DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 9/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 5, 8 – 10, 12, 14 – 16 and 18 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stave et al. (US 6,663,833 B1) in view of Engebretson (US 2004/0089079 A1), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn.
The rejection of dependent claims 6 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stave and Engebretson, and further in view of Douglas (US 2001/0001034 A1) has been withdrawn.
The rejection of dependent claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stave and Engebretson, and further in view of Wang (US 2008/0148873 A1) has been withdrawn.
The rejection of dependent claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stave and Engebretson, and further in view of Salsman (US 2015/0300957 A1) has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Aunet et al. (US 4,933,092; hereinafter “Aunet”).
The previous rejection of claims 19 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 10 and 12 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, the new recitation “wherein the porous matrix does not separate a sample by particle size” is not supported by the specification, and is therefore considered to be new matter. This limitation is considered to be a negative limitation. Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. The mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion (see MPEP § 2173.05(i): Negative Limitations). Applicant cannot disclaim that which was not previously disclosed in the original disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 8 – 10, 12, 14 – 16 and 18 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stave et al. (US 6,663,833 B1; hereinafter “Stave”) in view of Aunet et al. (US 4,933,092; hereinafter “Aunet”).
Regarding claim 1, Stave teaches a sample collection system (Assay devices for the detection of analyte in a sample; col. 2, line 61; figures 1 – 3) comprising:
a capillary (sample capillary tube 180; col. 22, lines 63 – 67; figure 2);
at least one analyte detection microwell (immunochromatographic strip 210; col. 23, lines 27 – 32; figure 2), the at least one analyte detection microwell having a porous surface; and
a filtration well (capillary sink 220; figure 2; col. 23, lines 36 – 65; immunochromatographic strip 210 is in fluid communication with capillary sink 220 that attracts fluids from the strip 210).
Stave does not specifically teach a porous matrix which does not separate a sample by particle size.
However, the use of a porous matrix for wicking or drawing in and collecting a sample fluid into a sample collection and testing device is well known in the art. The purpose of this particular type of porous matrix feature is to wick in and retain the sample fluid, and not necessarily to separate the sample fluid components by particle size. For example, Aunet teaches sampling device having an additional porous matrix that is incorporated into the liquid receiving means with the outlet of a tube for receiving a plasma or serum sample. The purpose of this porous matrix is to wick and collect the sample for further analysis (col. 2, line 65 – col. 3 line 4). Consequently, as evidenced by Aunet, the incorporation and use of this type of porous matrix in the Stave apparatus would have been considered to be suitable and predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Furthermore, the Supreme Court decision in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) has affirmed that the threshold requirement for a prima facie case of obviousness is “demonstrating that each element was, independently, known in the prior art.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a porous matrix which does not separate a sample by particle size, but functions to wick in sample fluid within the apparatus. Examiner submits that these arguments are in line with the Supreme Court unanimous opinion, KSR International v. Teleflex, Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), in which the Court stated that “[a] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” Id. at 1731.
Regarding claim 2, Stave teaches the sample collection system of claim 1, further comprising a reaction well (mixing chamber 380; col. 24, lines 1 – 14; figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Stave teaches the sample collection system of claim 1, wherein the sample well connects to the reagent well (as shown in figure 2, filtration membrane 210 is connected to porous matrix 175 via intervening capillary segment 180 and second reagent channel reservoir 205; col. 23, line 18, col. 24, line 7) with at least one analyte detection microwell and is attached to an upper portion of the reaction well (as shown in figure 3, filtration membrane 410 is attached to an upper portion of the reaction well 400).
Regarding claim 4, Stave does not specifically teach the sample collection system of claim 3, wherein the filtration well (capillary sink 220; figure 2; col. 23, lines 36 – 65; immunochromatographic strip 210 is in fluid communication with capillary sink 220 that attracts fluids from the strip 210) comprises a capillary that allows fluid connection to a waste chamber and vacuum. However, sample sink 185 functions essentially as an overflow or waste chamber for the apparatus collecting excess sample fluid during operation (col. 22, line 63 – col. 23, line 26; figure 2). Stave also does teach the use of a vacuum to facilitate transfer of fluid through the apparatus (col. 10, lines 56 – 67). The rationale to support an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 may rely on logic and sound scientific principle (see MPEP § 2144.02). Furthermore, the prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP § 2143.02). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the filtration well comprises a capillary that allows fluid connection to a waste chamber and vacuum.
Regarding claim 5, Stave does not specifically teach the sample collection system of claim 1, wherein the capillary (sample capillary tube 180; col. 22, lines 63 – 67; figure 2) comprises at least two capillaries, wherein a first and a second capillary of the capillary180 are the same in diameter. However, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04). Furthermore, the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the microfluidic liquid gathering capillary (sample capillary tube 180; col. 22, lines 63 – 67; figure 2) comprises at least two capillaries, wherein a first and a second capillary of the liquid gathering capillary are the same in diameter.
