Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
a) Claim 1 recites the limitation "the communication device" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
b) Claim 4 recites the limitation "the AF" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
c) Claim 16 recites the limitation "the AF" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
d) Claim 34 recites the limitation "the communication device" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
e) Claim 37 recites the limitation "the AF" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
f) Claim 49 recites the limitation "the AF" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
g) Claims 2-3, 5-12, 35-36, and 38-45 are also rejected based on their direct or indirect dependency to the rejected claims.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 43 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a) Claim 43 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 41. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10, 13-15, 17, 19-21, 24, 34-36, 38-39, 41, 43, 46-48, 50, 52-54, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT, "Adding details on UE AKMA capability handling", 3GPP TSG-SA WG3 Meeting #100e, S3-201790, e-meeting, August 17-28, 2020 hereinafter CATT in view of WU (US 2023/0024999 A1).
As per claim 1, CATT teaches a method for establishing a secure connection in a wireless communication network, the method performed by a control network node of the wireless communication network (section 6.1, method for successful authentication procedure (i.e. secure connection) in a 5G core network (i.e. wireless network) performed by AUSF (i.e. control network node)), the method comprising:
receiving a request to use a communication service provided by the wireless communication network (section 6.1, receiving registration request to use communication service), the request including an indication that the communication device can support the requested communication service and an Authentication and Key Management for Applications (AKMA) service provided by the wireless communication network (section 6.1, registration request including a message/indication that the UE can support AKMA service provided by the 5G core network).
However, CATT does not explicitly teach determining whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device; and communicating, towards the communication device, information that indicates whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches determining whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device (¶0070 and ¶0073, determining in the registration request that the service mode supported by the UE and the AKMA service is provided to the UE); and communicating, towards the communication device, information that indicates whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network (¶0067 and ¶0070, communication with UE capability information that that the service mode supported by the UE and the AKMA service is provided to the UE to initiate a connection establishment procedure to the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the control network node comprises a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the control network node comprises a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network (¶0065, PCF network node of the wireless network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the requested communication service is provided by an Application Function (AF) of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the requested communication service is provided by an Application Function (AF) of the wireless communication network (¶0067, requested service is provided by AF of network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT does not explicitly teach obtaining information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMTVA service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches obtaining information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service (¶0054 and ¶0059, receiving information that UE is authorized to use AKMA service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT does not explicitly teach obtaining AKMA service availability information indicating whether the AF can provide the AKMA service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches obtaining AKMA service availability information indicating whether the AF can provide the AKMA service (¶0082, receiving AKMA service capability information indicating that the AF support AKMA service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 8 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the information includes an address associated with the AF that can provide the AKMA service and the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the information includes an address associated with the AF that can provide the AKMA service and the requested communication service (¶0077-78, information includes identifier/address associated with the AF that provide AKMA service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the information includes an address associated with the AF that can provide the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the information includes an address associated with the AF that can provide the requested communication service (¶0077-78, information includes identifier/address associated with the AF that provide AKMA service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 13, CATT teaches a method for establishing a secure connection in a wireless communication network, the method performed by a communication device operating in the wireless communication network (section 6.1, method for successful authentication procedure (i.e. secure connection) in a 5G core network (i.e. wireless network) performed by UE), the method comprising: communicating a request to use a communication service provided by the wireless communication network (section 6.1, receiving registration request to use communication service), the request including an indication that the communication device can support the requested communication service and an Authentication and Key Management for Applications (AKMA) service provided by the wireless communication network (section 6.1, registration request including a message/indication that the UE can support AKMA service provided by the 5G core network).
