adjust parameters of the connections 205 to meet the specifications of the QoS configuration (determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not depending on the second message). For example, the UE 115-b (relay UE) may configure one or more data radio bearers (DRBs) for the sidelink interface and the Uu interface based on the QoS configuration. Additionally, the UE 115-b may determine a mapping of DRBs to use between the sidelink interface of the connection 205-a and the Uu interface of the connection 205-b (e.g., mapping between logical channel identifiers (LCIDs) of the different interfaces) based on the QoS configuration to relay (e.g., route) traffic between the UE 115-a and the base station 105-a. Based on the QoS configuration, the UE 115-a may communicate with the base station 105-a over the relay connection via the UE 115-b.
Paladugu does not teach indicating that the second UE supports the priority based preemption;
or determining that the second UE is a relay UE candidate based on the second message indicating that the third UE does not have to be preempted by the second UE before the sidelink between the UE and the second UE can be established
Martin teaches indicating that the second UE supports the priority based preemption;
Martin [0073]; To avoid relay UEs having to broadcast excessive amounts of information to a remote UE, and to avoid the remote UE performing additional processing when performing a reselection calculation, the relay UEs first calculate a priority based on measurements of the Uu link quality (i.e. measurement of eNodeB downlink signal, wherein a better quality means a higher priority) and/or calculate a priority based on load (e.g. lower priority if the relay is already serving one or more UEs) (the second UE supports the priority based preemption). The priority may be explicitly set by the eNB rather than calculated in the UE, for example based on measurements reported by the relay to the eNB. There may be a set of predetermined priority levels from which one can be chosen.
In view of Martin, Paladugu in view Srinivasan is modified such it is determined that the UE is not a relay candidate in response to priority based preemption.
Paladugu in view Srinivasan and Martin are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, sidelink communication with the criteria for the relay UE.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in view of Srinivasan in the manner described above to determine the UE is not a relay UE in response to the priority bases preemption showing the low quality of the connections of sidelink communication in the network experiencing high loads of communication (Martin [0009]).
Regarding claim 54, Paladugu in view of Srinivasan teaches all limitation of claim 44.Paladugu further teaches The method of claim 44, wherein the first message;
Paladugu, Fig. 8, [0222]; For example, at 815, the UE 115-1 (first UE) may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message (first message) for the sidelink communications (associated with a sidelink to be established between the UE and the second UE ) to the UE 115-m (Second UE).
Paladugu does not teach a fourth parameter indicating whether the second UE supports a priority based preemption or not, and wherein determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not comprises determining that the second UE is not a relay UE candidate if the fourth parameter indicates that the second UE does not support the priority based preemption.
Martin teaches a fourth parameter indicating whether the second UE supports a priority based preemption or not,
Martin [0073]; To avoid relay UEs having to broadcast excessive amounts of information to a remote UE, and to avoid the remote UE performing additional processing when performing a reselection calculation, the relay UEs first calculate a priority based on measurements of the Uu link quality (i.e. measurement of eNodeB downlink signal, wherein a better quality means a higher priority) and/or calculate a priority based on load (e.g. lower priority if the relay is already serving one or more UEs) (the second UE supports the priority based preemption (fourth parameter). The priority may be explicitly set by the eNB rather than calculated in the UE, for example based on measurements reported by the relay to the eNB. There may be a set of predetermined priority levels from which one can be chosen.
and wherein determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not comprises determining that the second UE is not a relay UE candidate if the fourth parameter indicates that the second UE does not support the priority based preemption.
Martin [0075]; The remote UE would then perform a measurement and reselection procedure similar to that used today for inter-frequency and inter-RAT mobility. The UE selects the best quality relay based on the PC5 (device-to-device) link quality from the highest priority relays measured. Alternatively the remote UE selects the highest priority relay from the set of relays meeting a selection condition (e.g. signal is above a threshold) ( remote U E does not select relay UEs with least priority= determining that the second UE is not a relay UE candidate if the fourth parameter indicates that the second UE does not support the priority based preemption.
In view of Martin, Paladugu in view Srinivasan is modified such it is determined that the UE is not a relay candidate in response to priority based preemption.
Paladugu in view Srinivasan and Martin are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, sidelink communication with the criteria for the relay UE.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in view of Srinivasan in the manner described above to determine the UE is not a relay UE in response to the priority bases preemption showing the low quality of the connections of sidelink communication in the network experiencing high loads of communication (Martin [0009]).
