DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the communication filed on 4/18/2023. Claims 1-10, 20-24, 28 are pending in this application.
Examiner Note
The examiner is here to serve, to assist, and to help applicant to the very best of his ability. The Primary Patent Examiner position is a position of serving and it is an honor to externally serve the applicant and attorney and to internally serve junior examiners and supervisors. The goal of the examiner is to work with and assist applicant to move cases along as efficiently as possible.
Applicant is encouraged to call examiner to schedule an interview if applicant has any questions about this action, wants to discuss any possible paths forward, has proposed amendments to the claims to run by the examiner, or for any other issues that applicant would like to discuss.
Examiner can normally be reached at (571) 270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov, Monday-Friday, from about 6 AM - 10 PM EST and if your call is missed examiner will try to return call quickly, thank you.
Priority
This application claims priority of 63/094,611, filed 10/21/2020. The assignee of record is Telefonaktiebolaget LM Ericsson (publ). The listed inventor(s) is/are: Muruganathan, Siva; Zhang, Jianwei; Nilsson, Andreas; Gao, Shiwei; Määttänen, Helka-Liina; Tidestav, Claes.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-6, 8, 10, & 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims provided that all other rejections under 35 USC 101/112 (if any) are obviated upon upcoming amendments/arguments without raising new issues that necessitate further consideration/search.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “cyclic redundancy check, CRC, of the DCI” which appears to be a typo for “cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the DCI”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 20, 22-24, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP (ZTE: "Preliminary views on further enhancement for NR MIMO", 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2003483, 16 May 2020 (2020-05-16), copy provided in the record by applicant 4/18/2023; hereinafter 3GPP483).
For Claim 1, 3GPP483 teaches a method performed by a network node of a cellular communication system to provide Downlink Control Information, DCI,-based Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, state update with flexible channel selection, the method comprising transmitting, to a User Equipment, UE, a DCI, wherein a DCI format of the DCI comprises a TCI state update indication (3GPP483 Fig. 2-2: "Stage 3: DCI signaling select one state" ; Note that D1 refers to the three-stage indication for TCI state update discussed in the current application, see page 19 lines 18-22), and a TCI state update application indication indicating one or more channels or signals to which the TCI state update is to be applied by the UE (3GPP483 Fig. 2-2: "Separately indicating independent state(s) for POSCH and PUSCH, e.g., DCI format 1_ 1 and O_ 1, respectively" ; That is, DCI formats 1_ 1 and O_ 1 respectively indicate whether the TCI state update concerns the POSCH or the PUSCH).
For Claim 9, 3GPP483 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the TCI state update application indication comprises a Radio Resource Control, RRC, configured parameter (3GPP483 Fig. 2.2).
For Claim 20, 3GPP483 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the TCI state update indicated in the DCI is applied to different signals and/or different channels corresponding to different DCI formats of the DCI (3gPP483 4.1.2).
For Claim 22, 3GPP483 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the DCI format comprises a downlink, DL, DCI format (3GPP483 Pgs 11-12); and the TCI state update is applied to all DL channels or signals (3GPP483 Pgs 11-12).
For Claim 23, 3GPP483 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the DCI format comprises an uplink, UL, DCI format (3GPP483 Pgs 11-12); and the TCI state update is applied to all UL channels or signals (3GPP483 Pgs 11-12).
For Claim(s) 24, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim(s) 28, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP483 in view of Guo et al. (US 20190297603 A1, published 9/26/2019; hereinafter Guo).
For Claim 2, 3GPP483 teaches the method of claim 1, 3GPP483 does not explicitly teach wherein the TCI state update application indication comprises a bitfield within the DCI.
However, Guo teaches wherein the TCI state update application indication comprises a bitfield within the DCI (Guo ¶ 0406, 0408)
Guo and 3GPP483 are analogous art because they are both related to networking.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the bit-field techniques of Guo with the system of 3GPP483 to derive an association between the multiple TCI states indicated by the one bit-field and a downlink data transmission of each of the TRPs and the UE further comprises the transceiver configured to receive, the downlink data transmission from each of the TRPs with the QCL configuration indicated by the derived association (Guo ¶ 0013).
For Claim 4, 3GPP483-Guo teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the bitfield comprises a plurality of bits (Guo ¶ 0216-0217).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP483 in view of Farag et al. (US 20210274503 A1, Provisional 62/982,300 filed 2/27/2020; hereinafter Far).
For Claim 7, 3GPP483 teaches the method of claim 1, 3GPP483 does not explicitly teach wherein the TCI state update application indication comprises using one of a plurality of Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (RNTIs) to scramble the cyclic redundancy check, CRC, of the DCI.
However, Far teaches wherein the TCI state update application indication comprises using one of a plurality of Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (RNTIs) to scramble the cyclic redundancy check, CRC, of the DCI (Far Claim 5).
Far and 3GPP483 are analogous art because they are both related to networking.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the RNTI techniques of Far with the system of 3GPP483 to flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements (Far ¶ 0003).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed below, thank you:
i. WO 2021101538 A, GROUP RNTI UPDATE AT BEAM CHANGE
Please see PTO-892 for additional listing of relevant prior art made of record but not relied upon, thank you.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael Keller at (571)270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Gillis can be reached on 571-272-7952.
/MICHAEL A KELLER/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446