DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of amendment with remarks/arguments, dated June 8, 2026. Claims 20, 25, 26, and 28-30 have been amended.
Upon entering the amendment, claims 1, 11, and 20-38 remain pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 11, 20-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hajir et al. (US 20220030532 A1) (hereinafter Hajir) in view of Wu et. al. (US 20230276336) (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding Claim 1, Hajir discloses a method performed by a wireless device, the method comprising:
determining that one or more conditions for triggering measurement reporting have occurred (Fig. 12 1204. ¶[0107]: At 1204, the WTRU may determine which sets of measurement configurations are active/inactive either autonomously or based on network signaling. ¶[0111]: Any of the following example measurement report triggers and triggering conditions may be used by WTRUs served by NTN. The WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis); and
triggering the measurement reporting based on the occurrence of the one or more conditions (Fig. 12 1210. ¶[0107]: then at 1210 activating/deactivating measurement configurations based on the current geographical position and the current time according to the activation/deactivation criteria),
Hajir teaches the method without specifically teaching triggering the measurement reporting based on a timing advance value in a source cell.
However, Wu discloses wherein the one or more conditions for triggering the measurement reporting is based on a timing advance value in a source cell (¶[0031], [0077] & [0154]: a TA value regards to the source cell in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a timing advance value in a source cell;”
In fact, the condition for triggering the measurement report based on a TA value regards to the source cell in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the one or more conditions for triggering the measurement reporting is based on a timing advance value in a source cell” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Wu in the system of Hajir.
The motivation for implementing triggering the measurement reporting based on a timing advance value in a source cell, is to further enhance the mechanism for handling a conditional handover (CHO) condition in a non-terrestrial network, including receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes CHO configuration information associated with target candidate cells and a set of CHO execution conditions associated with the target candidate cells, and the condition is based on a measurement result.
Regarding Claim 11, Hajir discloses a method performed by a network node the method comprising:
indicating, to a wireless device, a measurement configuration and one or more conditions associated with the measurement configuration (¶[0104]: The WTRU 1130 may receive (be preconfigured with) multiple measurement configurations and associated activation/deactivation criteria for multiple satellites. ¶[0111]: Any of the following example measurement report triggers and triggering conditions may be used by WTRUs served by NTN. The WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis).
Hajir teaches the method without specifically teaching triggering the measurement reporting based on a timing advance value in a source cell.
However, Wu discloses wherein the one or more conditions for triggering the measurement reporting is based on a timing advance value in a source cell (¶[0031], [0077] & [0154]: a TA value regards to the source cell in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a timing advance value in a source cell;”
In fact, the condition for triggering the measurement report based on a TA value regards to the source cell in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the one or more conditions for triggering the measurement reporting is based on a timing advance value in a source cell” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Wu in the system of Hajir.
The motivation for implementing triggering the measurement reporting based on a timing advance value in a source cell, is to further enhance the mechanism for handling a conditional handover (CHO) condition in a non-terrestrial network, including receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes CHO configuration information associated with target candidate cells and a set of CHO execution conditions associated with the target candidate cells, and the condition is based on a measurement result.
Regarding Claim 20, Hajir discloses a wireless device (UE, e.g., 102a in FIG. 1A and 102 in FIG. 1B) comprising:
memory storing instructions (non-removable memory 130 in UE 102 depicted in FIG. 1B); and
a processor (processor 118 in UE 102 depicted in FIG. 1B) operable to execute the instructions to cause the wireless to:
determine whether one or more conditions for triggering measurement reporting have occurred (Fig. 12 1204. ¶[0107]: At 1204, the WTRU may determine which sets of measurement configurations are active/inactive either autonomously or based on network signaling. ¶[0111]: Any of the following example measurement report triggers and triggering conditions may be used by WTRUs served by NTN. The WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis); and
trigger the measurement reporting based on the occurrence of the one or more conditions (Fig. 12 1210. ¶[0107]: then at 1210 activating/deactivating measurement configurations based on the current geographical position and the current time according to the activation/deactivation criteria).
Hajir teaches the wireless device without specifically teaching triggering the measurement reporting based on a timing advance value in a source cell.
However, Wu discloses wherein the one or more conditions for triggering the measurement reporting is based on a timing advance value in a source cell (¶[0031], [0077] & [0154]: a TA value regards to the source cell in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a timing advance value in a source cell;”
In fact, the condition for triggering the measurement report based on a TA value regards to the source cell in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the one or more conditions for triggering the measurement reporting is based on a timing advance value in a source cell” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Wu in the system of Hajir.