Regarding claim 62, Paladugu teaches The method of claim 57, wherein h the first message is transmitted.
Paladugu, Fig. 8, [0222] For example, at 815, the UE 115-1 may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message for the sidelink communications to the UE 115-m(second UE).
whether the agreement can be reached or not comprises; (Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached)
Paladugu does not teach a second parameter indicating a load level and/or a congestion level at the UE or the relay UE can serve the UE or not, determining that the relay UE cannot serve the UE in response to determining that the the load level and/or the congestion level is not acceptable by the UE or the relay UE.
Srinivasan teaches a second parameter indicating a load level and/or a congestion level at the UE or the relay UE can serve the UE or not,
Srinivasan [0351]; The QoS manager 450 measures QoS parameters associated with the predefined or negotiated QoS on one or more or all of the links 406, 408 between the remote UE 402 and the destination 404 to determine or calculate a tolerance for one or more of the QoS parameters associated with the predefined or negotiated QoS parameter on the sidelink. In accordance with embodiments, a tolerance for the QoS parameters may be determined or calculated based on the number of hops between the remote UE and the destination and the measurements of the individual links between the remote UE and the destination. The QoS manager 450 signals the tolerances to the relay UE 400 (second UE), e.g., as so-called QoS assistance information, QoS_AI.
[0238] In accordance with embodiments, the QoS_AI includes tolerances for one or more of the following QoS parameters: [0246] a sidelink congestion (second parameter) , e.g., the Channel Busy Ratio, CBR, or the Channel occupancy Ratio, CR CBR or CR.
determining that the load level and/or the congestion level is not acceptable by the UE or the relay UE. Srinivasan [0389]; For example, when the relay UE determines that the calculated queuing load exceeds the values as indicated in the QoS_AI, the relay UE may use the early BSR mechanism to reduce the queuing load. For example, when the relaying entity has a queuing capacity or tolerance of 8 packets for a particular remote UE, if it is assumed that the relaying entity receives a BSR from the remote UE claiming to send 10 packets (determining that the load level and/or the congestion level is not acceptable by the second UE)
In view of Srinivasan, Paladugu is modified such that load level and/or the congestion level is not acceptable by the second UE.
Paladugu and Srinivasan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication with the relay UE by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to determine the congestion level in a sidelink communication with the relay UE because the value of QoS is needed to have the achievable communication between the UEs (Srinivasan [0106]).
Paladugu in view of Srinivasan does not teach wherein determining whether the second UE is a relay UE candidate or not comprises determining that the second UE is not a relay UE candidate in response to determining that the load level and/or the congestion level.
Martin teaches wherein determining whether the UE is a relay UE candidate or not comprises determining that the UE is not a relay UE candidate in response to determining that the load level and/or the congestion level.
Martin [0073]; To avoid relay UEs having to broadcast excessive amounts of information to a remote
UE, and to avoid the remote UE performing additional processing when performing a reselection
calculation, the relay UEs first calculate a priority based on measurements of the Uu link quality (i.e.
measurement of eNodeB downlink signal, wherein a better quality means a higher priority) and/or
calculate a priority based on load (e.g. lower priority if the relay is already serving one or more UEs).
The priority may be explicitly set by the eNB rather than calculated in the UE, for example based on
measurements reported by the relay to the eNB. There may be a set of predetermined priority levels
from which one can be chosen.
Martin [0075]; The remote UE would then perform a measurement and reselection procedure similar
to that used today for inter-frequency and inter-RAT mobility. The UE selects the best quality relay
based on the PC5 (device-to-device) link quality from the highest priority relays measured.
Alternatively the remote UE selects the highest priority relay from the set of relays meeting a
selection condition (e.g. signal is above a threshold) ( some relay (second relay) does not get selected
= determining that the second UE is not a relay UE candidate in response to determining that
the load level and/or the congestion level)
In view of Martin, Paladugu in view Srinivasan is modified such it is determined that the UE is not a relay candidate in response to the load level and/or the congestion level.
Paladugu in view Srinivasan and Martin are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, sidelink communication with the criteria for the relay UE.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in view of Srinivasan in the manner described above to determine the UE is not a relay UE in response to the congestion level showing the low quality of the connections of sidelink communication in the network experiencing high loads of communication (Martin [0009]).
