DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s submission filed 17 November 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-18, and 20-21 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 5, 11, 13, 16, and 21 have been amended, while claim 19 has been cancelled without prejudice or disclaimer. Therefore, prosecution on the merits continues for claims 1, 3, 5, 8-18, and 20-21. All arguments have been fully considered with the status of each prior ground of rejection set forth below.
Status of Prior Rejections/Response to Arguments
RE: Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Disclosure
Applicant has traversed the objection, asserting in Page 6 of the Remarks filed 17 November 2025 that 37 CFR 1.821(b)(1) does not require the date of creation and the date of filing of the sequence listing to be the same. In response, the Examiner has fully considered the arguments and finds them persuasive.
Therefore, the objection is withdrawn.
RE: Objection to the Specification
Applicant has traversed the objection, asserting on Page 6 of the Remarks filed 17 November 2025 that marked-up and clean versions of a substitute Specification have been filed to remove all
references to colors within the figures. However, no substitute Specification has been entered into the
application file by Applicant.
Therefore, the objection is maintained.
RE: Objection to claims 3, 5, 10, 13, 19, and 21
The cancellation of claim 19 renders the objection moot for that claim. For the remaining claims, Applicant’s amendments to each of the instant claims obviate the objections of record.
Therefore, the objections are withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 3, 5, 8-11, 14-18, and 20-21
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 3 and 5 clarifying the relative terms, as well the amendment to instant claim 10 defining the “qRT-PCR” abbreviation obviate the rejections of record.
Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 1 and 12-13 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) over Chan et al
Applicant has submitted an affidavit filed under 37 CFR 1.130 by co-inventor Andrew Ewald in order to disqualify the Chan et al reference under 35 USC 102(b)(1)(A). However, the affidavit fails to address the requirements presented in MPEP § 717.01(a)(1), namely: an unequivocal statement from one or more joint inventors that they invented the potential prior art subject matter; and a reasonable explanation of the presence of additional authors/inventors of the potential prior art subject matter, in absence of evidence to the contrary. In the instant case, the affidavit by co-inventor Ewald does not provide an unequivocal statement, nor reasonably explain the presence of the additional authors – which include co-inventor Isaac Chan.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained and amended to encompass the claims as currently written.
RE: Rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, 8-12, 14-15, and 17-20 under 35 USC 103 over Kretzschmar et al
The cancellation of instant claim 19 renders the rejection moot for that claim. For the remaining claims, Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 3, and 5 to require the one of more NK cells within the embedded tumor organoid co-culture to have KLRG1 or TIGIT present on its surface, thus obviating the current rejections of record.
Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, and 8-21 under 35 USC 103 over Kretzschmar et al in view of Zhou et al
The cancellation of instant claim 19 renders the rejection moot for that claim. For the remaining claims, Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 3, and 5 to require the one of more NK cells within the embedded tumor organoid co-culture to have KLRG1 or TIGIT present on its surface, thus obviating the current rejections of record.
Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn.
New/Maintained Grounds of Rejection
Specification
The instant Specification is objected to for referencing colors within the figures, when colored
drawings have not submitted in the application. More specifically, the Specification references colors at least within Pages 4 and 6-7 in reference to Figures 2A, 2D, 2J, 7B, 8B, and 8D. Applicant is requested to review the Specification to identify any additional references to colors within the drawings and delete as appropriate since black and white drawings are submitted. The Specification must be amended to delete reference to specific colors within the text of the Specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12-13 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chan et al (J Cell Biol, 2020). The publication date of Chan et al is 09 July 2020, which is within one year of the effective filing date of the invention.
Chan et al disclose a composition comprising a primary mammary tumor organoid/NK cell co-culture, wherein the tumor organoid/NK cell co-culture is embedded in neutralized, fibrillar rat-tail collagen I (Pages 2, 8-9; Figures 1B, C).
Chan et al further disclose that the NK cells have a surface expression of TIGIT and KLRG1, as well as LAG3 (Pages 6-8; Figure 4).
Accordingly, Chan et al anticipate the claims as follows:
Regarding claims 1 and 12: Chan et al disclose a composition comprising a primary (claim 12)
mammary tumor organoid/NK cell co-culture, wherein the tumor organoid/NK cell co-culture is embedded in a collagen I extracellular membrane. As the NK cells comprised within the co-culture express KLRG1 and TIGIT on their surface, this therefore reads on the composition of instant claim 1.
