DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/16/2026 regarding claims 86-105 in the remarks are fully considered but moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 86, 94, 95, 97-99, 101, 102, 104 and 105 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laddu (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0421316) in view of in view of Zhang (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0266128) and further in view of Wanuga (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0124652).
As per claim 86:
Laddu teaches a method of receiving an allocation of spatial radio resources (in an integrated access and backhaul node (IAB-node) (see paragraph [0086], teaches a scenario whereby an IAB-node is scheduled to perform reception with multiple beams, each from a different parent. The IAB-node comprise of IAB-MT for using a panel to receive transmissions from spatially separated parents at any time. Note: Examiner is reading said multiple beams and said respective panels as said spatial radio resources) of a radio access network (RAN) (paragraph [0084] each IAB node consists logically of a Mobile Termination (MT) (e.g., IAB MT) that communicates with upstream nodes and a RAN component such as IAB DU for communicating with downstream nodes or subscriber UEs 110), the IAB-node (see Figure 2, IAB node-1 12) comprising an access unit configured to provide radio access to radio devices (see Figure 2, IAB node-1 12 comprise of IAB-DU 14 for connecting to UE 110. Note: Examiner is reading said UE 110 as the radio device. Figure 2 also shows other IAB node-2 12 connected to plurality of UEs 110 via the IAB-DU and thus plurality of radio devices) and child backhaul connections to child IAB-nodes (see Figure 2, IAB node-1 12 connected to other IAB node-3 12. Note: Examiner is reading other IAB node-3 12 as the child IAB node, especially since IAB node-3 12 is located “upstream”. Also, even though figure 2 only shows three (3) IAB nodes the topology could also support “more or fewer nodes 12”, please see paragraph [0084] as explicitly stated. Thus, more child nodes could be connected to an IAB node), and a backhaul unit configured to provide a radio backhaul link to a parent node (see Figure 2, paragraph [0084], IAB node-1 12 also comprise of IAB-MT for connecting to the donor DU/CU 20 via backhaul link), the method comprising:
the IAB-node transmitting, to a network function unit, capability and interference measurements (see Figure 7, paragraph [0157], in response to receiving CSI-RS configuration for beam management (step 710) and CSI-RS (e.g., #1-#4) from parent #1 (step 715) and CSI-RS (e.g., #5-#8) from parent #2 (step 720), the IAB-MT of the IAB node performs beam measurement(s) (step 725). The IAB node may determine, based on the beam measurement, that beam pairs (#1, #5), (#3, #7) and (#2, #7) are the best or appropriate (i.e., these beams will allow for simultaneous reception of both parent #1 and parent #2). CSI reporting is sent by IAB-MT to the parent#1 indicating acceptable beam pairs (#1, #5), (#3, #7) and (#2, #7) and also additional information indicating that TDM mode is supported, please see step 730 and paragraph [0157]);
and receiving, based on the transmitted capability and interference measurements (see Figure 7, paragraph [0158], in response to receiving the CSI reporting (step 730) from IAB-MT, parents #1 and #2 activates the reported beam(s) which may be in the form of TCI states associated with the received CRI to be used for control and/or data channel(s). Parent #1 may activate one or more of beams #1, #2 and/or #3 (construed as one resource set associated with parent #1)) while parent #2 may activate one or more of beams #5 and/or #7 (construed as another resource set), allocation information indicating an allocation of at least one resource set (as explained earlier, Figure 7 and paragraph [0158], in response to receiving the CSI reporting (step 730) from IAB-MT, parents #1 and #2 activates the reported beam(s) which may be in the form of TCI states associated with the received CRI to be used for control and/or data channel(s). Parent #1 may activate one or more of beams #1, #2 and/or #3 (construed as one resource set associated with parent #1)) while parent #2 may activate one or more of beams #5 and/or #7 (construed as another resource set associated with parent #2)).
Laddu does not explicitly disclose transmission and reception of one or more reference signals and wherein each of the at least one resource set comprises a spatial radio resource in association with a mode of the operation of the access unit.
Zhang teaches transmission and reception of one or more reference signals (see paragraph [0090], disclose uplink reference signal as first-type measurement reference signal and second-type measurement reference signal (e.g., downlink reference signal)) wherein each of the at least one resource set comprises a spatial radio resource in association with a mode of the operation of the access unit (see paragraph [0244], in response to receiving measurement, donor node/IAB node 1 may allocate resource 1 on which UB and DA beam pairs are transmitted and resource 2 which is occupied by a backhaul channel and/or signal and a resource 3 all of which is occupied by an access channel or signal. Note: Examiner is reading resources 1-3 as a resource set. Paragraph [0132] explicitly states: “UB link and DA link may occupy resources in an SDM mode on resources with low interference”. Also, paragraph [0081] explicitly states: “..so that the communication node can send or receive signals on resources with low interference in the SDM mode, thereby reducing the mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to a device in SDM mode (as disclosed in Zhang) into Laddu as a way of enabling sending or receiving of signals on resources with low interference, thereby reducing mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
The combination of Laddu and Zhang do not clearly teach and wherein the associated mode of operation for the access unit is a restricted mode of operation that restricts simultaneous transmission and/or reception by an IAB-MT and transmission by the IAB-DU cells.
