DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 23 have been amended. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-16, 23-28, 30-33, 35, 39-40, and 43-44 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, rejection is maintained.
Applicant contends:
Laselva, Kim, and Bao, either individually or in proper combination, fails to teach or suggest the features of "wherein the first set of criteria is based on a range of non-zero speed levels of the communication device," as recited by amended Claim 1 and similarly recited in amended Claim 23.
Laselva, Kim, and Bao, either individually or in proper combination, fails to teach or suggest the features of "selecting one of the first mode of operation and the second mode of operation to perform the RLP based on the criteria, comprising selecting the first mode of operation responsive to a non-zero speed level of the communication device being less than a non-zero speed threshold and selecting the second mode of operation responsive to the non-zero speed level of the communication device being greater than or equal to the non-zero speed threshold," as recited by amended Claim 1 and similarly recited in amended Claim 23.
refining the switching logic of Laselva for power-saving or measurement adaptation based on the claimed non-zero speed levels, as recited by amended Claim 1, would render Laselva unsatisfactory for its intended purpose and would change the principle of operation of Laselva being modified. Therefore, any proper combination of Kim with Laselva is not sufficient to render the claims prima facie obvious.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims in a pending application should be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974).
Kim teaches wherein the first set of criteria is based on a range of non-zero speed levels of the communication device (Kim: ¶ 0272, a terminal may be configured to report current cell information (ID or stay time), previous camping cell information (ID or stay time), etc. when it is determined that MSE information or mobility state information generated in various ways is included in a predetermined range of a low speed. ¶ 0273, a terminal may be configured to report information (number and IDs) on cells in which the terminal has camped in a predetermined time section (e.g., valid time of mobility history information), the number of cells on which cell selection/reselection has been performed, ID information on the corresponding cells, valid time of mobility history information, etc. when it is determined that a mobility state is included in a predetermined range of a high speed; [Examiner’s Note: Kim teaches ranges of low/high speed levels. Theses speed ranges represent non-zero speed levels of the terminal (i.e., communication device)]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s non-zero speed ranges and threshold evaluation logic into Laselva’s network-assisted criteria framework to enable fine-grained mode-switching while the device is in active transit, thereby optimizing power consumption and performance based on UE mobility. herefore, Laselva in view of Kim meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Laselva in view of Kim teach selecting one of the first mode of operation and the second mode of operation to perform the RLP based on the criteria (Laselva: selecting power mode related to radio measurements based on the configuration information [0059]-[0061]; Figs. 1-3. See also, ¶ 0011, operating in a normal power mode, including performing normal radio environment related measurements and monitoring a stationarity condition by means of local procedure and/or equipment, switching from the normal power mode to a power saving mode, if the locally monitored stationarity condition is satisfied, and operating in the power saving mode, including performing relaxed radio environment related measurements . ¶ 0079, relaxation of radio measurements or measurement requirements in the power saving mode means that less radio measurements or lower radio measurements requirements, in terms of scope and/or rate, are set and applied; Examiner’s Note: Laselva teaches selecting between a “normal power mode” (first mode) and a “power saving mode” (second mode) to perform “relaxed radio environment related measurements” (RLP) based on whether the “locally monitored stationarity condition” (criteria) is satisfied.), comprising selecting the first mode of operation responsive to a non-zero speed level of the communication device being less than a non-zero speed threshold (Kim: ¶ 0031, may be determined that the event based on MSE has occurred when an intensity of a signal transmitted from the base station is lower than a predetermined threshold value, or when the terminal is determined to have moved out of a specific area on the basis of location information on the terminal. ¶ 0272, a terminal may be configured to report current cell information (ID or stay time), previous camping cell information (ID or stay time), etc. when it is determined that MSE information or mobility state information generated in various ways is included in a predetermined range of a low speed; [Examiner’s Note: Kim teaches that when MSE (mobility state estimation) indicates “low speed” (i.e., below threshold), the terminal enters a first mode (e.g., stop/deactivate measurement or report mobility history for low-speed movement.)]) and selecting the second mode of operation responsive to the non-zero speed level of the communication device being greater than or equal to the non-zero speed threshold (Kim: ¶ 0273, a terminal may be configured to report information (number and IDs) on cells in which the terminal has camped in a predetermined time section (e.g., valid time of mobility history information), the number of cells on which cell selection/reselection has been performed, ID information on the corresponding cells, valid time of mobility history information, etc. when it is determined that a mobility state is included in a predetermined range of a high speed. ¶ 0276, In particular, when the number of cells that a terminal has passed through in the predetermined time or the number of times of handover is greater than a predetermined reference value (or threshold value) of the corresponding parameter, or a cell stay time (a stay time per cell or an average stay time) is less than a predetermined reference value (or threshold value) of the corresponding parameter, the terminal may receive service from a macro layer cell; [Examiner’s Note: Kim teaches that when MSE indicates “high speed” (at or above a threshold), the terminal enters a second mode (e.g., report comprehensive mobility history or receive service from a macro layer cell), distinguishing from the “low speed” mode.]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s non-zero speed ranges and threshold evaluation logic into Laselva’s network-assisted criteria framework to enable fine-grained mode-switching while the device is in active transit, thereby optimizing power consumption and performance based on UE mobility. Therefore, Laselva in view of Kim meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
A person of ordinary skill in the art could recognize that both references are directed towards optimizing terminal operation and power consumption in response to mobility. Examiner has met all requirements establishing a prima facie case: all factual findings required by Graham were supplied in the previous and present Actions; the references are related art, and Applicant has supplied no evidence that there is no reasonable expectation of success; all claim limitations were met in the previous and present Actions, and Applicant has merely made the allegation that the limitations are not met, and thus has not provided any evidence or argument directed to how the identified elements in the first action fail to meet the claimed limitations or to how the identified elements are otherwise distinguishable from the claimed limitations. Neither has Applicant supplied any evidence or argument addressing any failure of Examiner's application of the TSM test, pursuant to current governing law (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007)). Therefore, Laselva in view of Kim meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-12, 14-16 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva et al. (US 20240259947 A1) hereinafter Laselva in view of Kim (US 20130229931 A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1,
Laselva teaches a method, performed by a communication device, comprising: obtaining criteria associated with a first mode of operation and a second mode of operation of a Radio Link Procedure (RLP) to be performed by the communication device (obtaining configuration information associated with normal and power saving mode related to radio measurement [0066]; element S330 of Fig. 3),
wherein obtaining the criteria comprises obtaining a first set of criteria associated with the first mode of operation and a second set of criteria associated with the second mode of operation (the configuration information associated with normal and power saving mode related to radio measurement, where the configuration information is associated with conditions for operating normal power and power saving modes, and the conditions for each mode include a set of criteria [0017] and [0066]; element S330 of Fig. 3);
selecting one of the first mode of operation and the second mode of operation to perform the RLP based on the criteria (selecting power mode related to radio measurements based on the configuration information [0059]-[0061]; Figs. 1-3. See also, ¶ 0011, operating in a normal power mode, including performing normal radio environment related measurements and monitoring a stationarity condition by means of local procedure and/or equipment, switching from the normal power mode to a power saving mode, if the locally monitored stationarity condition is satisfied, and operating in the power saving mode, including performing relaxed radio environment related measurements . ¶ 0079, relaxation of radio measurements or measurement requirements in the power saving mode means that less radio measurements or lower radio measurements
requirements, in terms of scope and/or rate, are set and applied; Examiner’s Note: Laselva teaches selecting between a “normal power mode” (first mode) and a “power saving mode” (second mode) to perform “relaxed radio environment related measurements” (RLP) based on whether the “locally monitored stationarity condition” (criteria) is satisfied.); and
performing the RLP according to the first mode of operation or the second mode of operation based on the selection (performing radio measurements in normal power or power saving mode based on the selection [0059]-[0061]; Figs. 1-3).
Laselva does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of criteria is based on a range of non-zero speed levels of the communication device; and comprising selecting the first mode of operation responsive to a non-zero speed level of the communication device being less than a non-zero speed threshold and selecting the second mode of operation responsive to the non-zero speed level of the communication device being greater than or equal to the non-zero speed threshold.
