DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amended claims filed on 08 June 2026. Claims 1-15 and 21-25 are pending examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 and 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-10, 14, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuichi et al. (US 2022/0295481 A1) (hereinafter Fur) in view of Baek et al. (US 2022/0248375 A1) (hereinafter Ba).
Regarding Claim 1 and 21, Fur -Ba teach a method / an apparatus:
for selecting a frequency band for a device, the method comprising (Fur, fig. 3-4,fig. 14-18, fig. 21-23, [0111]-[0140], [0141]-[0227], [0228]-[0247], [0248]-[0283], [0284]-[0300], [0302]-[0349], [0351]-[0428], [0429]-[0477], [0480]-[0560], [0561]-[0639]: [0381] After the evaluation of the available spectrum is completed, the communication control device 60 notifies the base station device 40 (or the intermediate device 50) of the evaluation result (step S24). The base station device 40 may select a desired communication parameter by using the evaluation result received from the communication control device 60.):
the apparatus comprising a memory and processing circuitry coupled to the memory, the apparatus being configured to (Fur, fig. 3-4,fig. 14-18, fig. 21-23, [0111]-[0140], [0141]-[0227], [0228]-[0247], [0248]-[0283], [0284]-[0300], [0302]-[0349], [0351]-[0428], [0429]-[0477], [0480]-[0560], [0561]-[0639]: [0237] The storage unit 12 is a data readable/writable storage device such as dynamic random access memory (DRAM), static random access memory (SRAM), a flash drive, or a hard disk. The storage unit 12 functions as a storage means in the radio wave utilization device 10.):
(a) receiving from the device a request…(Fur, fig. 3-4,fig. 14-18, fig. 21-23, [0111]-[0140], [0141]-[0227], [0228]-[0247], [0248]-[0283], [0284]-[0300], [0302]-[0349], [0351]-[0428], [0429]-[0477], [0480]-[0560], [0561]-[0639]: [0310] A registration procedure is a procedure of registering a device parameter related to the base station device 40 to the communication control device 60. Typically, the registration procedure is started when one or more communication systems including the base station device 40 or the plurality of base station devices 40 notify the communication control device 60 of a registration request including the device parameter. The registration request may be transmitted by a communication system (for example, a proxy system such as the intermediate device 50) substituting (representing) one or a plurality of base station devices 40.);
(b) determine a set of two or more frequency bands that are available for the device, said set of two or more frequency bands comprising a first frequency band and a second frequency band, the set of available frequency bands determined for the device (…) by using a spectrum sensing or machine learning (ML) model to identify an emission free region in a radiofrequency (RF) spectrum (Fur, fig. 3-4,fig. 14-18, fig. 21-23, [0111]-[0140], [0141]-[0227], [0228]-[0247], [0248]-[0283], [0284]-[0300], [0302]-[0349], [0351]-[0428], [0429]-[0477], [0480]-[0560], [0561]-[0639]: [0117] Here, the primary system is, for example, a system (for example, incumbent systems) that preferentially uses a predetermined frequency band over other systems including the secondary system. In addition, the secondary system is, for example, a system that performs secondary use (for example, dynamic spectrum sharing) of a frequency band used by the primary system. Each of the primary system and the secondary system may include a plurality of communication devices or may include one communication device. The communication control device allocates an interference tolerance to one or a plurality of communication devices constituting the secondary system such that interference aggregation of the one or a plurality of communication devices toward the primary system would not exceed an interference tolerance (also referred to as an interference margin) of the primary system. At this time, the interference tolerance may be an interference amount preliminarily determined by an operator of the primary system, a public organization that manages radio waves, or the like. In the following description, the interference margin refers to the interference tolerance. In addition, interference aggregation may be referred to as aggregated interfering power. [0144] Furthermore, an unused radio spectrum (white space) used by the communication system 2 is not limited to the radio wave of the Federal use band (3.55-3.70 GHz). The communication system 2 may use a radio wave in a frequency band different from the Federal use band (3.55-3.70 GHz) as an unused radio spectrum. For example, when the primary system (communication system 1) is a television broadcasting system, the communication system 2 may be a system that uses a TV white space as an unused radio spectrum. Here, the TV white space refers to a frequency band that is not currently used by the television broadcasting system among frequency channels allocated to the television broadcasting system (primary system). At this time, the TV white space may be a channel that is not currently used according to the area. [0171] The radio wave utilization device 10 is a radio communication device constituting the communication system 1 (primary system). The radio wave utilization device 10 may be a radio wave emission device such as a radar or a reflected wave reception device. As described above, the primary system is, for example, a military radar system, an incumbent system (for example, a television broadcasting system or an incumbent cellular communication system), or a fixed satellite service system.);
Thus, Fur does not explicitly teach part of (a) and (b) where it mentions service type. Also, Fur does not explicitly teach (c) select, based on the particular service type being requested, a priority level of the particular service type and at least one of a knowledge base or a machine learning (ML) model, one of the frequency bands included in the set of two or more frequency bands, said one of the frequency bands selected based on at least a degree of interference that the particular service type can handle.