Regarding claim 13: Following the discussion of claim 12, Chan et al further disclose that the NK cells within the tumor organoid/NK cell co-culture further express LA3 on their surface. This therefore reads on the composition of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kretzschmar et al (US 2021/0208131 A1, of record) in view of Zhang et al (Nat Immunol, 2018).
Kretzschmar et al is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2), with an effective filing date of 21 December 2018. Zhang et al is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1).
Regarding claim 1: Kretzschmar et al disclose co-cultures of organoids and immune cells, wherein the organoid/immune cell co-culture is embedded within a collagen extracellular matrix and submerged in co-culture medium (Abstract; Paragraphs [0045], [0072], [0197], [0205], [0235], [0237]-[0248]).
As such, Kretzschmar et al disclose that the organoids are tumoroids, or tumor organoids (Paragraphs [0007], [0045], [0056], [0058], [0060], [0063], [0124], [0133], [0176]-[0177]; Figures 1-2).
Kretzschmar et al further disclose that the immune cells are NK cells (Paragraph [0178]).
Kretzschmar et al do not disclose that the NK cells comprised within the embedded tumoroid co-culture have KLRG1 or TIGIT present on their surface, as required by instant claim 1.
Zhang et al, however, disclose that intratumoral NK cells, or tumor-infiltrating NK cells, have an increased expression of TIGIT on their surface (Pages 723-725).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the co-culture composition of Kretzschmar et al such that the NK cells express TIGIT on their surface, as detailed in Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to produce a tumoroid/NK co-culture model that recapitulates the cancer disease state within subjects, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that Kretzschmar et al disclose that the immune cells comprised within the co-culture can be tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes, or tumor-infiltrating NK cells (Paragraph [0178]). See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Consequently, Kretzschmar et al and modified by Zhang et al render obvious a composition comprising a tumoroid/NK cell co-culture that has been embedded within a collagen extracellular matrix, wherein the NK cells express TIGIT on their surface. This therefore renders obvious the composition of the instant claim.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 9, and 15: As aforementioned in the discussion of claim 1, Kretzschmar et al as modified by Zhang et al render obvious a composition comprising a tumoroid/NK cell co-culture that has been embedded within a collagen extracellular matrix, wherein the NK cells express TIGIT on their surface.
Kretzschmar et al further disclose methods for screening candidate agents utilizing the embedded tumoroid/immune cell co-culture, wherein the co-culture is contacted with a candidate agent and then assessed for changes due to the candidate agent, which include a reduction in cell viability, a reduction in cell proliferation (claim 9), an increase in cell death, or a change in the cell or organoid size (Paragraphs [0009], [0011]-[0017], [0032]-[0038], [0135]-[0159], [0170]-[0173], [0199], [0348]).
Kretzschmar et al further disclose that assessment of the tumoroid/immune cell co-culture following the contacting of a candidate agent includes the comparison of the tumoroid/immune cell co-culture to a reference tumoroid co-culture (Paragraphs [0022], [0153]-[0157], [0190]-[0191], [0347]).
Kretzschmar et al further disclose that the candidate agent is an antibody (claim 15), including tumor-specific antibodies (Paragraphs [0161], [0163], [0209], [0340]-[0343], [0348]).
This therefore renders obvious the methods of instant claim 3 and instant claim 5 for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of instant claim 1.
Regarding claim 8: Following the discussion of claim 3, Kretzschmar et al further disclose that the embedded tumoroid/immune cell co-culture is first generated via the culturing of the tumoroid with the immune cells, and then embedding the tumoroid/immune cell co-culture in a collagen extracellular matrix (Paragraphs [0045]-[0050], [0072], [0235]). This therefore reads on the method of the instant claim.
Regarding claims 10-11: Following the discussion of claim 3, Kretzschmar et al further disclose that the potential of the immune cells to kill the tumoroid – which inversely also simultaneously assesses the potential of the immune cells to promote the tumoroid – is assessed using quantitative real-time polymerase chain reaction (claim 11) (Paragraphs [0102], [0345]-[0347], [0363]-[0364]; Figure 9). This therefore reads on the method of instant claim 10.
Regarding claims 12 and 17-18: Following the discussion of claims 1 and 3, Kretzschmar et al further disclose that the tumoroid is derived from primary human epithelial cells of a breast tumor (claim 18) (Paragraphs [0175]-[0176], [0183]-[0185]). This therefore reads on the composition (claim 12) and method (claim 17) of the instant claims.
Regarding claims 13 and 16: Following the discussion of claims 1 and 3, Zhang et al further disclose that TIGIT+ NK cells also expressed LAG3 on their surface (Page 725; Figure 1). This therefore renders obvious instant claims 13 and 16 for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of instant claim 1.