Kim teaches wherein the first set of criteria is based on a range of non-zero speed levels of the communication device (the mobility state being included in a predetermined range of a low speed [0267]-[0273]. See also, ¶ 0272, a terminal may be configured to report current cell information (ID or stay time), previous camping cell information (ID or stay time), etc. when it is determined that MSE information or mobility state information generated in various ways is included in a predetermined range of a low speed. ¶ 0273, a terminal may be configured to report information (number and IDs) on cells in which the terminal has camped in a predetermined time section (e.g., valid time of mobility history information), the number of cells on which cell selection/reselection has been performed, ID information on the corresponding cells, valid time of mobility history information, etc. when it is determined that a mobility state is included in a predetermined range of a high speed; [Examiner’s Note: Kim teaches ranges of low/high speed levels. Theses speed ranges represent non-zero speed levels of the terminal (i.e., communication device)]); and
comprising selecting the first mode of operation responsive to a non-zero speed level of the communication device being less than a non-zero speed threshold (Kim: ¶ 0031, may be determined that the event based on MSE has occurred when an intensity of a signal transmitted from the base station is lower than a predetermined threshold value, or when the terminal is determined to have moved out of a specific area on the basis of location information on the terminal. ¶ 0272, a terminal may be configured to report current cell information (ID or stay time), previous camping cell information (ID or stay time), etc. when it is determined that MSE information or mobility state information generated in various ways is included in a predetermined range of a low speed; [Examiner’s Note: Kim teaches that when MSE (mobility state estimation) indicates “low speed” (i.e., below threshold), the terminal enters a first mode (e.g., stop/deactivate measurement or report mobility history for low-speed movement)]); and selecting the second mode of operation responsive to the non-zero speed level of the communication device being greater than or equal to the non-zero speed threshold (Kim: ¶ 0273, a terminal may be configured to report information (number and IDs) on cells in which the terminal has camped in a predetermined time section (e.g., valid time of mobility history information), the number of cells on which cell selection/reselection has been performed, ID information on the corresponding cells, valid time of mobility history information, etc. when it is determined that a mobility state is included in a predetermined range of a high speed. ¶ 0276, In particular, when the number of cells that a terminal has passed through in the predetermined time or the number of times of handover is greater than a predetermined reference value (or threshold value) of the corresponding parameter, or a cell stay time (a stay time per cell or an average stay time) is less than a predetermined reference value (or threshold value) of the corresponding parameter, the terminal may receive service from a macro layer cell; [Examiner’s Note: Kim teaches that when MSE indicates “high speed” (at or above a threshold), the terminal enters a second mode (e.g., report comprehensive mobility history or receive service from a macro layer cell), distinguishing from the “low speed” mode.]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Laselva. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would enhance mobility support in low power operation (Kim [0003]).
Regarding claim 2,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches wherein the first set of criteria is associated with a scenario in which the communication device is able to perform the RLP according to the first mode of operation (conditions associated with stationarity [0020]-[0026], and [0073]); and
wherein the second set of criteria that is associated with a condition impacts performance of the RLP when operating the RLP according to the first mode of operation (stationarity condition comprising radio environment variation [0020]-[0026], and [0073]).
Regarding claim 10,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches the first mode of operation comprises a relaxed mode of operation to perform the RLP and the second mode of operation comprises a normal mode of operation to perform the RLP (power saving mode comprising relaxed radio measurements and normal power mode comprising regular radio measurements [0058]-[0062]; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 10, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches the relaxed mode of operation comprises one or more of: a relaxed measurement period that exceeds a normal measurement period of the normal mode of operation (increasing measurement periodicity [0027]-[0028]), a relaxed reference signal measurement accuracy level that exceeds a reference signal measurement accuracy level of the normal mode of operation, a relaxed periodicity for sending RLP indications that exceeds a normal periodicity for sending RLP indications of the normal mode operation, and/or a relaxed evaluation period that extends the normal evaluation period of the normal mode of operation.
Regarding claim 12,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches the RLP comprises one of Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) procedure and a Link Recovery (LR) procedure (radio measurements comprising RLM [0083]).
