In the amendment filed on 07/26/26, applicant has amended claim 1, cancelled claims 24-25 and added claims 39-41. The 102-rejection described in the non-final action sent 3/26/26 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment. Amended claims have been found rejectable over CN’841 in view of Telleria et al, WO 9305334A1, CN 113494174A and others.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 41 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the two groups (originally elected group 1-16 and newly added claim 41 group) are directed to distinct apparatus claims where patentability is based on different combinations of features recited in the independent claims of each group as noted above. Equally important, each of these groups can effectively function as automated coating material laying system without requiring the features of the other groups (see applicant’s specification pages 8-9 teaching different embodiments of applicant’s invention with storage tanks provided with already mixed material or with components for mixing).
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 41 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1), WO 9305334A1 and CN 113494174A.
As to claim 1, CN'841 teaches (see Fig 1, English Translation pages 1-8) an
automated coating material laying system comprising: a floor laying robot [FLR] (floor
construction robot) configured to lay a coating material on a floor, and a docking station
[DS] (robot drive chassis 1 with a feeding device 2) configured to fill the FLR with the
coating material for use by the FLR for coating the floor (see Abstract). CN’841further teaches a feeding device (tank 2, 21) storing an epoxy coating material capable of comprising constituent materials (since epoxy usually comes with two parts the base resin and the hardener). CN’841 lacks specifically teaching a floor laying robot configured to mix constituent materials of the coating material prior to laying. However, Telleria teaches (see para [0024]) coating material including sealants and an automated surface finishing robot system 100 used to mix, deliver, apply, and dry coatings on substrates. CN’174 also teaches an epoxy floor painting robot having a dynamic mixer to uniformly mix two components paint (see English Translation on pages 5-6). Additionally, WO’334 teaches (see Abstract) two components epoxy resin mixed before application (reaching the working head). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure CN’841 laying robot to mix constituent materials of the coating material prior to laying in CN’841 as modified to form an intimate, curing epoxy resin mixture as taught by WO’334 (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, CN'841 discloses (see Example 3 on page 7) the
configuration for laying a coating material includes detecting by the FLR of uneven parts
of the floor (laser transmitter assembly 4) and determining appropriate application of the
coating material to ensure a levelled out coated floor (means for detecting feedback
flatness of bottom surface 4).
As to claims 3-4, CN'841 teaches means for detecting but lacks teaching the FLR includes one or more cameras and a mapping sensor as claimed. However, Telleria et al teaches (see para [0015] and [0084-0085]) one or more cameras for providing visual data for detection of uneven parts of the floor and a mapping sensor including one or more claimed elements for performing simultaneous localization and mapping in a floor area to be coated (see also Fig 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include one or more
cameras and a mapping sensor as claimed in CN'841 to evaluate the surface before,
during and after the task as taught by Telleria et al (see para [0015]).
As to claims 6-7, CN'841 teaches a coating application assembly (CAA) for
distributing and spreading the coating material (see Fig 7 and English translation page 6
and claim 1 for roller assembly 52), wherein the CAA includes a spreader roller (roller
52) positioned such that an edge side of the spreader roller is near flush with the edge
of the FLR capable of spreading and rolling of the coating material against the edges of
the floor (see Fig 7).
As to claim 9, in CN'841 the coating materials capable of including one or more
of epoxies (see English Translation pages 1-2 for epoxies and paint materials),
urethanes, polyaspartics, methyl methacrylates (MMA), micro-topping, micro-cement,
primers, sealers, decorative overlays, cement screeds, paint, vinyl esters, and polymer
floor coatings (Telleria et al also teaches sealant, primer, paint, cement and polymer,
see para {0069], [0074], [0132] and [0146], in any event no structure is added by
claiming the material worked upon).
Regarding claim 10, CN'841 teaches (see Fig 7) an attachment mount (bracket
51) for attached tools (roller 52).
As to claim 14, in CN'841 DS (robot drive chassis 1 with a feeding device 2) is
configured to determine a coating route to be followed by the FLR to lay a coating material on the floor in an area (see Abstract and English translation pages 4-5, for epoxy floor driving, path planning, navigation, coordination control, power supply and
distribution function).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN
111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1), WO 9305334A1 and CN 113494174A as applied to claim 4 and further in view of Zhao et al (US 2011/0222754A1) and Nielsen et al (US 2011/0117272A1).
CN’841 as modified lacks teaching the claimed types of mapping sensors. However, Telleria teaches of mapping sensor including one or more of a LIDAR sensor, laser scanner, laser range finder, RADAR, 3D camera, time of flight sensor, scattered light sensor, 2D camera, optical beacons, laser positioning systems, theodolites, GPS, Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) sensor, and optical flow sensor (see para [0015], [0055], [0084-0085], [0127]). Zhao et al teaches inspection system including ultrasound scanning machine (see para [0018]). Nielsen et al also teaches (see para [0024] and [0145]) sensors and transmitter with an ultra-wide band (UWB) and radio signals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include one of the claimed types of mapping sensors in CN'841 because the use of these sensors is commonly known in the art in scanning a surface as taught by Telleria et al, Zhao et al or Nielsen et al.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN
111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1), WO 9305334A1 and CN 113494174A as applied to claim 1 and further in view of GB 2514405A.
CN'841 as modified teaches wheels (rollers 52) but lacks teaching spikes. GB'405 teaches (see Fig 1) a robot spraying device including wheels and the wheels include spikes (16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include spikes on the rollers of CN'841 to improve traction and allow the wheels/rollers to overcome obstacles that might be encountered (see page 8).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN
111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1), WO 9305334A1 and CN 113494174A as applied to claim 10 and further in view of GB 2514405A and Dahlstrom (US 2020/0002000A1).
