Applicant’s election of Group III, claim 13, in the reply filed on January 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4, 6-7 are canceled. Claims 1-3, 5, 8-12, 14-22 have been withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner because they are drawn to non-elected inventions. Claim 13 is under consideration.
Priority: This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2021/037285, filed October 8, 2021, which claims benefit to foreign application JP 2020-172077, filed October 12, 2020. A copy of the foreign priority document has been received in the instant application April 11, 2023, and is not in the English language.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code: see at least paragraph 0096 (of the application publication). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps and/or elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps and/or elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps and/or elements are: the actual steps required and/or features that are needed to evaluate lactic acid bacteria for presence or absence of a fermented milk viscosity improving effect. The claim recites using as an index at least one selected from the group consisting of DNAs encoding the proteins (a) to (d). However, it is not clear how the index is utilized and/or selected DNA is used to determine and/or evaluate for the presence or absence of a fermented milk viscosity improving effect and/or what constitutes as a fermented milk viscosity improving effect. Further clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino et al. (2016 J Dairy Sci 99(2): 915-923) in view of Berthold-Pluta et al. (2019 Advancements of Microbiology-POSTĘPY MIKROBIOLOGII 58(2): 191-204) and van de Guchte et al. (2006 PNAS 103(24): 9274-9279). Since it is not clear what steps are required in evaluating the lactic acid bacteria for a fermented milk viscosity improving effect, for prior art purposes, instant claim 13 has been broadly interpreted as a method comprising fermenting milk with a protein (a) to (d), wherein the fermented milk has an increased viscosity.
Makino et al. disclose a method for fermenting milk and yogurt comprising mixing yogurt cultures with cultures containing L. delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus (OLL1073R-1) (at least p. 915-916). Makino et al. disclose that yogurt fermented with Lactobacillus delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus (OLL1073R-1) had immunostimulatory effects and that immunostimulatory exopolysaccharide (EPS) produced from L. delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus (OLL1073R-1) play an important role in this context (at least p. 915). Makino et al. do not explicitly teach viscosity.
Berthold-Pluta et al. disclose EPS synthesized and produced by lactic acid bacteria has a positive effect on increasing viscosity of fermented milk products (at least p. 191). Berthold-Pluta et al. disclose EPS derived from yogurt fermented with Lactobacillus delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus (OLL1073R-1) exerted immunostimulatory effects and that EPS-containing fermented milk have increased viscosity (at least p. 201).
Van de Guchte et al. disclose the genome of Lactobacillus delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus (at least p. 9274). Van De Guchte et al. disclose the exopolysaccharide (eps) gene clusters present in Lactobacillus delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus involved in fermentation (at least p. 9278), including an encoded protein involved in the regulation of capsular polysaccharide synthesis having 96.6% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see appendix A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references and arrive at a method comprising fermenting milk or yogurt with cultures containing L. delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus (OLL1073R-1), where the L. delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus (OLL1073R-1) reasonably comprises nucleic acid molecules encoding a protein involved in the regulation of capsular polysaccharide synthesis having 96.6% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and where it is determined that the fermented milk has an increased viscosity (instant claim 13). The motivation to do so is given by the prior art. Makino et al. disclose a method for fermenting milk and yogurt comprising mixing yogurt cultures with cultures containing L. delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus (OLL1073R-1). Berthold-Pluta et al. disclose EPS derived from yogurt fermented with Lactobacillus delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus (OLL1073R-1) exerted immunostimulatory effects and that EPS-containing fermented milk have increased viscosity. Van de Guchte et al. disclose the genome Lactobacillus delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus include nucleic acid molecules encoding for proteins involved in fermentation and in the regulation of capsular polysaccharide synthesis, including a protein having an amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success that the L. delbrueckii ssp. bulgaricus (OLL1073R-1) disclosed in the method for fermenting milk and yogurt in the prior art increases viscosity of the fermented milk/yogurt and comprises nucleic acid molecules encoding a protein having an amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
No claim is allowed.
/Marsha Tsay/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656
Appendix A
ID Q1G8E4_LACDA Unreviewed; 257 AA.
AC Q1G8E4;
DT 27-JUN-2006, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 27-JUN-2006, sequence version 1.
DT 08-OCT-2025, entry version 91.
DE RecName: Full=Tyrosine-protein kinase CpsD {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00019200};
DE EC=2.7.10.2 {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00011903};
GN Name=epsIC {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAI98747.1};
GN OrderedLocusNames=Ldb2009 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAI98747.1};
OS Lactobacillus delbrueckii subsp. bulgaricus (strain ATCC 11842 / DSM 20081
OS / BCRC 10696 / JCM 1002 / NBRC 13953 / NCIMB 11778 / NCTC 12712 / WDCM
OS 00102 / Lb 14).
OC Bacteria; Bacillati; Bacillota; Bacilli; Lactobacillales; Lactobacillaceae;
OC Lactobacillus.
OX NCBI_TaxID=390333 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAI98747.1, ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000001259};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:CAI98747.1, ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000001259}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RC STRAIN=ATCC 11842 / DSM 20081 / BCRC 10696 / JCM 1002 / NBRC 13953 /
RC NCIMB 11778 / NCTC 12712 / WDCM 00102 / Lb 14
RC {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000001259};
RX PubMed=16754859; DOI=10.1073/pnas.0603024103;
RA van de Guchte M., Penaud S., Grimaldi C., Barbe V., Bryson K., Nicolas P.,
RA Robert C., Oztas S., Mangenot S., Couloux A., Loux V., Dervyn R., Bossy R.,
RA Bolotin A., Batto J.-M., Walunas T., Gibrat J.-F., Bessieres P.,
RA Weissenbach J., Ehrlich S.D., Maguin E.;
RT "The complete genome sequence of Lactobacillus bulgaricus reveals extensive
RT and ongoing reductive evolution.";
RL Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 103:9274-9279(2006).
