Response to Amendment
Applicant' s amendment and response filed 10/9/2025 has been entered and made record. This application contains 17 pending claims.
Claims 1, 3, and 5-17 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 4 have been cancelled.
Claims 19 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/9/2025 regarding claims rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 in claim 1-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended, and the amended claims limitations integrated the abstract idea into a practical application, and overcome the 101 rejections. Thus, the 101 rejections in Claim 1-18 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/9/2025 regarding claims rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation in claim 1-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claims 1, 3, and 5-17 have been amended, and thus, the claims are no longer interpreted under the 112(f).
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/9/2025 regarding claims rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to claims 1-18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended, and some features of the amended claims limitation necessitate a new ground of rejection. Thus, a newly discovered prior art, “Kim KR20100085791A”, will be used in combination with prior arts cited in the previous office action to reject the amended claims limitations.
The applicant argues on pages 10-14 of the remark filed on 10/9/2025 that “Applicant respectfully submits that this combination of elements as set forth in independent claim 1 is not disclosed by the prior art of record. … In contrast to the claimed invention, Applicant respectfully submits that the references, taken alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest "the diagnoser being configured to determine that the battery pack is reusable, when a deviation of at least one of the degree of aging of the battery cell and the degree of aging of the battery module falls within a reference range, wherein when the deviation falls within the reference range, the SOH of the battery pack is greater than or equal to a reference value" in combination with the other elements of claim 1. …”. Applicant continue to argue that “However, Osaka is silent regarding, determining that a battery pack is reusable, when a deviation of at least one of the degree of aging of the battery cell and the degree of aging of the battery module falls within a reference range (see page 18 of the Office Action). Furthermore, Osaka is also silent regarding, when the deviation does fall within the reference range, a SOH of the battery pack is greater than or equal to a reference value to determine that the battery pack is reusable, as Osaka is silent regarding a reference SOH value. Therefore, Osaka teaches a different configuration than the current application and fails to teach or suggest the claimed features.”
The applicant further argues that “Furthermore, Jung also teaches a different configuration than the current application. … However, Jung is silent regarding when the deviation does fall within the reference range, a SOH of the battery pack is greater than or equal to a reference value to determine that the battery pack is reusable. Specifically, Jung does not teach a reference value other than the control disable entry setting value. However, the control disable entry setting value is not at all related to a state of health of the battery. Therefore, Jung also teaches a different configuration than the current application. Accordingly, the references, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the claimed features.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees applicant's argument. Osaka teaches that
the storage unit 46 stores the second Cole-Cole plot of the battery 30 having a state
of health (SOH) of 100% which has not deteriorated in first measurement. That is, the state of health (SOH) indicates that the smaller its value is, the more greatly deterioration progresses (Osaka, [0087], [0113]). The battery that has a SOH of 100% in the first measurement is greater than the reference value, and is reusable. Osaka also teaches that RC in a battery cell having an SOH of 90% is 5.11 mΩ, and RC in a battery cell having an SOH of 80 % is 6.25 mΩ (Osaka, [0142]). The battery that has a SOH of 90% is within the reference value, and is reusable. Thus, Osaka teaches determining that a battery pack is reusable, when a degree of aging of the battery cell and the degree of aging of the battery module falls within a reference range.
Jung teaches that the BMS 220 measures and calculates the deterioration of the battery cells and modules (Jung, [0039]), and the BMS 220 has the intensive deterioration state condition of the battery cell and/or module when the difference in deterioration from other battery modules/cells is greater than a predetermined level, etc. (Jung, [0040], [0050]). Hence, Jung teaches measures and calculates the deterioration or SOH of the battery cells and modules by comparing deterioration levels between the batteries, and their deterioration levels difference with a predetermined or reference level. Jung further teaches that when the measuring voltage of the battery cell 10 is greater or less than a predetermined reference voltage, the controller 130 operates the cell switching unit 120 of the corresponding battery cell 10 to block a connection with another battery cell 10. In other words, under the assumption that the battery has appropriate specifications required by the system, the corresponding battery cell is blocked when control problems occur. Further, only the battery having a problem is blocked and thus the corresponding battery is not used (Jun, [0005]). Hence, the battery with a SOH within a predetermined reference voltage is reusable.
Therefore, the combination of Osaka and Jung teaches determine that the battery pack is reusable, when a deviation of at least one of the degree of aging of the battery cell and the degree of aging of the battery module falls within a reference range,
wherein when the deviation falls within the reference range, the SOH of the battery pack is greater than or equal to a reference value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osaka et al. (US 20190271747, hereinafter Osaka) in view of Jung (US 20150147603, hereinafter Jung), and further in view of Kim et al. (“KR 20100085791A, hereinafter, Kim).
As to claims 1, 9, and 17, Osaka teaches a calculator (FIG. 1, calculation units 43, 44, 45) configured to calculate degrees of aging of a battery cell and a battery module ([0087] discloses the state of health (SOH) indicates that the smaller its value is, the more greatly deterioration progresses (i.e., degrees of deterioration or aging - emphasis added by Examiner); [0092] the battery module 1 can evaluate the respective states of health SOH of the plurality of battery cells 10 constituting the group battery 2 (i.e., FIGs. 1 and 2 show that the group battery 2 comprises Battery-1 module, Battery-2 module, Battery-3 module, Cell-1, Cell-2 and Cell-3; and the respective states of health SOH would reflect degrees of aging of a battery cell and a battery module - emphasis added by Examiner)”) comprising the battery cell (FIG. 2 shows Cell-1, Cell-2, Cell-3);
a measurer (FIG. 2, measurement unit 42) configured to measure an alternating current (AC) impedance of a battery pack ([0069] discloses “In the alternating-current impedance measurement method, a signal voltage to be applied is small. Accordingly, an impedance characteristic can be measured without changing a state of the battery cell 10 to be measured.”) comprising the battery module (FIG. 1 shows Battery module 1, Battery modules 2, Battery modules 3);
an estimator ([0092] discloses the battery module 1) configured to estimate a state of health (SOH) of the battery pack based on the AC impedance of the battery pack ([0092] discloses “the battery module 1 can evaluate the respective states of health SOH of the plurality of battery cells 10 constituting the group battery 2 only by measuring the composite impedance characteristic (the first Cole-Cole plot) of the group battery 2.”); and
a diagnoser (FIG. 1 shows Assessment Evaluation Unit 3) configured to diagnose a state of the battery pack, based on the degree of aging of the battery cell ([0087] discloses the state of health (SOH) indicates that the smaller its value is, the more greatly deterioration progresses (i.e., degrees of deterioration or aging of the battery cell and the battery pack - emphasis added by Examiner); [0092] discloses “the battery module 1 can evaluate the respective states of health SOH of the plurality of battery cells 10 constituting the group battery 2 only evaluated (i.e., the plurality of battery cells 10 constitutes the group battery 2 or the battery pack, and thus, the SOH of the plurality of battery cells would reflect the SOH of the group battery or the battery pack - emphasis added by Examiner)”, the degree of aging of the battery module ([0142]; [0149] discloses all respective states of health (SOH) of the battery cells 11, 12, and 13 in the battery module 1B are calculated to be 84% (i.e., the SOH of the battery cells 11, 12, and 13 which are in the battery module 1B can be evaluated, and thus, the SOH of the battery cells would reflect the SOH of the battery module - emphasis added by Examiner); [0163]), and the SOH of the battery pack ([0014] discloses in a method for evaluating the battery module, the respective states of the plurality of battery cells constituting the group battery can be evaluated (i.e., plurality of battery cells constitute the group battery, and thus, when state of the battery cells are evaluated, the group battery or the battery pack would also be evaluated, and the evaluation results would indicate the SOH of the group battery or battery pack - emphasis added by Examiner)),
the diagnose (FIG. 1, # 3) being configured to determine that the battery pack is reusable ([0087] discloses “the storage unit 46 stores the second Cole-Cole plot of the battery 30 having a state of health (SOH) of 100% which has not deteriorated in first measurement (i.e., determine that the battery pack is reusable when the battery having the SOH of 100% - emphasis added by Examiner).”; [0142]).
Osaka does not explicitly teach when a deviation of at least one of the degree of aging of the battery cell and the degree of aging of the battery module falls within a reference range.
Jung teaches determine that the battery pack is reusable, when a deviation of at least one of the degree of aging of the battery cell and the degree of aging of the battery module falls within a reference range ([0005] discloses when the measuring voltage of the battery cell 10 is greater or less than a predetermined reference voltage, the controller 130 operates the cell switching unit 120 of the corresponding battery cell 10 to block a connection with another battery cell 10, and only the battery having a problem is blocked and thus the corresponding battery is not used
(i.e., the measuring voltage of the battery cell within a predetermined reference voltage is reusable - emphasis added by Examiner)); [0010] “discloses determining that the highest deterioration is greater than an intensive deterioration entry setting value and a second selective control to perform the exclusion from the control object when the highest deterioration is less than the setting value, by comparing the highest deterioration with the intensive deterioration entry setting value (i.e., the deterioration level of battery pack that falls within the reference range would be reusable - emphasis added by Examiner).”; [0050] discloses “The BMS 220 has the intensive deterioration state condition of the battery cell and/or module (e.g., when the difference in deterioration from other battery modules/cells is greater than a predetermined level, etc. (i.e., the battery pack with deterioration state condition of SOH would be reusable when the difference in deterioration states of the batteries is less than the setting value or the deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell and/or module is within a reference range - emphasis added by Examiner)).”; and
wherein when the deviation falls within the reference range, the SOH of the battery pack is greater than or equal to a reference value ([0003], [0010] and [0037] disclose generate deterioration of the battery cells 410a to 410n and/or the battery modules 310a to 310n, a state of health (SOH), and difference in deterioration, a state of charge (SOC). Control the performance of the battery pack by minimally maintaining a voltage deviation in the battery cells within the battery pack; and determining that the highest deterioration is greater than an intensive deterioration entry setting value (i.e., the deviation falls within the reference range - emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jung into Osaka for the purpose of sensing the battery pack and performing a selective control to select a control object of a unit element of the battery pack or an intensive control to intensively use the control object of the unit element using the battery state so that the deterioration of the battery state can be evaluated. This combination would improve in preventing deterioration of a specific battery module/cell from suddenly increasing, and extending lifespan of the overall battery pack.
The combination of Osaka and Jung does not explicitly teach wherein, based on the diagnosed state of the battery pack by the diagnoser, a battery management system is configured to control an on and off of a switch that controls charging and/or discharging of the battery pack.
Kim teaches wherein, based on the diagnosed state of the battery pack by the diagnoser, a battery management system is configured to control an on and off of a switch that controls charging and/or discharging of the battery pack (Page 6, Lines 15-20 discloses “The above monitoring and control means, when an abnormality is detected or expected in the abnormal state or aging state of the battery pack (Stack) or in the charging/discharging state, generates a gate cut-off signal (Cut off) through a gate cut-off means of an embedded device configured in the monitoring and control means, thereby immediately blocking the switching element of the boost converter and the gate of the cut-off switch, thereby immediately stopping charging and discharging, thereby protecting the battery from an abnormal state.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim into Osaka in view of Jung for the purpose of monitoring an aging condition or abnormal condition of the storage battery pack by a control system of a battery pack (stack) in order to detect an abnormality. This combination would improve in preventing accidents such as damage or explosion of the battery pack (stack) in advance by immediately blocking the switching element gate drive signal of the boost converter circuit.
As to claim 3, the combination of Osaka, Jung, and Kim teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claims 1.
Osaka does not explicitly teach determine diagnose the state of the battery pack, based on the deviation of at least one of the degree of aging of the battery cell and the degree of aging of the battery module.
Jung teaches determine diagnose the state of the battery pack, based on the deviation of at least one of the degree of aging of the battery cell and the degree of aging of the battery module ([0009] and [0041] disclose the deterioration may be
calculated for each battery cell or each battery module; and whether the difference in deterioration is greater than an intensive deterioration entry setting value may be determined (i.e., the battery pack comprises the battery modules and battery cells, and
Difference in deterioration would include the degree of aging of the battery cell and the battery module, and difference in the calculated deterioration would include deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell and the battery module. The evaluation result of the battery cells and battery modules would reflect the state of the battery pack - emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jung into Osaka for in view of Kim the purpose of sensing the battery pack and performing a selective control to select a control object of a unit element of the battery pack or an intensive control to intensively use the control object of the unit element using the battery state so that the deterioration of the battery state can be evaluated. This combination would improve in preventing deterioration of a specific battery module/cell from suddenly increasing, and extending lifespan of the overall battery pack.
As to claims 5 and 18, the combination of Osaka, Jung, and Kim teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claims 1 and 17, respectively.
Osaka teaches wherein the measurer (FIG. 2, measurement unit 42) is configured to measure an AC impedance of the battery module ([0069] discloses in the alternating-current impedance method, the impedance is measured from a response signal), the estimator is configured to estimate a SOH of the battery module based on the AC impedance of the battery module ([0092] discloses “the battery module 1 can evaluate the respective states of health SOH of the plurality of battery cells 10 constituting the group battery 2 only by measuring the composite impedance characteristic (the first Cole-Cole plot) of the group battery 2.”), and
the diagnoser is configured to diagnose the state of the battery module based on the degree of aging of a battery cell and the SOH of the battery module ([0087] discloses the state of health (SOH) indicates that the smaller its value is, the more greatly deterioration progresses (i.e., degrees of deterioration or aging - emphasis added by Examiner); [0149] discloses all respective states of health (SOH) of the battery cells 11, 12, and 13 in the battery module 1B are calculated to be 84% (i.e., the SOH of the battery cells 11, 12, and 13 which are in the battery module 1B can be evaluated, and thus, the SOH of the battery cells would reflect the SOH of the battery module. Therefore, the state of the battery module can be diagnosed based on the degree of aging of the battery cell and the SOH of the battery module - emphasis added by Examiner)).
