Response to Arguments
Applicant’s representative filed arguments on 02/09/2026 with respect to independent claim 1 has been considered and are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant presented arguments on Pages 7-10 that the combination of ZHANG and Kuo does not specifically teach “selecting a non-antenna-grouping codebook for downlink multi-user multiple input, multiple output (MU-MIMO) transmission;
determining a second PMI of the non-antenna-grouping codebook based on the first PMI of the antenna-grouping codebook; and
performing MU-MIMO pairing and beamforming toward the UE based on the second PMI of the non-antenna-grouping codebook.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
The amended claim language describes that a non-antenna-grouping codebook is selected for downlink multi-user multiple input, multiple output (MU-MIMO) transmission. The claim reflects a determination of a second PMI associated with the non-antenna-grouping codebook based on a first PMI associated with an antenna-grouping codebook.
The combination of ZHANG and Kuo, specifically ZHANG teaches the feature “selecting a non-antenna-grouping codebook for downlink multi-user multiple input, multiple output (MU-MIMO) transmission (Applicant argues that a “subband” in ZHANG does not correspond to a non-antenna-grouping codebook because a subband refers to a frequency partition rather than a predefined beamforming codebook. However, ZHANG teaches selecting a precoding matrix W2 from a codebook according to PMI2, where W2 represents a channel characteristic of a sub-band and is used for transmission in MU-MIMO scenarios. Thus, ZHANG discloses selecting a beamforming precoder from a codebook for transmission, which corresponds to the claimed non-antenna-grouping codebook under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. See [0034]-[0035], [0223]);
determining a second PMI of the non-antenna-grouping codebook based on the first PMI of the antenna-grouping codebook (Applicant argues that ZHANG does not disclose determining a second PMI based on a first PMI because ZHANG determines a precoding matrix using both PMIs jointly, However, ZHANG discloses that the precoding matrix indicator includes PMI1 and PMI2, where PMI1 indicates a precoding matrix representing a long-term channel characteristic and PMI2 indicates a precoding matrix representing a short-term channel characteristic. Because the short-term precoding component indicated by PMI2 refines the long-term precoding configuration indicated by PMI1, the second PMI is determined based on the first PMI. See [0034]-[0035], [0266]-[0267]); and
The combination of ZHANG and Kuo, specifically Kuo teaches the feature performing MU-MIMO pairing and beamforming toward the UE based on the second PMI of the non-antenna-grouping codebook.” (Applicant argues that the cited references fail to disclose performing MU-MIMO pairing and beamforming based on the second PMI of the non-antenna codebook. However, Kuo teaches MU-MIMO transmission using beamforming technologies together with digital precoding based on a precoder selected from a codebook according to PMI feedback. Because the PMI corresponds to the precoder index used to select the precoding matrix applied for transmission, the beamforming operation is performed based on the PMI-selected precoder. Kuo further teaches MU-MIMO pairing using orthogonal precoding matrices. Thus, MU-MIMO beamforming and pairing are performed according to the precoding matrix selected based on PMI feedback. See [0055]-[0056], [0059], [0079]).
[Therefore, the disclosures collectively teach selecting a non-antenna-grouping codebook for MU-MIMO transmission, determining a second PMI based on a first PMI, and performing MU-MIMO pairing and beamforming based on the second PMI. This sequence supports the described flow and content of the messages].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,11,14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 2016/0050000 A1; hereinafter “ZHANG”), in view of Kuo et al. (US 2021/0135716 A1; hereinafter “Kuo”).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches a method (FIG. 2) of operating a network node ([0224] a transmit end), comprising:
receiving a first precoding matrix indicator (PMI), from a UE ([0224] a receive end), wherein the first PMI is based on an antenna-grouping codebook ([0276] a transmit end receives a PMI sent by a receive end, the φn represents a phase difference between weighted values of a first antenna group of the transmit end and a second antenna group);
selecting a non-antenna-grouping codebook ([0034] sub-band precoding matrix W2 selected from a codebook) for downlink multi-user multiple input, multiple output (MU-MIMO) transmission ([0035] determining, according to the PMI2, the W2 selected from the codebook by the receive end based on the reference signal, [0034] the W2 is a matrix representing a channel characteristic of a sub-band, [0223] The embodiments are applied to MU-MIMO scenarios);
determining a second PMI ([0035] PMI2) of the non-antenna-grouping codebook ([0034] sub-band) based on the first PMI ([0035] PMI1) of the antenna-grouping codebook ([0034] wideband) ([0266]-[0267] disclose that PMI1 indicates a precoding matrix representing a long-term channel characteristic and PMI2 indicates a short-term channel characteristic, [0034]-[0035] W1 corresponds to a wideband (antenna-grouping) precoding matrix and W2 corresponds to a sub-band (non-antenna-grouping) precoding matrix. Thus, the short-term precoding component indicated by PMI2 is determined within the long-term precoding configuration indicated by PMI1, evidencing that the second PMI is determined based on the first PMI).
However, ZHANG does not teach performing MU-MIMO pairing and beamforming toward the UE based on the second PMI of the non-antenna-grouping codebook.
