Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
There is no support in the specification and/or drawings about base station can “performing the priority level handling action comprises one or more of the group consisting of: multiplexing the first UCI and the second UCI and transmitting them together in one uplink resource; transmitting the first UCI and the second UCI separately in different uplink resources; and dropping one of the first UCI or the second UCI and transmitting only one of the UCIs in the one uplink resource.” This step is performed by the wireless device as stated in specification ¶[0079].
Claim 18 is depending on claim 17. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected in addition to claim 17.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “multiplexing and transmission of the first and second UCIs is on a subset of N repetitions when the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource is indicated to be repeated N times” as stated in claim 13 must be shown in the drawings and specification and “A-CSI” must be shown in Figure 10 and Figure 11 instead of “CSI” or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3-5,11,14-15,17-18,29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 20200367244; hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses:
A method performed by a wireless device for priority level handling, the method comprising:
determining a first priority level of a first Uplink Control Information, UCI, where the first UCI is an aperiodic Channel State Information, CSI, on Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, triggered by a downlink related Downlink Control Information, DCI; ([0009] In one aspect provided is a method for transmitting aperiodic channel state information (A-CSI). The method performed by a user equipment (UE) comprises … receiving downlink control information (DCI) informing one of PUCCH resources among the plurality of PUCCH resource sets; and transmitting A-CSI using a PUCCH resource determined based on the higher-layer signal and the DCI,…; [0160] a PUCCH to be actually used in the (selected) PUCCH resource set may be indicated by a specific DCI field in the DL assignment (triggering A-CSI); [0263] The UE may determine that HARQ-ACK transmission has a higher priority and may thus transmit only an HARQ-ACK via the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK transmission, omitting A-CSI transmission (Option 1).)
determining a second priority level of a second UCI; ([0304] The specific UCI may be any UCI type (e.g., an HARQ-ACK, periodic CSI, an SR, or the like) other than A-CSI; [0263] The UE may determine that HARQ-ACK transmission has a higher priority.)
and performing a priority level handling action based on a comparison of the first priority level and the second priority level. ([0263] The UE may determine that HARQ-ACK transmission has a higher priority and may thus transmit only an HARQ-ACK via the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK transmission, omitting A-CSI transmission (Option 1). [0264] Alternatively, the UE may transmit an HARQ-ACK and A-CSI together via a single PUCCH resource (Option 2))
Regarding claims 3,17, Yang discloses:
wherein performing the priority level handling action comprises one or more of the group consisting of:
multiplexing the first UCI and the second UCI and transmitting them together in one uplink resource; ([0269] Option 1: The UE jointly codes A-CSI and an HARQ-ACK and transmits them through the PUCCH resource; [0264] Alternatively, the UE may transmit an HARQ-ACK and A-CSI together via a single PUCCH resource (Option 2); or [0289] (1) Option 1: The UE may transmit UCI (e.g., A-CSI) by piggybacking (e.g., multiplex) on a PUSCH.)
transmitting the first UCI and the second UCI separately in different uplink resources; ([0176] The UE transmits an HARQ-ACK of the data using the first PUCCH resource and transmits A-CSI using the second PUCCH resource, or [0297] (2) Option 2: The UE performs PUSCH puncturing in a time resource in a PUSCH that overlaps a PUCCH for A-CSI (or specific UCI) transmission and then transmits the PUSCH and the PUCCH for A-CSI (or specific UCI) transmission by TDM.)
and dropping one of the first UCI or the second UCI and transmitting only one of the UCIs in the one uplink resource. ([0263] The UE may determine that HARQ-ACK transmission has a higher priority and may thus transmit only an HARQ-ACK via the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK transmission, omitting A-CSI transmission (Option 1), or [0298] (3) Option 3: The UE omits A-CSI transmission and transmits only a PUSCH.)
Regarding claims 4,18, Yang discloses:
The method of claim 3 where the one uplink resource is a PUCCH resource. ([0269] Option 1: The UE jointly codes A-CSI and an HARQ-ACK and transmits them through the PUCCH resource; [0264] Alternatively, the UE may transmit an HARQ-ACK and A-CSI together via a single PUCCH resource (Option 2).)