CC -!- FUNCTION: Involved in the regulation of capsular polysaccharide
CC biosynthesis. Autophosphorylation of CpsD attenuates its activity and
CC reduces the level of encapsulation. May be part of a complex that
CC directs the coordinated polymerization and export to the cell surface
CC of the capsular polysaccharide. {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00024964}.
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=L-tyrosyl-[protein] + ATP = O-phospho-L-tyrosyl-[protein] +
CC ADP + H(+); Xref=Rhea:RHEA:10596, Rhea:RHEA-COMP:10136, Rhea:RHEA-
CC COMP:20101, ChEBI:CHEBI:15378, ChEBI:CHEBI:30616, ChEBI:CHEBI:46858,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:61978, ChEBI:CHEBI:456216; EC=2.7.10.2;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00051245};
CC -!- PATHWAY: Capsule biogenesis; capsule polysaccharide biosynthesis.
CC {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00005132}.
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the CpsD/CapB family.
CC {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00007316}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; CR954253; CAI98747.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR RefSeq; WP_011544276.1; NC_008054.1.
DR AlphaFoldDB; Q1G8E4; -.
DR STRING; 390333.Ldb2009; -.
DR KEGG; ldb:Ldb2009; -.
DR PATRIC; fig|390333.7.peg.1760; -.
DR eggNOG; COG0489; Bacteria.
DR HOGENOM; CLU_052027_2_4_9; -.
DR BioCyc; LDEL390333:LDB_RS08745-MONOMER; -.
DR UniPathway; UPA00934; -.
DR Proteomes; UP000001259; Chromosome.
DR GO; GO:0005886; C:plasma membrane; IEA:TreeGrafter.
DR GO; GO:0005524; F:ATP binding; IEA:UniProtKB-KW.
DR GO; GO:0042802; F:identical protein binding; IEA:UniProtKB-ARBA.
DR GO; GO:0004715; F:non-membrane spanning protein tyrosine kinase activity; IEA:UniProtKB-EC.
DR GO; GO:0045227; P:capsule polysaccharide biosynthetic process; IEA:UniProtKB-UniPathway.
DR CDD; cd05387; BY-kinase; 1.
DR FunFam; 3.40.50.300:FF:000527; Tyrosine-protein kinase etk; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.40.50.300; P-loop containing nucleotide triphosphate hydrolases; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR025669; AAA_dom.
DR InterPro; IPR050445; Bact_polysacc_biosynth/exp.
DR InterPro; IPR027417; P-loop_NTPase.
DR InterPro; IPR005702; Wzc-like_C.
DR NCBIfam; TIGR01007; eps_fam; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR32309:SF13; FERRIC ENTEROBACTIN TRANSPORT PROTEIN FEPE; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR32309; TYROSINE-PROTEIN KINASE; 1.
DR Pfam; PF13614; AAA_31; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF52540; P-loop containing nucleoside triphosphate hydrolases; 1.
PE 3: Inferred from homology;
KW ATP-binding {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022840};
KW Capsule biogenesis/degradation {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022903};
KW Exopolysaccharide synthesis {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00023169};
KW Kinase {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022777};
KW Nucleotide-binding {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022741};
KW Reference proteome {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000001259};
KW Transferase {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022679};
KW Tyrosine-protein kinase {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00023137}.
FT DOMAIN 51..198
FT /note="AAA"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|Pfam:PF13614"
SQ SEQUENCE 257 AA; 28150 MW; 0820304B5DFA88FC CRC64;
Query Match 96.6%; Score 1233; Length 257;
Best Local Similarity 97.3%;
Matches 250; Conservative 2; Mismatches 3; Indels 2; Gaps 1;
Qy 1 MAFGRKKHLNNDTMKNGVKLITLANPQSVISEQFRNIRTYINFMNVDREVKTIVFTSAMA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MAFGRKKHLNNDTMKNGVKLITLANPQSVISEQFRNIRTNINFMNVDREVKTIVFTSAMA 60
Qy 61 SAGKSTVSANVAITMAQAGKKTILVDADLRRPTMHSTFNVSNSNGLTTLLTSRSMEMDAN 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 SAGKSTVSANVAITMAQAGKKTILVDADLRRPTMHSTFNVSNSNGLTTLLTSRSMEMDAN 120
Qy 121 SVIRESGVENLSILTAGPIPPNPSELLSSKHMLDLIEDLKQEYDMVVLDLAPILDAGETQ 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 SVIRESGVENLSILTAGPIPPNPSELLSSKHMLDLIEDLKQEYDMVVLDLAPILDAGETQ 180
Qy 181 QLTSSLDGTILVVRQAHSQKSAVKRAVELLKLTKSPILGYVMNDVDADGDD--GYGYGYG 238
|||| |:|||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||
Db 181 QLTSFLNGTILVVRQAYSQKSAVKRAVELLKLTKSPILGYVMNDVDADGDDGYGYGYGYG 240
Qy 239 YGYGEEDEKKGLFGRKK 255
|||||| ||||||||||
Db 241 YGYGEEKEKKGLFGRKK 257