Regarding claim 14,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches the first mode of operation comprises a relaxed mode of operation to perform the RLP and the second mode of operation comprises a normal mode of operation to perform the RLP (power saving mode comprising relaxed radio measurement operation and normal power saving mode comprising regular radio measurement operation [0059]-[0061]; Figs. 1-2) and selecting one of the first mode of operation or the second mode of operation to perform the RLP (selecting power mode related to radio measurements based on the configuration information [0059]-[0061]; Figs. 1-3) comprises: responsive to at least one first criterion in the first set of criteria being met and at least one second criterion in the second set of criteria being met, performing RLP in the first mode of operation (responsive to a non-stationary condition being unsatisfied and stationary condition being satisfied [0017]-[0039] and [0061]; Fig. 2); and
responsive to at least one first criterion in the first set of criteria not being met and/or at least one second criterion in the second set of criteria not being met, performing RLP in the second mode of operation (responsive to a non-stationary condition being satisfied and stationary condition being unsatisfied [0017]-[0039] and [0061]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 14, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches while operating in the first mode of operation, reverting to the second mode of operation responsive to detecting a certain number of out-of-sync indications or upon triggering a T310 timer, or upon observing link quality degradation above a threshold, or a mobility state change (while operating in power saving mode, switching to normal power mode when motion of the terminal is detected [0023]-[0026], [0061], and [0074]; element S240 of Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 14, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches the first set of criteria is based on one or more of a location of the communication device in a cell of a wireless network, a signal level variation compared to a signal level variation threshold (variation/non-variation in the radio environment [0023]-[0026] and [0074]; Fig. 2), a reference signal received power, RSRP, variation compared to RSRP variation threshold level or a signal to interference and noise ratio, SINR, variation compared to a SINR variation threshold level.
Claims [39 and 40] “Communication device performing method of claim 1” (apparatus comprising memory and processor executing instructions [0112]-[0120]) are rejected under the same reasoning as claim [1] “Communication device method of claim 1”.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Kim in view of SABOURI-SICHANI et al. (US 20220167230 A1) hereinafter SABOURI-SICHANI.
Regarding claim 4,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 2, as outlined above.
Laselva and Kim do not explicitly teach the condition that impacts performance of the RLP when operating the RLP according to the first mode of operation comprises one or more of a beam failure detection, an in-sync (IS) detection, an out-of-sync (OOS) detection, a candidate beam detection, and a radio link failure trigger.
SABOURI-SICHANI teaches the condition that impacts performance of the RLP when operating the RLP according to the first mode of operation comprises one or more of a beam failure detection, an in-sync (IS) detection, an out-of-sync (OOS) detection, a candidate beam detection, and a radio link failure trigger (link failure trigger associated with the performance of the measurement configuration [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of SABOURI-SICHANI to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow measurement recovery (SABOURI-SICHANI [0001]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Kim in view of RAGHAVAN et al. (US 20220022064 A1) hereinafter RAGHAVAN.
Regarding claim 5,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches obtaining the criteria from a network node (obtaining configuration information from NW [0063] and [0066]-[0067]; element S330 of Fig. 3).
Laselva does not explicitly teach obtaining via higher layer signaling.
RAGHAVAN teaches obtaining via higher layer signaling (obtaining configuration for Radio Link Monitoring via higher layer signaling [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of RAGHAVAN to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow adjusting the RLP configuration (RAGHAVAN [0009]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Kim in view of Kim et al. (US 20220182854 A1) hereinafter Kim_854.
Regarding claim 7,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches obtaining the criteria (obtaining configuration information [0073]; element S330 of Fig. 3).
Laselva and Kim do not explicitly teach configuration/reconfiguration is obtained in response to the communication device one of entering a cell of a wireless network for a first time and performing a cell change in the wireless network.
Kim_854 teaches configuration/reconfiguration is obtained in response to the communication device one of entering a cell of a wireless network for a first time and performing a cell change in the wireless network (configuration/reconfiguration is obtained in response to cell selection [0033]-[0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Kim_854 to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would account for user equipment mobility (Kim_854 [0002]).