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses:
where the one uplink resource is an allocated PUSCH resource. ([0288] [Proposed Method #7] When a PUCCH resource for A-CSI (or specific UCI) transmission and a PUSCH resource, indicated for transmission (by the same or different pieces of DCI) for the same UE, overlap (partially) in the time domain, the UE may operate according to at least one of the following options. [0289] (1) Option 1: The UE may transmit UCI by piggybacking (e.g., multiplex) on a PUSCH. [0297] (2) Option 2: The UE performs PUSCH puncturing in a time resource in a PUSCH that overlaps a PUCCH for A-CSI (or specific UCI) transmission and then transmits the PUSCH and the PUCCH for A-CSI (or specific UCI) transmission by TDM. [0298] (3) Option 3: The UE omits A-CSI transmission and transmits only a PUSCH.)
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses:
wherein when the first UCI and the second UCI overlap in a time domain, the first UCI and the second UCI are multiplexed and transmitted in the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource even if the first priority level is different from the second priority level. ([0262] In this case, the PUCCH resource for A-CSI transmission and the PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK transmission, which are indicated by different pieces of DCI, may overlap (partially) in the time domain. Thus, it is necessary to define a UE operation for this case. [0263] The UE may determine that HARQ-ACK transmission has a higher priority and may thus transmit only an HARQ-ACK via the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK transmission, omitting A-CSI transmission (Option 1). [0264] Alternatively, the UE may transmit an HARQ-ACK and A-CSI together via a single PUCCH resource (Option 2).
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses:
wherein when the first UCI and the second UCI overlap in the time domain, the UCI with a higher priority level is transmitted in the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource while the UCI with a lower priority level is dropped. ([0262] In this case, the PUCCH resource for A-CSI transmission and the PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK transmission, which are indicated by different pieces of DCI, may overlap (partially) in the time domain. Thus, it is necessary to define a UE operation for this case. [0263] The UE may determine that HARQ-ACK transmission has a higher priority and may thus transmit only an HARQ-ACK via the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK transmission, omitting A-CSI transmission (Option 1).)
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses:
A method performed by a base station for priority level handling, the method comprising:
determining a first priority level of a first Uplink Control Information, UCI, where the first UCI is an aperiodic Channel State Information, CSI, on Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, triggered by a downlink related Downlink Control Information, DCI; ([0116] Hereinafter, in the disclosure, it is assumed that the BS can instruct, through DCI (e.g., DL assignment or UL grant), the UE to transmit a report on A-CSI about one or more CSI processes, for example, a set of a reference signal (RS) for channel measurement and a resource element (RE) for interference measurement, via a PUCCH resource.)
determining a second priority level of a second UCI; (0260] The BS may instruct the UE to follow a particular operation among the above options through a higher-layer signal and/or DCI… [0263] The UE may determine that HARQ-ACK transmission has a higher priority and may thus transmit only an HARQ-ACK via the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK transmission, omitting A-CSI transmission)
and performing a priority level handling action based on a comparison of the first priority level and the second priority level. (0260] The BS may instruct the UE to follow a particular operation among the above options through a higher-layer signal and/or DCI… [0263] The UE may determine that HARQ-ACK transmission has a higher priority and may thus transmit only an HARQ-ACK via the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK transmission, omitting A-CSI transmission (Option 1), [0264] Alternatively, the UE may transmit an HARQ-ACK and A-CSI together via a single PUCCH resource (Option 2))
Regarding claim 29 depends on claim 1, Yang discloses:
A wireless device for priority level handling, the wireless device comprising: ([0354] FIG. 20 illustrates an example of a wireless communication device according to an embodiment of the present description.)
one or more processors; (a UE, may include and at least one of a processor 2310)
and memory (a memory 2330) storing instructions executable by the one or more processors, whereby the wireless device is operable to perform: ([0357] The memory 2330 is connected to the processor 2310 and stores information related to the operation of the processor.)
Regarding claim 31 depends on claim 15, Yang discloses:
A base station for priority level handling, the base station comprising: one or more processors; and memory comprising instructions to cause the base station to perform: (note: processors and memory are implied to be included in the base station)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20200367244; hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Yang et al. (US 20200367244; hereinafter “Yang2”).