As to claims 6 and 10, the combination of Osaka, Jung, and Kim teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claims 5 and 9, respectively.
Osaka teaches determine whether the battery module is reusable, based on the degree of aging of the battery cell and the SOH of the battery module ([0087] discloses “the storage unit 46 stores the second Cole-Cole plot of the battery 30 having a state of health (SOH) of 100% which has not deteriorated in first measurement (i.e., determine that the battery pack is reusable when the battery having the SOH of 100% - emphasis added by Examiner). That is, the state of health (SOH) indicates that the smaller its value is, the more greatly deterioration progresses (i.e., determine whether the battery module is reusable based on the degree of aging of the battery cells and the SOH of the battery module as the plurality of battery cells 10 constitute the battery modules as shown in FIG. 1 - emphasis added by Examiner).”).
As to claims 7 and 11, the combination of Osaka, Jung, and Kim teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claims 5 and 9, respectively.
Osaka does not explicitly teach determine that the battery module is reusable, when the deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell falls within the reference range.
Jung teaches determine that the battery module is reusable, when the deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell falls within the reference range ([0042] discloses in response to determining that the difference in deterioration is less than the setting value, the battery module and/or cell having the highest deterioration may be included in the control object (i.e., determine that the battery module would be reusable when the difference in deterioration is less than the setting value or the deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell falls within a reference range - emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jung into Osaka in view of Kim for the purpose of sensing the battery pack and performing a selective control to select a control object of a unit element of the battery pack or an intensive control to intensively use the control object of the unit element using the battery state so that the deterioration of the battery state can be evaluated. This combination would improve in preventing deterioration of a specific battery module/cell from suddenly increasing, and extending lifespan of the overall battery pack.
As to claims 8 and 12, the combination of Osaka, Jung, and Kim teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claims 5 and 9, respectively.
Osaka teaches wherein the battery module includes a plurality of battery cells (FIG. 2 shows Battery-1 and Cell-1, Battery-2 and Cell-2, Battery-3 and Cell-3).
Osaka does not explicitly teach determine that the battery module is usable based on a battery cell having a highest degree of aging among the battery cells, when the deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell falls beyond the reference range.
Jung teaches wherein the diagnoser (FIG. 2 and [0054] disclose the BMS 220) is configured to determine that the battery module is usable based on a battery cell having a highest degree of aging among the battery cells ([0042] discloses in response to determining that the difference in deterioration is less than the setting value, the battery module and/or cell having the highest deterioration may be included in the control object (i.e., determine that the battery module would be reusable when the difference in deterioration is less than the setting value, and thus, the battery module and/or cell having the highest deterioration is included in the control object - emphasis added by Examiner)), when the deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell falls beyond the reference range ([0056] discloses when the specific battery module/cell are controlled, since other battery modules/cells may be beyond the control range, the battery lifespan may be increased in terms of the overall battery pack (i.e., determine that the battery module would be reusable when the specific battery module/cell are controlled, even though other battery modules/cells may be beyond the control range due to the difference in deterioration is beyond the setting value - emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jung into Osaka in view of Kim for the purpose of sensing the battery pack and performing a selective control to select a control object of a unit element of the battery pack or an intensive control to intensively use the control object of the unit element using the battery state so that the deterioration of the battery state can be evaluated. This combination would improve in preventing deterioration of a specific battery module/cell from suddenly increasing, and extending lifespan of the overall battery pack.
As to claim 13, Osaka the combination of Osaka, Jung, and Kim the claimed limitations as discussed in claim 9.