In an analogous art, Kuo teaches performing MU-MIMO pairing and beamforming toward the UE based on the second PMI of the non-antenna-grouping codebook ([0055] Multiple users can be concurrently served in the same time/frequency resource (MU-MIMO) using beamforming technologies, [0056] digital beamforming comprises digital precoding using one or more digital precoder codebooks, [0059] a precoding matrix index (PMI) corresponding to the selected precoder from the codebook may be reported by the user terminal, [0079] MU-MIMO pairing using orthogonal precoding matrices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beamforming as taught by Kuo within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the signal gain and reduce potential interference to improve the system spectral efficiency (Kuo [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of ZHANG and Kuo, specifically ZHANG teaches wherein the first PMI ([0035] the PMI1) comprises a first set of beam indices ([0034] the W1) of the antenna-grouping codebook ([0034] wideband) associated with the first PMI ([0035] The precoding matrix indicator PMI includes a first precoding matrix indicator PMI1, determining, by the transmit end according to the PMI1, the W1 selected from the codebook by the receive end based on the reference signal, [0034] the W1 is a matrix representing a channel characteristic of a wideband),
wherein the second PMI ([0035] the PMI2) comprises a second set of beam indices ([0034] the W2) of non-antenna-grouping codebook ([0034] sub-band) associated with the second PMI ([0035] the precoding matrix indicator PMI includes a second precoding matrix indicator PMI2, determining, according to the PMI2, the W2 selected from the codebook by the receive end, [0034] the W2 is a matrix representing a channel characteristic of a sub-band).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of ZHANG and Kuo, specifically ZHANG teaches wherein determining the second PMI of non-antenna-grouping codebook ([0034]-[0035]) comprises
selecting the second set of beam indices ([0034] the W2) for which a distance between a precoding matrix associated with the first set of beam indices ([0034] the W1) of antenna-grouping codebook ([0034] wideband) and a precoding matrix associated with the second set of beam indices of non-antenna-grouping codebook ([0034] sub-band) is minimized ([0034] the W1 is a matrix representing a channel characteristic of a wideband, and the W2 is a matrix representing a channel characteristic of a sub-band, [0234] the receive end calculates a channel capacity or a throughput or a chordal distance based on the channel estimation value, and selects the precoding matrix from the codebook according to a chordal distance minimization criterion, [0235] the receive end selects, from the codebook based on the reference signal, the precoding matrix W corresponding to the rank indicator).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of ZHANG and Kuo, specifically ZHANG teaches determining the second PMI ([0035] PMI2) of non-antenna-grouping codebook ([0034] sub-band) according to a lookup table based on the first PMI ([0035] PMI1) of antenna-grouping codebook ([0034] wideband) received from the UE ([0067] the selecting unit is configured to perform row permutation or column permutation on the W according to an antenna serial number, wherein the row/column permutation based on antenna serial number corresponds to a predefined mapping (lookup) between W1 and W2 that determines the second PMI according to the first PMI).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of ZHANG and Kuo, specifically ZHANG teaches determining the second set of beam indices ([0034] the W2) based on the second PMI ([0035] the PMI2) ([0035] determining, according to the PMI2, the W2 selected from the codebook by the receive end based on the reference signal).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of ZHANG and Kuo, specifically ZHANG teaches wherein the network node comprises a distributed unit (DU) (FIG. 1A 104 RAN),
the method further comprising transmitting a second PMI ([0035] the PMI2) and a codebook index corresponding to the non-antenna grouping codebook ([0034] sub-band) to a radio unit ([0059] The selected precoder index (e.g., a precoding matrix index (PMI)) is reported by the user terminal with a dedicated feedback mechanism, [0035] the precoding matrix indicator PMI includes a second precoding matrix indicator PMI2; determining according to the PMI2, the W2 selected from the codebook by the receive end based on the reference signal, [0034] the W2 is a matrix representing a channel characteristic of a sub-band).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of ZHANG and Kuo, specifically ZHANG teaches a network node configured to perform operations ([0577] a network device to perform all or a part of the steps of the methods described in the embodiments of the present invention) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of ZHANG and Kuo, specifically ZHANG teaches a network node (FIG. 10 a device 1000), comprising:
a processing circuit (FIG. 10 a processor 1001);
a transceiver (FIG. 10 a sender 1003 and a receiver 1004) coupled to the processing circuit; and
a memory (FIG. 10 a memory 1002) coupled to the processing circuit, wherein the memory comprises computer readable program instructions that, when executed by the processing circuit ([0577] functional units integrated into one processing unit), cause the network node to perform operations ([0578] stored in a storage medium for instructing a network device to perform all or a part of the steps of the method) according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, either alone or in combination the prior arts fail to teach wherein determining the second set of beam indices is performed according to the following equation:
Regarding claim 15, either alone or in combination the prior arts fail to teach wherein the first PMI comprises a set of indicators of (i1,1, i1,2, i1,3, i2), the second PMI comprises a set of indicators of ( ),
wherein the second set of beam indices is determined based on the following equations:
wherein [l,l',m,m',n] corresponds to the second set of beam indices,
wherein N1, N2 are configured channel state information-reference signal, CSI-RS, ports in horizontal and vertical directions, with corresponding over-sample rates of O1, O2, and
wherein k1, and k2, are determined from a i1,3 to a k1, and k2, mapping table.
Regarding claim 17, either alone or in combination the prior arts fail to teach
wherein the i1,3 to k1 and k2 mapping is selected according to dominant direction of angle spread.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0041051 A1 (Rahman et al.) discloses a codebook design and structure associated with a two dimensional transmit antenna array.
US 2020/0007205 A1 (PARK et al.) discloses a method for reporting channel state information and a device that performs/supports this method.
US 2026/0066962 A1 (Onggosanusi et al.) discloses the precoding of Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) data and dedicated reference signals with codebook-based feedback for multi-input multi-output (MIMO) transmissions.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413