DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 August 2025 with respect to the 35 USC 102(a) rejection of claims 1-31 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amendments to the independent claims are not disclosed or taught by Brambilla (WO 2018/102562). The Office respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 29 recite a number of conditions by which the ultracapacitor recited in the claims can function. However, each of these conditions is considered to be a physical property of the ultracapacitor, which are considered to be implicitly disclosed in Brambilla, since Brambilla explicitly recites each of the structural limitations. See MPEP 2112.01(a). The Office notes that any structural differences in the instant invention and the disclosure by Brambilla, which results in the conditions recited in claim 1, should be explicitly recited in the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the statutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-31 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground of rejection for non-statutory double patenting, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13, 15, and 29-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,450,488. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as follows.
With respect to claim 1, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite an apparatus comprising: an active layer substantially free of binding agents (see claim 1, col. 16, lines 34-35), the active layer comprising: a network of carbon nanotubes defining void spaces, the network of carbon nanotubes making up less than 10% by weight of the active layer (see claim 1, col. 16, lines 36-39); and a carbonaceous material located in the void spaces and bound by the network of carbon nanotubes (see claim 1, col. 16, lines 40-41); wherein the active layer is configured to provide energy storage (see claim 1, col. 16, lines 42-43); an electrode comprising the active layer (see claim 14); and an ultracapacitor comprising the electrode (see claim 16); wherein the ultracapacitor has a wide operating temperature of -55 to 90°C and an ultra high power density of 120 kilowatts/kilogram or 150 kilowatts per liter at room temperature; and wherein the ultracapacitor is configured to be charged and discharged over 1,000,000 times (while the embodiment of claims 1, 14, and 16 of the ‘488 patent fail to explicitly recite these conditions for the ultracapacitor, the embodiment of claims 1, 14, and 16 is considered to implicitly disclose any physical properties associated with the explicitly recited structures, including operating temperature, power density and charge/discharge lifetime; see MPEP 2112.01(a), citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
With respect to claim 2, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the active layer consists essentially of the carbonaceous material and the carbon nanotubes. See claim 2. While claim 2 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 2, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 3, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the active layer is bound together by electrostatic forces between the carbon nanotubes and the carbonaceous material. See claim 3. While claim 3 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 3, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 4, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the carbonaceous material comprises activated carbon. See claim 4. While claim 4 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 4, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 5, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the carbonaceous material comprises nanoform carbon other than carbon nanotubes. See claim 5. While claim 5 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 5, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 6, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the network of carbon nanotubes makes up less than 5% by weight of the active layer. See claim 6. While claim 6 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 6, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 7, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the network of carbon nanotubes makes up less than 1% by weight of the active layer. See claim 7. While claim 7 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 7, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 8, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite an adhesion layer consisting essentially of carbon nanotubes disposed between the active laver and an electrically conductive layer. See claim 8. While claim 8 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 7, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 9, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that a surface of the electrically conductive layer facing the adhesion layer comprises a roughened or textured portion. See claim 9. While claim 9 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 9, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 10, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that a surface of the electrically conductive layer facing the adhesion layer comprises a nanostructured portion. See claim 10. While claim 10 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 10, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 11, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the nanostructured portion comprises carbide nanowhiskers. See claim 11. While claim 11 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 11, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 12, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the active layer has been annealed to reduce the presence of impurities. See claim 12. While claim 12 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 12, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 13, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the active layer has been compressed to deform at least a portion of the network of carbon nanotubes and the carbonaceous material. See claim 13. While claim 13 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claims 14 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 13, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 15, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the electrode is a two-sided electrode comprising a second active layer. See claim 15. While claim 15 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from claim 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 1, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 15, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 29, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite a method comprising: dispersing carbon nanotubes in a solvent to form a dispersion (see claim 29, col. 18, lines 19-20); mixing the dispersion with carbonaceous material to form a slurry (see claim 29, col. 18, lines 21-22); applying the slurry in a layer (see claim 29, col. 18, line 23); and drying the slurry to substantially remove the solvent to form an active layer that is substantially free of binder material, the active layer comprising a network of carbon nanotubes making up less than 10% by weight of the active layer, the carbon nanotubes defining void spaces and the carbonaceous material is located in the void spaces and bound by the network of carbon nanotubes (see claim 29, col. 18, lines 25-32).
The embodiment of claim 29 fails to recite providing an electrode comprising the active layer; and providing an ultracapacitor comprising the electrode; wherein the ultracapacitor has a wide operating temperature of -55 to 900C and an ultra high power density of 120 kilowatts/kilogram or 150 kilowatts per liter at room temperature; and wherein the ultracapacitor is configured to be charged and discharged over 1,000,000 times.
Claims 14 and 16 of the ‘488 patent, on the other hand, recite an electrode comprising the active layer; and providing an ultracapacitor comprising the electrode. While these claims depend from claim 1, rather than claim 29, the Office notes that claim 29 is merely an assembly method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1, and as such, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 29, to include the subject matter of claims 14 and 16, as such a modification would correspond to that recited in the combination of claims 1, 14 and 16.