Similar to the system of Fur, Ba teaches selecting communication parameters based on the service type (safety or non-safety service), which can be seen as, service type (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0421] A data offloading method using CBR information on a multi-channel of the present disclosure may mainly target a non-safety related or applied service type such as CACC defined with a group leader and a group member, platooning, cooperative platooning and the like unlike the data offloading method using CA, by which the present disclosure is non-limited. [0424] In a dynamic data offloading for the above-described service type, a group leader may periodically receive information necessary for group management from a group member and finally determine various informations for the group management based on the received information.)
Similar to the system of Fur, Ba teaches selecting communication channel based on the service type and a priority associated with the service type, wherein the channel selection is further based on an interference level the service type can tolerate, which can be seen as, (c) select, based on the particular service type being requested, a priority level of the particular service type and at least one of a knowledge base or a machine learning (ML) model, one of the frequency bands included in the set of two or more frequency bands, said one of the frequency bands selected based on at least a degree of interference that the particular service type can handle (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0108] The RLC layer performs concatenation, segmentation, and reassembly for RLC serving data units (SDUs). In order to guarantee various quality of service (QoS) requirements of each radio bearer (RB), the RLC layer provides three operation modes, transparent mode (TM), unacknowledged mode (UM), and acknowledged Mode (AM). An AM RLC provides error correction through automatic repeat request (ARQ). [0230] For the purpose of QoS prediction, initial transmission parameter setting, link adaptation, link management, admission control, and so on, SL measurement and reporting (e.g., an RSRP or an RSRQ) between UEs may be considered in SL. For example, the receiving UE may receive an RS from the transmitting UE and measure the channel state of the transmitting UE based on the RS. Further, the receiving UE may report CSI to the transmitting UE. SL-related measurement and reporting may include measurement and reporting of a CBR and reporting of location information. [0352] Further, there may be a need for performing congestion control in consideration of the priority of traffic (e.g., a packet). To this end, for example, the UE may measure a channel occupancy ratio (CR). Specifically, the UE may measure a CBR and determine a maximum value CRlimitk of a CR k (CRk) available for traffic corresponding to each priority (e.g., k) according to the CBR. For example, the UE may derive the maximum value CRlimitk of the channel occupancy ratio for the priority of traffic, based on a predetermined table of CBR measurements. For example, for relatively high-priority traffic, the UE may derive a relatively large maximum value of a channel occupancy ratio. Thereafter, the UE may perform congestion control by limiting the sum of the channel occupancy ratios of traffic with priorities k lower than i to a predetermined value or less. According to this method, a stricter channel occupancy ratio limit may be imposed on relatively low-priority traffic. [0363] Referring to FIG. 34 (a), in case of providing a service using a multi-channel, ACI effects such as interference from a transport channel CH3 to adjacent channels ( . . . , CH1, CH2, CH4, CH5, . . . ) (i.e., transport channel 4 adjacent channel), interference from an adjacent channel to a transport channel (i.e., adjacent channel 4 transport channel) and the like may exist between channels. Such ACI may affect a CBR, which is an index indicating a congestion state of a channel in a sensing-based V2X system using CCA (e.g., Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI)) according to an interference amount. [0435] According to the above-described various examples of the present disclosure, a data offloading method appropriate for each service type (safety/non-safety) classified into one of two types may be used. According to such a service-dependent data offloading method, V2X communication reliability can be increased as well as multi-channel use efficiency. Specifically, in case of a data offloading method using CA, since channel switching can be performed based on CBR information on a single-channel configuring an aggregated channel from the perspective of a service providing UE (e.g., vehicle), channel use efficiency and service transmission reliability may be increased. In addition, from the perspective of a peripheral vehicle that receives a service, service reception is possible using CA despite being unaware of a channel switching timing and a presence or non-presence of channel switching.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fur and Ba in order to improve communication reliability and multi-channel use efficiency by selecting communication parameters according to the requested service type (Ba, [0435]-[0436]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ba teaches the method of claim 1:
Thus, Fur does not explicitly teach wherein said one of the frequency bands is selected based on at least one of the followings: a Quality of Service (QoS) requirement for the service type, a transmit power required for the service type, and/or a location of the device.
Similar to the system of Fur, Baek teaches selecting a channel for data offloading using multi-channel CBR information based on the requested service type (safety or non-safety service), which can be seen as, wherein said one of the frequency bands is selected based on at least one of the followings: a Quality of Service (QoS) requirement for the service type (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0108] The RLC layer performs concatenation, segmentation, and reassembly for RLC serving data units (SDUs). In order to guarantee various quality of service (QoS) requirements of each radio bearer (RB), the RLC layer provides three operation modes, transparent mode (TM), unacknowledged mode (UM), and acknowledged Mode (AM). An AM RLC provides error correction through automatic repeat request (ARQ).),
a transmit power required for the service type (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0340] Methods of controlling its UL transmission power at a UE may include open-loop power control (OLPC) and closed-loop power control (CLPC). According to OLPC, the UE may estimate a DL pathloss from the BS of the cell to which the UE belongs, and perform power control by compensating for the pathloss. For example, according to OLPC, when the distance between the UE and the BS is further increased and a DL pathloss is increased, the UE may control UL power by further increasing UL transmission power. According to CLPC, the UE may receive information (e.g., a control signal) required for adjusting UL transmission power from the BS, and control UL power based on the information received from the BS. That is, according to CLPC, the UE may control the UL power according to a direct power control command received from the BS.), and/or
a location of the device (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0284] The LMF may be connected to an SUPL location platform (SLP). The LMF may support and manage different location determination services for target UEs. The LMF may interact with the serving ng-eNB or serving gNB of a target UE to obtain a location measurement of the UE. For positioning the target UE, the LMF may determine a positioning method based on a location service (LCS) client type, a QoS requirement, UE positioning capabilities, gNB positioning capabilities, and ng-eNB positioning capabilities, and apply the positioning method to the serving gNB and/or the serving ng-eNB. The LMF may determine additional information such as a location estimate for the target UE and the accuracy of the position estimation and a speed. The SLP is a secure user plane location (SUPL) entity responsible for positioning through the user plane. [0285] The LCS application may include a measurement and calculation function required to determine the location of the UE. For example, the UE may include an independent positioning function such as a global positioning system (GPS) and report the location of the UE independently of an NG-RAN transmission. The independently obtained positioning information may be utilized as auxiliary information of positioning information obtained from the network.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fur and Ba in order to improve communication reliability and multi-channel use efficiency by selecting communication parameters according to the requested service type (Ba, [0435]-[0436]).
Regarding Claim 5, Ba teaches the method of claim 1:
Thus, Fur does not explicitly teach the method further comprising, prior to the selecting step (c): identifying a primary service associated with said first frequency band; and obtaining interference information indicating a degree of interference that said primary service can tolerate.
