DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Non-final Office action of 15 June 2026 is being superseded with the present Office action. At the original filing of this 371 (National Stage) application, translated claims 1-2 did not match claims 1-5 in the corresponding PCT application. On 2 October 2024 the applicant provided both (1) a corrected translated set of claims 1-5 and (2) a corresponding preliminary amendment. The corrected translated set of claims was deemed defective, however the preliminary amendment is proper. The applicant submitted a set of corrected translated claims on 22 November 2024 which was accepted, however the proper preliminary amendment to the claims is the pending set of claims. Claims 1 and 5 are currently pending, claims 2-4 are canceled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the package (claim 5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3231475 U (also see English translation) in view of Nacamuli, DE 102009011722 (also see English translation).
Regarding claim 1, JP 3231475 discloses a vehicle flat wiper comprising a blade rubber that wipes a windshield (blade rubber 410, see English translation), a leaf spring that uniformly presses the blade rubber against the windshield (200); a frame that integrally supports the blade rubber and the leaf spring (300); and a clip that couples the frame to a wiper arm (clip 100 via cover 600 with port 610 to insert a wiper arm, English translation); wherein the frame is made up of first and second frames (each frame is 300, Figure 3), the leaf spring is made up of first and second leaf springs (each spring is 200, Figures 3-4), the first and second leaf springs contained in the first and second frames, respectively (see Figures and English translation paragraph that begins “With reference to FIGS. 3, 5, and 8…”), portions of the first and second leaf springs contained in the first and second frames, respectively, are exposed outside the frames (see Figures 3-4, the leaf springs 200 are exposed where they connect at clip 100), and the exposed portions are inserted into, fixed to, and coupled to opposite ends of the clip (Figures 3-4 and 7), and the first and second frames are coupled to opposite sides of the clip, respectively, and the blade rubber is adapted to be attached finally (assembly best shown in Figures 3, 5, and 7). Further regarding claim 1, discloses a corrosion-resistant stopper fixture is placed between each of the portions of the first and second leaf springs that are exposed outside the frame and each of the coupling portions at both ends of the clip (stopper 300a, see English translation stopper 300a can “prevent rainwater from accumulating between the connecting strips 300 or between ends of both elastic arms 200…”; Figure 4). The stopper fixture in JP 3231475 U does not form a tube in shape, rather it is open at the top with connecting tabs to receive the clip (Figures 3, 5, 7).
Nacamuli teaches a wiper assembly (1) comprising a blade rubber that wipes a windshield (5, see English translation), a leaf spring that uniformly presses the blade rubber against the windshield (metallic column; 4 or 25); a frame that integrally supports the blade rubber and the leaf spring (2, 3; Figure 13); and a clip that couples the frame to a wiper arm (10, English translation). Further regarding claim 1, the clip (10) is formed from two pieces that form a tube (best shown in Figure 10, two pieces on each side) that surround and wraps around the top of the leaf spring (4) in Figures 10 and 12 a tubular manner.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of stopper-fixture at the exposed ends of the leaf springs of JP 3231475 so that its sides extend over the top of the spring and forms a tube to wrap or encircle the perimeter of the leaf springs, as Nacamuli teaches so that the spring is enclosed within a tubular shape to secure the leaf spring to the frame and clip of a wiper blade.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3231475 U (also see English translation) and Nacamuli, DE 102009011722 (also see English translation) as applied to claim 1 in view of Yang, US 5,361,896.
Regarding claim 5, JP 3231475 and Nacamuli disclose all elements previously discussed above. JP 3231475 includes first and second frames (each 300) containing the first and second leaf springs (each 200), the clip (100), and the blade, and the blade rubber (blade rubber 410). JP 3231475 also describes a process of assembling the wiper (see English translation under the heading “Background Art” and under the heading of “Industrial Applicability”), with steps of fixing the first and second frames to the clip, subsequently attaching the blade rubber to obtain a finished product of a flat wiper (see English translation under the heading of “Industrial Applicability”).
Further regarding claim 5, Yang teaches a single package (9) that is in a divided state (as shown in Figure 1, divided for different wiper components), within the package there are first and second frames (2), first and second reinforcement strips (6), a clip (4), and blade rubber (7); the package is capable of being unpacked and assembled to form a finished product of a vehicle flat wiper (Figures 6-7 show finished wipers). Further regarding claim 5, there is a method step of a user unpacking the package, fixing and coupling the frames to the clip, and attaching the blade rubber to obtain a finished product of a vehicle flat wiper (column 3 line 66 to column 4 line 59). The package and kit taught by Yang allows a user to select an appropriate wiper component length, material, and other customization to achieve a precise windshield wiper blade (Abstract, column 1 line 67 to column 2 line 20).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP 3231475 and Nacamuli so that the vehicle flat wiper is formed in a method where a single package in a divided state containing the wiper components can be unpacked, fixed, and coupled to form a finished vehicle wiper as taught by Yang so that it can be assembled according to a user’s desired customizations and wiper specifications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang, CN 109094526 A (also see English translation) was previously discussed in the prior Non-final Office Action and discloses many aspects of claim 1 including: a vehicle flat wiper comprising a blade rubber that wipes a windshield (1, see English translation), a leaf spring that uniformly presses the blade rubber against the windshield (3); a frame that integrally supports the blade rubber and the leaf spring (4); and a clip that couples the frame to a wiper arm (bracket 2, see English translation); wherein the frame is made up of first and second frames (each frame is 4, Figure 1), the leaf spring is made up of first and second leaf springs (each spring is 3, Figure 1), the first and second leaf springs contained in the first and second frames, respectively (see Figure 1 and English translation of claims 1 and 4), portions of the first and second leaf springs contained in the first and second frames, respectively, are exposed outside the frames (see Figure 1, the leaf springs 3 are exposed where they connect at clip 2), and the exposed portions are inserted into, fixed to, and coupled to opposite ends of the clip (Figure 1 and English translation of claims 1-3), and the first and second frames are coupled to opposite sides of the clip, respectively, and the blade rubber is adapted to be attached finally (assembly best shown in Figure 1). Also, previously cited US 4,156,951 to Sharp is an example of a wiper blade having components made from corrosion-resistant material to improve the longevity of the wiper blade (in the clips, see column 2 lines 12-16).
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg