Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/6/2023 and 4/19/2024 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-final rejection on 1/10/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The formal drawings filed on 4/6/2023 have been approved by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “ PLURALITY OF SWITCHING ELEMENTS ATTACHED TO A LEAD FRAME ”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi et al. (WO 2019/207664) in view of Shibata (US 5,471,097).
With respect to Claim 1, Takeuchi discloses a plurality of semiconductor switching elements 5a, 5b and a resin mold 11 having a side surface and surrounding the plurality of the semiconductor switching elements 5a, 5b. A terminal member having a plurality of inner terminals 50f, 50h electrically connected to the plurality of the semiconductor switching elements inside the resin mold 11. A plurality of outer terminals protruding from the side surface of the resin mold (see Figs. 2-6).
Takeuchi discloses the claimed invention except for a support member disposed at a position apart from the side surface of the resin mold, the support member extending in a direction in which the plurality of the outer terminals are arrayed, the support member covering a part of an outer-periphery of each of the plurality of the outer terminals, the support member fixing the plurality of the outer terminals such that the plurality of the outer terminals are spaced from each other. However, Shibata discloses for a support member 3 disposed at a position apart from the side surface of the resin mold 1. The support member 3 extending in a direction in which the plurality of the outer terminals 2 are arrayed. The support member covering a part of an outer-periphery of each of the plurality of the outer terminals. The support member fixing the plurality of the outer terminals such that the plurality of the outer terminals are spaced from each other (see Figs. 1, 10 and 11). Thus, Takeuchi and Shibata have substantially the same environment of a plurality of chips that are encapsulated and electrically attached to a lead frame. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporating a support member extending across the external terminals of Takeuchi, since the support member would facilitate in preventing lead deformation while provide good spatial margin between adjacent leads as taught by Shibata.
With respect to Claim 2, Shibata discloses a material of the resin mold is a same as a material of the support member (see col. 5 lines 34-40).
With respect to Claim 3, Shibata discloses a shape of the support member 3 is a rectangular parallelepiped shape. The support member is disposed parallel to the side surface of the resin mold (see Figs. 1, 10, and 11).
With respect to Claim 4, Shibata discloses a center position of the support member 3 coincides with a center position of each of the plurality of the outer terminals in a thickness direction of the support member (see Figs. 1, 10, and 11).
With respect to Claim 5, Shibata discloses each of the plurality of the outer terminals 2 has an end portion located on an opposite side of the side surface of the resin mold. The support member is disposed closer to the end portion than the side surface of the resin mold (see Figs. 1, 10, and 11).
With respect to Claim 6, Shibata discloses a thickness of the support member is less than or equal to a thickness of the resin mold (see Figs. 1, 10, and 11).
With respect to Claim 7, Shibata discloses each of the plurality of the outer terminals 2 has two first surfaces parallel to a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the plurality of the outer terminals extend and a direction in which the plurality of the outer terminals 2 are arrayed. Two second surfaces parallel to a direction in which the plurality of the outer terminals are arrayed. The support member 3 covers the two first surfaces and the two second surfaces (see Figs. 1, 10, and 11).
With respect to Claim 8, Shibata discloses each of the plurality of the outer terminals has a bent portion located between the side surface of the resin mold and the support member (see Figs. 1, 10, and 11).
With respect to Claim 9, Takeuchi discloses each of the plurality of the outer terminals 50f has a first terminal portion protruding from the side surface of the resin mold. A second terminal portion 50h having an end portion, the end portion having a width smaller than a width of the first terminal portion in a direction in which the plurality of the outer terminals are arrayed, the end portion being continuous to the first terminal portion. The end portion being located on an opposite side of the side surface of the resin mold. The support member is located at a boundary between the first terminal portion and the second terminal portion (see Figs. 2-6).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi et al. (WO 2019/207664) and Shibata (US 5,471,097) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asao et al. (JP 2014-072316).
With respect to Claims 10 and 11, Takeuchi and Shibata discloses the claimed invention except for a distance from the side surface of the resin mold to the second bent portion is greater than a distance from the side surface of the resin mold to the first bent portion. However, Asao disclose a distance from the side surface of the resin mold to the second bent portion 113, 115, 128 is greater than a distance from the side surface of the resin mold to the first bent portion 125-127 (see Figs. 9 and 10). Thus, Takeuchi-Shibata and Asao have substantially the same environment of a plurality of chips that are encapsulated and electrically attached to a lead frame. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporating having a different distance of bent parts of the terminals of Takeuchi and Shibata, since different distance of terminals would facilitate improve attachment of the device to a substrate as taught Asao.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571) 272-1927.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.uspto. gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/January 10, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897