DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 have been examined.
Claims 7-14 remain withdrawn from examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS submitted on 9/2/2025 have been received and reviewed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments based upon the latest amendment with respect to amended claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection addresses the features are shown below. It is noted that the latest amendment includes extensive changes including particular features of the tool, the tip, and tool being coupled to the CNC milling machine.
The arguments by the applicants include teaching by the BEAUCAMP reference and how tool does not teach of the claimed monocrystalline diamond tip. It is noted that the SUDO reference, as shown below, teaches of this particular feature as the cutter itself is stated as diamond which would encompass the claimed tip. Wherein, the cutter of SUDO as the working tool, this tool can be operated by the CNC milling machine of BEAUCAMP. The combination of the features known in forming of molds and wherein, these features would be operable in forming cosmetic products.
The latest amendment have corrected the issues raised in the claim objections and rejections based upon 112, which are now withdrawn.
The previous rejection of the claims were based upon the claimed prior to the latest amendment. However, based upon the latest amendment, see the rejection of the claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUDO (US 2003/0175379 A1) in view of BEAUCAMP (US 2017/0246728 A1) and KAMEN (US 5200173 A).
Re 1, regarding formation of a mould, see SUDO wherein, a cutter 100 is provided to form the mold, see [0054, 0077], the cutter being of diamond, and wherein, the cutter end provides for machining of a mirror surface finish, see [0072]..
SUDO does not teach of a cnc milling machine, nor of the mold in forming a cosmetic products.
Wherein, the concept of a system for the realization of a mould (see teaching by BEAUCAMP in abstract regarding shaping tool to perform grinding operation used to prepare molds) (for cosmetic products, this is seen as an intended use of the formed mold), the system comprising:
at least one numerically controlled milling machine (see [0006, 0022-0029] of a polishing machine to shape a workpiece, machine having a tool, and the machine having seven axes of control) having a plurality of axes including A-axis, B-axis, X-axis, Y-axis, Z-axis, C-axis, V-axis, wherein at least the axes A-axis, B-axis, X-axis, Y-axis, Z-axis are configured to realize the mould, which includes at least one raw or semi-finished piece or a raw or semi-finished mould to cast the cosmetic products;
and a working tool coupled to the at least one numerically controlled milling machine, the working tool having a monocrystalline diamond (see [0006, 0042], of the rigid pellets that can be comprised of diamonds for the working surface of the tool) wherein the tool having a tip (see teaching by BEAUCAMP, see Figs. 5a, 5b, regarding different shaped tools) remove, compress, and polish excess material from the at least one raw or semi-finished piece, or the raw or semi-finished mould for making finished products having high-precision cast cosmetic products with a surface finish (see abstract, wherein the mold cavity surface having a smooth surface finish).
Wherein, the mold is for forming cosmetic products is an intended use of the mold. Whereupon, the claimed invention is in regards to the working tool that forms a mold is seen in SUDO that teaches of cutter and further, the concept of a milling tool that acts upon the various axes of control are shown in the BEAUCAMP reference.
See teaching by KAMEN of molded cosmetic product having a surface furnish, see abstract, see also molds having surface characteristics, and in which the molded products will obtain the uniform high-gloss finishes, see Col. 1, lines 10-17, see also Col. 3, lines 25-39.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the cutter of SUDO with the use of a CNC milling as taught by BEAUCAMP and with the mold utilized in the cosmetic industry as taught by KAMEN, see KSR rationale, MPEP2143, as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Re 2 (upon 1), wherein (see in SUDO and BEAUCAMP) the working tool is a monocrystalline diamond holding tool comprising the monocrystalline diamond tip (see SUDO of diamond cutter; see BEAUCAMP [0006, 0042] of the diamonds being hold upon the tool) adapted to remove material from the at least one raw or semi-finished piece, or the raw or semi-finished mould and perform lapping of thereon for a smooth brilliant finish with a shiny surface and sharp edges (see BEAUCAMP, [0057, 0080] regarding the tool being moved and to smooth to grind/polish for the surface finish, see also [0061] of the tool pressed against the workpiece and rotating to remove material, and [0042] of the pellets being diamond, and thus to remove the material to form the surface finish).
Re 4 (upon 1), wherein the working tool is a hydro type working having a cylinder comprising the monocrystalline diamond tip shaped to create different effects on the finished product, including a "pearl" effect or a "necklace effect”.
(regarding the terminology of “pearl” or “necklace” effect, other similar terminology include iridescent, nacreous, pearly, and lustrous)
The formation of the effect upon the finished product is an intended use of the apparatus. Wherein, the teaching of BEAUCAMP can be considered as being capable of such operation, see also SUDO (US 2003/0175379 A1), see [0003] of the lustrous finish, and see also [0054, 0077] using a diamond.
Re 5 (upon 1), wherein the working tool is a said at least one zetina type working tool that is a cylinder in shape of a comb with a fixed cutting edges, and works with a side facing the at least one raw or semi-finished piece to create a satin and a brushed effect on the at least one raw or semi-finished piece.
(see terminology that includes mirror surface as alternative for satin)
The formation of the effect upon the finished product is an intended use of the apparatus. Wherein, the teaching of BEAUCAMP can be considered as being capable of such operation, see also OKAJIMA (US 2006/0144198 A1), see [0035, 0054, 0068], of using a diamond tip 1 and machining to form a mirror surface. See also SUDO (US 2003/0175379 A1), see regarding mirror surface machining, and also [0054, 0077] using a diamond.
Re 6 (upon 1), wherein the working tool for making the finished mould for cast cosmetic products is suitable for precision machining in cosmetics and the shape of the working tools vary allowing to obtain different finishing effects.
The formation of the effect upon the finished product is an intended use of the apparatus. Wherein, the teaching of BEAUCAMP can be considered as being capable of such operation.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUDO in view of BEAUCAMP and KAMEN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MORFINO (US 2011/0218668 A1).
Re 3 (upon 1), wherein the working tool is a hammer type working tool that comprises the monocrystalline diamond tip with a shape for hammering to obtain a hammer-tip or "hammered" effect on the finished product.
Though SUDO does not teach of hammering via the working tool, the formation of the effect upon the finished product is an intended use of the apparatus. Wherein, the teaching of BEAUCAMP can be considered as being capable of such operation. Wherein, the claimed hammered effect is of a different usage, and wherein, see also MORFINO (US 2011/0218668 A1), see [0140].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modify the system of the modified SUDO with the hammered effect as taught by MORFINO as a known operation of the cnc machine to form the effect, see KSR rationale, MPEP2143, as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMANUEL S LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744