Regarding claims 2, 16, Yang discloses:
wherein the second UCI comprises one or more of the group consisting of: ([0304] The specific UCI may be any UCI type (e.g., an HARQ-ACK, periodic CSI, an SR, or the like) other than A-CSI.)
one or more Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, Acknowledgement/Negative Acknowledgements, ACK/NACKs; ([0304] The specific UCI may be any UCI type (e.g., an HARQ-ACK, periodic CSI, an SR, or the like) other than A-CSI. [0245] 2. Collision Between A-CSI Transmission Through PUCCH and HARQ-ACK Transmission Through PUCCH)
a Scheduling Request, SR; ([0304] The specific UCI may be any UCI type (e.g., an HARQ-ACK, periodic CSI, an SR, or the like) other than A-CSI. [0283] 3. Collision Between A-CSI Transmission Through PUCCH and SR Transmission Through PUCCH.)
a periodic CSI report to be carried on the PUCCH; ([0304] The specific UCI may be any UCI type (e.g., an HARQ-ACK, periodic CSI, an SR, or the like) other than A-CSI.)
an aperiodic CSI report to be carried on Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH; ([0074] different types of second communications may include … an A-CSI report communication)
and a second aperiodic CSI report to be carried on the PUCCH. ([0239] ‘1. Collision between A-CSI transmission through PUCCH and A-CSI transmission through PUCCH’ is summarized as follows.)
However, Yang does not disclose:
wherein the second UCI comprises a semi-persistent CSI report to be carried on the PUCCH;
Yang2 discloses:
wherein the second UCI comprises a semi-persistent CSI report to be carried on the PUCCH; (0070] As another example, if the second communication includes another type of uplink control information (UCI) communication, the quantity of symbols, half symbols, portions of symbols, and/or the like, included in the timing threshold, may be based at least in part on the UL grant and the communications that are scheduled to be transmitted by UE 120 in the slot. Other types of UCI communications may include a persistent channel state information (P-CSI) report communication, a semi-persistent channel state information (SP-CSI) report communication, a scheduling request (SR) communication, and/or the like.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Yang2, to include the second UCI comprises a semi-persistent CSI report to be carried on the PUCCH. The motivation would have been to identify one or more slots in which an A-CSI report communication on a multi-slot PUSCH overlaps with a second communication on a PUCCH. (Yang2 ¶[0009]).
Claims 6,8,10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20200367244; hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 20230284224; hereinafter “Takahashi”).
Regarding claim 6, Yang does not disclose:
wherein the first priority level is determined by a priority indicator field in the downlink related Downlink Control Information, DCI, if the priority indicator field is configured to be present in the downlink related DCI.
However, Takahashi discloses:
wherein the first priority level is determined by a priority indicator field in the downlink related Downlink Control Information, DCI, if the priority indicator field is configured to be present in the downlink related DCI. ([0124] Alternatively, the priority of the UL channel may be determined based on a DCI format. For example, in a case of being triggered/scheduled using a first DCI format (for example, DCI format 0_1 or 1_1), the UE may determine that a corresponding UL channel is configured to “low”. In contrast, in a case of being triggered/scheduled using a second DCI format (for example, DCI format 0_2 or 1_2), the UE may determine that a corresponding UL channel is configured to “high”.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Takahashi, to include wherein the first priority level is determined by a priority indicator field in the downlink related Downlink Control Information, DCI, if the priority indicator field is configured to be present in the downlink related DCI. The motivation would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that enable appropriate control of UL transmission even when A-CSI using an uplink control channel is supported. (Takahashi ¶[0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Yang does not disclose:
wherein the first priority level is assigned a fixed priority level.
However, Takahashi discloses:
wherein the first priority level is assigned a fixed priority level. ([0126] Alternatively, the priority of a given UL channel may be defined in a specification. For example, the priority of the A-CSI using the PUCCH (A-CSI on PUCCH) may be defined as either low or high.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Takahashi, to include the first priority level is assigned a fixed priority level. The motivation would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that enable appropriate control of UL transmission even when A-CSI using an uplink control channel is supported. (Takahashi ¶[0009]).