Regarding claim 8,
Laselva and Kim teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches obtaining the criteria (obtaining configuration information [0073]; element S330 of Fig. 3).
Laselva and Kim do not explicitly teach configuration/reconfiguration is obtained in response to switching between Radio Resource Control (RRC) states.
Kim_854 teaches configuration/reconfiguration is obtained in response to switching between Radio Resource Control (RRC) states (configuration/reconfiguration is obtained in response to RRC state change [0033]-[0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Kim_854 to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would account for user equipment mobility (Kim_854 [0002]).
Claims 23-28, 30-33, 35 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva in view of Kim in further view of Bao et al. (US 20210051755 A1) hereinafter Bao.
Regarding claim 23,
Laselva teaches a method, performed by a communication device, comprising: obtaining criteria associated with a first Radio Link Procedure (RLP) and a second RLP to be performed by the communication device (obtaining configuration information associated with regular radio measurements and relaxed radio measurements [0066]; element S330 of Fig. 3), wherein obtaining the criteria associated with a first RLP and a second RLP comprises obtaining a first set of criteria associated with the first mode of operation and a second set of criteria associated with the second mode of operation (the configuration information associated with normal and power saving mode related to radio measurement, where the configuration information is associated with conditions for operating normal power and power saving modes, and the conditions for each mode include a set of criteria [0017] and [0066]; element S330 of Fig. 3); determining whether to perform the first RLP... according to the first mode of operation or the second mode of operation based on the criteria (selecting radio measurement procedure according to normal power or power saving mode based on the configuration information [0059]-[0061]; Figs. 1-3. See also, ¶ 0011, operating in a normal power mode, including performing normal radio environment related measurements and monitoring a stationarity condition by means of local procedure and/or equipment, switching from the normal power mode to a power saving mode, if the locally monitored stationarity condition is satisfied, and operating in the power saving mode, including performing relaxed radio environment related measurements . ¶ 0079, relaxation of radio measurements or measurement requirements in the power saving mode means that less radio measurements or lower radio measurements
requirements, in terms of scope and/or rate, are set and applied; Examiner’s Note: Laselva teaches selecting between a “normal power mode” (first mode) and a “power saving mode” (second mode) to perform “relaxed radio environment related measurements” (RLP) based on whether the “locally monitored stationarity condition” (criteria) is satisfied.); and performing the first RLP according to the first mode of operation or the second mode of operation based on the determination (performing radio measurements according to the power consumption mode based on the selection [0059]-[0061]; Figs. 1-3).
Laselva does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of criteria is based on a range of non-zero speed levels of the communication device; comprising determining to perform the first RLP responsive to a non-zero speed level of the communication device being less than a non-zero speed threshold and determining to perform the second RLP responsive to the non-zero speed level of the communication device being greater than or equal to the non-zero speed threshold; and performing the first RLP and the second RLP.
Kim teaches wherein the first set of criteria is based on a range of non-zero speed levels of the communication device (Kim: the mobility state being included in a predetermined range of a low speed [0267]-[0273] . See also, ¶ 0272, a terminal may be configured to report current cell information (ID or stay time), previous camping cell information (ID or stay time), etc. when it is determined that MSE information or mobility state information generated in various ways is included in a predetermined range of a low speed. ¶ 0273, a terminal may be configured to report information (number and IDs) on cells in which the terminal has camped in a predetermined time section (e.g., valid time of mobility history information), the number of cells on which cell selection/reselection has been performed, ID information on the corresponding cells, valid time of mobility history information, etc. when it is determined that a mobility state is included in a predetermined range of a high speed; [Examiner’s Note: Kim teaches ranges of low/high speed levels. Theses speed ranges represent non-zero speed levels of the terminal (i.e., communication device)]); and comprising determining to perform the first RLP responsive to a non-zero speed level of the communication device being less than a non-zero speed threshold (Kim: ¶ 0031, may be determined that the event based on MSE has occurred when an intensity of a signal transmitted from the base station is lower than a predetermined threshold value, or when the terminal is determined to have moved out of a specific area on the basis of location information on the terminal. ¶ 0272, a terminal may be configured to report current cell information (ID or stay time), previous camping cell information (ID or stay time), etc. when it is determined that MSE information or mobility state information generated in various ways is included in a predetermined range of a low speed; [Examiner’s Note: Kim teaches that when MSE (mobility state estimation) indicates “low speed” (i.e., below threshold), the terminal enters a first mode (e.g., stop/deactivate measurement or report mobility history for low-speed movement.)]) and determining to perform the second RLP responsive to