However, CATT does not explicitly teach responsive to communicating the request, receiving a communication comprising information that indicates whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches responsive to communicating the request, receiving a communication comprising information that indicates whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network (¶0067, ¶0070 and ¶0073, based on the request receiving information that indicating the service mode supported by the UE and the AKMA service is provided to the UE and for the UE to initiate a connection establishment procedure to the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 14 as applied to claim 13 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein communicating the request comprises communicating the request towards a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network, and wherein receiving the communication comprising the information comprises receiving the information comprising the information from the PCF network node.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein communicating the request comprises communicating the request towards a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network, and wherein receiving the communication comprising the information comprises receiving the information comprising the information from the PCF network node (¶0065, receiving information from the PCF network node of the wireless network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 15 as applied to claim 13 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the requested communication service is provided by an Application Function (AF) of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the requested communication service is provided by an Application Function (AF) of the wireless communication network (¶0067, requested service is provided by AF of network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 13 above, CATT does not explicitly teach establishing the secure connection with the AF using the AKMA service to use the requested communication service from the AF based on an address of the AF included in the communication and the information indicating that the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches establishing the secure connection with the AF using the AKMA service to use the requested communication service from the AF based on an address of the AF included in the communication and the information indicating that the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network (¶0067 and ¶0077-78, communication with UE capability information that that the service mode supported by the UE and the AKMA service is provided to the UE to initiate a connection establishment procedure to the network and to use the requested communication service from the AF based on an identifier or address of the AF included in the communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 13 above, CATT does not explicitly teach establishing the secure connection with the AF to receive the requested communication service from the AF based on an address of the AF included in the communication and the information indicating that the requested communication service can be provided to the communication device without the communication device utilizing the AKMA service to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches establishing the secure connection with the AF to receive the requested communication service from the AF based on an address of the AF included in the communication and the information indicating that the requested communication service can be provided to the communication device without the communication device utilizing the AKMA service to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network (¶0066 and ¶0077-78, initiate a connection establishment procedure with the AF to receive requested services based on the identifier or address of AF included in the information and the UE without the UE using the AKMA service to establish a communication connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 20, CATT teaches a method for establishing a secure connection in a wireless communication network, the method performed by a network node of the wireless communication network (section 6.1, method for successful authentication procedure (i.e. secure connection) in a 5G core network (i.e. wireless network) performed by AUSF (i.e. network node)), the method comprising: receiving, from a core network node, a request for AKMA service availability information indicating whether the network node can provide an AKMA service to establish a secure connection for a requested communication service between a communication device operating in the wireless communication network and the network node (section 6.1, receiving registration request to use communication service from the 5G core network for AKMA service capability information to start or establish a secure connection for a communication between the UE operating in the wireless communication network and the 5G core network).
However, CATT does not explicitly teach communicating, to the core network node, the AKMA service availability information indicating whether the network node can provide the AKMA service to establish the secure connection for the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches communicating, to the core network node, the AKMA service availability information indicating whether the network node can provide the AKMA service to establish the secure connection for the requested communication service (¶0067 and ¶0070, communication with UE capability information that that the service mode supported by the UE and the AKMA service is provided to the UE to initiate a connection establishment procedure to the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 21 as applied to claim 20 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the core network comprises a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the core network comprises a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network (¶0065, receiving information from the PCF network node of the wireless network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 24 as applied to claim 20 above, CATT does not explicitly teach providing the requested communication to the communication device without utilizing the AKMA service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches providing the requested communication to the communication device without utilizing the AKMA service (¶0066 and ¶0077-78, providing the requested service to the UE without the UE using the AKMA service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 34, CATT teaches a control network node (section 6.1, AUSF (i.e. control network node) comprising: processing circuitry and memory collectively configured to cause the control network node to perform operations comprising: receiving a request to use a communication service provided by the wireless communication network (section 6.1, receiving registration request to use communication service), the request including an indication that the communication device can support the requested communication service and an Authentication and Key Management for Applications (AKMA) service provided by the wireless communication network (section 6.1, registration request including a message/indication that the UE can support AKMA service provided by the 5G core network).
