DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract is objected to because, at 173 words, it is longer than the 150 words allowed.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitations are interpreted under 112(f).
Claim 26 limitation “rectangular annular cross-sectional shape” is interpreted according to the specification at ¶33.
In claim 15, “the suction ports” are interpreted as being of the plurality of suction ports. The blowing ports are positioned adjacent to the suction ports individually rather than collectively. Thus, “the suction ports” makes more sense here than “the plurality of suction ports.” This claim could be amended to read “the suction ports of the plurality of suction ports,” but this is considered unnecessary because the relationship is clear from the claim as written.
The temperatures in the claims are interpreted as being in degrees Celsius consistent with the requirements for international patent applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 23 limitation “draw the gas along an axial direction, from a side on which the motor is positioned” introduces indefiniteness. First, there is no reference for the axial direction. It appears that the axial direction of the fan is intended. Also, “draw…from a side on which the motor is positioned” is unclear because it is not clear which direction the gas is moving.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the heater heats the gas.” According to MPEP 2173.05(p), “A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).” For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted as and may be corrected to –the heater is configured to heat the gas--.
Claim 25 limitations “bow chamber” and “suction chamber” lack antecedent basis. These elements are introduced in claim 13, but claim 25 depends from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, 15, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuoka (JP 2002198642).
[AltContent: textbox (fan)]
Regarding claim 11, Matsuoka (JP 2002198642) discloses:
A soldering device -(¶1) for performing soldering, the soldering device comprising a blower unit for supplying gas to an object, wherein the blower unit includes:
a first plate (hot air blowing recovery plate 8, see Fig 4, ¶13) in which a plurality of suction ports (hot air blowing recovery double ports 9) for drawing of the gas outside the blower unit are formed;
a second plate (bottom portion of hot air supply zone 10) that has a plate surface facing the plurality of suction ports;
a plurality of nozzles (hot-air supply passage 11, ¶13); and
a fan (see annotated Fig 4 above) for supplying the gas drawn through the plurality of suction ports to the plurality of nozzles,
a flow path through which the gas flows and which extends from the plurality of suction ports to go through the fan and to reach the plurality of nozzles is formed in the blower unit (see arrows indicating flow in Fig 4),
the flow path is partly positioned at least in four positions that are at 90-degree intervals centered on a point within the second plate in directions in which the plate surface extends (see Fig 1b, the hot air blowing recovery plate 8 of Fig 4 is understood to be similar to the embodiment of Fig 1b as described in ¶23. The array of holes includes nozzles and suction ports, which are part of the claimed flow path. The nozzles and suction ports are in at least four positions that are at 90-degree intervals.) the blower unit further includes:
a heater (rod-shaped heater 7, ¶13) for heating the gas;
a motor (of hot air circulator 4, ¶13); and
a rotation shaft (shown in Fig 4, connecting the fan and the motor 4) for transmitting rotation from the motor to the fan, and the heater is positioned between the motor and the fan.
Regarding claim 12, Matsuoka discloses:
the blower unit has an outer case (outer case of heating chamber 1 as shown in Fig 4) including the first plate (8) and a part of the flow path is formed to go through an opening that is either formed between a peripheral end part of the second plate (the flow path from 12 to 13 passes between second plate, which is a portion of 10, and the outer case 1) and the outer case or formed in the second plate.
Regarding claim 15, Matsuoka discloses:
the plurality of nozzles have blowing ports for spouting the gas to an outside of the blower unit, and
the blowing ports are positioned adjacent to the suction ports (see arrows indicating bidirectional flow all along 8 in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 23, Matsuoka discloses:
the fan is configured to draw the gas along an axial direction, from a side on which the motor is positioned (see arrows indicating flow in Fig 4, the air flow from the motor side at the top across the fan and downward).
Regarding claim 24, Matsuoka discloses:
the heater heats the gas to be equal to or higher than 220 degrees (¶4, ¶8).
Regarding claim 25, Matsuoka discloses:
the blow chamber (10) houses the fan (see annotated Fig 4) , and the suction chamber (at 13) houses the heater (7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka (JP 2002198642) in view of Sawabe (JP 2001144426).
Regarding claim 13, Matsuoka discloses:
the blower unit further includes an inner case main body (upper part of 10) that has a wall (top of 10) facing the second plate (bottom of 10), the inner case main body and the second plate define a blow chamber (interior of 10) surrounded by the inner case main body and the second plate,
the outer case (1), the inner case main body (upper part of 10), and the second plate (bottom of 10) define a suction chamber (12 to 13) surrounded by the outer case (1), the inner case main body (upper part of 10), and the second plate (bottom of 10),
a gas intake port for allowing communication between the blow chamber and the suction chamber is formed in the wall (the top of 10 has an opening in the center to allow air to flow into the fan),
the plurality of nozzles have supply ports through which the gas in the blow chamber is supplied (see arrows indicating flow in Fig 4, ¶15),
within the suction chamber, a first flow path being a part of the flow path is formed to extend from the plurality of suction ports to the gas intake port (along 12, 13, see arrows in Fig 4 indicating flow), and
Matsuoka does not disclose:
on a cross-sectional plane parallel to the second plate, the first flow path is positioned to surround the blow chamber.