Regarding claims 8, 15 and 16, as indicated above, Stave teaches all of the positively recited structure of the sample collection system as claimed, wherein the claim merely recites the convention operation of the claimed sample collection system. Stave does teach the use of a vacuum to facilitate transfer of fluid through the apparatus (col. 10, lines 56 – 67). Stave therefore implicitly anticipates the method as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Stave does teach the use of a vacuum to facilitate transfer of fluid through the apparatus (col. 10, lines 56 – 67). Stave implicitly teaches the method of claim 8, wherein applying the vacuum to the vacuum connection removes the liquid to the waste chamber.
Regarding claim 10, Stave teaches the method of claim 8, wherein an affinity capture reagent is added to the porous matrix and/or porous surface (col. 11, line 6 – col. 13, line 44). Aunet also teaches that an affinity capture reagent comprising a red blood cell agglutinating agent can be present in the porous matrix (col. 2, lines 56 – 65).
Regarding claim 12, Stave teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the high affinity capture reagent comprises a microparticle with a diameter greater than the pore size of the porous surface (col. 12, line 65 – col. 13, line 44).
Regarding claim 14, Stave does teach the use of a vacuum to facilitate transfer of fluid through the apparatus (col. 10, lines 56 – 67). Stave implicitly anticipates the method of claim 8, wherein the vacuum connection is attached to the filtration well.
Regarding claim 18, Stave does not specifically teach the sample collection system of claim 1, wherein the microfluidic liquid gathering capillary (sample capillary tube 180; col. 22, lines 63 – 67; figure 2) comprises at least two capillaries, wherein a first and a second capillary are different in diameter. However, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04). Furthermore, the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). The mere change in diameter between the two capillaries can be due to design choice. The size of an article is not a matter of invention (see MPEP § 2144.04). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the microfluidic liquid gathering capillary (sample capillary tube 180; col. 22, lines 63 – 67; figure 2) comprises at least two capillaries, wherein a first and a second capillary of the capillary 180 are different in diameter.
Regarding claim 19, Stave teaches the sample collection system of claim 1, wherein the porous matrix occupies at least a portion of the interior volume of the capillary 180 (e.g., the porous membrane can be included in the liquid flow channel downstream of the reagent reservoir; col. 16, lines 1 – 20).
Regarding claim 20, Stave teaches the sample collection system of claim 1, wherein the sample collection system comprises a single continuous pathway (the device is a continuous liquid flow channel; col. 3, lines 15 – 29; figures 1 – 6), and wherein the elements of the single continuous pathway are fixed in their positions (figures 1 – 6); and wherein the movement of a liquid introduced to the sample collection system is driven by a difference in pressure between the two ends of the single continuous pathway (e.g., the sample delivery means can be facilitated by a syringe containing the sample that is depressed to provide sample delivery (col. 15, lines 5 – 8) or a pump (col. 3, lines 33 – 37)). Stave specifically teaches that the disclosed apparatus is a single continuous liquid flow channel in which device components, reservoirs, etc, are positioned in the single continuous liquid flow channel (Abstract; col. 3, lines 15 – 29; figures 1 – 4).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stave and Aunet, and further in view of Douglas (US 2001/0001034 A1; hereinafter “Douglas”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Stave does not specifically teach the sample collection system of claim 1, wherein the liquid gathering capillary is greater than 300 µm in diameter.
Regarding claim 7, modified Stave does not specifically teach the sample collection system of claim 1, wherein the liquid gathering capillary is greater than 1,000 µm in diameter.
Douglas teaches assay apparatus using a conventional capillary tube inside diameter between 0.001 inches (25.4 microns) to 0.1 inches (2,540 microns) (claim 2). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the liquid gathering capillary is greater than 300 µm or 1,000 µm in diameter depending on design choice.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stave and Aunet, and further in view of Wang (US 2008/0148873 A1; hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 13, modified Stave does not specifically teach the method of claim 8, further comprising sensing of liquid movement by an electrode placed in the microwell or sample well.
Wang teaches the use of fill electrodes for sensing the presence or movement of liquid samples in a sample chamber in a microfluidic apparatus (paragraph 53). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the step of sensing of liquid movement by an electrode placed in the microwell or sample well.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stave and Aunet, and further in view of Salsman (US 2015/0300957 A1; hereinafter “Salsman”).
Regarding claim 17, modified Stave does not specifically teach the method of claim 8, wherein the lancet is used to collect the sample into porous matrix prior to adding the sample to the reaction well or sample well.
However, the incorporation and use of a lancet to draw in and collect sample fluid, such as blood, for testing with a diagnostic microfluidic device is well known in the art as evidenced by Salsman (paragraph 53). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the lancet is used to collect the sample into porous matrix prior to adding the sample to the reaction well or sample well.
Conclusion
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796