Osaka teaches wherein the measurer (FIG. 2, measurement unit 42) is configured to measure an AC impedance of the battery pack ([0069] discloses in the alternating-current impedance method, the impedance of the battery pack is measured from a response signal), the estimator is configured to estimate the SOH of the battery pack based on the AC impedance of the battery module (FIGs. 1 and 2 show that the battery pack comprises Battery-1, Battery-2, Battery-3, Cell-1, Cell-2, and Cell-3; [0092] discloses “the battery module 1 can evaluate the respective states of health SOH of the plurality of battery cells 10 constituting the group battery 2 only by measuring the composite impedance characteristic (the first Cole-Cole plot) of the group battery 2.”), and
the diagnoser is configured to diagnose the state of the battery pack based on the degree of aging of the battery cell and the SOH of the battery module (FIGs 1 and 2; [0087] discloses the state of health (SOH) indicates that the smaller its value is, the more greatly deterioration progresses (i.e., degrees of deterioration or aging - emphasis added by Examiner); [0149] discloses all respective states of health (SOH) of the battery cells 11, 12, and 13 in the battery module 1B are calculated to be 84% (i.e., the SOH of the battery cells 11, 12, and 13 which are in the battery module 1B can be evaluated, and thus, the SOH of the battery cells would reflect the SOH of the battery module. Therefore, the state of the battery module can be diagnosed based on the degree of aging of the battery cell and the SOH of the battery module - emphasis added by Examiner)).
As to claim 14, the combination of Osaka, Jung, and Kim teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claim 13.
Osaka teaches determine whether the battery pack is reusable, based on the degree of aging of the battery cell, the degree of aging of the battery module, and the SOH of the battery pack ([0087] discloses “the storage unit 46 stores the second Cole-Cole plot of the battery 30 having a state of health (SOH) of 100% which has not deteriorated in first measurement (i.e., determine that the battery pack is reusable when the battery having the SOH of 100% - emphasis added by Examiner). That is, the state of health (SOH) indicates that the smaller its value is, the more greatly deterioration progresses (i.e., determine whether the battery pack is reusable based on the degree of aging of the battery module and the battery cells as the plurality of battery cells 10 constitutes the battery modules, and the battery module constitutes the group battery or the battery pack as shown in FIG. 1 - emphasis added by Examiner).”).
As to claim 15, the combination of Osaka and Jung teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claim 13.
Osaka does not explicitly teach diagnose whether the state of the battery pack is reusable based on at least one of the deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell and the degree of aging of the battery module.
Jung teaches diagnose whether the state of the battery pack is reusable based on at least one of the deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell and a deviation of the degree of aging of the battery module ([0042] discloses in response to determining that the difference in deterioration is less than the setting value, the battery module and/or cell having the highest deterioration may be included in the control object (i.e., the battery pack comprises the battery modules and battery cells, and it is determined that the battery module would be reusable when the difference in deterioration is less than the setting value, and thus, when the deterioration of the battery module and/or cell is determined, the deterioration of the battery pack or the state of the battery pack is also determined - emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jung into Osaka in view of Kim for the purpose of sensing the battery pack and performing a selective control to select a control object of a unit element of the battery pack or an intensive control to intensively use the control object of the unit element using the battery state so that the deterioration of the battery state can be evaluated. This combination would improve in preventing deterioration of a specific battery module/cell from suddenly increasing, and extending lifespan of the overall battery pack.
As to claim 16, the combination of Osaka, Jung, and Kim teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claim 13.
Osaka does not explicitly teach determine that the battery pack is reusable, when at least one of the deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell and the degree of aging of the battery module falls within a reference range.
Jung teaches determine that the battery pack is reusable, when a deviation of at least one of the degree of aging of the battery cell and a deviation of the degree of aging of the battery module falls within the reference range ([0042] discloses in response to determining that the difference in deterioration is less than the setting value, the battery module and/or cell having the highest deterioration may be included in the control object (i.e., the battery pack comprises the battery modules and battery cells, and it is determined that the battery pack would be reusable when the difference in deterioration is less than the setting value or the deviation of the degree of aging of the battery cell and/or module is within a reference range - emphasis added by Examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jung into Osaka in view of Kim for the purpose of sensing the battery pack and performing a selective control to select a control object of a unit element of the battery pack or an intensive control to intensively use the control object of the unit element using the battery state so that the deterioration of the battery state can be evaluated. This combination would improve in preventing deterioration of a specific battery module/cell from suddenly increasing, and extending lifespan of the overall battery pack.
As to claim 19, the combination of Osaka, Jung, and Kim teaches the claimed limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Osaka teaches wherein the estimator is configured to estimate the SOH of the battery pack based on a correlation between a previously measured AC impedance of the battery pack and a previously measured SOH of the battery pack ([0069], [0122] discloses “respective impedance characteristics corresponding to the plurality of states of health (SOH) of the battery cells 10 are previously stored in the storage unit 46, as illustrated in FIG. 9. The third calculation unit 45 calculates the state of health from the third Cole-Cole plot and the impedance characteristic corresponding to the state of health (SOH).”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAL CE MANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863