DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 are pending.
Priority
Instant application 18031514, filed claims benefit as follows:
.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from the IDS received 04/12/2023, 01/27/2023, and 08/08/2025 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Response to Applicant Amendment/Argument
Applicant amendment is acknowledged.
With respect to the 103, Applicant argues that the art doesn’t recognize the problem caused by metal impurities and fails to teach or suggest specific concentrations.
This argument has been considered but is not found to be persuasive for at least the following reasons. The specification seems to imply that the metal impurities are not exogenous additions from a previous reaction, but are from the container itself. The specification teaches that stainless steel contains are one such container. Thus, the argument is that metals would be present in small amounts in the stainless steel container through leaching from the container. Evidence for this assertion is found in for example the article to Zhong (Zhong et al. Runhua Yu Mifeng, 2009, 34(10), 87-91, “Study on simultaneous determination of Pb, Cd, Cr, Ni leaching quantity from stainless steel sealed food containers by DUO-ICP-AES with automatic dilution technique”) The 103 rejection below teaches stainless steel as a potential container. Thus, the argument is that the impurity profiles would be met with the use of a stainless steel container. Room temperature is within the temperature range and one would be motivated to use room temperature in order to save energy costs.
Claim Rejection – 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2020132585 (“the ‘585 publication”, made of record on the IDS, published 8/31/2020) as evidenced by Zhong (see citation in PTO-892).
The ‘585 publication teaches the production of 1,1,1,2,4,4,4-heptafluoro-2-butene for use in etching glass. Further, the ‘585 publication teaches using an activated charcoal catalyst, so no metal catalyst from the list of metals is necessitated. Therefore, no metal is present in the method of making and none would necessarily be present in the product. Even though Lewis acid catalysts are also mentioned. The ‘585 publication teaches that a carbon catalyst is sufficient as one catalyst alternative in a small list:
As the catalyst used in the production method of the present disclosure, a fluorinated or non-fluorinated activated carbon catalyst, a fluorinated or non-fluorinated Lewis acid catalyst and the like are preferable.
The reactions using carbon can range from room temperature to 400 degrees C. For example:
Examples of the method for fluorinating activated carbon include a method in which the above-mentioned fluorinating agent is circulated under atmospheric pressure under a temperature condition of about room temperature (25 ° C.) to 400 ° C. to fluorinate.
In one interpretation, the flask where the reaction takes place can be viewed as a container. In this case, the reaction vessel is the container and the reaction container would not contain any metal. Further, the products in claim 2 would be present, and the temperatures are overlapping.
Further, the ‘585 publication teaches of the sets of potential catalysts fluorinated or non-fluorinated activated carbon catalysts are preferable, and non-fluorinated activated carbon catalysts are one of two more preferable catalysts:
The above-mentioned catalysts can be used alone or in combination of two or more. Among these, from the viewpoint of conversion rate, selectivity and yield, fluorinated or non-fluorinated activated carbon catalyst, fluorinated or non-fluorinated chromium oxide catalyst, fluorinated or non-fluorinated alumina catalyst and the like are preferable, and fluorinated. Alternatively, a non-fluorinated activated carbon catalyst, a fluorinated or non-fluorinated chromium oxide catalyst, or the like is more preferable.
Based on at least this teaching one skilled in the art could at once envisage a carbon catalyst, the net result being that none of the metals listed in the claim are present. Based on the claim interpretation above, this is allowed.
Further, the ‘585 publication teaches reactors or in this claim interpretation storage containers such as:
In the reaction between the butin halide compound and hydrogen halide in the present disclosure, the shape and structure of the reactor in which the butin halide compound and the catalyst are charged and reacted are as long as they can withstand the above temperature and pressure. There is no particular limitation. Examples of the reactor include a vertical reactor, a horizontal reactor, a multi-tube reactor and the like. Examples of the material of the reactor include glass, stainless steel, iron, nickel, iron-nickel alloy and the like.