Regarding claim 10, Yang does not disclose:
wherein when the first UCI and the second UCI overlap in a time domain, the first UCI and the second UCI are multiplexed and transmitted in the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource if the first priority level is the same as the second priority level.
However, Takahashi discloses:
wherein when the first UCI and the second UCI overlap in a time domain ([0122] when the PUCCH for A-CSI transmission and the PUSCH collide in the time domain, the UE may assume that the same priority is configured for the PUCCH (or the A-CSI) and the PUSCH.), the first UCI and the second UCI are multiplexed and transmitted in the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource if the first priority level is the same as the second priority level. ([0120] when the priority of the PUCCH used for the A-CSI report/transmission (or the priority of the A-CSI) and the priority of the PUSCH are the same, the A-CSI may be multiplexed on/mapped to the PUSCH.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Takahashi, to include when the first UCI and the second UCI overlap in a time domain, the first UCI and the second UCI are multiplexed and transmitted in the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource if the first priority level is the same as the second priority level when the first UCI and the second UCI overlap in a time domain. The motivation would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that enable appropriate control of UL transmission even when A-CSI using an uplink control channel is supported. (Takahashi ¶[0009]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20200367244; hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Li (US 20230199761).
Regarding claim 7, Yang does not disclose:
wherein the first priority level is determined to be a default priority level if the priority indicator field is not configured to be present in the downlink related DCI.
However, Li discloses:
wherein the first priority level is determined to be a default priority level if the priority indicator field is not configured to be present in the downlink related DCI. ([0041] The priority may be represented by a priority index. For example, a priority index 1 represents a high priority, and a priority index 0 represents a low priority.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Li, to include the first priority level is determined to be a default priority level if the priority indicator field is not configured to be present in the downlink related DCI. The motivation would have been to indicate an order of handling overlapping of uplink channel transmissions (Li ¶[0014]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20200367244; hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 20230284224; hereinafter “Takahashi”) further in view of Li (US 20230199761).
Regarding claim 9, Yang does not disclose:
wherein the second priority level is determined by one or more of the group consisting of: a priority indicator field in a DCI which is the same as the downlink related DCI; a priority indicator field in a DCI which is different from the downlink related DCI; a default value if a priority indicator field is not configured in a DCI; and a fixed priority level.
However, Takahashi discloses:
wherein the second priority level is determined by one or more of the group consisting of:
a priority indicator field in a DCI which is the same as the downlink related DCI; ([0067] The DCI corresponding to a DL grant may be at least one of DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, and 1_2 ; [0124] Alternatively, the priority of the UL channel may be determined based on a DCI format. For example, in a case of being triggered/scheduled using a first DCI format (for example, DCI format 0_1 or 1_1), the UE may determine that a corresponding UL channel is configured to “low”. In contrast, in a case of being triggered/scheduled using a second DCI format (for example, DCI format 0_2 or 1_2), the UE may determine that a corresponding UL channel is configured to “high”.)
a priority indicator field in a DCI which is different from the downlink related DCI; ([0067] The DCI corresponding to a UL grant may be at least one of DCI formats 0_0, 0_1, and 0_2; [0124] Alternatively, the priority of the UL channel may be determined based on a DCI format. For example, in a case of being triggered/scheduled using a first DCI format (for example, DCI format 0_1 or 1_1), the UE may determine that a corresponding UL channel is configured to “low”. In contrast, in a case of being triggered/scheduled using a second DCI format (for example, DCI format 0_2 or 1_2), the UE may determine that a corresponding UL channel is configured to “high”.)
and a fixed priority level. ([0126] Alternatively, the priority of a given UL channel may be defined in a specification. For example, the priority of the A-CSI using the PUCCH (A-CSI on PUCCH) may be defined as either low or high.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Takahashi, to include a default value if a priority indicator field is not configured in a DCI. The motivation would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station that enable appropriate control of UL transmission even when A-CSI using an uplink control channel is supported. (Takahashi ¶[0009]).