Wanuga teaches and wherein the associated mode of operation for the access unit is a restricted mode of operation that restricts simultaneous transmission and/or reception by an IAB-MT and transmission by the IAB-DU cells (see paragraph [0149], for alternative timing mode, both the IAB-DU and IAB-MT are transmitting simultaneously requiring IAB-DU DL transmission to be synchronous across Dus and donor nodes but further requiring IAB-MT UL transmission to be performed synchronously with IAB-DU DL transmission. Paragraph [0118] disclose gNB-DU supporting one or multiple cells).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the alternative timing mode (as disclosed in Wanuga) into both Laddu and Zhang as a way of deriving DL alignment between IAB nodes (please see paragraph [0150] of Wanuga).
As per claim 94:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86.
Laddu and Wanuga do not teach wherein the allocation information indicates at least one resource set comprising a spatial radio resource that is used by the backhaul unit, and wherein the associated mode of operation for the access unit is that the spatial radio resource is not available and/or that the spatial radio resource is used by coordinate frequency resources and/or time resources with at least one of the backhaul unit and the parent node.
Zhang teaches wherein the allocation information indicates at least one resource set comprising a spatial radio resource that is used by the backhaul unit (see paragraph [0132], through interference measurement, the second communicate node may know the interference caused by a signal, which is sent by the first communication node, over a DA link, to a signal on a UB link, so as to coordinate a multiplexing mode and a resource division between the UB link and the DA link)), and wherein the associated mode of operation for the access unit is that the spatial radio resource is not available and/or that the spatial radio resource is used by coordinate frequency resources and/or time resources with at least one of the backhaul unit and the parent node (see paragraph [0132], the UB and DA link may occupy resources in an SDM mode on resources with low interference. The second communication node notifies the first communication node of a measurement result so that the first communication node decides how to match and combine SDM beam pairs of UB and DA, so as to reduce the mutual interference of UB and DA that adopt the SDM).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to a device in SDM mode (as disclosed in Zhang) into Laddu and Wanuga as a way of enabling sending or receiving of signals on resources with low interference, thereby reducing mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 95:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86.
Laddu and Wanuga do not teach wherein the allocation information indicates at least one resource set comprising a spatial radio resource that is not used by an access unit of the parent node and/or another node of the RAN, and wherein the associated mode of operation comprises the access unit and the backhaul node performing space-domain multiplexing, whereby the access unit transmits or receives in the spatial resource according to a configured DL, UL, or Flexible allocated time and frequency resources.
Zhang teaches wherein the allocation information indicates at least one resource set comprising a spatial radio resource that is not used by an access unit of the parent node and/or another node of the RAN (see paragraph [0163], the IAB node 1 feeds back the measurement result indicating the minimum value of interference caused by the beam of DA to each candidate beam of UB, and then when the minimum value exceeds a predetermined threshold, the IAB node 2 knows that the beam of DA and UB signal(s) cannot adopt the SDM mode), and wherein the associated mode of operation comprises the access unit and the backhaul node performing space-domain multiplexing, whereby the access unit transmits or receives in the spatial resource (see Figures 6 and 7, paragraph [0158], the IAB donor node/IAB node 1 allocates three channel measurement resources (i.e., resources 1-3) and one interference measurement resource (resource 4) to the IAB node 2. The IAB node 2 sends measurement reference signals on the three channel measurement resources over a UB link by using candidate transmit beams of the UB link in sequence) according to a configured DL (see paragraph [0073], support for downlink backhaul signal (DB) and downlink access signal (DA)), UL (see paragraph [0073], support for uplink access (UA) signal and UB signal), or Flexible allocated time and frequency resources (Note: limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to a device in SDM mode (as disclosed in Zhang) into Laddu and Wanuga as a way of enabling sending or receiving of signals on resources with low interference, thereby reducing mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 97:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86.
Laddu and Wanuga do not teach wherein the one or more reference signals are transmitted from the IAB-node to the parent node for: measuring the reference signal at the parent node; the allocation of the at least one resource set; and/or sending a measurement report indicative of a result of the measurement from the parent node to the network function unit.
