DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is responsive to the RCE filed on 05/05/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-12, 14-16, 18-21, 24, 26 and 28 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 14, 24, 26 and dependent claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-12, 15-16, 18-21 to include new/old limitations in a form not previously presented necessitating new search and considerations. Claims 4, 7, 13, 17, 22-23, 25 and 27 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or joint inventor regards as the invention.
The following terms lack proper antecedent basis:
-- the first network node -- in claim 3 line 5, claim 12 line 4, claim 14 line 3.
-- the second network node -- in claim 14 line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10,12, 14-16, 20, 24, 26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jalai et al. (US 2019/0188043 A1, hereafter Jalai) in view of Foreman et al. (US 2021/0157655 A1, hereafter Foreman), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2012/0163321 A1, hereafter Lee).
Jalai and Foreman were cited in the last office action.
As per claim 1, Jalai teaches the invention substantially as claimed including a method performed at a radio access network (RAN) node, comprising ([0006] first network node [0023] network node 110 i.e. requester node [0019] radio nodes [0020] network, access point such as cellular tower):
the RAN node, to dispatch a task to another network node ([0002] offloading, node offloads its task to nearby node [0006] method for allocating tasks within a moving multi-hop mesh network, sending a bid request form a first network node to two or more other network nodes for computing tasks, in response, receiving a bid from at least two of the two or more other network nodes for computing the task, comparing the total task completion time, generate a winning bid, allocating the task to the winning bid [0023] network node 110 i.e. requester node [0019] radio nodes [0020] network, access point such as cellular tower), wherein the determination is based at least in part on information indicating a resource availability of the RAN node ([0025] bid requests, sent, receiving or identifying device/user and/or location information, determined, based, receiving information, obtaining information on the available resources e.g. computation and battery etc of the potential compute nodes i.e. can determine resource availability for any node in the network including itself [0023] network node 110 i.e. requester node [0019] radio nodes [0020] network, access point such as cellular tower);
transmitting, by the RAN node, to at least a second network node, a request for dispatching the task ([0006] sending bid request from first network node to two or more other network node for computing a task; fig. 1A 101 [0023] send a bid request, task can be image recognition in a photo/video sent from the requester node or doing analytics and mathematical modeling on the data [0002] offloading computation [0023] network node 110 i.e. requester node [0019] radio nodes [0020] network, access point such as cellular tower), wherein the request for dispatching the task comprises information indicating a required ([0023] bid request, computing a task, task can be an image recognition in a photo/video sent from the requester node or doing analytics and mathematical modeling on the data sent [0025] bid request, sent, information about the task, required computation, the completion time, type of application, delay sensitive or not);
receiving, by the RAN node, from the second network node, a response of accepting the task ([0006] first network node receiving a bid from at least two of the two or more other network nodes for computing the task; fig. 1A 102 [0028] requester node, received, bid, potential compute nodes [0033] [0019] radio nodes [0020] network, access point such as cellular tower) as a result of the second network node determining it can execute the task ([0028] bid is sent to the requestor node from at least two of the two or more other network nodes for computing the task, received a bid from potential compute nodes, factors to be considered in sending a bid include, computational power of the potential compute nodes relative to the requestor node and available power/battery of the potential compute nodes [0006] receiving a bid from at least two of the network nodes for computing task, time when the task will be completed [0029] fig. 1A 102 computation task will be completed [0032] potential compute nodes, compute node to complete the task [0019] radio nodes [0020] network, access point such as cellular tower);
transmitting, by the RAN node, to the second network node, at least one portion of the task ([0006] allocating a task to a winning bid; fig. 1A 105 [0023] task, sent from requester node to the other network nodes for computing [0019] radio nodes [0020] network, access point such as cellular tower); and
receiving, by the RAN node, from the second network node, a result of executing the at least one portion of the task (([0032] transfer the results or data from compute node to the requester node [0019] radio nodes [0020] network, access point such as cellular tower).
Jalai doesn’t specifically teach determining, by the node, whether to dispatch a task to another network node; request for dispatching the task; wherein the request for dispatching comprises information indicating a required transport bandwidth.