Sawabe teaches:
A reflow oven wherein “the reflux passage 20 is formed not only on both side end portions of the printed wiring board 6 but also between the adjacent heating chambers 1. This is provided in order to reduce the hot air that tends to leak to the adjacent heating chambers 1, so that the interference of the heating temperature between the heating chambers 1 can be reduced.” Figs 2 and 3 of are a front and side view, and show return passage 20 formed between an inner chamber and an outer casing and fully surrounding the inner chamber.
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reflow oven of Matsuoka by modifying the return passage, i.e., the first flow path, to fully surround the blow chamber to obtain the benefit of reducing leakage and temperature interference between adjacent blower units.
Regarding claim 14, Matsuoka as modified by the surrounding return flow path of Sawabe teaches:
within the blow chamber (with continued reference to Matsuoka, except as noted: 10), a second flow path being a part of the flow path is formed to extend from the gas intake port to the plurality of nozzles (see arrows indicating flow in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 26, Matsuoka modified by the surrounding return flow path of Sawabe for the same reasons and in the same way as described above with reference to claim 14 teaches:
two blower units each being the blower unit and being arranged side by side along a transport direction of the object (Matsuoka ¶28, Sawabe Fig 1), the two blower units being adjacent to each other, wherein the opening has a rectangular annular cross-sectional shape (as taught by Sawabe passage 20 in Figs 2 and 3, Sawabe ¶43), and has two first sections positioned front and back in the transport direction (see 20 in Sawabe Fig 2) and two second sections positioned left and right in the transport direction (see 20 in Sawabe Fig 3), and
a dimension of a width of each of the first sections extending in the transport direction (width of 20 in Sawabe Fig 2) is smaller than a dimension of a width of each of the second sections extending in a direction orthogonal to the transport direction (width of 20 in Sawabe Fig 3).
It is noted that Sawabe includes heater 10 in the sections of 20 left and right of the transport direction. Matsuoka does not have a heater at this position. It does not appear that this increased width is due solely to the presence of the heater. Specifically, the primary return flow path for the hot air in Sawabe flows toward the left and right sides as shown in Fig 3.Thus, the heater is there because it is the primary return flow path, and the width is wider because it is the primary return flow path. Sawabe teaches a supplementary return flow path in the front and back in the transport direction to reduce leakage between blower units and teaches that the main flow path is at the left and right sides. Thus, in the combination, the left and right sides have a larger width because they are the primary return flow path.
Claims 11, 12, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiyama (US 20150382482) in view of Kinoshita (JP 2003069211).
Regarding claim 11, Hiyama discloses:
A soldering device for performing soldering (¶16), the soldering device comprising a blower unit for supplying gas to an object, wherein the blower unit includes:
a first plate (nozzle cover 3, see Figs 10 and 12) in which a plurality of suction ports (3b, 3c, 3d, 3e, see Fig 10, ¶65-¶67) for drawing of the gas outside the blower unit are formed;
a second plate (4) that has a plate surface facing the plurality of suction ports;
a plurality of nozzles (2); and
a fan (55, see Fig 12, ¶144) for supplying the gas drawn through the plurality of suction ports to the plurality of nozzles (see arrows indicating flow in Fig 12),
a flow path (see arrows in Fig 12) through which the gas flows and which extends from the plurality of suction ports (arrows pointing up into holes in nozzle cover 3) to go through the fan (55) and to reach the plurality of nozzles (arrows out through nozzles 2) is formed in the blower unit,
the flow path is partly positioned at least in four positions that are at 90-degree intervals centered on a point within the second plate in directions in which the plate surface extends (Note that the flow path as claimed extends from the suction ports to the nozzles. Fig 10 shows both suction ports 3b, 3c, 3d, 3e and nozzles 2 in holes 3a in all four quadrants of the nozzle device 100. The flow path does penetrate the second plate in all four quadrants at the nozzles. However, the point within the plate and the surface of the plate are merely claimed as references for the direction and orientation. Penetrating the plane of the plate is not required to meet the claim. Thus, the inlet side flow path which flows along the second plate in all four quadrants also meets the limitation.), the blower unit further includes:
a heater (heat source 57, ¶145) for heating the gas;
a motor (motor 56, ¶144, ¶150); and
a rotation shaft (as shown in Fig 12, connecting motor 56 and fan 55) for transmitting rotation from the motor to the fan…
Hiyama does not disclose:
the heater is positioned between the motor and the fan.
Kinoshita teaches a heater 14 in a passage between a motor 20 and a fan 12. The heater is in the inlet passageway, and the fan is in a blowing chamber defined by 17.