Zhang teaches wherein the one or more reference signals are transmitted from the IAB-node to the parent node (see paragraph [0122], the first communication node sends measurement reference signals on the determined resources. The second communication node receives the measurement reference signals on the resources, please see paragraph [0126]. Said first communication node is IAB node 2 and the second communication node is the IAB donor node 1, please see [0097]) for: measuring the reference signal at the parent node (see paragraphs [0126]-[0127], the second communication node receives the measurement reference signals on the resources. The second communication node sends channel state report information to the first communication node and resource information about resource occupied by the channel state report information, please see paragraph [0128]); the allocation of the at least one resource set (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art); and/or sending a measurement report indicative of a result of the measurement from the parent node to the network function unit (see paragraph [0128], the second communication node sends channel state report information to the first communication node and resource information about resource occupied by the channel state report information, please see paragraph [0128]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to a device in SDM mode (as disclosed in Zhang) into Laddu and Wanuga as a way of enabling sending or receiving of signals on resources with low interference, thereby reducing mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 98:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86, wherein the allocation information is received from the parent node at the IAB-node or received from the network function unit relayed through the parent node (Laddu, see paragraph [0160], parents #1 and #2 may activate/use only the reported beams indicated by the latest update, in the form of TCI states to be used for control and data. The IAB-MT may or may not get/receive an additional activation command for TCI states).
As per claim 99:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86.
Laddu and Wanuga do not teach wherein the allocation information indicates at least one resource set comprising a spatial radio resource for which the access unit and the backhaul unit perform spatial domain multiplexing (SDM) according to the associated mode of operation, and wherein the spatial radio resource for the SDM is determined by: a signal to noise ratio; or a signal to noise and interference ratio; or a signal to interference ratio that does not exceed a predefined or configured threshold.
Zhang teaches wherein the allocation information indicates at least one resource set comprising a spatial radio resource for which the access unit and the backhaul unit perform spatial domain multiplexing (SDM) according to the associated mode of operation (see paragraph [0081], the communication node can send or receive signals on resources with low interference in the SDM mode), and wherein the spatial radio resource for the SDM is determined by: a signal to noise ratio (Note: limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art); or a signal to noise and interference ratio (see paragraphs [0163], measurement results for resources 1-3, SINR1, SINR2, SINR3); or a signal to interference ratio that does not exceed a predefined or configured threshold (see paragraph [0163], IAB node 2 knows that beam of DA and UB signal(s) cannot adopt the SDM mode when the minimum value of the multiple measurement results (i.e., SINR1-SINR3) exceeds a predetermined threshold).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to a device in SDM mode (as disclosed in Zhang) into Laddu and Wanuga as a way of enabling sending or receiving of signals on resources with low interference, thereby reducing mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 101:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86.
Laddu and Wanuga do not teach wherein the at least one resource set is such that the access unit conditionally transmits and/or receives using the associated spatial radio resource based on configured time and/or frequency resources, and is further configured to be used for DL, or for UL, or for being flexible, wherein the condition for conditionally using the associated spatial radio resource is based on resource coordination with at least one of the backhaul unit and/or the parent node, and wherein the access unit transmits and/or receives according to a time-domain and/or frequency-domain configuration.
Zhang teaches wherein the at least one resource set is such that the access unit conditionally transmits and/or receives using the associated spatial radio resource based on configured time and/or frequency resources (see Figures 6 and 7, paragraph [0158], the IAB donor node/IAB node 1 allocates three channel measurement resources (i.e., resources 1-3) and one interference measurement resource (resource 4) to the IAB node 2. The IAB node 2 sends measurement reference signals on the three channel measurement resources over a UB link by using candidate transmit beams of the UB link in sequence), and is further configured to be used for DL (see paragraph [0073], support for downlink backhaul signal (DB) and downlink access signal (DA)), or for UL (see paragraph [0073], support for uplink access (UA) signal and UB signal), or for being flexible (Note: limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art), wherein the condition for conditionally using the associated spatial radio resource is based on resource coordination with at least one of the backhaul unit and/or the parent node, and wherein the access unit transmits and/or receives according to a time-domain and/or frequency-domain configuration (see paragraph [0158], the IAB donor node 1 obtains in sequence channel measurement results 1, 2 and 3 corresponding to the respective channel measurement resource. The IAB donor node 1 feedback result satisfying a predetermined characteristic back to the IAB donor node 2 over a downlink).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to a device in SDM mode (as disclosed in Zhang) into Laddu and Wanuga as a way of enabling sending or receiving of signals on resources with low interference, thereby reducing mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 102:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86.