Foreman, however, teaches determining, by the network node whether to dispatch a task to another network node ([0005] determining, by first host, resource constrained, identifying, second host, to run the container, moving, container; fig. 4 nodes 105 network 115), wherein the determination is based at least in part of information indicating a resource availability of the network node ([0005] determining, by a first host, first host is resource-constrained i.e. resource, second host, to run the container, moving the container [0077] fig. 4 when a particular node e.g. node 105a hosting a container determines that it is resource-constrained from running the container);
request for dispatching task ([0005] transmitting, by the first host, a request to the second host to run the container);
wherein the request for dispatching comprises information indicating a required transport bandwidth ([0005] transmitting, by the first host, a request to the second host to run the container [0090] fig. 6 615-yes container, requires, distinct capability, container, tags [0092] transmits a request, to other host to run the container [0096] determines, resources that corresponds to the tags of the container [0023] tag, container hosting requirements, available computing resources and/or available container functions [0072] containers, tagged with one or more descriptors defined as tags, tag, contain, name: value pairs, defining the host requirement, container, host requirement including CPU, memory, network bandwidth);
second network node determining it can execute the task ([0096] fig. 7 second host, receives request to run a container 705, second host determines the availability of its own resources that correspond to the tags of the container 710 determines whether its resource constrained, comparing the availability of the resources to the amount of resource required to run the container 715 [0097] second host determines itself to be available to run the container, second host accepts the container, sending an acceptance message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jalai with the teachings of Foreman of determining by the host to identify a second host to run a container based on the container tag, resource constraints at the host, and second host determining it can execute the container based on matching tags to improve efficiency and allow determining by a node whether to dispatch a task to another node based on resource availability at the first network node, request comprising requirements of tasks, second node determining it can execute the task to the method Jalai as in the instant invention. The combination would have been obvious because applying the method of determining to dispatch a task to another node due to resource constraints at the first node, request dispatching and the container tag, second host determining it can execute the task as taught by Foreman to the method of Jalai to yield predictable results and improved efficiency.
Jalai and Foreman, in combination, do not specifically teach request for dispatching comprises information indicating a required transport bandwidth.
Lee, however, teaches request for dispatching comprises information indicating a required transport bandwidth ([0018] fig. 1 advanced mobile station AMS, wireless communication, requesting from an advanced base station ABS, bandwidth required to transmit a first PDU; [0005] AMS requests a 1502-byte uplink resource from the ABS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jalai and Foreman with the teachings of Lee of mobile station sending a request for bandwidth required to transmit PDU to improve efficiency and allow request for dispatching comprises information indicating a required transport bandwidth to the method of Jalai and Foreman as in the instant invention. The combination would have been obvious because applying the method of sending a request for bandwidth for transmitting the PDU as taught by Lee to the method of Jalai and Foreman to yield predictable results and improved efficiency.
As per claim 2, Jalai teaches wherein the task comprises a memory task ([0042] cloud computing, service, on-demand access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources e.g. memory, storage ), and the method further comprises:
transmitting
As per claim 3, Foreman teaches the method further comprising:
determining, by the RAN node, whether to dispatch the task, based on an evaluation about a memory size and/or an occupation period of a memory of the RAN node, wherein the first network node determines to dispatch the task, when at least one partition of the memory is to be overflowed ([0017] perform the identifying the another one of the plural hosts for running the container in response to determining the respective one of the plural hosts is resource-constrained from running the container [0018] resources e.g. memory [0025] bid requests, sent, receiving or identifying device/user and/or location information, determined, based, receiving information, obtaining information on the available resources e.g. computation and battery etc of the potential compute nodes i.e. can determine resource availability for any node in the network including itself [0088] threshold, each resources, such as memory usage, current level of usage, exceed the threshold).
Foreman also teaches determining, by the network node whether to dispatch the task ([0005] determining, by first host, resource constrained, identifying, second host, to run the container, moving, container; fig. 4 nodes 105 network 115), based on an evaluation about a memory size and/or an occupation period of a memory of the RAN node, wherein the first network node determines to dispatch the task, when at least one partition of the memory is to be overflowed ([0005] determining, by a first host, first host is resource-constrained i.e. resource, second host, to run the container, moving the container [0076] nodes, host requirement, tags, CPU, memory, disk, network bandwidth, [0077] fig. 4 when a particular node e.g. node 105a hosting a container determines that it is resource-constrained from running the container, based on the tags of the container [0088] threshold value for each category of host resources such as memory, usage of resource exceed the threshold).
