DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang, WO 2019/179747.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Zhang paragraph [0100], see computer readable medium) comprising instructions stored therein that, when executed by one or more processors, are configured to cause the one or more processors to at least:
obtain (i) a subset of target features within a target pattern (Zhang paragraphs [0062]-[0066], wherein target patterns are obtained in the form of an initial image and that include a plurality of features), the subset of target features having physical characteristic values breaching a threshold value (Zhang paragraphs [0082]-[0084], wherein a cost function is evaluated for the features of the target patterns, the features potentially having violations related to edge placement errors or mask rule checks which are defined by physical characteristics of the target patterns exceeding allowable limits), and (ii) an initial mask pattern associated with the target pattern (Zhang paragraphs [0062]-[0066], wherein the initial image is an initial mask pattern); and
modify, based on a mask manufacturing constraint and a performance metric of a patterning process, one or more features of the initial mask pattern corresponding to the subset of target features to generate a mask pattern for the patterning process, the modification comprising application of a curvature to a portion of the one or more features of the initial mask pattern (Zhang paragraphs [0081]-[0084], wherein based on the cost function which is a performance metric that includes mask manufacturing constraints, e.g. EPE, a mask pattern is generated from modifications to an initial image having curvilinear features).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang further teaches wherein the instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to obtain the initial mask pattern are further configured to cause the one or more processors to use the target pattern to generate a mask pattern that causes a simulated pattern on a substrate to closely match the target pattern (Zhang paragraphs [0081]-[0082], wherein a simulated pattern is generated and used to optimize the mask patterns to reduce the differences between the simulated patterns and the target patterns).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang further teaches wherein the instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to modify of the initial mask pattern are further configured to cause the one or more processors to modify a geometry of the one or more features of the initial mask pattern corresponding to the subset of target features (Zhang paragraph [0082], wherein the geometry of the mask patterns are modified to generate curvilinear patterns).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang further teaches wherein the modification of the initial mask pattern is an iterative process (Zhang paragraphs [0086]-[0087], wherein the generation of the mask patterns is iterative), each iteration comprising:
simulation, via one or more process models using the initial mask pattern, of the patterning process to generate a simulated pattern on a substrate (Zhang paragraph [0081], wherein simulations are performed to predict the manufactured mask pattern);
determination, based on the simulated pattern and the target pattern, of the performance metric associated with the patterning process (Zhang paragraph [0086]-[0087], wherein a cost function is determined);
determination of whether the performance metric is within a performance threshold (Zhang paragraphs [0086]-[0087], wherein it is determined if the cost function is reduced or minimized); and
modification of the geometry of the one or more features of the initial mask pattern corresponding to the subset of target features until the modified mask pattern causes the performance metric to be within the performance threshold (Zhang paragraph [0086]-[0088], wherein the mask patterns are modified until the cost function is reduced or minimized).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang further teaches wherein the generation of the mask pattern comprises an optical proximity correction process (Zhang paragraph [0096], wherein the generation of the mask includes OPC).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang further teaches wherein the performance metric comprises an edge placement error between a simulated pattern and the target pattern (Zhang paragraph [0082], wherein the cost function includes edge placement error EPE).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang further teaches wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to:
determine, via simulating using a process model and the mask pattern, a process condition associated with the patterning process (Zhang paragraphs [0081]-[0082], wherein simulation is performed using process models on the mask patterns to determine process conditions); and
enable exposure, via a lithographic apparatus configured according to the process condition and employing a mask comprising the mask pattern (Zhang paragraphs [0077] and [0119]-[0120], wherein the mask patterns are used in a lithographic apparatus for manufacturing).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang further teaches wherein the process condition comprises a value of one or more selected from: dose, focus, illumination intensity, and/or illumination pupil (Zhang paragraphs [0055] and [0081], wherein the optical model used in the simulation defines the optical characteristics including properties of illumination).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang further teaches wherein features of the initial mask pattern are Manhattanized features of the target pattern (Zhang Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0065] and [0080], wherein target patterns may be initially rectangular, i.e. have Manhattanized features), and the one or more features of the modified mask pattern are curvilinear in shape while the remaining features are unchanged Manhattanized features of the initial mask pattern (Zhang paragraph [0071], wherein not all feature are modified).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang further teaches wherein features of the initial mask pattern are curvilinear in shape, and the one or more features of the modified mask pattern have a different curvilinear shape (Zhang paragraphs [0061] and [0077], wherein initial images may be curvilinear and the curvilinear patterns evolve, i.e. change shape, with each iteration) while remaining features are unchanged curvilinear features of the initial mask pattern (Zhang paragraph [0071], wherein not all feature are modified).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang further teaches wherein the physical characteristic comprises at least one selected from:
a critical dimension of the target feature;
a corner-to-corner distance between the target features; or
an offset between adjacent target features (Zhang paragraph [0081], wherein physical characteristics include CD and overlay).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang teaches a method comprising:
obtaining (i) a subset of target features within a target pattern (Zhang paragraphs [0062]-[0066], wherein target patterns are obtained in the form of an initial image and that include a plurality of features), the subset of target features having physical characteristic values breaching a threshold value (Zhang paragraphs [0082]-[0084], wherein a cost function is evaluated for the features of the target patterns, the features potentially having violations related to edge placement errors or mask rule checks which are defined by physical characteristics of the target patterns exceeding allowable limits), and (ii) an initial mask pattern associated with the target pattern (Zhang paragraphs [0062]-[0066], wherein the initial image is an initial mask pattern); and
