Detailed Correspondence
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 01/02/2026, in response to claims 1-20 rejection from the non-final office action (10/13/2025), by amending claims 1 and 17 is entered and will be addressed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “a substrate supporting unit” in claims 1 and 7, Fig. 1 shows it is a stage or support.
The “a second region outside the first region” of each independent claims 1, 7, and 17, outside includes “The space beyond some limit or boundary” see OneLook.com. Therefore, any two regions intrinsically are outside of each other. This does not narrowly require the second region surrounds the first region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (WO 2019147097, hereafter ‘097, US 20200357613 is cited as English translation), in view of Vermeer et al. (US 20130012029, hereafter ‘029).
‘097 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, a substrate processing apparatus 1 … The substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept includes a supporting part 2, a first electrode unit 3, a generating hole 4, a second electrode unit 5, and a protrusion electrode 6 ([0021], includes the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus comprising”):
Referring to FIG. 2, the supporting part 2 supports the substrate S. The supporting part 2 may be disposed under the first electrode unit 3 … The supporting part 2 may be coupled to a chamber 100 which provides a processing space where the processing process is performed ([0022], includes the claimed “a process chamber providing a reaction space for processing a substrate; a substrate supporting unit supporting the substrate; a first electrode installed in the process chamber, the first electrode being opposite to the substrate and including a plurality of protrusion electrodes protruding toward the substrate; and a second electrode disposed under the first electrode, the second electrode including a plurality of openings into which the plurality of protrusion electrodes are inserted”).
Claim 7: Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, a substrate processing apparatus 1 … The substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept includes a supporting part 2, a first electrode unit 3, a generating hole 4, a second electrode unit 5, and a protrusion electrode 6 ([0021], includes the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus comprising”):
Referring to FIG. 2, the supporting part 2 supports the substrate S. The supporting part 2 may be disposed under the first electrode unit 3 … The supporting part 2 may be coupled to a chamber 100 which provides a processing space where the processing process is performed ([0022], includes the claimed “a process chamber providing a reaction space for processing a substrate; a substrate supporting unit supporting the substrate; a first electrode installed in the process chamber, the first electrode being opposite to the substrate and including a plurality of protrusion electrodes protruding toward the substrate; and a second electrode disposed under the first electrode, the second electrode including a plurality of openings into which the plurality of protrusion electrodes are inserted”).
‘097 further teaches that as illustrated in FIG. 3, the protrusion electrode 6 may be implemented to be disposed in a portion of the inner portion of the first electrode unit 3 ([0030]) and as illustrated in FIG. 4, the protrusion electrode 6 may be implemented to be disposed in a whole inner portion of the first electrode unit 3. Although not shown, the protrusion electrode 6 may protrude from the lower surface 32 of the first electrode unit 3 in the downward direction (the DD arrow direction), in addition to that the protrusion electrode 6 is disposed in the whole inner portion of the first electrode unit 3 ([0029]), the protrusion electrode 6 may protrude by a length 6a which is equal to or longer than an interval D between the first electrode unit 3 and the second electrode unit 5 spaced apart from each other with respect to the vertical direction (the Z-axis direction) ([0032], 2nd sentence), the length 61a of a portion, inserted into the first electrode unit 3, of the protrusion electrode 6 may be equal to or less than 0.7 L (Figs. 6-7, [0037], 2nd sentence). However, ‘097 does not explicitly teach varying the length of the plurality of the protrusion electrodes 6 in Fig. 2, or the combination of Figs. 3-7 in Fig. 2.
‘097 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: wherein the plurality of protrusion electrodes comprise a first protrusion electrode disposed in a first region and a second protrusion electrode disposed in a second region outside the first region, and the first protrusion electrode and the second protrusion electrode protrude by different lengths, and
wherein a part of the second electrode in a first region and another part of the second electrode in a second region outside the first region in the second electrode are apart from the substrate supporting unit by different lengths.
Claim 7: wherein a part of the second electrode in a first region and another part of the second electrode in a second region outside the first region in the second electrode are apart from the substrate supporting unit by different lengths.
Claim 15: wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region and a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes protrude by different lengths.
‘029 is analogous art in the field of Method for depositing a layer on a surface of a substrate ... The method further comprising providing a first electrode and a second electrode, positioning the first electrode and the substrate relative to each other, and generating a plasma discharge near the substrate for contacting the substrate by generating a high-voltage difference between the first electrode and the second electrode (abstract). ’029 teaches that the plasma device 6 comprises an electrode positioner arranged for individually moving each one of the first electrodes 52.i in its respective bore 68.i. (Fig. 3A, [0101],3rd sentence), the first and second electrodes 52.i, 54.j. (Figs. 3C-3D, [0113], last sentence), the electrodes 52.i, 54.j are individually movable in a direction towards and away from the substrate 14, e.g. as described with respect to FIGS. 3A-C (Fig. 3D, [0118]), for the purpose of generating the plasma discharge selectively ([0004]). ‘029 further teaches that the device 6 is specially adapted for patterning the surface 12 of a three-dimensional substrate 14 ([0117], last sentence). Fig. 3D of ‘029 shows “wherein a part of the second electrode in a first region and another part of the second electrode in a second region outside the first region in the second electrode are apart from the substrate supporting unit by different lengths”. Note the substrate supporting unit is flat (see Fig. 2A, for example).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the protrusion electrodes 6 of ‘097 according to Fig. 3D of ‘029, to have added individual positioner of ‘029 to each electrode 6 of ‘097, for the purpose of coating a three-dimensional substrate, as taught by ‘029 ([117]) and generating the plasma discharge selectively, as taught by ‘029 ([0004]) and suggested by ‘097.
The combination apparatus of ‘097 and ‘029 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 2 and 5: with individually controlled positioner from ‘029 to each of the protrusion electrode 6 of ‘097, the combination apparatus is capable of the claimed “wherein the first protrusion electrode protrudes toward the substrate by a longer length than the second protrusion electrode” of claim 2, see also Fig. 5A of ‘029, and “wherein one of the first protrusion electrode and the second protrusion electrode inserted into the opening is the same plane as a bottom surface of the second electrode” of claim 5, (see also Fig. 4 of ‘097).
Claims 3 and 6: Fig. 3D of ‘029 shows the claimed “wherein the second protrusion electrode protrudes toward the substrate by a longer length than the first protrusion electrode” of claim 3 and “wherein a part of the second electrode in the first region and another part of the second electrode in the second region protrude toward the substrate by different lengths” of claim 6.
Claim 8: Fig. 3D of ‘029 also shows the claimed “wherein the part of the second electrode in the first region is apart from the substrate supporting unit by a longer distance than the another part of the second electrode in the second region”, note the substrate supporting unit is flat (see Fig. 2A, for example).
Claims 4, 10, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘097 and ‘029, as being applied to claims 1 and 7 rejection above, further in view of Choi et al. (US 20080302303, hereafter ‘303).
The combination of ‘097 and ‘029 further teaches some limitations of:
Claims 4 and 10: Referring to FIG. 9, the protrusion electrode 6 may include a distribution hole 63 (‘097, [0055], includes the claimed “wherein the first protrusion electrode comprises a first injection hole injecting a first gas” of claim 4 and “wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region among the protrusion electrodes comprises a first injection hole injecting a first gas” of claim 10),
By arranging the electrodes as shown in Fig. 3D of ‘029, it would have the claimed “the second protrusion electrode comprises a second injection hole injecting a second gas” of claim 4 and “a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes comprises a second injection hole injecting a second gas” of claim 10.
The combination of ‘097 and ‘029 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 4 and 10: an area of the first injection hole differs from an area of the second injection hole.
Claim 12: wherein an area of the second injection hole is formed to be greater than an area of the first injection hole.
Claim 13: wherein the area of the first injection hole and the area of the second injection hole are horizontal cross-sectional areas.
‘303 is analogous art in the field of APPARATUS FOR DEPOSITING A UNIFORM SILICON FILM WITH FLOW GRADIENT DESIGNS (title), Plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) ([0006], 4th sentence). ‘990 teaches that FIG. 9C depicts a bottom view of the downstream surface 928 of the plate 902 having chokes 926 opened thereon. The surface area density and distribution of the chokes 926 formed on the plate 902 may be varied to meet different process requirement. In one embodiment, the chokes 926 in the corner edge portion 912 may have a higher surface area density than chokes 926 in the center portion 910 in the plate 902 so that a hollow cathode gradient (HCG) may be provided ([0076]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted higher surface area at the edge portion than the center portion, as taught by ‘303, to the distribution holes 63 of ‘097, for the purpose of uniform gas flow to meet different process requirement, as taught by ‘303 (title and [0076]).
The combination of ‘097 and ‘029 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 14 and 16: Fig. 2 of ‘097 shows the claimed “wherein at least one of the first protrusion electrode and the second protrusion electrode inserted into the opening is the same plane as a bottom surface of the second electrode” of claim 14 and “wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region and a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes protrude by the same length” of claim 16, note ‘029’ electrode positioner is also capable of this arrangement.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘097 and ‘029, as being applied to claim 7 rejection above, further in view of MOCHIZUKI et al. (US 20220170158, hereafter ‘158).
The combination of ‘097 and ‘029 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 9: wherein the another part of the second electrode in the second region is apart from the substrate supporting unit by a longer distance than the part of the second electrode in the first region.
‘158 is analogous art in the field of FILM FORMING DEVICE (title), Provided is a film forming device that deposits, on a substrate, a product generated by decomposing raw material gas by a plasma discharged from a discharge port of a double tube, the device including: an inner tube through which raw material gas containing a film-forming raw material flows and is guided to the discharge port on a downstream side; an outer tube that has the inner tube inserted thereinto and through which plasma-generating gas flows and a plasma generated by discharge is guided to the discharge port on the downstream side; a first electrode that is formed in an annular shape around the outer tube and grounded; and a second electrode that is formed in an annular shape around the outer tube and to which a voltage is applied (abstract). ‘158 teaches that As shown in FIG. 6, the protrusion amount of the end part of the inner tube 11 on the downstream side with respect to the end part of the outer tube 12 on the downstream side is defined as δ. In the present embodiment, for example, the protrusion amount δ is set to 7 mm ([0075], last two sentences), the film forming device 10A of the present embodiment is suitable for forming a film on a substrate 20A having a concave surface ([0076]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have reversed the electrode arrangement of Fig. 3D of ‘029 and then combined with ‘097, for the purpose of coating concave substrate, as taught by ‘158 ([0076]).
Claims 4, 10-11, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘097 and ‘029, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of FAGUET (US 20080241377, hereafter ‘377).
The combination of ‘097 and ‘029 further teaches some limitations of:
Claims 4 and 10: Referring to FIG. 9, the protrusion electrode 6 may include a distribution hole 63 (‘097, [0055], includes the claimed “wherein the first protrusion electrode comprises a first injection hole injecting a first gas” of claim 4 and “wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region among the protrusion electrodes comprises a first injection hole injecting a first gas” of claim 10),
By arranging the electrodes as shown in Fig. 3D of ‘029, it would have the claimed “the second protrusion electrode comprises a second injection hole injecting a second gas” of claim 4 and “a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes comprises a second injection hole injecting a second gas” of claim 10.
The combination of ‘097 and ‘029 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 4 and 10: an area of the first injection hole differs from an area of the second injection hole.
Claim 11: wherein an area of the first injection hole is formed to be greater than an area of the second injection hole.
Claim 13: wherein the area of the first injection hole and the area of the second injection hole are horizontal cross-sectional areas.
‘377 is analogous art in the field of VAPOR DEPOSITION SYSTEM (title), plasma enhanced CVD (PECVD) ([0004]). ‘377 teaches that the plurality of openings 144 can be distributed in various density patterns on the gas distribution plate 141. For example, more openings can be formed near the center of the gas distribution plate 141 and fewer openings can be formed near the periphery of the gas distribution plate 141. Alternatively, for example, more openings can be formed near the periphery of the gas distribution slate 141 and fewer openings can be formed near the center of the gas distribution plate 141. Additionally yet, the size of the openings can vary on the gas distribution plate 141. For example, larger openings can be formed near the center of the gas distribution plate 141 and smaller openings can be formed near the periphery of the gas distribution plate 141. Alternatively, for example, smaller openings -can be formed near the periphery of the gas distribution plate 141 and larger openings can be formed near the center of the gas distribution plate 141 (Fig. 2A, [0040]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted larger openings near the center than near the periphery of the gas distribution, as taught by ‘377, to the gas distribution holes 63 of ‘097, for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Note the last sentence of [0040] of ‘377 is a typo which seems unnecessarily paraphrasing the bold-faced sentence right before the last sentence. In the spirit of the earlier two sentences of [0040] that states the opposite arrangement, the last sentence should be smaller openings near the center of the gas distribution plate, which also is a valid rejection of claim 12.
The combination of ‘097 and ‘029 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 14 and 16: Fig. 2 shows the claimed “wherein at least one of the first protrusion electrode and the second protrusion electrode inserted into the opening is the same plane as a bottom surface of the second electrode” of claim 14 and “wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region and a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes protrude by the same length” of claim 16, note ‘029’ electrode positioner is also capable of this arrangement.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘097, in view of Ha et al. (US 20150303037, hereafter ‘037) and ‘029.
‘097 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 17: Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, a substrate processing apparatus 1 … The substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept includes a supporting part 2, a first electrode unit 3, a generating hole 4, a second electrode unit 5, and a protrusion electrode 6 ([0021], includes the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus comprising”):
Referring to FIG. 2, the supporting part 2 supports the substrate S. The supporting part 2 may be disposed under the first electrode unit 3 … The supporting part 2 may be coupled to a chamber 100 which provides a processing space where the processing process is performed ([0022], includes the claimed “a process chamber providing a reaction space for processing a substrate; a substrate supporting unit supporting the substrate””);
Referring to FIG. 9, the protrusion electrode 6 may include a distribution hole 63 ([0055], the second electrode unit 5, and the protrusion electrode 6 is the claimed “a first injection plate installed in the process chamber, the first injection plate being opposite to the substrate and including a plurality of protrusion paths protruding toward the substrate and injecting a first gas”, the first electrode unit 3 is the claimed “a second injection plate disposed under the first injection plate, the second injection plate including a plurality of injection holes into which the protrusion paths are inserted”).
‘097 further teaches that as illustrated in FIG. 3, the protrusion electrode 6 may be implemented to be disposed in a portion of the inner portion of the first electrode unit 3 ([0030]) and as illustrated in FIG. 4, the protrusion electrode 6 may be implemented to be disposed in a whole inner portion of the first electrode unit 3. Although not shown, the protrusion electrode 6 may protrude from the lower surface 32 of the first electrode unit 3 in the downward direction (the DD arrow direction), in addition to that the protrusion electrode 6 is disposed in the whole inner portion of the first electrode unit 3 ([0029]), the protrusion electrode 6 may protrude by a length 6a which is equal to or longer than an interval D between the first electrode unit 3 and the second electrode unit 5 spaced apart from each other with respect to the vertical direction (the Z-axis direction) ([0032], 2nd sentence), the length 61a of a portion, inserted into the first electrode unit 3, of the protrusion electrode 6 may be equal to or less than 0.7 L (Figs. 6-7, [0037], 2nd sentence). However, ‘097 does not explicitly teach varying the length of the plurality of the protrusion electrodes 6 in Fig. 2, or the combination of Figs. 3-7 in Fig. 2.
‘097 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 17: (17A) (a second injection plate disposed under the first injection plate, the second injection plate including a plurality of injection holes into which the protrusion paths are inserted) and through which a second gas is injected,
(17B) wherein a first protrusion path disposed in a first region and a second protrusion path disposed in a second region outside the first region among the protrusion paths protrude by different lengths, and
wherein a part of the second electrode in a first region and another part of the second electrode in a second region outside the first region in the second electrode are apart from the substrate supporting unit by different lengths.
‘037 is analogous art in the field of Substrate Processing Apparatus (title), an apparatus for processing substrate which prevents a plasma discharge from being transferred to a substrate so as to minimize damages on the substrate and also minimize deterioration in quality of a thin film deposited on the substrate, wherein the apparatus may include a process chamber for providing a reaction space, and a gas distribution module for dissociating processing gas by the use of plasma, and distributing the dissociated processing gas onto a substrate, wherein the gas distribution module may include a lower frame having a plurality of electrode inserting portions (abstract). ’037 teaches that The lower frame 147, which is electrically insulated from the upper frame 143, is inserted into and is electrically connected with a plasma power supply member ([0079], see Figs. 2-3), The lower frame 147 is provided with a plurality of electrode inserting portions (EIP) into which the plurality of protruding electrodes (PE) penetrating through the electrode penetrating portions 145a of the insulating plate 145 are inserted ([0077]), whereby the upper frame 143 may be electrically grounded through the chamber lid 130 ([0065], last sentence, i.e. the PE is grounded), The upper frame 143 may include the plurality of protruding electrodes (PE), a plurality of processing gas distribution holes (SH1), a plurality of dilution gas supply holes 143b, and a plurality of dilution gas distribution holes (SH2) ([0066]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added dilution gas supply of ‘037, to the generating hole 4 of ‘097 (the limitations of 17A), for the purpose of minimizing damages on the substrate and also minimizing deterioration in quality of a thin film, as taught by ‘037 (abstract).
‘029 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the protrusion electrodes 6 of ‘097 according to Fig. 3D of ‘029, to have added individual positioner of ‘029 to each electrode 6 of ‘097 (the limitations of 17B), for the purpose of coating a three-dimensional substrate, as taught by ‘029 ([117]) and generating the plasma discharge selectively, as taught by ‘029 ([0004]) and suggested by ‘097.
The combination of ‘097, ‘029, and ‘037 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 18-20: with individually controlled positioner from ‘029 to each of the protrusion electrode 6 of ‘097, the combination apparatus is capable of the claimed “wherein the first protrusion path protrudes toward the substrate by a longer length than the second protrusion path” of claim 18 and “wherein the second protrusion path protrudes toward the substrate by a longer length than the first protrusion path” of claim 19, and “wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region and a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes protrude by different lengths” of claim 20.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 20210035780, hereafter ‘780), in view of ‘029.
’780 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept performs a processing process on a substrate S ([0033], includes the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus comprising”):
The substrate supporter 2 may be coupled to a chamber 100 which provides a processing space where the processing process is performed ([0034], 8th sentence, includes the claimed “a process chamber providing a reaction space for processing a substrate; a substrate supporting unit supporting the substrate”);
The substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept includes a substrate supporter 2, a first electrode 3, a second electrode 4, an opening 5, and a protrusion electrode 6 ([0033], last sentence, includes the claimed “a first electrode installed in the process chamber, the first electrode being opposite to the substrate and including a plurality of protrusion electrodes protruding toward the substrate; and a second electrode disposed under the first electrode, the second electrode including a plurality of openings into which the plurality of protrusion electrodes are inserted”),
As illustrated in FIG. 13, a third distance D3 to the protrusion electrodes 6 disposed in the center portion CA may be implemented to be greater than a third distance D3′ (illustrated in FIG. 13) to the protrusion electrodes disposed in the peripheral portion SA ([0074], includes the claimed “wherein the plurality of protrusion electrodes comprise a first protrusion electrode disposed in a first region and a second protrusion electrode disposed in a second region outside the first region, and the first protrusion electrode and the second protrusion electrode protrude by different lengths”.
Claim 7: Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept performs a processing process on a substrate S ([0033], includes the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus comprising”):
The substrate supporter 2 may be coupled to a chamber 100 which provides a processing space where the processing process is performed ([0034], 8th sentence, includes the claimed “a process chamber providing a reaction space for processing a substrate; a substrate supporting unit supporting the substrate”);
The substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept includes a substrate supporter 2, a first electrode 3, a second electrode 4, an opening 5, and a protrusion electrode 6 ([0033], last sentence, includes the claimed “a first electrode installed in the process chamber, the first electrode being opposite to the substrate and including a plurality of protrusion electrodes protruding toward the substrate; and a second electrode disposed under the first electrode, the second electrode including a plurality of openings into which the plurality of protrusion electrodes are inserted”).
Claim 17: Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept performs a processing process on a substrate S ([0033], includes the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus comprising”):
The substrate supporter 2 may be coupled to a chamber 100 which provides a processing space where the processing process is performed ([0034], 8th sentence, includes the claimed “a process chamber providing a reaction space for processing a substrate; a substrate supporting unit supporting the substrate”);
The substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept includes a substrate supporter 2, a first electrode 3, a second electrode 4, an opening 5, and a protrusion electrode 6 ([0033], last sentence), Referring to FIGS. 16 and 17, the substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept may include a second gas distribution hole 8 ([0082], includes the claimed “a first injection plate installed in the process chamber, the first injection plate being opposite to the substrate and including a plurality of protrusion paths protruding toward the substrate and injecting a first gas”);
Referring to FIGS. 14 and 15, the substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept may include a first gas distribution hole 7. The first gas distribution hole 7 distributes a first gas to the first discharging region 10. The first gas may be a gas for generating plasma or a gas for performing a processing process on the substrate S. The first gas may be a mixed gas where the gas for generating the plasma is mixed with the gas for performing the processing process on the substrate S ([0078]-[0079], includes the claimed “and a second injection plate disposed under the first injection plate, the second injection plate including a plurality of injection holes into which the protrusion paths are inserted and through which a second gas is injected”),
As illustrated in FIG. 13, a third distance D3 to the protrusion electrodes 6 disposed in the center portion CA may be implemented to be greater than a third distance D3′ (illustrated in FIG. 13) to the protrusion electrodes disposed in the peripheral portion SA ([0074], includes the claimed “wherein a first protrusion path disposed in a first region and a second protrusion path disposed in a second region outside the first region among the protrusion paths protrude by different lengths”).
‘780 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 1, 7, and 17: wherein a part of the second electrode in a first region and another part of the second electrode in a second region outside the first region in the second electrode are apart from the substrate supporting unit by different lengths.
‘029 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the second electrode 4 of ‘780 according to Fig. 3D of ‘029, for the purpose of coating a three-dimensional substrate, as taught by ‘029 ([117]).
‘780 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 2, 15, 18, and 20: Fig. 13 shows the claimed “wherein the first protrusion electrode protrudes toward the substrate by a longer length than the second protrusion electrode” of claim 2, “wherein the first protrusion path protrudes toward the substrate by a longer length than the second protrusion path” of claim 18, and “wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region and a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes protrude by different lengths” of claims 15 and 20.
Claims 3 and 19: as the first region and second region can have any spatially relationship between the two regions, see claim interpretation above, Fig.13 also reads into the claimed “wherein the second protrusion electrode protrudes toward the substrate by a longer length than the first protrusion electrode” of claim 3 and “wherein the second protrusion path protrudes toward the substrate by a longer length than the first protrusion path” of claim 20.
The combination apparatus of ‘780 and ‘029 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 5: with individually controlled positioner from ‘029 to each of the protrusion electrode 6 of ‘780, the combination apparatus is capable of the claimed “wherein one of the first protrusion electrode and the second protrusion electrode inserted into the opening is the same plane as a bottom surface of the second electrode”.
Claims 3 and 6: Fig. 3D of ‘029 shows the claimed “wherein the second protrusion electrode protrudes toward the substrate by a longer length than the first protrusion electrode” of claim 3 again and “wherein a part of the second electrode in the first region and another part of the second electrode in the second region protrude toward the substrate by different lengths” of claim 6.
Claim 8: Fig. 3D of ‘029 also shows the claimed “wherein the part of the second electrode in the first region is apart from the substrate supporting unit by a longer distance than the another part of the second electrode in the second region”, note the substrate supporting unit is flat (see Fig. 2A, for example).
Claims 4, 10, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘780 and ‘029, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of ‘303.
The combination of ‘780 and ‘029 further teaches some limitations of:
Claims 4 and 10: Referring to FIGS. 16 and 17, the substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept may include a second gas distribution hole 8 (‘780, [0082], includes the claimed “wherein the first protrusion electrode comprises a first injection hole injecting a first gas” of claim 4 and “wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region among the protrusion electrodes comprises a first injection hole injecting a first gas” of claim 10),
By arranging the electrodes as shown in Fig. 3D of ‘029, it would have the claimed “the second protrusion electrode comprises a second injection hole injecting a second gas” of claim 4 and “a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes comprises a second injection hole injecting a second gas” of claim 10.
The combination of ‘780 and ‘029 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 4 and 10: an area of the first injection hole differs from an area of the second injection hole.
Claim 12: wherein an area of the second injection hole is formed to be greater than an area of the first injection hole.
Claim 13: wherein the area of the first injection hole and the area of the second injection hole are horizontal cross-sectional areas.
‘303 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted higher surface area at the edge portion than the center portion, as taught by ‘303, to the distribution holes 8 of ‘780, for the purpose of uniform gas flow to meet different process requirement, as taught by ‘303 (title and [0076]).