Further, the ‘585 publication teaches the following experimental procedure using a carbon catalyst. There is no Lewis acid metal present, and the product was “collected” which is considered a storage container. The flask or container that holds the product.
Examples 1 to 4: Activated carbon catalyst (manufactured by Osaka Gas Chemical Co., Ltd .; specific surface area 1200 m 2 ) as a catalyst in SUS piping (outer diameter: 1/2 inch) which is a hydrogenation hydrogen fluoride reaction reaction tube using an activated carbon catalyst. / g) was added by 10 g. After drying at 200 ° C for 2 hours in a nitrogen atmosphere, the pressure was normal pressure, and the contact time (W / F) between CF 3 C ≡ CCF 3 (substrate) and hydrogen fluoride and the activated carbon catalyst was 2 g · sec / cc. CF 3 C ≡ C CF 3 (substrate) and hydrogen fluoride gas were circulated in the reaction tube so as to be.
The reaction proceeded in a gas phase continuous flow system.
The reaction tube was heated at 200 ° C., 250 ° C., 300 ° C. or 400 ° C. to initiate the hydrogen fluoride addition reaction.
CF 3 C≡CCF 3 (substrate) hydrogen fluoride gas is contacted with a molar ratio of the (HF / CF 3 C≡CCF 3 ratio) was set to 150, the contact time (W / F) so as to become 2 g · sec / cc The flow rates of the substrate and hydrogen fluoride gas were adjusted, and the distillate that passed through the abatement tower was collected 1 hour after the start of the reaction.
Still further, the ‘585 publication teaches comparable examples where no catalyst is used, product results and the product is necessarily contained, or stored. Otherwise, you could not collect samples and test it. In this case, no metal was present which is currently allowed by the instant claims.
The data in the specification looks to require a specific container material. However, it should be noted that the ‘585 publication teaches a flask or glass container which would not contain those metals since glass is silicon and oxygen.
With respect to claims 1-2, the ‘585 publication fails to explicitly state what the storage container is made out of such that the metals in claim 1 are not present.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to pick from a list including glass, stainless steel, or nickel to arrive at a known flask that are all taught as being capable of storing the product. Applying prong (E ) of KSR one could pick from a finite list and arrive at a glass container for example.
With respect to claims 3-4, the ‘585 publication fails to explicitly teach the range of storage temperatures.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to store the product at for example room temperature a temperature within the range because storage at room temperature would require no external energy costs to either cool or heat the flask and it would therefore be cheaper to store the compound at room temperature. Further, temperature is a result effective variable and it is routine to optimize temperature in order to minimize cost, decomposition, product quality, etc., so such optimization is routine experimentation absent a showing of criticality. See MPEP 2144.05 incorporated by reference herein.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18031382 (“the ‘382 application”).
The claims of the ‘382 application teach an overlapping compound in a container (stored) and the only metal present is copper which is not listed in the instant claims, so the concentration of other metals is lower than that required by the instant claims. Further, the instant claims allow for zero percent of those metals.
The claims of the ‘382 application fail to teach overlapping temperatures of instant claims 3-4.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to arrive at overlapping temperatures because the instant claims include room temperature and overlapping structures such that is would be cost effective to store the molecules at room temperature in order to save energy costs. Further, temperature is a result effective variable and would be routine for the chemist to optimize in order to minimize cost and/or by-product formation.
This is a provisional double patenting rejection.
Claim 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18031542 (“the ‘542 application”).
The claims of the ‘382 application teach a method of storing an overlapping compound in a container (stored) with limited HF, so the concentration of other metals is lower than that required by the instant claims. Further, the instant claims allow for zero percent of those metals. Further, claims 3-4 of the ‘382 application recited overlapping temperatures.
This is a provisional double patenting rejection.
Claim 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18031425 (“the ‘425 application”).
The claims of the ‘425 application teach a method of storing an overlapping compound in a container (stored) with limited HCl, so the concentration of other metals is lower than that required by the instant claims. Further, the instant claims allow for zero percent of those metals. Further, claims 3-4 of the ‘425 application recited overlapping temperatures.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621