The motivation for implementing triggering the measurement reporting based on a timing advance value in a source cell, is to further enhance the mechanism for handling a conditional handover (CHO) condition in a non-terrestrial network, including receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes CHO configuration information associated with target candidate cells and a set of CHO execution conditions associated with the target candidate cells, and the condition is based on a measurement result.
Regarding Claim 21, Hajir discloses wherein triggering the measurement reporting is based at least in part on determining that a channel quality exceeds a threshold (¶[0111]: the WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis. The reporting conditions may be based on different or additional conditions to the measurement results. ¶[0112]: Another example condition may be based on measurement results from more than two cells. ¶[0113]: Measurement reports may signal a quality of the planned target cell.¶[0120]: Another example of event-based trigger for location reporting may include when the reference signal measurement quantity of the serving cell is below a threshold and/or when the reference signal measurement quantity of the neighbor cell is above a threshold. ¶[0109]: the WTRU may determine the delimitation of the edge and center zones based on a quality measurement threshold of the serving cell (e.g., signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), reference signal received power (RSRP)). ¶[0113] shows that quality-related measurements are tied to threshold-based event triggers in ¶[0120]. Additionally, quality measurements in ¶[0109] points to channel quality metrics like SINR and RSRP).
Regarding Claim 22, Hajir discloses wherein triggering the measurement reporting is based at least in part on determining that an estimated pathloss is below a threshold (¶[0111]: the WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis. The reporting conditions may be based on different or additional conditions to the measurement results. ¶[0102]: the measurement associated with the best cell or cells (e.g., n best listed cell) or listed beam spots is below a threshold indicating that none of the configured neighboring cells (listed cell list) is still in the coverage of the WTRU. In another example condition, the measurement result associated with the serving cell and/or serving beam spot is below a threshold. ¶[0002]: Beamforming may be used to compensate for increased pathloss at higher frequencies (e.g. over 6 GHz)).
Regarding Claim 23, Hajir discloses wherein triggering the measurement reporting is based at least in part on determining that the wireless device is located within a geographically outlined area (¶[0094]: the WTRU may autonomously activate the measurement configuration of interest associated with the current time instance when it enters the given area. ¶[0111]: the WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis. The reporting conditions may be based on different or additional conditions to the measurement results. ¶[0119]: As part of WTRU measurement reporting, measurement report quantities may include reporting of the footprint ID and/or geographical coordinates.)
Regarding Claim 24, Hajir discloses wherein triggering the measurement reporting is based at least in part on detecting the occurrence of the one or more conditions with respect to at least a minimum number of cells (¶[0111]: the WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis. The reporting conditions may be based on different or additional conditions to the measurement results. ¶[0109]: The WTRU may report the measurements of any listed/detected cells satisfying pre-defined conditions. The requirement that a set of listed/detected cells in ¶[0109] that meet certain conditions in ¶[0111] is functionally similar to the approach of the requirement of a minimum number of cells that meet certain conditions).
Regarding Claim 25, Hajir discloses further adapted to: receive, from the network node, information indicating a measurement configuration and at least one associated condition for when the wireless device should activate the measurement configuration (¶[0107]: the WTRU may be preconfigured (based on signaling from a network node) with multiple measurement configurations (objects) associated with multiple satellites and corresponding activation/deactivation criteria for the measurement configurations. ¶[0107]: the WTRU activates/deactivates measurement configurations based on network signaling); and activate the measurement configuration based on determining that the at least one associated condition has been met(¶[0107]: at 1210 activating/deactivating measurement configurations based on the current geographical position and the current time according to the activation/deactivation criteria. ¶[0104]: The activation/deactivation criteria includes the applicable time (e.g., discrete time instances and/or time ranges) and is used by the WTRU 1130 to determine when to activate/deactivate the corresponding measurement configurations).
Regarding Claim 26, Hajir discloses further adapted to: receive, from the network node, information indicating an inactive measurement configuration (¶[0107]: at 1212, the WTRU receives network signaling including measurement configuration activation/deactivation instructions. ¶[0107]: At 1204, the WTRU may determine which sets of measurement configurations are active/inactive either autonomously or based on network signaling); and abstain from triggering the inactive measurement configuration until it is activated by a network (¶[0107]: and at 1214 the WTRU activates/deactivates measurement configurations based on network signaling).
Regarding Claim 27, Hajir discloses further adapted to: receive, from the network node, an indication to activate the inactive measurement configuration (¶[0107]: WTRU may determine which sets of measurement configurations are active/inactive either autonomously or based on network signaling.), and in response to receiving the indication, activate the inactive measurement configuration (¶[0107]: and at 1214 the WTRU activates/deactivates measurement configurations based on network signaling).
Regarding Claim 28, Hajir discloses further adapted to send, to the network node, an indication that the measurement reporting has been triggered (¶[0085]: Another example parameter may include a list of reporting configurations, which may include a reporting criterion that triggers the WTRU to send a measurement report. Fig. 12 Flowchart shows that WTRU is designed to recognize a condition for reporting is met and responds by sending data to network. ¶[0086]: the WTRU may measure and report on serving cells (e.g., a primary cell (SpCell) and/or one or more secondary cells (Scells)), cells listed within the measurement objects, and/or cells not listed within the measurement object(s) that have been detected by the WTRU. In ¶[0085] and ¶[0086], the act of sending that measurement report constitutes the claimed indication that the measurement reporting has been triggered).
Regarding Claim 29, Hajir discloses further adapted to: receive a location reporting configuration from the network node (¶[0093]: The WTRU may be preconfigured with a set of measurement configurations that are conditionally added or removed to or from the measurement configuration, or activated or deactivated, based on the location of the WTRU and/or the time. ¶[0106]:The activation/deactivation criteria includes the applicable time (i.e., the time that the corresponding satellite has a cell that covers the geographical location of the WTRU 1130), and thus is based on the satellite ephemeris and WTRU 1130 geo-location); and report a location of the wireless device to the network node according to the location reporting configuration (¶[0119]: when a measurement report is sent to the network, the WTRU may piggyback additional measurements and/or indications such as the footprint ID, location coordinates or other information).
Regarding Claim 30, Hajir discloses a network node (base station, e.g., 114a in FIG. 1A) comprising:
memory storing instructions (Examiner’s Notes: a memory in the base station is anticipated under 35 U.S.C. 102 based on the teaching of “the base station.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977)); and
a processor (Examiner’s Notes: a processor in the base station is anticipated under 35 U.S.C. 102 based on the teaching of “the base station.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977)) operable to execute the instructions to cause the wireless to:
indicate, to a wireless device, a measurement configuration and one or more conditions associated with the measurement configuration (¶[0104]: The WTRU 1130 may receive (be preconfigured with) multiple measurement configurations and associated activation/deactivation criteria for multiple satellites. ¶[0111]: Any of the following example measurement report triggers and triggering conditions may be used by WTRUs served by NTN. The WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis).
Hajir teaches the network node without specifically teaching triggering the measurement reporting based on a timing advance value in a source cell.
However, Wu discloses wherein the one or more conditions for triggering the measurement reporting is based on a timing advance value in a source cell (¶[0031], [0077] & [0154]: a TA value regards to the source cell in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a timing advance value in a source cell;”
In fact, the condition for triggering the measurement report based on a TA value regards to the source cell in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the one or more conditions for triggering the measurement reporting is based on a timing advance value in a source cell” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Wu in the system of Hajir.
The motivation for implementing triggering the measurement reporting based on a timing advance value in a source cell, is to further enhance the mechanism for handling a conditional handover (CHO) condition in a non-terrestrial network, including receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes CHO configuration information associated with target candidate cells and a set of CHO execution conditions associated with the target candidate cells, and the condition is based on a measurement result.
Regarding Claim 31, Hajir discloses wherein the one or more conditions indicate to trigger the measurement reporting based at least in part on the wireless device determining that a channel quality exceeds a threshold (¶[0111]: the WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis. The reporting conditions may be based on different or additional conditions to the measurement results. ¶[0112]: Another example condition may be based on measurement results from more than two cells. ¶[0113]: Measurement reports may signal a quality of the planned target cell.¶[0120]: Another example of event-based trigger for location reporting may include when the reference signal measurement quantity of the serving cell is below a threshold and/or when the reference signal measurement quantity of the neighbor cell is above a threshold. ¶[0109]: the WTRU may determine the delimitation of the edge and center zones based on a quality measurement threshold of the serving cell (e.g., signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), reference signal received power (RSRP)). ¶[0113] shows that quality-related measurements are tied to threshold-based event triggers in ¶[0120]. Additionally, quality measurements in ¶[0109] points to channel quality metrics like SINR and RSRP).