However, CATT does not explicitly teach determining whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device; and communicating, towards the communication device, information that indicates whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches determining whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device (¶0070 and ¶0073, determining in the registration request that the service mode supported by the UE and the AKMA service is provided to the UE); and communicating, towards the communication device, information that indicates whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network (¶0067 and ¶0070, communication with UE capability information that that the service mode supported by the UE and the AKMA service is provided to the UE to initiate a connection establishment procedure to the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 35 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the control network node comprises a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the control network node comprises a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network (¶0065, PCF network node of the wireless network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 36 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the requested communication service is provided by an Application Function (AF) of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the requested communication service is provided by an Application Function (AF) of the wireless communication network (¶0067, requested service is provided by AF of network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 38 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT does not explicitly teach obtaining information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMTVA service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches obtaining information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service (¶0054 and ¶0059, receiving information that UE is authorized to use AKMA service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 39 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT does not explicitly teach obtaining AKMA service availability information indicating whether the AF can provide the AKMA service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches obtaining AKMA service availability information indicating whether the AF can provide the AKMA service (¶0082, receiving AKMA service capability information indicating that the AF support AKMA service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 41 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the information includes an address associated with the AF that can provide the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the information includes an address associated with the AF that can provide the AKMA service and the requested communication service (¶0077-78, information includes identifier/address associated with the AF that provide AKMA service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 43 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the information includes an address associated with the AF that can provide the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the information includes an address associated with the AF that can provide the AKMA service and the requested communication service (¶0077-78, information includes identifier/address associated with the AF that provide AKMA service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 46, CATT teaches a communication device (section 6.1, UE), comprising: processing circuitry and memory collectively configured to cause the communication device to perform operations comprising: communicating a request to use a communication service provided by the wireless communication network (section 6.1, receiving registration request to use communication service), the request including an indication that the communication device can support the requested communication service and an Authentication and Key Management for Applications (AKMA) service provided by the wireless communication network (section 6.1, registration request including a message/indication that the UE can support AKMA service provided by the 5G core network).
However, CATT does not explicitly teach responsive to communicating the request, receiving a communication comprising information that indicates whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches responsive to communicating the request, receiving a communication comprising information that indicates whether the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network (¶0067, ¶0070 and ¶0073, based on the request receiving information that indicating the service mode supported by the UE and the AKMA service is provided to the UE and for the UE to initiate a connection establishment procedure to the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 47 as applied to claim 46 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein communicating the request comprises communicating the request towards a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network, and wherein receiving the communication comprising the information comprises receiving the information comprising the information from the PCF network node.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein communicating the request comprises communicating the request towards a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network, and wherein receiving the communication comprising the information comprises receiving the information comprising the information from the PCF network node (¶0065, receiving information from the PCF network node of the wireless network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 48 as applied to claim 46 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the requested communication service is provided by an Application Function (AF) of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the requested communication service is provided by an Application Function (AF) of the wireless communication network (¶0067, requested service is provided by AF of network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 50 as applied to claim 46 above, CATT does not explicitly teach establishing the secure connection with the AF using the AKMA service to use the requested communication service from the AF based on an address of the AF included in the communication and the information indicating that the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches establishing the secure connection with the AF using the AKMA service to use the requested communication service from the AF based on an address of the AF included in the communication and the information indicating that the requested communication service and the AKMA service can be provided to the communication device to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network (¶0067 and ¶0077-78, communication with UE capability information that that the service mode supported by the UE and the AKMA service is provided to the UE to initiate a connection establishment procedure to the network and to use the requested communication service from the AF based on an identifier or address of the AF included in the communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 52 as applied to claim 46 above, CATT does not explicitly teach establishing the secure connection with the AF to receive the requested communication service from the AF based on an address of the AF included in the communication and the information indicating that the requested communication service can be provided to the communication device without the communication device utilizing the AKMA service to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches establishing the secure connection with the AF to receive the requested communication service from the AF based on an address of the AF included in the communication and the information indicating that the requested communication service can be provided to the communication device without the communication device utilizing the AKMA service to establish the secure connection in the wireless communication network (¶0066 and ¶0077-78, initiate a connection establishment procedure with the AF to receive requested services based on the identifier or address of AF included in the information and the UE without the UE using the AKMA service to establish a communication connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 53, CATT teaches a network node (section 6.1, AUSF (i.e. network node )) comprising: processing circuitry and memory collectively configured to cause the network node to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a core network node, a request for AKMA service availability information indicating whether the network node can provide an AKMA service to establish a secure connection for a requested communication service between a communication device operating in the wireless communication network and the network node (section 6.1, receiving registration request to use communication service from the 5G core network for AKMA service capability information to start or establish a secure connection for a communication between the UE operating in the wireless communication network and the 5G core network).