It is obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(B). The MPEP states the prior art must: (1) teach a device (method) which differs from the claimed device (method) by the substitution of some component or step with another component (step), (2) teach that the substituted components and their functions were known, and (3) show that one of ordinary skill could have substituted one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(B).
In this case, Hiyama teaches a reflow oven that differs from the claimed reflow oven because the heater is not between the fan motor and the fan. The heater under the fan of Hiyama and the heater between the fan and motor of Kinoshita both perform the function of heating the air. One of ordinary skill could have replaced the heater below the fan of Hiyama with the heater between the fan and motor of Kinoshita to achieve predictable results because both references deal with heaters that function in the same manner in the environment of a reflow oven.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reflow oven of Hiyama by replacing the heater below the fan with a heater between the fan and motor because the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art
Regarding claim 12, Hiyama as modified by the heater position of Kinoshita teaches:
the blower unit has an outer case (outer case as shown in Fig 12, including 3, and outer case of 51, 52, and 53) including the first plate (nozzle cover 3) and a part of the flow path is formed to go through an opening that is either formed between a peripheral end part of the second plate and the outer case or formed in the second plate (intake port 4c is formed in second plate 4, see Fig 10).
Regarding claim 15, Hiyama as modified by the heater position of Kinoshita teaches:
the plurality of nozzles (2, ¶54) have blowing ports (3a) for spouting the gas to an outside of the blower unit (see arrows indicating flow in Fig 12), and
the blowing ports (3a, ¶65) are positioned adjacent to the suction ports (3b, 3c, 3d, 3e, see Fig 9A).
Regarding claim 24, Hiyama as modified by the heater position of Kinoshita teaches:
the heater heats the gas to be equal to or higher than 220 degrees (¶138).
Regarding claim 27, Hiyama as modified by the heater position of Kinoshita teaches:
among the plurality of suction ports, cross-sectional areas of suction ports positioned farther from the opening are larger than cross-sectional areas of suction ports positioned closer to the opening (see Fig 9a, ¶66).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sawabe (JP 2001144426)
Regarding claim 11, Sawabe discloses:
A soldering device (¶1) for performing soldering, the soldering device comprising a blower unit for supplying gas to an object, wherein the blower unit includes:
a first plate (suction portion 26 as shown in Figs 4-5) in which a plurality of suction ports (11) for drawing of the gas outside the blower unit are formed;
a second plate (bottom of rectifying blade 15, see Fig 4) that has a plate surface facing the plurality of suction ports;
a plurality of nozzles (“jet holes 9”); and
a fan (centrifugal fan 13, ¶37) for supplying the gas drawn through the plurality of suction ports to the plurality of nozzles (¶38),
a flow path through which the gas flows and which extends from the plurality of suction ports to go through the fan and to reach the plurality of nozzles is formed in the blower unit (see Figs 2 and 3),
the flow path is partly positioned at least in four positions that are at 90-degree intervals centered on a point within the second plate in directions in which the plate surface extends (according to ¶34, Fig “2 is a vertical sectional view of the heating chamber, and FIG. 3 is a horizontal sectional view of the heating chamber.“ That is, they are orthogonal to each other, i.e. one is a front view and one is a side view. Figs 2 and 3 both show inlet flow E moving along the edges from the workpiece to the fan. Flow E travels along the left, right, front, and back of the blower unit. ¶43: “the reflux passage 20 is formed not only on both side end portions of the printed wiring board 6 but also between the adjacent heating chambers 1”) , the blower unit further includes:
a heater (10, ¶52) for heating the gas;
a motor (12, ¶37); and
a rotation shaft (12a) for transmitting rotation from the motor to the fan…
Sawabe does not disclose:
the heater is positioned between the motor and the fan.
Sawabe discloses the possibility of using multiple heaters (¶53) including one in the suction return path and one adjacent the workpiece.
Kinoshita (JP 2003069211 A) teaches a heater 14 in a passage between a motor 20 and a fan 12. The heater is in the inlet passageway, and the fan is in a blowing chamber defined by 17.
It is obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(B). The MPEP states the prior art must: (1) teach a device (method) which differs from the claimed device (method) by the substitution of some component or step with another component (step), (2) teach that the substituted components and their functions were known, and (3) show that one of ordinary skill could have substituted one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(B).
In this case, Sawabe teaches a reflow oven that differs from the claimed reflow oven because the heater is not between the fan motor and the fan. The heater in the suction return path of Sawabe and the heater between the fan and motor of Kinoshita both perform the function of heating the air. One of ordinary skill could have replaced the heater in the suction return path of Sawabe with the heater between the fan and motor of Kinoshita to achieve predictable results because both references deal with heaters that function in the same manner in the environment of a reflow oven.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reflow oven of Sawabe by replacing the heater in the suction return path with heater between the motor and fan because the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art
Dautenhahn (US 2015/0216092) discloses gas intake on 4 sides (see arrows A in Figs 6 and 7), and gas outlet at an array of holes on plate 36 but lack inlets on plate 36.
Conclusion
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761