modifying, based on a mask manufacturing constraint and a performance metric of a patterning process, one or more features of the initial mask pattern corresponding to the subset of target features to generate a mask pattern for the patterning process, the modifying comprising applying a curvature to a portion of the one or more features of the initial mask pattern (Zhang paragraphs [0081]-[0084], wherein based on the cost function which is a performance metric that includes mask manufacturing constraints, e.g. EPE, a mask pattern is generated from modifications to an initial image having curvilinear features).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang further teaches wherein obtaining the initial mask pattern comprises using the target pattern to generate a mask pattern as the initial mask pattern that causes a simulated pattern on a substrate to closely match the target pattern (Zhang paragraphs [0081]-[0082], wherein a simulated pattern is generated and used to optimize the mask patterns to reduce the differences between the simulated patterns and the target patterns).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang further teaches wherein the performance metric comprises an edge placement error between a simulated pattern and the target pattern (Zhang paragraph [0082], wherein the cost function includes edge placement error EPE).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang further teaches determining, using the mask pattern, a process condition associated with the patterning process (Zhang paragraphs [0081]-[0082], wherein simulation is performed using process models on the mask patterns to determine process conditions); and
exposing a substrate, via a lithographic apparatus configured according to the process condition and employing a mask comprising the mask pattern (Zhang paragraphs [0077] and [0119]-[0120], wherein the mask patterns are used in a lithographic apparatus for manufacturing).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang further teaches wherein features of the initial mask pattern are Manhattanized features of the target pattern (Zhang Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0065] and [0080], wherein target patterns may be initially rectangular, i.e. have Manhattanized features), and the one or more features of the modified mask pattern are curvilinear in shape while the remaining features are unchanged Manhattanized features of the initial mask pattern (Zhang paragraph [0071], wherein not all feature are modified).
Regarding Claim 18, Zhang further teaches wherein features of the initial mask pattern are curvilinear in shape, and the one or more features of the modified mask pattern have a different curvilinear shape (Zhang paragraphs [0061] and [0077], wherein initial images may be curvilinear and the curvilinear patterns evolve, i.e. change shape, with each iteration) while remaining features are unchanged curvilinear features of the initial mask pattern (Zhang paragraph [0071], wherein not all feature are modified).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Zhang paragraph [0100], see computer readable medium) comprising instructions stored therein that, when executed by one or more processors, are configured to cause the one or more processors to at least:
determine, by simulation, an initial mask pattern associated with a circuit pattern, the initial mask pattern comprising a first mask feature and a second mask feature corresponding to a first circuit feature and a second circuit feature, respectively, the first mask feature and the second mask feature having polygon shape outlines different from their corresponding circuit features (Zhang Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0081]-[0082], wherein a mask pattern having circuit features, e.g. Fig. 3 having target features 301 and 302, is simulated to generate a simulated pattern, the simulated patterns being predicted patterns after manufacturing which have shapes that are different from the target features);
determine whether the first mask feature and the second mask feature satisfy a mask manufacturing constraint, the mask manufacturing constraint comprising a criterion that limits a shape of a mask feature during the mask manufacturing process (Zhang paragraphs [0017] and [0081]-[0084], wherein mask rule checks are performed which determine if the simulated shapes satisfy manufacturing constraints including limitations on dimensions and distances of the patterns);
responsive to the mask manufacturing constraint not being satisfied, modify, based on a smallest distance between outlines of the first mask feature and the second mask feature, the initial mask pattern by applying a curvature to a portion of the first mask feature and/or the second mask feature causing an increase in the distance between the outlines of the first mask feature and the second mask feature (Zhang paragraphs [0053] and [0081]-[0084], wherein based on a cost function which includes mask manufacturing constraints, e.g. CD, a mask pattern is generated from through iterations of modifications to have curvilinear features).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang further teaches wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to:
using the modified mask pattern, determine a simulated pattern of the patterning process (Zhang paragraph [0081], wherein in each iteration simulations are performed to predict the manufactured mask pattern);
determine, by comparing the simulated pattern with the circuit pattern, a performance metric of the patterning process, the performance metric indicative of how closely the simulated pattern matches the circuit pattern (Zhang paragraph [0086]-[0087], wherein a cost function is determined, the cost function indicating how close the simulated patterns are to the target patterns); and
responsive to the performance metric not being within a performance threshold (Zhang paragraphs [0086]-[0087], wherein it is determined if the cost function is reduced or minimized), apply a further curvature to the first mask feature and/or the second mask feature causing the performance metric to be within the within the performance threshold, while maintaining the smallest distance between outlines of the first mask feature and the second mask feature within the mask manufacturing constraint (Zhang paragraphs [0053] and [0086]-[0088], wherein the mask patterns are modified, including changing the shape of the curvilinear features, until the cost function is reduced or minimized while satisfying all design rules).
Regarding Claim 21, Zhang further teaches wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to:
receive the circuit pattern, the circuit pattern comprising a plurality of circuit features to be printed on a substrate, each circuit feature having a polygon shape outline (Zhang paragraphs [0062]-[0066], wherein target patterns are obtained in the form of an initial image and that include a plurality of features having polygon shapes); and
identify, from the plurality of circuit features, the first circuit feature and the second circuit feature that have a distance between their respective shape outlines below a distance threshold value (Zhang paragraphs [0053] and [0081]-[0084], wherein a cost function is evaluated for the features of the target patterns, which identifies the features having violations related to CD).
Conclusion
/ERIC D LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851