However, CATT does not explicitly teach communicating, to the core network node, the AKMA service availability information indicating whether the network node can provide the AKMA service to establish the secure connection for the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches communicating, to the core network node, the AKMA service availability information indicating whether the network node can provide the AKMA service to establish the secure connection for the requested communication service (¶0067 and ¶0070, communication with UE capability information that that the service mode supported by the UE and the AKMA service is provided to the UE to initiate a connection establishment procedure to the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 54 as applied to claim 53 above, CATT does not explicitly teach wherein the network node comprises a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the network node comprises a Policy Control Function (PCF) network node of the wireless communication network (¶0065, PCF network node of the wireless network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
As per claim 57 as applied to claim 53 above, CATT does not explicitly teach providing the requested communication to the communication device without utilizing the AKMA service.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches providing the requested communication to the communication device without utilizing the AKMA service (¶0066 and ¶0077-78, providing the requested service to the UE without the UE using the AKMA service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of WU into invention of CATT in order to initiate a correct procedure to establish a communication connection to an application function AF to obtain a business service.
B) Claims 4, 16, 22, 37, 49, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT in view of WU (US 2023/0024999 A1) and further in view of Pragada (US 2013/0288668 A1).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF.
In the same field of endeavor, Pragada teaches wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF (¶0102, proximity service(s) request provided by the AF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Pragada into invention of CATT and WU in order for supporting proximity discovery procedures to exchange or share application-related data or other events.
As per claim 16 as applied to claim 13 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF.
In the same field of endeavor, Pragada teaches wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF (¶0102, proximity service(s) request provided by the AF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Pragada into invention of CATT and WU in order for supporting proximity discovery procedures to exchange or share application-related data or other events.
As per claim 22 as applied to claim 20 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF.
In the same field of endeavor, Pragada teaches wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF (¶0102, proximity service(s) request provided by the AF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Pragada into invention of CATT and WU in order for supporting proximity discovery procedures to exchange or share application-related data or other events.
As per claim 37 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF.
In the same field of endeavor, Pragada teaches wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF (¶0102, proximity service(s) request provided by the AF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Pragada into invention of CATT and WU in order for supporting proximity discovery procedures to exchange or share application-related data or other events.
As per claim 49 as applied to claim 46 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF.
In the same field of endeavor, Pragada teaches wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF (¶0102, proximity service(s) request provided by the AF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Pragada into invention of CATT and WU in order for supporting proximity discovery procedures to exchange or share application-related data or other events.
As per claim 55 as applied to claim 53 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF.
In the same field of endeavor, Pragada teaches wherein the requested communication service comprises Proximity Services (ProSe) provided by the AF (¶0102, proximity service(s) request provided by the AF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Pragada into invention of CATT and WU in order for supporting proximity discovery procedures to exchange or share application-related data or other events.
C) Claims 7, 9, 11, 12, 40, 42, 44, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT in view of WU (US 2023/0024999 A1) and further in view of LEE (US 2020/0359218 A1).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach determining the AF can provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information; determining the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service; and wherein communicating the information comprises: communicating, towards the communication device, information indicating that the communication device is permitted to use the AKMA service with the AF to establish the secure connection to receive the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE teaches determining the AF can provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining that AF can provide AKMA service based on information indicating that the AKMA is available may be derived); determining the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining that the UE is authorized to use the AKMA service(s) based on information indicating that UE is authorize to use the AKMA service); and wherein communicating the information comprises: communicating, towards the communication device, information indicating that the communication device is permitted to use the AKMA service with the AF to establish the secure connection to receive the requested communication service (¶0172 and ¶0097, the UE receive from the AF a response message including information on the edge application permitted according to at least one of the subscriber category and the subscriber level related to the UE and to establish safely or secure connection to receive the requested communication service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LEE into invention of CATT and WU in order to provide an apparatus and a method for providing mobile edge computing (MEC) services in a wireless communication system to meet the demand for wireless data traffic.
As per claim 9 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach, determining the AF cannot provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information; determining the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service; and wherein communicating the information comprises communicating, towards the communication device, information indicating that the communication device cannot use the AKMA service with the AF to establish the secure connection to receive the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE teaches determining the AF cannot provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining whether or not AF provide AKMA through the capability information); determining the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining that the UE is authorized to use the AKMA service(s) based on information indicating that UE is authorize to use the AKMA service); and wherein communicating the information comprises communicating, towards the communication device, information indicating that the communication device cannot use the AKMA service with the AF to establish the secure connection to receive the requested communication service (¶0172 and ¶0218-219, the UE receive from the AF a response message including information on the edge application permitted according to at least one of the subscriber category and the subscriber level related to the UE and determining whether or not to establish safely or secure connection to receive the requested communication service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LEE into invention of CATT and WU in order to provide an apparatus and a method for providing mobile edge computing (MEC) services in a wireless communication system to meet the demand for wireless data traffic.
As per claim 11 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach, determining the AF can provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information; determining the communication device is not authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service; and determining the requested communication service and the AKMA service cannot be provided to the communication device based on the information indicating the communication device is not authorized to utilize the AKMA service and the information indicating the AF providing the requested communication service supports the AKMA service.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE teaches determining the AF can provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining that AF can provide AKMA service based on information indicating that the AKMA is available may be derived); determining the communication device is not authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining that and determining whether or not the UE is authorized to use the AKMA service(s) based on information indicating that UE is authorize to use the AKMA service); and determining the requested communication service and the AKMA service cannot be provided to the communication device based on the information indicating the communication device is not authorized to utilize the AKMA service and the information indicating the AF providing the requested communication service supports the AKMA service (¶0172 and ¶0218-219, the UE receive from the AF a response message including information on the edge application permitted according to at least one of the subscriber category and the subscriber level related to the UE and determining whether or not to establish safely or secure connection to receive the requested communication service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LEE into invention of CATT and WU in order to provide an apparatus and a method for providing mobile edge computing (MEC) services in a wireless communication system to meet the demand for wireless data traffic.
As per claim 12 as applied to claim 1 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach, communicating, towards the communication device, the information that indicates the requested communication service and the AKMA service cannot be provided to the communication device, wherein the information does not include an address of the AF that can provide the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE teaches communicating, towards the communication device, the information that indicates the requested communication service and the AKMA service cannot be provided to the communication device (¶0165 and ¶0219, communication with UE the information indicating whether or not the requested communication be provided to the UE), wherein the information does not include an address of the AF that can provide the requested communication service (¶0165 and ¶0219, information does not include an appropriate credential (i.e. address) of the entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LEE into invention of CATT and WU in order to provide an apparatus and a method for providing mobile edge computing (MEC) services in a wireless communication system to meet the demand for wireless data traffic.
As per claim 40 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach determining the AF can provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information; determining the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service; and wherein communicating the information comprises: communicating, towards the communication device, information indicating that the communication device is permitted to use the AKMA service with the AF to establish the secure connection to receive the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE teaches determining the AF can provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining that AF can provide AKMA service based on information indicating that the AKMA is available may be derived); determining the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining that the UE is authorized to use the AKMA service(s) based on information indicating that UE is authorize to use the AKMA service); and wherein communicating the information comprises: communicating, towards the communication device, information indicating that the communication device is permitted to use the AKMA service with the AF to establish the secure connection to receive the requested communication service (¶0172 and ¶0097, the UE receive from the AF a response message including information on the edge application permitted according to at least one of the subscriber category and the subscriber level related to the UE and to establish safely or secure connection to receive the requested communication service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LEE into invention of CATT and WU in order to provide an apparatus and a method for providing mobile edge computing (MEC) services in a wireless communication system to meet the demand for wireless data traffic.