As per claim 5, Foreman teaches wherein the first RAN node comprises a first partition of a memory for a first occupation period; and/or a second partition of a memory for a second occupation period ([0038] computing resource, pooled, serve, multiple consumers using multi-tenant model, different physical and virtual resources dynamically assigned and reassigned according to the demand [0105] time window, host resources).
As per claim 6, Jalai teaches wherein the task comprises a computation task ([0023] computing task, task, image recognition, photo/ video), and the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the RAN node, data to be processed with information about an algorithm for processing the data to the second network node, when transmitting at least one portion of the task ([0006] send data to the at least two of the two or more other network nodes for computing task [0009] send input data, computing the task [0023] task, doing analytics and mathematical modeling on the data sent from the requester node [0025] ); and
receiving, by the RAN node, a result of processing the data from the second network node, when receiving the result of executing the at least one portion of the task ([0032] transfer the results or data from compute node to the requester node [0003] receiving output data from the compute node [0006] two or more other network nodes to send the output data for the completed task to the first network node).
As per claim 10, Jalai teaches dispatching, by the RAN node, all portions of the task to the second network node; or dispatching, by the RAN node, a plurality of portions of the task to a plurality of second network nodes respectively ([0006] allocating a task to a winning bid; fig. 1A 105 [0023] task, sent from requester node to the other network nodes for computing).
As per claim 12, Jalai teaches transmitting, by the RAN node, the request via a broadcast or multicast signalling ([0025] requests, broadcast, send to subset of the network only i.e. multicast or sent to all i.e. broadcast), wherein the first network node comprises an access network node ([0020] network nodes, relay signals, access points ).
As per claim 14, Jalai teaches the invention substantially as claimed including a method performed at a second network node, comprising:
receiving, by the second network node, from a radio access network (RAN) node, a request for dispatching a task ([0007] receiving a bid request from a first network node to two or more other network nodes for a computing task [0023] network node 110 i.e. requester node [0019] radio nodes [0020] network, access point such as cellular tower) as a result of the first network node determining to dispatch the task to another node based at least in part on information indicating a resource availability at the first network node ([0002] offloading, node offloads its task to nearby node [0025] determined, based, receiving information, obtaining information on the available resources e.g. computation and battery etc of the potential compute nodes), wherein the request for dispatching the task comprises information indicating a required transport bandwidth ([0023] bid request, computing a task, task can be an image recognition in a photo/video sent from the requester node or doing analytics and mathematical modeling on the data sent [0025] bid requests, sent, receiving or identifying device/user and/or location information, determined, based, receiving information, obtaining information on the available resources e.g. computation and battery etc of the potential compute nodes i.e. can determine resource availability for any node in the network including itself [0023] network node 110 i.e. requester node [0019] radio nodes [0020] network, access point such as cellular tower);
transmitting, by the second network node, to the RAN node, a response of accepting the task ([0007] sending a bid from at least two or more other network nodes to the first network node for computing the task) as a result of the second network node determining it can execute the task ([0028] bid is sent to the requestor node from at least two of the two or more other network nodes for computing the task, received a bid from potential compute nodes, factors to be considered in sending a bid include, computational power of the potential compute nodes relative to the requestor node and available power/battery of the potential compute nodes [0006] receiving a bid from at least two of the network nodes for computing task, time when the task will be completed [0029] fig. 1A 102 computation task will be completed [0032] potential compute nodes, compute node to complete the task);
receiving, by the second network node, from the RAN node, at least one portion of the task ([0007] allocating a task to a winning bid; fig. 1A 105 [0023] task, sent from requester node to the other network nodes for computing ); and
transmitting, by the second network node, to the RAN node, a result of executing the at least one portion of the task ([0032] transfer the results or data from compute node to the requester node).
Jalai doesn’t specifically teach request comprise a required transport bandwidth; receiving portion of task.