the non-zero speed level of the communication device being greater than or equal to the non-zero speed threshold (Kim: ¶ 0273, a terminal may be configured to report information (number and IDs) on cells in which the terminal has camped in a predetermined time section (e.g., valid time of mobility history information), the number of cells on which cell selection/reselection has been performed, ID information on the corresponding cells, valid time of mobility history information, etc. when it is determined that a mobility state is included in a predetermined range of a high speed. ¶ 0276, In particular, when the number of cells that a terminal has passed through in the predetermined time or the number of times of handover is greater than a predetermined reference value (or threshold value) of the corresponding parameter, or a cell stay time (a stay time per cell or an average stay time) is less than a predetermined reference value (or threshold value) of the corresponding parameter, the terminal may receive service from a macro layer cell; [Examiner’s Note: Kim teaches that when MSE indicates “high speed” (at or above a threshold), the terminal enters a second mode (e.g., report comprehensive mobility history or receive service from a macro layer cell), distinguishing from the “low speed” mode.]); .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Laselva. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would enhance mobility support in low power operation (Kim [0003]).
Laselva and Kim do not explicitly teach performing the first RLP and the second RLP.
Bao teaches performing the first RLP and the second RLP (performing RLM and link recovery procedures under different connectivity modes [0056]-[0057]; Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Bao to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would enhance communication performance (Bao [0004]).
Regarding claim 24,
Laselva and Kim and Bao teach all the features of claim 23, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches the first RLP comprises a Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) procedure (radio measurements in normal power or power saving mode based on the selection [0059]-[0061]; Figs. 1-3).
Laselva and Kim do not explicitly teach the second RLP comprises a Link Recovery (LR) procedure.
Bao teaches the second RLP comprises a Link Recovery (LR) procedure (link recovery procedure [0056]-[0057]; Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Bao to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would enhance communication performance (Bao [0004]).
Regarding claim 25,
Laselva and Kim and Bao teach all the features of claim 24, as outlined above.
Laselva and Kim do not explicitly teach the LR procedure comprising one or more of beam failure detection, candidate beam detection and L1-RSRP reporting.
Bao teaches the LR procedure comprising one or more of beam failure detection, candidate beam detection and L1-RSRP reporting (beam failure reporting [0114]-[0117]; Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Bao to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would enhance communication performance (Bao [0004]).
Regarding claim 26,
Laselva and Kim and Bao teach all the features of claim 23, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches the first mode of operation comprises a relaxed mode of operation, and the second mode of operation comprises a normal mode of operation (power saving mode comprising relaxed radio measurements and normal power mode comprising regular radio measurements [0058]-[0062]; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 27,
Laselva and Kim and Bao teach all the features of claim 23, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches the relaxed mode of operation comprises one or more of a relaxed measurement period that exceeds a normal measurement period of the normal mode of operation (increasing measurement periodicity [0027]-[0028]), a relaxed reference signal measurement accuracy level that exceeds a reference signal measurement accuracy level of the normal mode of operation, a relaxed periodicity for sending RLP indications that exceeds a normal periodicity for sending RLP indications of the normal mode operation, and/or a relaxed evaluation period that extends the normal evaluation period of the normal mode of operation.
Regarding claim 28,
Laselva and Kim and Bao teach all the features of claim 23, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches wherein the first set of criteria is associated with a scenario in which the communication device is able to perform the RLP according to the first mode of operation (conditions associated with stationarity [0020]-[0026], and [0073]); and wherein the second set of criteria that is associated with a condition impacts performance of the RLP when operating the RLP according to the first mode of operation (stationarity condition comprising radio environment variation [0020]-[0026], and [0073]).
Laselva and Kim do not explicitly teach performing the first RLP and the second RLP.