As per claim 42 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach, determining the AF cannot provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information; determining the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service; and wherein communicating the information comprises communicating, towards the communication device, information indicating that the communication device cannot use the AKMA service with the AF to establish the secure connection to receive the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE teaches determining the AF cannot provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining whether or not AF provide AKMA through the capability information); determining the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining that the UE is authorized to use the AKMA service(s) based on information indicating that UE is authorize to use the AKMA service); and wherein communicating the information comprises communicating, towards the communication device, information indicating that the communication device cannot use the AKMA service with the AF to establish the secure connection to receive the requested communication service (¶0172 and ¶0218-219, the UE receive from the AF a response message including information on the edge application permitted according to at least one of the subscriber category and the subscriber level related to the UE and determining whether or not to establish safely or secure connection to receive the requested communication service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LEE into invention of CATT and WU in order to provide an apparatus and a method for providing mobile edge computing (MEC) services in a wireless communication system to meet the demand for wireless data traffic.
As per claim 44 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach, determining the AF can provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information; determining the communication device is not authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service; and determining the requested communication service and the AKMA service cannot be provided to the communication device based on the information indicating the communication device is not authorized to utilize the AKMA service and the information indicating the AF providing the requested communication service supports the AKMA service.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE teaches determining the AF can provide the AKMA service based on the AKMA service availability information (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining that AF can provide AKMA service based on information indicating that the AKMA is available may be derived); determining the communication device is not authorized to utilize the AKMA service based on the information indicating whether the communication device is authorized to utilize the AKMA service (¶0172 and ¶0218, determining that and determining whether or not the UE is authorized to use the AKMA service(s) based on information indicating that UE is authorize to use the AKMA service); and determining the requested communication service and the AKMA service cannot be provided to the communication device based on the information indicating the communication device is not authorized to utilize the AKMA service and the information indicating the AF providing the requested communication service supports the AKMA service (¶0172 and ¶0218-219, the UE receive from the AF a response message including information on the edge application permitted according to at least one of the subscriber category and the subscriber level related to the UE and determining whether or not to establish safely or secure connection to receive the requested communication service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LEE into invention of CATT and WU in order to provide an apparatus and a method for providing mobile edge computing (MEC) services in a wireless communication system to meet the demand for wireless data traffic.
As per claim 45 as applied to claim 34 above, CATT in view of WU does not explicitly teach, communicating, towards the communication device, the information that indicates the requested communication service and the AKMA service cannot be provided to the communication device, wherein the information does not include an address of the AF that can provide the requested communication service.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE teaches communicating, towards the communication device, the information that indicates the requested communication service and the AKMA service cannot be provided to the communication device (¶0165 and ¶0219, communication with UE the information indicating whether or not the requested communication be provided to the UE), wherein the information does not include an address of the AF that can provide the requested communication service (¶0165 and ¶0219, information does not include an appropriate credential (i.e. address) of the entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LEE into invention of CATT and WU in order to provide an apparatus and a method for providing mobile edge computing (MEC) services in a wireless communication system to meet the demand for wireless data traffic.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 18, 23, 51, and 56 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not disclose (with respect to claim 18 by example only, as the other claims have similar limitations) the following limitations, in combination with the other limitations of the independent claims:
generating a pre-shared key (PSK) identity based on an AKMA Key Identifier (A- KID) associated with the AKMA service; communicating, towards the AF, a message comprising a pre-shared key (PSK) extension that includes the PSK identity, the A-KID, and an AKMA hint; wherein the AKMA hint indicates to the AF that the communication device supports and wants to use the AKMA service to establish the secure connection; receiving, from the AF, a communication comprising a PSK identity for the secure connection; and establishing the secure connection with the AF based on the PSK identity.
Conclusion
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643