Similar to the system of Fur, Ba teaches selecting communication parameters based on a provided service type and channel busy ratio (CBR), which can be seen as, the method further comprising, prior to the selecting step (c): identifying a primary service associated with said first frequency band (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0360] Day-2/Day-2+ is considering providing advanced services such as Collective Perception Service (CPS), Vulnerable Road User (VRU), Cooperative Adaptive Cruise Control (CACC), platooning and the lik. In providing such a V2X service, it may cause a problem of channel/traffic congestion increase and the like in V2X network environment and the like. As a way of solving such a problem, various multi-channel methods may be considered in consideration of a channel traffic load, a channel quality, a provided service type, a service priority and the like. [0398] A data offloading method using carrier aggregation according to the present disclosure may mainly target a safety related service type such as CPS, CAM, VRU or the like that cannot be defined as a group leader or a group member, by which the present disclosure is non-limited. Meanwhile, although a group leader or a group member may mean a UE belonging to a specific group in the present disclosure, the group leader may perform an operation to receive prescribed information from group members, transmit prescribed information to the group members or control the group members based on the information received from the group members and the group member may include the rest of UEs except the group leader among UEs in the group.); and
obtaining interference information indicating a degree of interference that said primary service can tolerate (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0108] The RLC layer performs concatenation, segmentation, and reassembly for RLC serving data units (SDUs). In order to guarantee various quality of service (QoS) requirements of each radio bearer (RB), the RLC layer provides three operation modes, transparent mode (TM), unacknowledged mode (UM), and acknowledged Mode (AM). An AM RLC provides error correction through automatic repeat request (ARQ). [0352] Further, there may be a need for performing congestion control in consideration of the priority of traffic (e.g., a packet). To this end, for example, the UE may measure a channel occupancy ratio (CR). Specifically, the UE may measure a CBR and determine a maximum value CRlimitk of a CR k (CRk) available for traffic corresponding to each priority (e.g., k) according to the CBR. For example, the UE may derive the maximum value CRlimitk of the channel occupancy ratio for the priority of traffic, based on a predetermined table of CBR measurements. [0435] According to the above-described various examples of the present disclosure, a data offloading method appropriate for each service type (safety/non-safety) classified into one of two types may be used. According to such a service-dependent data offloading method, V2X communication reliability can be increased as well as multi-channel use efficiency. Specifically, in case of a data offloading method using CA, since channel switching can be performed based on CBR information on a single-channel configuring an aggregated channel from the perspective of a service providing UE (e.g., vehicle), channel use efficiency and service transmission reliability may be increased. In addition, from the perspective of a peripheral vehicle that receives a service, service reception is possible using CA despite being unaware of a channel switching timing and a presence or non-presence of channel switching.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fur and Ba in order to improve communication reliability and multi-channel use efficiency by selecting communication parameters according to the requested service type (Ba, [0435]-[0436]).
Regarding Claim 7, Ba teaches the method of claim 1:
Thus, Fur does not explicitly teach identifying a primary service associated with said first frequency band, wherein the primary service is of a first service type; and obtaining priority information indicating a priority level of the first service type.
Similar to the system of Fur, Ba teaches considering a provided service type, which can be seen as, identifying a primary service associated with said first frequency band, wherein the primary service is of a first service type (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: See above for paragraph [0360] and [0398].); and
Similar to the system of Fur, Ba further teaches performing congestion control in consideration of the priority traffic and determining a maximum value for traffic corresponding to each priority according to the CBR, which can be seen as, obtaining priority information indicating a priority level of the first service type (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: See above for paragraph [0108], [0352], and [0435].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fur and Ba in order to improve communication reliability and multi-channel use efficiency by selecting communication parameters according to the requested service type (Ba, [0435]-[0436]).
Regarding Claim 8, Ba teaches the method of claim 1:
Thus, Fur does not explicitly teach wherein the steps (b) and (c) are performed periodically.
Similar to the system of Fur, Ba teaches periodically receiving information for group management, which can be seen as, wherein the steps (b) and (c) are performed periodically (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0424] In a dynamic data offloading for the above-described service type, a group leader may periodically receive information necessary for group management from a group member and finally determine various informations for the group management based on the received information. Namely, the group leader may periodically receive the grup management relevant information determined by the group leader.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fur and Ba in order to improve communication reliability and multi-channel use efficiency by selecting communication parameters according to the requested service type (Ba, [0435]-[0436]).
Regarding Claim 9, Fur teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the method is performed by a radio access network (RAN) (Fur, fig. 3-4,fig. 14-18, fig. 21-23, [0111]-[0140], [0141]-[0227], [0228]-[0247], [0248]-[0283], [0284]-[0300], [0302]-[0349], [0351]-[0428], [0429]-[0477], [0480]-[0560], [0561]-[0639]: [0633] The communication control device 60 of the present embodiment is not limited to the device described in the above-described embodiment. For example, the communication control device 60 may be a device having a function other than controlling the base station device 40 that performs secondary use of a frequency band in which spectrum sharing is performed. For example, the function of the communication control device 60 of the present embodiment may be provided in a network manager. At this time, the network manager may be, for example, a centralized base band unit (C-BBU) having a network configuration referred to as a centralized radio access network (C-RAN) or a device including the C-BBU. Furthermore, the function of the network manager may be provided in a base station (including an access point). These devices (such as a network manager) can also be regarded as communication control devices.).
Regarding Claim 10, Ba teaches the method of claim 9:
Thus, Fur does not explicitly teach wherein the step (c) is performed by a machine learning (ML) agent implemented in the RAN.