Regarding claim 14: Following the discussion of claim 3, Kretzschmar et al further disclose that the candidate agent is an immunotherapeutic, which is an agent that induces, suppresses or enhances the immune system of a patient for the treatment of a disease (Paragraphs [0122], [0144], [0161]-[0163], [0348]). This therefore reads on the method of the instant claim, as the immunotherapeutic will either be an immune receptor inhibitor or an immune receptor activator.
Regarding claim 20: Following the discussion of claim 3, Kretzschmar et al further disclose that the candidate agent is any biological, chemical, physical, or other agent, wherein the candidate agent can be selected from one or more of the following therapeutic classes: immunotherapeutic, tumor-specific peptides, checkpoint inhibitors, alkylating agent, antimetabolite, metabolic agonist, metabolic antagonist, plant alkaloid, mitotic inhibitor, antitumor antibiotic, topoisomerase inhibitor, radiotherapeutics, chemotherapeutics, antibodies, photosensitizing agent, stem cell transplant, vaccine, cytotoxic agent, cytostatic agent, tyrosine kinase inhibitor, proteasome inhibitor, cytokine, interferon, interleukin, intercalating agent, targeted therapy agent, small-molecule drug, hormone, steroid, cellular therapeutic, viral vector, and nucleic acid therapeutic (Paragraphs [0160]-[0161]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have selected any of these candidate agents from a library. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select agents that are known in the art and well-indexed, as is done for cells (Paragraph [0179]), and would have had a reasonable expectation of success due to the disclosure of Kretzschmar et al reasonably suggesting all of the therapeutic classes of candidate agents. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Consequently, Kretzschmar et al as modified by Zhang et al render obvious the method of the instant claim, wherein the candidate agent is selected from a library of compounds.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kretzschmar et al (US 2021/0208131 A1, of record) in view of Zhang et al (Nat Immunol, 2018), and further in view of Zhou et al (US 2017/0022273 A1, of record).
The discussion of Kretzschmar et al as modified by Zhang et al regarding claims 3 and 16 can be observed above and is relied upon herein, the content of which is incorporated in its entirety. Kretzschmar et al as modified by Zhang et al render obvious claims 1, 3, 5, 8-18, and 20. Zhou et al is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 21: As aforementioned in the discussion of claims 3 and 16, Kretzschmar et al as modified by Zhang et al render obvious methods for screening candidate agents utilizing the embedded primary tumoroid/NK cell co-culture, wherein the NK cells express TIGIT and LAG3 on their surface, and wherein the co-culture is contacted with a candidate agent and then assessed for changes due to the candidate agent, which include a reduction in cell viability, a reduction in cell proliferation, an increase in cell death, or a change in the cell or organoid size.
Kretzschmar et al further disclose that the candidate agent is an antibody (Paragraphs [0161], [0163], [0209], [0340]-[0343], [0348]).
The combination of Kretzschmar et al and Zhang et al do not teach that the drug candidate inhibits or binds to LAG3 present on the surface of the NK cells, as required by claim 21.
Zhou et al, however, disclose that LAG3 is a membrane protein that is expressed on activated NK cells (Paragraph [0004]). Zhou et al further disclose antibodies against LAG3 for the treatment of cancer, including breast cancer (Abstract; Paragraphs [0016], [0025]-[0026], [0158], [0162]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the method of Kretzschmar et al in view of Zhang et al such that the drug candidate is an antibody against LAG3, as detailed in Zhou et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to utilize an antibody against LAG3 as the drug candidate, as it serves as a potential therapeutic for breast cancer, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that Kretzschmar et al disclose the antibody testing protocols and suggest that the NK cells within the tumoroid co-culture are activated (Paragraph [0088], [0336], [0345]). Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have recognized that the NK cells within the methods of Zhou et al and Kretzschmar et in view of Zhang et al are functionally comparable and would have required minimal adaptation of the protocols. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Consequently, Kretzschmar et al as modified by Zhang et al and Zhou et al render obvious a method for screening an anti-LAG3 antibody, wherein the embedded primary tumoroid/NK cell co-culture is contacted with the anti-LAG3 antibody and then assessed for its responsiveness to the anti-LAG3 antibody, which include a reduction in cell viability, a reduction in cell proliferation, an increase in cell death, or a change in the cell or organoid size. This therefore renders obvious the method of the instant claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSSA G WESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/CHRISTOPHER M BABIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1633