CN'841 teaches the use of trowel and UV (see English Translation pages 1-2), and attached tools including a roller (52, see Fig 7), but lacks teaching a spike roller, squeegee, a polisher, a concrete helicopter and vacuum cleaner. Telleria et all teaches tools include one or more of: a roller, squeegee, plastering trowel, magic trowel and a vacuum cleaner (see para [0063] and [00148]. Dahlstrom teaches a roller, a squeegee concrete helicopter (aerial operation system, see para [0016] and [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include tools including squeegee, a polisher, a concrete helicopter and vacuum cleaner in CN'841to affect the surface in different ways as taught by Telleria et al (see para [0063]). With respect to the spike roller, GB'405 teaches (see Fig 1) a robot spraying device including wheels and the wheels include spikes (16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include spikes on the rollers of CN'841 to improve traction and allow the wheels/rollers to overcome obstacles that might be encountered (see page 8).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN
111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1), WO 9305334A1 and CN 113494174A as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Dahlstrom (US 2020/0002000A1) and Eidmohammadi et al (US 2015/0297052).
CN'841as modified teaches coating material filling tank (2, 21, Figs 1 and 4), but lacks teaching a refill the FLR with coating materials and a charging robot configured to
charge or recharge the FLR or to continuously charge or recharge the FLR while
performing floor coating. Dahlstrom teaches (see Fig 1) a technique filling or emptying
the on-board reservoir by portions of a base station (124). It would have been obvious
to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention
to refill the coating tank in CN'841 to supply the coating material as needed. With
respect to charging/recharging the FLR, Eidmohammadi et al teaches charging and
recharging of the FLR (cleaning robot) with rechargeable batteries (see para [0008] and
[0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to continuously charge/recharge while the
FLR is performing floor coating in CN'841 to continuously supply power or supply the
power as needed.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1), WO 9305334A1 and CN 113494174A as applied to claim 14 and further in view of Dahlstrom (US 2020/0002000A1).
As to claim 15, CN'841 lacks teaching DS configured to determine amounts of coating material required to be filled, the area to start the coating process, a coating route for coating around an obstacle and leveling out gradients or correcting irregular surfaces, and/or the speed of the FLR in each part of the coating route. Telleria et al teaches DS (automated surface finishing system 100 with a robot) configured to determine one or more of the coating materials and amounts of coating materials required to be filled into the FLRs, where in the area to start the coating process, when to refill the coating material in the FLR, a coating route for coating around an obstacle, the end point of the coating process, the number of FLRs required, where additional coating materials are needed for leveling out gradients or correcting irregular surfaces, and/or the speed of the FLR in each part of the coating route (see para [0070] and [0076] for the surface evaluation measurements made by a surface evaluation system 1000 before and after a finishing step to evaluate and tune the finishing parameters and setting path parameters such as feed speed, thickness of coating applied). Dahlstrom also teaches (see para [0042]) command and control system controlling the action of configured to determine one or more of: the coating materials and amounts of coating materials required to be
filled into the FLRs, where in the area to start the coating process, when to refill the
coating material in the FLR, a coating route for coating around an obstacle, the end
point of the coating process, the number of FLRs required, where additional coating
materials are needed for leveling out gradients or correcting irregular surfaces, and/or
the speed of the FLR in each part of the coating route (command and control system
may cause aerial vehicle 100 to repaint such deficient areas). It would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to determine amounts of coating material required to be filled, the area to start
the coating process, a coating route for coating around an obstacle and level out
gradients or correcting irregular surfaces, and/or the speed of the FLR in each part of
the coating route in CN'481 to ensure that the finished surface has a uniform
appearance as taught by Dahlstrom (see para [0007]).
Regarding claim 16, CN'841 teaches (see English Translation on page 2) painting process generally using the paint coating or trowel or roller for rolling on the ground, in the coating slurry is the slurry scraper for reverse scraping on the ground surface painting process typically used to finish reverse roller for rolling on the ground, but lacks teaching the coating route includes traversing an area by the FLR while laying the coating material, interspersed with a reverse traversal during which no coating material is laid. However, Dahlstrom teaches (see para [0042]) passing over the area with another spray for optimal paint application and coverage and adjust the paint flow or paint pressure or require the aerial vehicle 100 to complete an additional "pass" over the area with another spray for optimal paint application and coverage. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to intersperse with a reverse traversal during which no coating material is laid, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of an effective variable result involves only routine skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the FLR along the coating route including traversing an area by the FLR while laying the coating material, interspersing with a reverse traversal during which no coating material is laid as desired in CN’841 in order to paint the specified surface of the substrate for optimal paint application and coverage as taught by Dahlstrom (see para [0042]).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN
111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1), WO 9305334A1 and CN 113494174A as applied to claim 1 and further in view of JP-2018122225A.
CN’841 as modified lacks teaching two or more storage tanks configured to store the constituent materials of the coating material. However, two components type coating device provided with two storage tanks is known in the art, as taught by JP’225 (see tanks 8 and 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include two or more storage tanks configured to store the constituent materials of the coating material in CN’841 to supply the two-components coating material to the spraying assembly.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN
111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1), WO 9305334A1 and CN 113494174A as applied to claim 1 and further in view of JP2013107809.
The system disclosed by CN’841 as modified capable of laying plurality of layers including alternating coating material layers and painting material layers (since material applied does not add to the claimed system. In any event, JP’809 teaches floor surface coating application method applying layers of coating of epoxy-two component mixed type (see English Translation on pages 14-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply layers of coating material as claimed to improve wear resistance as explained by JP’809 (see English translation on page 1).
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/