Regarding Claim 32, Hajir discloses wherein the one or more conditions indicate to trigger the measurement reporting based at least in part on the wireless device determining that an estimated pathloss is below a threshold (¶[0111]: the WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis. The reporting conditions may be based on different or additional conditions to the measurement results. ¶[0102]: the measurement associated with the best cell or cells (e.g., n best listed cell) or listed beam spots is below a threshold indicating that none of the configured neighboring cells (listed cell list) is still in the coverage of the WTRU. In another example condition, the measurement result associated with the serving cell and/or serving beam spot is below a threshold. ¶[0002]: Beamforming may be used to compensate for increased pathloss at higher frequencies (e.g. over 6 GHz)).
Regarding Claim 33, Hajir discloses wherein the one or more conditions indicate to trigger the measurement reporting based at least in part on the wireless device determining that the wireless device is located within a geographically outlined area (¶[0094]: the WTRU may autonomously activate the measurement configuration of interest associated with the current time instance when it enters the given area. ¶[0111]: the WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis. The reporting conditions may be based on different or additional conditions to the measurement results. ¶[0119]: As part of WTRU measurement reporting, measurement report quantities may include reporting of the footprint ID and/or geographical coordinates).
Regarding Claim 34, Hajir discloses wherein the one or more conditions indicate to trigger the measurement reporting based at least in part on detecting an occurrence of the one or more conditions with respect to at least a minimum number of cells (¶[0111]: the WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis. The reporting conditions may be based on different or additional conditions to the measurement results. ¶[0109]: The WTRU may report the measurements of any listed/detected cells satisfying pre-defined conditions. The requirement that a set of listed/detected cells in ¶[0109] that meet certain conditions in ¶[0111] is functionally similar to the approach of the requirement of a minimum number of cells that meet certain conditions).
Regarding Claim 35, Hajir discloses wherein the one or more conditions indicate to trigger the measurement reporting based at least in part on the wireless device detecting an identifier associated with a specific cell (¶[0111]: the WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis. The reporting conditions may be based on different or additional conditions to the measurement results ¶[0086]: the WTRU may measure and report on serving cells (e.g., a primary cell (SpCell) and/or one or more secondary cells (Scells)), cells listed within the measurement objects. ¶[0109]: The WTRU may report the measurements of any listed/detected cells satisfying pre-defined conditions).
Regarding Claim 36, Hajir discloses further adapted to: receive, from the wireless device, one or more measurements based on the measurement configuration (Fig. 12 1202 ¶[0107]: At 1202, the WTRU may be preconfigured (based on signaling from a network node) with multiple measurement configurations (objects) associated with multiple satellites and corresponding activation/deactivation criteria for the measurement configurations) and perform an operation of the network node based on the one or more measurements (¶[0107]: at 1212, the WTRU receives network signaling including measurement configuration activation/deactivation instructions, and at 1214 the WTRU activates/deactivates measurement configurations based on network signaling).
Regarding Claim 37, Hajir discloses further adapted to: receive an indication that the measurement reporting has been triggered by the wireless device (¶[0085]: Another example parameter may include a list of reporting configurations, which may include a reporting criterion that triggers the WTRU to send a measurement report. Fig. 12 Flowchart shows that WTRU is designed to recognize a condition for reporting is met and responds by sending data to network. ¶[0086]: the WTRU may measure and report on serving cells (e.g., a primary cell (SpCell) and/or one or more secondary cells (Scells)), cells listed within the measurement objects, and/or cells not listed within the measurement object(s) that have been detected by the WTRU. In ¶[0085] and ¶[0086], the act of sending that measurement report constitutes the claimed indication that the measurement reporting has been triggered), and in response to receiving the indication that the measurement reporting has been triggered, activate measurement gaps (¶[0085]: The measurement configuration may include in one or more of the following example parameters … ¶[0085]: Another example parameter may include the measurement gap, which may include the periods of time during which the WTRU may perform measurements. In ¶[0085], activation of measurement gaps logically follow or depend on the network detecting that a reporting condition has occurred).
Regarding Claim 38, Hajir discloses further adapted to: determine a location reporting configuration to be applied by the wireless device (¶[0106]:The activation/deactivation criteria includes the applicable time (i.e., the time that the corresponding satellite has a cell that covers the geographical location of the WTRU 1130), and thus is based on the satellite ephemeris and WTRU 1130 geo-location); send the location reporting configuration to the wireless device (¶[0093]: The WTRU may be preconfigured with a set of measurement configurations that are conditionally added or removed to or from the measurement configuration, or activated or deactivated, based on the location of the WTRU and/or the time) and receive location reporting information from the wireless device based on the location reporting configuration (¶[0119]: when a measurement report is sent to the network, the WTRU may piggyback additional measurements and/or indications such as the footprint ID, location coordinates or other information).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
5. Claims Objections: in the Response, filed June 8, 2026, Applicants amended claim(s) for the purpose of correcting the informalities. Therefore, the previous objections to the claim(s) are withdrawn.