The combination of ‘780 and ‘029 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 14 and 16: Fig. 1 of ‘780 shows the claimed “wherein at least one of the first protrusion electrode and the second protrusion electrode inserted into the opening is the same plane as a bottom surface of the second electrode” of claim 14 and “wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region and a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes protrude by the same length” of claim 16, note ‘029’ electrode positioner is also capable of this arrangement.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘780 and ‘029, as being applied to claim 7 rejection above, further in view of ‘158.
The combination of ‘780 and ‘029 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 9: wherein the another part of the second electrode in the second region is apart from the substrate supporting unit by a longer distance than the part of the second electrode in the first region.
‘158 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have reversed the electrode arrangement of Fig. 3D of ‘029 and then combined with ‘780, for the purpose of coating concave substrate, as taught by ‘158 ([0076]).
Claims 4, 10-11, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘780 and ‘029, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of ‘377.
The combination of ‘780 and ‘029 further teaches some limitations of:
Claims 4 and 10: Referring to FIGS. 16 and 17, the substrate processing apparatus 1 according to the present inventive concept may include a second gas distribution hole 8 (‘780, [0082], includes the claimed “wherein the first protrusion electrode comprises a first injection hole injecting a first gas” of claim 4 and “wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region among the protrusion electrodes comprises a first injection hole injecting a first gas” of claim 10),
By arranging the electrodes as shown in Fig. 3D of ‘029, it would have the claimed “the second protrusion electrode comprises a second injection hole injecting a second gas” of claim 4 and “a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes comprises a second injection hole injecting a second gas” of claim 10.
The combination of ‘780 and ‘029 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 4 and 10: an area of the first injection hole differs from an area of the second injection hole.
Claim 11: wherein an area of the first injection hole is formed to be greater than an area of the second injection hole.
Claim 13: wherein the area of the first injection hole and the area of the second injection hole are horizontal cross-sectional areas.
‘377 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted larger openings near the center than near the periphery of the gas distribution, as taught by ‘377, to the gas distribution holes 8 of ‘780, for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Note the last sentence of [0040] of ‘377 is a typo which seems unnecessarily paraphrasing the bold-faced sentence right before the last sentence. In the spirit of the earlier two sentences of [0040] that states the opposite arrangement, the last sentence should be smaller openings near the center of the gas distribution plate, which also is a valid rejection of claim 12.
The combination of ‘780 and ‘029 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 14 and 16: Fig. 1 of ‘780 shows the claimed “wherein at least one of the first protrusion electrode and the second protrusion electrode inserted into the opening is the same plane as a bottom surface of the second electrode” of claim 14 and “wherein a first protrusion electrode disposed in the first region and a second protrusion electrode disposed in the second region among the protrusion electrodes protrude by the same length” of claim 16, note ‘029’ electrode positioner is also capable of this arrangement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regarding to 35 USC 103 rejection over Oh ‘097 and Vermeer ‘029, Applicants argue that ‘029 is designed to follow the contour of the surface of the substrate, the distance between the electrodes and the substrate remains uniform. The present invention requires the opposite concept by creating distance differential, see the bottom of page 3.
This argument is found not persuasive.
This argument is regarding the “wherein a part of the second electrode in a first region and another part of the second electrode in a second region outside the first region in the second electrode are apart from the substrate supporting unit by different lengths”, not distance differential between the electrodes and the substrate.
The OC has pointed out that “note the substrate supporting unit is flat (see Fig. 2A, for example)” regarding to ‘029.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2019212270 is cited for the center first electrode closer to substrate than peripheral first electrode (Fig.1 5).
The examiner notices that ‘097 and ‘780 teaches rationale for varying length of the protrusion electrodes. US 20080110860 is cited for varying mode of etching edge-high vs. edge-low (Figs. 5A-5D). This provides rationale to reverse the plasma distribution for various design factor such as varying length of the protrusion electrodes, hole area, and distance to the substrate, in the center vs. edge regions.
US 20150235812 is cited for power electrode 250 protrudes at different length at different regions (Fig. 9). US 20150111391 is cited for gas G1 to the second injection holes, in addition to gas G3 to the protrusion electrode (Fig. 8).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716