Foreman, however, teaches first network node determining to dispatch the task to another node ([0005] determining, by first host, resource constrained, identifying, second host, run the container), based at least in part of information indicating a resource availability at the first network node ([0005] determining, by a first host, first host is resource-constrained [0077] fig. 4 when a particular node e.g. node 105a hosting a container determines that it is resource-constrained from running the container);
Wherein the request for dispatching task comprises requirement ([0090] fig. 6 615-yes container, requires, distinct capability, container, tags [0092] transmits a request, to other host to run the container, [0096] determines, resources that corresponds to the tags of the container [0023] tag, container hosting requirements, available computing resources and/or available container functions);
second network node determining it can execute the task ([0096] fig. 7 second host, receives request to run a container 705, second host determines the availability of its own resources that correspond to the tags of the container 710 determines whether its resource constrained, comparing the availability of the resources to the amount of resource required to run the container 715 [0097] second host determines itself to be available to run the container, second host accepts the container, sending an acceptance message ),
receiving, by the second network node, from the RAN node, at least one portion of the task ([0096] fig. 7 second host receives a request from the first host to run the container 705).
Jalai and Foreman, in combination, do not specifically teach request comprise a required transport bandwidth.
Lee, however, teaches request for dispatching comprises information indicating a required transport bandwidth ([0018] fig. 1 advanced mobile station AMS, wireless communication, requesting from an advanced base station ABS, bandwidth required to transmit a first PDU; [0005] AMS requests a 1502-byte uplink resource from the ABS).
As per claim 15, Jalai teaches wherein the task comprises a memory task ([0042] cloud computing, service, on-demand access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources e.g. memory, storage [0023]), and the method further comprises:
receiving, by the second network node, data to be stored from the RAN node, when receiving the at least one portion of the task ([0002] offloading data/computation [0003] transmitting input data to the compute node [0006] first network node to send data to the at least two of the other network nodes [0026] request sent to nodes 120 i.e. received by second node); and
transmitting, by the second network node, the data to the RAN node, when transmitting a result of executing the at least one portion of the task ([0003] receiving output data from the compute node [0006] two or more other network nodes to send the output data for the completed task to the first network node).
Claim 16 recites elements similar to claim 6 and directed to receiving by second node. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
As per claim 20, Jalai teaches accepting
Claim 24 recites a first network node, comprising: a processor; and a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processor, whereby the first network node is operative to: perform limitations similar to claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 26 recites a second network node, comprising: a processor; and a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processor, whereby the second network node is operative to perform elements similar to claim 14. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 28 recites non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Claims 8-9, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jalai in view of Foreman and further in view of Li, as applied to above claims, and further in view of Moloney (US 2021/0287080 A1).
Moloney was cited in the last office action.
As per claim 8, Jalai teaches wherein the computation task comprises an artificial intelligence task ([0029] information, task, predict, machine learning technique, [0006] computing task), and the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the RAN node, information to the second network node, when transmitting at least one portion of the task ([0006] send data to the at least two of the two or more other network nodes for computing task [0009] send input data, computing the task [0023] task, doing analytics and mathematical modeling on the data sent from the requester node [0025]);
transmitting, by the RAN node, to a plurality of network nodes, respectively ([0023] requester node, send, request, two or more other network nodes).
Jalai and Foreman, in combination, do not specifically teach the artificial intelligence task comprises a training or inferring task for a plurality of models; and transmitting information about a model of the plurality of models; transmitting, by the first network node, the plurality of models.
Moloney, however, teaches the artificial intelligence task comprises a training or inferring task for a plurality of models ([0002] machine learning, distributed training of deep learning models ); and
transmitting information about a model of the plurality of models ([0017] transmit, weights, local deep learning model, host server [0033] transmit, weights and/or other details of the respective local deep learning models to the host server);
transmitting, by the first network node, the plurality of models ([0088] transmit, deep learning model, server [0033] deep learning models).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Jalai, Foreman and Li with the teachings of Moloney of distributed training of deep learning models, transmit model and weights associated with local deep learning models to the server to improve efficiency and allow the artificial intelligence task comprises a training or inferring task for a plurality of models; and transmitting information about a model of the plurality of models; transmitting, by the first network node, the plurality of models to the method of Jalai and Foreman as in the instant invention. The combination would have been obvious because substituting the task transmitted/executed by the system taught by Jalai, Foreman and Li with the distributed deep learning trainings, transmitting the models and weight from plurality of local device to the server as taught by Moloney to yield predictable result with improved efficiency.