6. Claim 112(b) Rejection: Applicants amended the claim limitations that obviate the basis of the previous rejection. Therefore, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
7. Claims Art Rejections: Applicants’ amendments with arguments filed June 8, 2026 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-10 of the Response with respects to claim 20, Applicants assert the prior art doesn't teach “determine that one or more conditions for triggering measurement reporting have occurred; and
trigger the measurement reporting based on the occurrence of the one or more conditions, and
wherein triggering the measurement reporting is based on a timing advance value in a source cell.”
The prior art teaches that FIG. 12 shows a flow diagram of a measurement configuration management procedure 1200 that may be performed by a WTRU that is served by a NTN. At 1202, the WTRU may be preconfigured (based on signaling from a network node) with multiple measurement configurations (objects) associated with multiple satellites and corresponding activation/deactivation criteria for the measurement configurations. At 1204, the WTRU may determine which sets of measurement configurations are active/inactive either autonomously or based on network signaling. In a first example, at 1208, the WTRU makes an autonomous determination by determining the WTRU's current geographical position and the current time, then at 1210 activating/deactivating measurement configurations based on the current geographical position and the current time according to the activation/deactivation criteria. In an alternate example, at 1212, the WTRU receives network signaling including measurement configuration activation/deactivation instructions, and at 1214 the WTRU activates/deactivates measurement configurations based on network signaling (paragraph [0107] lines 1-24, Hajir et al.). Any of the following example measurement report triggers and triggering conditions may be used by WTRUs served by NTN. The WTRU may be configured to report measurements on a condition or per event basis. The reporting conditions may be based on different or additional conditions to the measurement results. For example, the entering and leaving conditions of a reporting event may be based on any one or more of the following example conditions. An example condition may be based on the measurement results and location of the WTRU (e.g., an absolute location or a location in a beam spot). Another example condition may be based on the reference time delay of transmission. Another example condition may be based on the angle of arrival of the measured RS. Another example condition may be based on the observed time difference of arrival of different SSBs (e.g., the observed time difference of arrival (OTDA) between a serving and a neighboring cell) (paragraph [0111] lines 1-21, Hajir et al.; Examiner’s Notes: the measurement report in the prior art teaches the limitation of “measurement reporting;”
in fact, determining the measurement conditions for triggering report in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determine that one or more conditions for triggering measurement reporting have occurred” in the instant application;
triggering the measurement report based on the triggering conditions, e.g., entering/leaving conditions of a reporting event, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “trigger the measurement reporting based on the occurrence of the one or more conditions” in the instant application)
The prior art further teaches that the TA based trigger condition is a TA based event that a TA value between a UE and a source cell is offset greater than a TA value between the UE and a target candidate cell. For short, this TA based event may be named as TA based event 1. For instance, a UE may obtain the TA value between a UE and a source cell or the TA value between the UE and a target candidate cell from a mapping table transmitted by a BS (paragraph [0077], Wu et al.). In the combined CHO trigger condition, if the absolute time of the UE is firstly met (or a timer expires) while the measurement based event is not fulfilled, the UE may start a new timer to control the CHO execution procedure. If no new timer is introduced, the UE may need to release the corresponding CHO execution procedure. In particular, a measurement report may be triggered. Once an entering condition is met during a TTT within a period, the UE considers the target candidate cell as a triggered cell. Once the new timer expires, the UE stops evaluating the corresponding CHO execution condition. Furthermore, the UE may release the CHO execution condition (paragraph [0154], Wu et al.; Examiner’s Notes: a TA value regards to the source cell in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a timing advance value in a source cell;”
In fact, the condition for triggering the measurement report based on a TA value regards to the source cell in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the one or more conditions for triggering the measurement reporting is based on a timing advance value in a source cell” as Applicants argued).
Based on the fact, Examiner respectfully disagrees that the prior art cited does not teach the independent claim 20 as mentioned by Applicants. The elements of independent claims 1, 11, and 30 that Applicants argued are similar to claim 1’s, so the cited passages also teach claims 1, 11, and 30. Furthermore, the cited passages teach dependent claims 21-29 and 31-38 as well.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479