DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The amendment filed on 12/10/2025 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended and claim 5 has been newly added. Thus claims 1-5 are currently pending and are under examination.
Withdrawn Rejection
In view of the amendment of the copending claim 1 of Application no. 18/031,514, the instant claims are not obvious and thus the nonstatutory double patenting rejection over claims of 18/03,514 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Air Liquide, Safety Data Sheet “(E)-1,1,1,4,4,4-Hexafluoro-2-Butene” Jun. 13, 2014, pages 1-9 (Liquide hereinafter; cited in PTO-892 09/15/2025). See underlined that addresses the amended limitation/s.
Regarding claims 1-2, Liquide teaches a method for storing (E)-1,1,1,4,4,4-hexafluoro-2-butene (page 3) in a container (throughout the document), wherein the composition of (E)-1,1,1,4,4,4-hexafluoro-2-butene is 100 mol% (page 2), i.e. the fluoro-2-butene does not contain the claimed hydrogen chloride as the impurity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Liquide fails to disclose the presence of hydrogen chloride in a gas phase leads to isomerization of (E)-1,1,1,4,4,4-hexafluoro-2-butene. Furthermore, it has been argued that neither teaches or suggests evaluation about the isomerization when HCl is more than 100 ppm as discussed in the instant specification.
The examiner disagrees.
Firstly, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In this instance, nowhere in the claim describes about the isomerization of (E)-1,1,1,4,4,4-hexafluoro-2-butene.
Furthermore, instant claim 1 recites “the fluoro-2-butene contains or does not contain hydrogen chloride” and thus the presence of hydrogen chloride is optional. Liquide teaches storing (E)-1,1,1,4,4,4-hexafluoro-2-butene that has a composition of 100 mol%. A 100 mol% in the composition means that there is no other component, including HCl, other than (E)-1,1,1,4,4,4-hexafluoro-2-butene and thus the reference reads on the claimed “does not contain hydrogen chloride”.
In view of the foregoing, instant claims 1-2 remains anticipated by Liquide.
Claims 1-2 and 5 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Climalife “Novexpans HFO 1336mz” Jan. 1, 2020, pages 1-3 (Climalife hereinafter).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5, Climalife teaches a method for packaging and storing HFO-1336mzz (equivalent to 1,1,1,4,4,4-hexafluoro-2-butene) in a container (page 2), wherein HFO-1336mzz contains ≤ 1ppm by weight of HCl (page 1) (about 0.85 ppm by volume based HCl density of 1.18 g/mL).
The reference is silent that the concentration of HCl being in a gas phase portion as instantly claimed. However, since Climalife teaches all the limitations of the claimed method, there is a prima facie case of anticipation in the reference for the concentration of HCl to be in a gas phase. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Air Liquide, Safety Data Sheet “(E)-1,1,1,4,4,4-Hexafluoro-2-Butene” Jun. 13, 2014, pages 1-9 (Liquide hereinafter; cited in PTO-892 09/15/2025).
The teachings of Liquide have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 4 and 6-7, the reference further teaches that the cylinders containing (E)-1,1,1,4,4,4-hexafluoro-2-butene should be stored in areas not exceeding 52°C (page 3). The claimed storage temperature of -20°C or more and 50°C or less lies inside that of Liquide, and is rendered obvious in view of MPEP § 2144.05 “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to conduct a method for storing a fluoro-2-butene, wherein the fluoro-2-butene is stored at a temperature of -20°C or more and 50°C or less in view of the teachings of Liquide.
Claims 3-4 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Climalife “Novexpans HFO 1336mz” Jan. 1, 2020, pages 1-3 (Climalife hereinafter).
The teachings of Climalife have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 3-4, Climalife further teaches that the packaging will be stored in a dry, well-ventilated, easily accessible place, sheltered from sunlight and bad weather, away from any ignition source. Thus, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to store the packaging at room temperature, which is normally between 18°C and 25°C.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to conduct a method for storing a fluoro-2-butene, wherein the fluoro-2-butene is stored at a temperature of -20°C or more and 50°C or less in view of the teachings of Climalife.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/031,412 (reference application), over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/031,460 (reference application), and over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/031,542 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to a method for storing a fluoro-2-butene represented by general formula C4HxFy where x is 0 or more and 7 or less, y is 1 or more and 8 or less, and x + y is 8.
The copending claims recite that the fluoro-2-butene contains or does not contain impurities, and the instant claim recites that the fluoro-2-butene contains or does not contain hydrogen chloride as an impurity. A skilled artisan would have had a reason to try the copending claims’ limited number of fluoro-2-butene composition, including the fluoro-2-butene which does not contain any additional impurity and would have a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the instantly claimed method in which fluoro-2-butene does not contain hydrogen chloride impurity.
MPEP § 2143 states that the Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. Therefore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, is likely to be obvious when it does no more than predictable results and with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to conduct a method for storing a fluoro-2-butene as instantly claimed in view of the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4 are rejected and no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEDHANIT W BAHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692