Combination of Yang and Takahashi does not disclose:
a default value if a priority indicator field is not configured in a DCI;
However, Li discloses:
a default value if a priority indicator field is not configured in a DCI; ([0041] The priority may be represented by a priority index. For example, a priority index 1 represents a high priority, and a priority index 0 represents a low priority.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Yang and Takahashi with the teachings of Li, to include a default value if a priority indicator field is not configured in a DCI. The motivation would have been to indicate an order of handling overlapping of uplink channel transmissions (Li ¶[0014]).
Claims 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20200367244; hereinafter “Yang”) in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 20200329437; hereinafter “MolavianJazi”).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses:
wherein the multiplexing and transmission of the first and second UCIs is on the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource ([0269] Option 1: The UE jointly codes A-CSI and an HARQ-ACK and transmits them through the PUCCH resource; [0264] Alternatively, the UE may transmit an HARQ-ACK and A-CSI together via a single PUCCH resource (Option 2); or [0289] (1) Option 1: The UE may transmit UCI (e.g., A-CSI) by piggybacking (e.g., multiplex) on a PUSCH.)
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the multiplexing and transmission of the first and second UCIs is on all N repetitions when the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource is indicated to be repeated N times.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein the multiplexing and transmission of the first and second UCIs is on all N repetitions when the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource is indicated to be repeated N times. ([0051] This Subclause is applicable to the case that a UE has overlapping resources for PUCCH transmissions or for PUCCH and PUSCH transmissions and … Any case that a PUCCH transmission is with repetitions over multiple slots. a UE is configured with multiple PUCCH resources in a slot to transmit CSI reports … A UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK information, with or without SR, and CSI report(s) in a same PUCCH if the UE is provided simultaneousHARQ-ACK-CSI)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the UE jointly codes A-CSI and an HARQ-ACK and transmits them through the PUCCH resource of the teachings of Yang with a UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK information and CSI report in a same PUCCH if the UE is provided simultaneousHARQ-ACK-CSI in case that a PUCCH transmission is with repetitions over multiple slots of the teachings of MolavianJazi, to include the multiplexing and transmission of the first and second UCIs is on all N repetitions when the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource is indicated to be repeated N times. The motivation would have been to use simultaneousHARQ-ACK-CSI technique to modify A-CSI on PUCCH and HARQ-ACK multiplex and transmit together on PUCCH with repetitions since A-CSI is a type of CSI. (MolavianJazi ¶[0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses:
wherein the multiplexing and transmission of the first and second UCIs on the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource ([0269] Option 1: The UE jointly codes A-CSI and an HARQ-ACK and transmits them through the PUCCH resource; [0264] Alternatively, the UE may transmit an HARQ-ACK and A-CSI together via a single PUCCH resource (Option 2); or [0289] (1) Option 1: The UE may transmit UCI (e.g., A-CSI) by piggybacking (e.g., multiplex) on a PUSCH.)
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the multiplexing and transmission of the first and second UCIs is on a subset of N repetitions when the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource is indicated to be repeated N times.
However, MolavianJazi discloses:
wherein the multiplexing and transmission of the first and second UCIs is on a subset of N repetitions when the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource is indicated to be repeated N times. ([0051] This Subclause is applicable to the case that a UE has overlapping resources for PUCCH transmissions or for PUCCH and PUSCH transmissions and … Any case that a PUCCH transmission is with repetitions over multiple slots. a UE is configured with multiple PUCCH resources in a slot to transmit CSI reports … A UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK information, with or without SR, and CSI report(s) in a same PUCCH if the UE is provided simultaneousHARQ-ACK-CSI)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the UE jointly codes A-CSI and an HARQ-ACK and transmits them through the PUCCH resource of the teachings of Yang with a UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK information and CSI report in a same PUCCH if the UE is provided simultaneousHARQ-ACK-CSI in case that a PUCCH transmission is with repetitions over multiple slots of the teachings of MolavianJazi, to include wherein the multiplexing and transmission of the first and second UCIs is on a subset of N repetitions when the PUCCH resource or the allocated PUSCH resource is indicated to be repeated N times. The motivation would have been to use simultaneousHARQ-ACK-CSI technique to modify A-CSI on PUCCH and HARQ-ACK multiplex and transmit together on PUCCH with subset of repetitions since A-CSI is a type of CSI. (MolavianJazi ¶[0051]).
Conclusion
/NHU PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479