Similar to the system of Fur, Ba teaches determining an operation using machine learning algorithm, which can be seen as, wherein the step (c) is performed by a machine learning (ML) agent implemented in the RAN (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0504] The control unit 120 may determine at least one feasible operation of the AI device 100, based on information which is determined or generated using a data analysis algorithm or a machine learning algorithm. The control unit 120 may perform an operation determined by controlling constituent elements of the AI device 100. For example, the control unit 120 may request, search, receive, or use data of the learning processor unit 140c or the memory unit 130 and control the constituent elements of the AI device 100 to perform a predicted operation or an operation determined to be preferred among at least one feasible operation. The control unit 120 may collect history information including the operation contents of the AI device 100 and operation feedback by a user and store the collected information in the memory unit 130 or the learning processor unit 140c or transmit the collected information to an external device such as an AI server (400 of FIG. 41). The collected history information may be used to update a learning model.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fur and Ba in order to improve communication reliability (Ba, [0435]-[0436]).
Regarding Claim 14 and 24, Fur-Ba teaches a method/ an apparatus:
wherein the selecting of said one of the frequency bands is performed using the ML model, the method further comprises, prior to performing the step (a) (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0505] The memory unit 130 may store data for supporting various functions of the AI device 100. For example, the memory unit 130 may store data obtained from the input unit 140a, data obtained from the communication unit 110, output data of the learning processor unit 140c, and data obtained from the sensor unit 140. The memory unit 130 may store control information and/or software code needed to operate/drive the control unit 120. [0506] The input unit 140a may acquire various types of data from the exterior of the AI device 100. For example, the input unit 140a may acquire learning data for model learning, and input data to which the learning model is to be applied. The input unit 140a may include a camera, a microphone, and/or a user input unit. The output unit 140b may generate output related to a visual, auditory, or tactile sense. The output unit 140b may include a display unit, a speaker, and/or a haptic module.):
providing to the ML model ML input data and ML desired output data (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0506] The input unit 140a may acquire various types of data from the exterior of the AI device 100. For example, the input unit 140a may acquire learning data for model learning, and input data to which the learning model is to be applied. The input unit 140a may include a camera, a microphone, and/or a user input unit. The output unit 140b may generate output related to a visual, auditory, or tactile sense. The output unit 140b may include a display unit, a speaker, and/or a haptic module. The sensing unit 140 may obtain at least one of internal information of the AI device 100, surrounding environment information of the AI device 100, and user information, using various sensors. The sensor unit 140 may include a proximity sensor, an illumination sensor, an acceleration sensor, a magnetic sensor, a gyro sensor, an inertial sensor, an RGB sensor, an IR sensor, a fingerprint recognition sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a light sensor, a microphone, and/or a radar.); and
training the ML model using the ML input data and the ML desired output data, and the ML input data comprises any one or a combination of the followings (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0507] The learning processor unit 140c may learn a model consisting of artificial neural networks, using learning data. The learning processor unit 140c may perform AI processing together with the learning processor unit of the AI server (400 of FIG. 41). The learning processor unit 140c may process information received from an external device through the communication unit 110 and/or information stored in the memory unit 130. In addition, an output value of the learning processor unit 140c may be transmitted to the external device through the communication unit 110 and may be stored in the memory unit 130.):
a degree of interference that a service type can handle (Fur, fig. 3-4,fig. 14-18, fig. 21-23, [0111]-[0140], [0141]-[0227], [0228]-[0247], [0248]-[0283], [0284]-[0300], [0302]-[0349], [0351]-[0428], [0429]-[0477], [0480]-[0560], [0561]-[0639]: [0117] Here, the primary system is, for example, a system (for example, incumbent systems) that preferentially uses a predetermined frequency band over other systems including the secondary system. In addition, the secondary system is, for example, a system that performs secondary use (for example, dynamic spectrum sharing) of a frequency band used by the primary system. Each of the primary system and the secondary system may include a plurality of communication devices or may include one communication device. The communication control device allocates an interference tolerance to one or a plurality of communication devices constituting the secondary system such that interference aggregation of the one or a plurality of communication devices toward the primary system would not exceed an interference tolerance (also referred to as an interference margin) of the primary system. At this time, the interference tolerance may be an interference amount preliminarily determined by an operator of the primary system, a public organization that manages radio waves, or the like. In the following description, the interference margin refers to the interference tolerance. In addition, interference aggregation may be referred to as aggregated interfering power.),
a Quality of Service (QoS) requirement for a service type,
a transmit power required for a service type, and/or
a location of the device.