As per claim 9, Jalai teaches where in the computation task comprises an artificial intelligence task ([0029] information, task, predict, machine learning technique), ([0006] computing task, and the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the RAN node, the model and a data set of the plurality of data sets to the second network node, when transmitting at least one portion of the task ([0006] send data to the at least two of the two or more other network nodes for computing task [0009] send input data, computing the task [0023] task, doing analytics and mathematical modeling on the data sent from the requester node [0025]);
transmitting, by the RAN node to a plurality of network nodes ([0023] requester node, send, request, two or more other network nodes ); and
transmitting, by the RAN node, to the plurality of network nodes ([0023] requester node, send, request, two or more other network nodes, task, sent from the requestor node or doing analytics and modeling data).
Moloney teaches remaining claim elements of the artificial intelligence task comprises a training or inferring task for a plurality of models with plurality of data sets ([0002] machine learning, distributed training of deep learning models [0016] each local devices, local training data set); and
transmitting a model of the plurality of models ([0017] transmit, weights, local deep learning model, host server [0033] transmit, weights and/or other details of the respective local deep learning models to the host server);
transmitting the plurality of data sets ([0014] plurality of local devices, gather input data, transmit the input data to the host server).
Claim 18 recites elements similar to claim 8 and directed to receiving by second node. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 19 recites elements similar to claim 9 and directed to receiving by second node. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claims 11, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jalai in view of Foreman and further in view of Li, as applied to above claims, and further in view of Cadambi et al. (US 2014/0237477 A1, hereafter Cadambi).
As per claim 11, Jalai teaches the request of dispatching the task further comprises information ([0025] bid request, sent) indicating:
a type of the task ([0025] information about the task e.g. type of application);
a deadline requirement of the task ([0025] information about the task e.g. completion time);
an estimate of resources required by the task ([0030] computation power required to complete the task); and/or
a duration of the task ([0030] time period, identified, task completion time).
Jalai, Foreman and Li doesn’t specifically teach request comprises information indicating type of task, deadline requirement of task, estimate of resource required for the task, and/or duration of task.
Cadambi, however, teaches request comprises information indicating type of task, deadline requirement of task, estimate of resource required for the task, and/or duration of task ([0098] scheduler, sends the deadline and requirements of each incoming task to all server nodes [0096] deadline, overall processing time, peak memory [0146] total execution time, number of devices [0147] ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Jalai, Foreman and Li with the teachings of Cadambi of sending deadline and requirements including overall processing time, number of devices, peak to the server nodes to improve efficiency and allow request comprises information indicating type of task, deadline requirement of task, estimate of resource required for the task, and/or duration of task to the method of Jalai, Foreman and Li as in the instant invention.
The combination would have been obvious because supplementing the dispatching request taught by Jalai, Foreman and Li, further with deadline, overall processing time, number of devices, peak memory, total execution time for each incoming tasks to the server for assigning task as taught by Cadambi to yield predictable result with improved efficiency.
Claim 21 recites elements similar to claim 11. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Examiners Note
Applicant is further reminded of that the cited paragraphs and in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant(s) and although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider all of the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The previous specification objections have been withdrawn.
The previous 35 USC 112(b) objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Authorization for Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit an authorization to communicate with the Examiner via the internet by making the following statement (MPEP 502.03)
“Recognizing that internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only by submitted via Central Fax (not Examiner’s Fax), Regular postal mail, or EFS Web using PTO/SB/439.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bequet et al. (US 2022/0261281 A1) teaches automated job flow generation to provide object views in container supported many task computing
Eigler et al. (US 2008/0256544 A1) teaches stateless task dispatch utility
Li et al. (US 2020/0404069 A1) teaches framework for computing in Radio Access Network (RAN)
/ABU ZAR GHAFFARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195