Regarding claim 63, The method of claim 57, wherein communicating the first message comprises receiving the first message from the UE, wherein the first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message is a required first value of the first QoS parameter indicated by the first message as required by the UE (please refer to claim 58 rejection) the sidelink to be established by the UE, and a radio access technology (RAT) to be used for the sidelink, and wherein determining whether or not the relay UE can serve as a relay UE candidate for the UE or not comprises:
determining the relay UE cannot serve as a relay UE candidate for the UE in response to determining that the priority level is lower than or equal to a priority level associated with a third UE which is currently being served by the relay UE and that the required first value of the first QoS parameter cannot be fulfilled without stopping serving the third UE;
or transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating at least one of following: whether the required first value of the first QoS parameter can be fulfilled or not by the relay UE;
Paladugu does not teach third parameter indicating a priority level for one of the UE, wherein the first message further comprises a third parameter indicating a priority level for one of the UE, whether the relay UE supports a priority based preemption
Martin teaches wherein the first message further comprises a third parameter indicating a priority level for one of the UE, whether the relay UE supports a priority based preemption;
Martin [0073]; To avoid relay UEs having to broadcast excessive amounts of information to a remote UE, and to avoid the remote UE performing additional processing when performing a reselection calculation, the relay UEs first calculate a priority based on measurements of the Uu link quality (i.e. measurement of eNodeB downlink signal, wherein a better quality means a higher priority) and/or calculate a priority based on load (e.g. lower priority if the relay is already serving one or more UEs) (the second UE supports the priority based preemption (fourth parameter). The priority may be explicitly set by the eNB rather than calculated in the UE, for example based on measurements reported by the relay to the eNB. There may be a set of predetermined priority levels from which one can be chosen.
In view of Martin, Paladugu in view Srinivasan is modified such it is determined that the UE is not a relay candidate in response to priority based preemption.
Paladugu in view Srinivasan and Martin are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, sidelink communication with the criteria for the relay UE.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in view of Srinivasan in the manner described above to determine the UE is not a relay UE in response to the priority bases preemption showing the low quality of the connections of sidelink communication in the network experiencing high loads of communication (Martin [0009]).
and whether a third UE has to be preempted by the relay UE before the sidelink between the UE and the relay UE can be established.
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paladugu in view of Srinivasan in further view of Kazmi et al. (US 2016/0183121 A1) (hereafter “Kazmi”).
Regarding claim 55, The method of claim 44, wherein determining whether an agreement on a value of the first QoS parameter can be reached or not comprises
determining whether an agreement on a value of the first QoS parameter can be reached or not on the first QoS parameter and radio channel quality.
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0222]; Additionally, the PQI and other QoS parameters that are relevant for each DRB may be negotiated between the UEs 115 (whether an agreement on the first QoS parameter for the sidelink can be reached)
(Paladugu, Fig. 8 [0223]; At 820, UE 115-m may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message for the sidelink communications. In some cases, the RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message may include an indication of accepted radio bearers. At 825, the UE 115-1 and the UE 115-m may communicate data (e.g., V2X service data as an example) over the established unicast link.)
(Paladugu, [0178]; Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115-a may be configured to transmit the link quality report based on a triggering event, such as a QoS parameter (the link quality depends on QoS) changing such that the QoS parameter is above or below a threshold.
Paladugu does not teach admission control procedure executed at the UE.
Kazmi teaches admission control procedure executed at the UE.
Kazmi [0070]; The network node may also proactively assign the D2D UE 110 with one or more service types which are permitted for use by the D2D UE 110 under different coverage situations. For example, the D2D UE 110 may receive from the network node a set of information which maps QOS parameters or service types to different coverage situations. This mapping, which may be provided in terms of a look up table or pre-defined identifiers of situation-to-service type mapping, could be part of the admission control parameters or could be sent to the D2D UE 110 in a separate message during admission control procedure.
In view of Kazmi, Paladugu is modified such that the admission control procedure executed at the UE.
Paladugu and Kazmi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, sidelink communication by considering the QoS parameters.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Paladugu in the manner described above to include admission control procedure as the process for mapping of QoS included in reaching the agreement between two UEs.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone number of 703-
756-1834.
Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.
uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478