Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends the rejection does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
Here applicant contends there is a mischaracterization of what Luo disclose. More specifically, applicant suggests Luo’s disclosure relates to how measurement results from multiple Aps sharing the same PCI are processed, not to choosing between different PCIs as recited.
Here, the measurement result corresponds to the PCI [0019]. Specifically, a selected measurement result corresponds to a PCI. So, selecting of acceptable measurement results corresponds to selection of a particular PCI.
Examiner has further clarified Luo EP 2911436 B1 to disclose a method in a wireless device configured with multiple Physical Cell Identities (PCls) for a mobility procedure (see physical cell identifier, [0011]), wherein the wireless device is configured with one or more cells operating in a same serving frequency, each cell associated with one or more PCls (see LUO on par. [0011]: "a user equipment (UE, User Equipment) performs signal measurement according to different physical cell identifiers (PC/, Physical Cell Identifier) that are of a serving cell and a neighboring cell of the serving cell, and cell-specific reference signals (see claim 2 of Luo, CRS, Cell-specific reference signals) separately corresponding to these different PC/s"), the method comprising:
selecting a PCI among the multiple PCls (see LUO on par. [0014]: "the UE selects a maximum value from a set consisting of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PC/; or the UE selects a weighted sum of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PC/; or the UE selects a mathematical expectation of a set consisting of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PCI', regarding PCI);
determining cell measurement (see [0011] determining, by the user equipment, regarding measurement result) results based on cell measurements performed on the selected PCI (see LUO on par. [0014]: "the UE selects a maximum value from a set consisting of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PC/; or the UE selects a weighted sum of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PC/; or the UE selects a mathematical expectation of a set consisting of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PC/"), wherein the cell measurements represent measurements of a serving cell (see LUO on see par. [0015]: "the PC/ is a PC/ of a serving cell'); and
determining whether or not to trigger an event for measurement reporting, based on the cell measurement results (see LUO on par. [0003]: "the UE can neither make a measurement event decision according to a signal measurement result of each one of the multiple APs of the same PC/, nor report the signal measurement result to the base station for implementation of a cell handover for the UE'').
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 33, 36 & 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo EP 2911436 B1 (from information disclosure statement).
In regards to claim 1, Luo discloses a method in a wireless device configured with multiple Physical Cell Identities (PCls) for a mobility procedure (see physical cell identifier, [0011]), wherein the wireless device is configured with one or more cells operating in a same serving frequency, each cell associated with one or more PCls (see LUO on par. [0011]: "a user equipment (UE, User Equipment) performs signal measurement according to different physical cell identifiers (PC/, Physical Cell Identifier) that are of a serving cell and a neighboring cell of the serving cell, and cell-specific reference signals (see claim 2 of Luo, CRS, Cell-specific reference signals) separately corresponding to these different PC/s"), the method comprising:
selecting a PCI among the multiple PCls (see LUO on par. [0014]: "the UE selects a maximum value from a set consisting of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PC/; or the UE selects a weighted sum of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PC/; or the UE selects a mathematical expectation of a set consisting of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PCI', regarding PCI);
determining cell measurement (see [0011] determining, by the user equipment, regarding measurement result) results based on cell measurements performed on the selected PCI (see LUO on par. [0014]: "the UE selects a maximum value from a set consisting of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PC/; or the UE selects a weighted sum of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PC/; or the UE selects a mathematical expectation of a set consisting of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PC/"), wherein the cell measurements represent measurements of a serving cell (see LUO on see par. [0015]: "the PC/ is a PC/ of a serving cell'); and
determining whether or not to trigger an event for measurement reporting, based on the cell measurement results (see LUO on par. [0003]: "the UE can neither make a measurement event decision according to a signal measurement result of each one of the multiple APs of the same PC/, nor report the signal measurement result to the base station for implementation of a cell handover for the UE'').
Regarding claims 33 and 48, Luo discloses the method in a network node and a wireless device comprising a communication interface, the method and wireless device comprising: - sending a configuration to a wireless device for configuring the wireless device (see [0006], “receives, from a base station, measurement configuration”) with multiple Physical Cell Identities (PCIs) for a mobility procedure (see [0043], “Further, if the serving cell and the neighboring cell have different PCIs”), wherein the wireless device is configured with one or more cells operating in a same serving frequency (see [0020] the PCI is a PCI of a serving cell, or the PCI is a PCI of a neighboring cell of a serving cell), each cell being associated with one or more PCIs (see [0015], “the PCI is a PCI of a serving cell, or the PCI is a PCI of a neighboring cell of a serving cell.”); and - receiving a report including cell measurements performed based on a PCI selected among the multiple PCIs, wherein the cell measurements represent measurements of a serving cell (see [0043], “ Further, if the serving cell and the neighboring cell have different PCIs, the UE may obtain a first measurement result and second measurement result of multiple APs of the serving cell, and may also obtain a first measurement result and second measurement result of multiple APs of the neighboring cell.”).
Regarding claims 4 and 36, Luo discloses the method of claim 1 and 33, wherein selecting the PCI comprises selecting a PCI of a cell with which the wireless device transitioned to a connected state and/or a cell to which the wireless device is handed over (see handover [0011]) and/or a cell for which the wireless device receives the configuration for the mobility procedure (see configuration [0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Luo discloses the method of calim 1, wherein performing the cell measurements based on the selected PCI comprises performing cell measurements based on the second PCI (see [0019], “to select a mathematical expectation from a set consisting of the first measurement results of all APs in the multiple APs as the second measurement result corresponding to the PCI”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo EP 2911436 B1.
Regarding claim 2 and 34, Luo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the mobility procedure is at least one of a change and activation (cell handover decision [0011]) of a cell or a PCI by the wireless device
Luo does not specifically disclose however Liang discloses upon receipt of at least one of Layer 1 (L1) signaling and Layer 2 (L2) signaling (see layer 1 and layer 2, see DCI of physical layer, i.e. layer 1 and MAC is RRC/MAC layer which is layer 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Liang with that of Luo. Doing so would conform to notoriously well-known standards of the OSI reference models.
Regarding claim 3 and 35, Luo discloses the method of claim 2.
However Luo does not specifically disclose what Liang discloses wherein the L1 signaling comprises a downlink Control information (DCI) and the L2 signaling comprises a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (see layer 1 and layer 2, see DCI of physical layer, i.e. layer 1 and MAC is RRC/MAC layer which is layer 2);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Liang with that of Luo. Doing so would conform to notoriously well-known standards of the OSI reference models.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-6, 9-14 and 37-38 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643