Further, while the combination of claims 29, 14, and 16 fail to explicitly recite the conditions for the ultracapacitor, the embodiment of claims 29, 14, and 16 is considered to implicitly disclose any physical properties associated with the explicitly recited structures, including operating temperature, power density and charge/discharge lifetime; see MPEP 2112.01(a), citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 30, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite forming and/or applying a layer of carbon nanotubes to provide an adhesion layer on a conductive layer. See claim 30. While claim 30 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from the combination of claims 29, 14, and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 29, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 30, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
With respect to claim 31, claims 1-31 of the ‘488 patent recite that the applying step comprises applying the slurry onto the adhesion layer. See claim 31. While claim 31 of the ‘488 patent does not depend from the combination of claims 29, 14, and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to at least try modifying the combination of claims 29, 14, and 16, as recited in claim 31, in order to provide better energy storage for the ultracapacitor device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-13, 15, and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brambilla et al. (WO 2018/102652).
With respect to claim 1, Brambilla discloses an apparatus comprising: an active layer substantially free of binding agents (see paragraph [0010]), the active layer comprising: a network of carbon nanotubes defining void spaces (see paragraph [0009]), the network of carbon nanotubes making up less than 10% by weight of the active layer (see paragraph [0012]); and a carbonaceous material located in the void spaces and bound by the network of carbon nanotubes (see paragraph [0009]); wherein the active layer is configured to provide energy storage (see paragraph [0009]); an electrode comprising the active layer (see paragraph [0017]); an ultracapacitor comprising the electrode (see paragraph [0017]); wherein the ultracapacitor has a wide operating temperature of -55 to 90°C and an ultra high power density of 120 kilowatts/kilogram or 150 kilowatts per liter at room temperature; and wherein the ultracapacitor is configured to be charged and discharged over 1,000,000 times (while Brambilla fails to explicitly recite these conditions for the ultracapacitor, Brambilla is considered to implicitly disclose any physical properties associated with the explicitly recited structures, including operating temperature, power density and charge/discharge lifetime; see MPEP 2112.01(a), citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
With respect to claim 2, Brambilla discloses that the active layer consists essentially of the carbonaceous material and the carbon nanotubes. See paragraph [0010].
With respect to claim 3, Brambilla discloses that the active layer is bound together by electrostatic forces between the carbon nanotubes and the carbonaceous material. See paragraph [0010].
With respect to claim 4, Brambilla discloses that the carbonaceous material comprises activated carbon. See paragraph [0010].
With respect to claim 5, Brambilla discloses that the carbonaceous material comprises nanoform carbon other than carbon nanotubes. See paragraph [0011].
With respect to claim 6, Brambilla discloses that the network of carbon nanotubes makes up less than 5% by weight of the active layer. See paragraph [0012].
With respect to claim 7, Brambilla discloses that the network of carbon nanotubes makes up less than 1% by weight of the active layer. See paragraph [0012].
With respect to claim 8, Brambilla discloses an adhesion layer consisting essentially of carbon nanotubes disposed between the active layer and an electrically conductive layer. See paragraph [0013].
With respect to claim 9, Brambilla discloses that a surface of the electrically conductive layer facing the adhesion layer comprises a roughened or textured portion. See paragraph [0014].
With respect to claim 10, Brambilla discloses that a surface of the electrically conductive layer facing the adhesion layer comprises a nanostructured portion. See paragraph [0014].
With respect to claim 11, Brambilla discloses that the nanostructured portion comprises carbide nanowhiskers. See paragraph [0014].
With respect to claim 12, Brambilla discloses that the active layer has been annealed to reduce the presence of impurities. See paragraph [0015].
With respect to claim 13, Brambilla discloses that the active layer has been compressed to deform at least a portion of the network of carbon nanotubes and the carbonaceous material. See paragraph [0016].
With respect to claim 15, Brambilla discloses that the electrode is a two-sided electrode comprising a second active layer. See paragraph [0070].
With respect to claim 29, Brambilla discloses a method comprising: dispersing carbon nanotubes in a solvent to form a dispersion (see paragraph [0019]); mixing the dispersion with carbonaceous material to form a slurry (see paragraph [0019]); applying the slurry in a layer (see paragraph [0019]); and drying the slurry to substantially remove the solvent to form an active layer that is substantially free of binder material (see paragraphs [0019] and [0010]), the active layer comprising a network of carbon nanotubes making up less than 10% by weight of the active layer (see paragraph [0012]), the carbon nanotubes defining void spaces and the carbonaceous material is located in the void spaces and bound by the network of carbon nanotubes (see paragraph [0019]); an electrode comprising the active layer (see paragraph [0017]); an ultracapacitor comprising the electrode (see paragraph [0017]); wherein the ultracapacitor has a wide operating temperature of -55 to 90°C and an ultra high power density of 120 kilowatts/kilogram or 150 kilowatts per liter at room temperature; and wherein the ultracapacitor is configured to be charged and discharged over 1,000,000 times (while Brambilla fails to explicitly recite these conditions for the ultracapacitor, Brambilla is considered to implicitly disclose any physical properties associated with the explicitly recited structures, including operating temperature, power density and charge/discharge lifetime; see MPEP 2112.01(a), citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
With respect to claim 30, Brambilla discloses forming and/or applying a layer of carbon nanotubes to provide an adhesion layer on a conductive layer. See paragraph [0019].
With respect to claim 31, Brambilla discloses that the applying step comprises applying the slurry onto the adhesion layer. See paragraph [0020].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848