Thus, Fur does not explicitly teach service type.
Similar to the system of Fur, Ba teaches selecting communication parameters based on the service type (safety or non-safety service), which can be seen as, service type (Ba, fig. 24, fig. 35A-37, fig. 39, [0095]-[0129], [0130]-[0155], [0156]-[0201], [0202]-[0248], [0249]-[0293], [0294]-[0361], [0362]-[0453], [0454]-[0507]: [0421] A data offloading method using CBR information on a multi-channel of the present disclosure may mainly target a non-safety related or applied service type such as CACC defined with a group leader and a group member, platooning, cooperative platooning and the like unlike the data offloading method using CA, by which the present disclosure is non-limited. [0424] In a dynamic data offloading for the above-described service type, a group leader may periodically receive information necessary for group management from a group member and finally determine various informations for the group management based on the received information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fur and Ba in order to improve communication reliability and multi-channel use efficiency by selecting communication parameters according to the requested service type (Ba, [0435]-[0436]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuichi et al. (US 2022/0295481 A1) (hereinafter Fur) as applied to claims 1/21 above, and further in view of Smith et al. (US 2022/0295481 A1) (hereinafter Smith).
Regarding Claim 3, Fur teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the selecting is further based on information associated with the device (Fur, fig. 3-4,fig. 14-18, fig. 21-23, [0111]-[0140], [0141]-[0227], [0228]-[0247], [0248]-[0283], [0284]-[0300], [0302]-[0349], [0351]-[0428], [0429]-[0477], [0480]-[0560], [0561]-[0639]: [0230] Note that the communication control device 60 can also acquire necessary information from entities other than the base station device 40, the terminal device 30, and the intermediate device 50 for achieving its functions. Specifically, the communication control device 60 can acquire information necessary for protection, such as location information of the primary system, from a database (regulatory database) managed and operated by a national or regional radio administration agency, for example. An example of the regulatory database is a Universal Licensing System (ULS) operated by the United States Federal Communications Commission. Other examples of information necessary for protection can include information such as Out-of-Band Emission (OOBE) limit, Adjacent Channel Leakage Ratio (ACLR), Adjacent Channel Selectivity, fading margin, and/or protection ratio (PR), for example. For these examples, in a case where numerical values are fixedly given by law, it is desirable to use the given numerical values.).
Regarding Claim 4, Smith teaches the method of claim 3:
Thus, Fur does not explicitly teach wherein the information associated with the device comprises subscription information identifying a type of subscription plan the device is registered on.
Similar to the system of Fur, Smith teaches that the HSS stores subscription-related information, including a subscription profile and subscription data, which can be seen as, wherein the information associated with the device comprises subscription information identifying a type of subscription plan the device is registered on (Smith, fig. 36-40, [0064]-[0113], [0114]-[0165], [0166]-[0197], [0198]-[0283], [0284]-[0302], [0303]-[0348], [0349]-[0371], [0372]-[0411], [0412]-[0455]: [0128] FIG. 9 illustrates a communication component diagram 900 of an embodiment DSA communication system in a wireless access platform based on Long Term Evolution, LTE. The DSA communication system may include the Dynamic Spectrum Policy Controller (DPC) 902 connected to a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) 904 which may communicate with network components of a provider network. The HSS 904 may be a master user database that supports the Dynamic Spectrum Policy Controller (DPC) 902. The HSS 904 may include the subscription-related information (i.e., subscription-profile), perform authentication and authorize the secondary users, and can optionally provide information about subscriber's location and IP information. The HSS 904 may contain users' (SAE) subscription data such as the EPS-subscribed QoS profile and any access restrictions for roaming. It may also hold, store or retain information about the PDNs to which the user can connect. This could be in the form of an access point name (APN) (which is a label according to DNS naming conventions describing the access point to the PDN) or a PDN address (indicating subscribed IP address(es)). In addition the HSS 904 holds dynamic information such as the identity of the Mobility Management Entity ("MME") to which the user is currently attached or registered. The HSS 904 may also integrate the authentication center (AUC), which generates the vectors for authentication and security keys.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fur and Smith in order to utilize subscription-related information for managing network access and communication services (Smith, [0128]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 11-13, 15, 22-23, 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468