Bao teaches performing the first RLP and the second RLP (performing RLM and link recovery procedures under different connectivity modes [0056]-[0057]; Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Bao to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would enhance communication performance (Bao [0004]).
Regarding claim 30,
Laselva and Kim and Bao teach all the features of claim 28, as outlined above.
Laselva and Kim do not explicitly teach the condition that impacts performance of the first RLP and the second RLP comprises one or more of a beam failure detection, an in-sync (IS) detection, an out-of-sync (OOS) detection, a candidate beam detection, and a radio link failure trigger.
Bao teaches performing the condition that impacts performance of the first RLP and the second RLP comprises one or more of a beam failure detection, an in-sync (IS) detection, an out-of-sync (OOS) detection, a candidate beam detection, and a radio link failure trigger (performing RLM and LR based on RLF [0056]-[0057]; Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Bao to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would enhance communication performance (Bao [0004]).
Regarding claim 31,
Laselva and Kim and Bao teach all the features of claim 23, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches the first mode of operation comprises a relaxed mode of operation to perform the RLP and the second mode of operation comprises a normal mode of operation to perform the RLP (power saving mode comprising relaxed radio measurement operation and normal power saving mode comprising regular radio measurement operation [0059]-[0061]; Figs. 1-2) and selecting one of the first mode of operation or the second mode of operation to perform the RLP (selecting power mode related to radio measurements based on the configuration information [0059]-[0061]; Figs. 1-3) comprises: responsive to at least one first criterion in the first set of criteria being met and at least one second criterion in the second set of criteria being met, performing RLP in the first mode of operation (responsive to a non-stationary condition being unsatisfied and stationary condition being satisfied [0017]-[0039] and [0061]; Fig. 2); and responsive to at least one first criterion in the first set of criteria not being met and/or at least one second criterion in the second set of criteria not being met, performing RLP in the second mode of operation (responsive to a non-stationary condition being satisfied and stationary condition being unsatisfied [0017]-[0039] and [0061]; Fig. 2).
Laselva and Kim do not explicitly teach performing the first RLP and the second RLP.
Bao teaches performing the first RLP and the second RLP (performing RLM and link recovery procedures under different connectivity modes [0056]-[0057]; Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Bao to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would enhance communication performance (Bao [0004]).
Regarding claim 32,
Laselva and Kim and Bao teach all the features of claim 31, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches while operating in the first mode of operation, reverting to the second mode of operation responsive to detecting a certain number of out-of-sync indications or upon triggering a T310 timer, or upon observing link quality degradation above a threshold, or a mobility state change (while operating in power saving mode, switching to normal power mode when motion of the terminal is detected [0023]-[0026], [0061], and [0074]; element S240 of Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 33,
Laselva and Kim and Bao teach all the features of claim 31, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches the first set of criteria is based on one or more of a location of the communication device in a cell of a wireless network, a signal level variation compared to a signal level variation threshold (variation/non-variation in the radio environment [0023]-[0026] and [0074]; Fig. 2), a reference signal received power, RSRP, variation compared to RSRP variation threshold level or a signal to interference and noise ratio, SINR, variation compared to a SINR variation threshold level.
Regarding claim 35,
Laselva and Kim and Bao teach all the features of claim 23, as outlined above.
Laselva further teaches obtaining information associated with the communication device operating within a cell of a wireless network (configuration information associated with operating in a cell [0067]; Fig. 3), and determining whether to perform the RLP according to the first mode of operation or the second mode of operation based on the criteria and the information (network configuration may allowed or prohibited to enter power saving mode based on configuration information [0059]-[0067]).
Laselva does not explicitly teach performing the first RLP and the second RLP.
Bao teaches performing the first RLP and the second RLP (performing RLM and link recovery procedures under different connectivity modes [0056]-[0057]; Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Bao to the teachings of Laselva and Kim. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would enhance communication performance (Bao [0004]).
Claims [43 and 44] “Communication device performing method of claim 23” (apparatus comprising memory and processor executing instructions [0112]-[0120]) are rejected under the same reasoning as claim [23] “Communication device method of claim 23”.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJDI ALSOMIRI whose telephone number is (571) 270-0427. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465