Laddu and Wanuga do not clearly teach wherein the at least one resource set is such that the access unit conditionally transmits and/or receives using the associated spatial radio resource, and wherein the condition for the conditional usage is that the access unit transmits and/or receives only if a performance of the backhaul link to the parent node is not changed due to a transmission or reception by the access node.
Zhang teaches wherein the at least one resource set is such that the access unit conditionally transmits and/or receives using the associated spatial radio resource (see Figures 6 and 7, paragraph [0158], the IAB donor node/IAB node 1 allocates three channel measurement resources (i.e., resources 1-3) and one interference measurement resource (resource 4) to the IAB node 2. The IAB node 2 sends measurement reference signals on the three channel measurement resources over a UB link by using candidate transmit beams of the UB link in sequence), and wherein the condition for the conditional usage is that the access unit transmits and/or receives only if a performance of the backhaul link to the parent node is not changed due to a transmission or reception by the access node (see paragraph [0158], the IAB donor node 1 obtains in sequence channel measurement results 1, 2 and 3 corresponding to the respective channel measurement resource. The IAB donor node 1 feedback result satisfying a predetermined characteristic back to the IAB donor node 2 over a downlink).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to a device in SDM mode (as disclosed in Zhang) into Laddu and Wanuga as a way of enabling sending or receiving of signals on resources with low interference, thereby reducing mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 104:
Laddu teaches a method of providing an allocation of spatial radio resources for an integrated access and backhaul node (IAB-node) (see paragraph [0086], teaches a scenario whereby an IAB-node is scheduled to perform reception with multiple beams, each from a different parent. The IAB-node comprise of IAB-MT for using a panel to receive transmissions from spatially separated parents at any time. Note: Examiner is reading said multiple beams and said respective panels as said spatial radio resources) of a radio access network (RAN), (paragraph [0084] each IAB node consists logically of a Mobile Termination (MT) (e.g., IAB MT) that communicates with upstream nodes and a RAN component such as IAB DU for communicating with downstream nodes or subscriber UEs 110) the IAB-node (see Figure 2, IAB node-1 12) comprising an access unit configured to provide radio access to User Equipment (UEs) (see Figure 2, IAB node-1 12 comprise of IAB-DU 14 for connecting to UE 110. Figure 2 also shows other IAB node-2 12 connected to plurality of UEs 110 via the IAB-DU) and child backhaul connections to child IAB-nodes (see Figure 2, IAB node-1 12 connected to other IAB node-3 12. Note: Examiner is reading other IAB node-3 12 as the child IAB node, especially since IAB node-3 12 is located “upstream”. Also, even though figure 2 only shows three (3) IAB nodes the topology could also support “more or fewer nodes 12”, please see paragraph [0084] as explicitly stated. Thus, more child nodes could be connected to an IAB node), and a mobile terminal (MT) unit configured to provide parent backhaul connections to parent IAB-nodes (see Figure 2, paragraph [0084], IAB node-1 12 also comprise of IAB-MT for connecting to the donor DU/CU 20 via backhaul link. Figures 6 and 7 shows said IAB-MT connected to parent#1 and parent#2), the method comprising:
receiving, from the IAB-node, capability and interference measurements (see Figure 7, paragraph [0157], in response to receiving CSI-RS configuration for beam management (step 710) and CSI-RS (e.g., #1-#4) from parent #1 (step 715) and CSI-RS (e.g., #5-#8) from parent #2 (step 720), the IAB-MT of the IAB node performs beam measurement(s) (step 725). The IAB node may determine, based on the beam measurement, that beam pairs (#1, #5), (#3, #7) and (#2, #7) are the best or appropriate (i.e., these beams will allow for simultaneous reception of both parent #1 and parent #2). CSI reporting is sent by IAB-MT to the parent#1 indicating acceptable beam pairs (#1, #5), (#3, #7) and (#2, #7) and also additional information indicating that TDM mode is supported, please see step 730 and paragraph [0157]);
and providing, to the IAB-node and based on capability and interference measurements received from the IAB-node (see Figure 7, paragraph [0158], in response to receiving the CSI reporting (step 730) from IAB-MT, parents #1 and #2 activates the reported beam(s) which may be in the form of TCI states associated with the received CRI to be used for control and/or data channel(s). Parent #1 may activate one or more of beams #1, #2 and/or #3 (construed as one resource set associated with parent #1)) while parent #2 may activate one or more of beams #5 and/or #7 (construed as another resource set)), allocation information indicating an allocation of at least one resource set (as explained earlier, Figure 7 and paragraph [0158], in response to receiving the CSI reporting (step 730) from IAB-MT, parents #1 and #2 activates the reported beam(s) which may be in the form of TCI states associated with the received CRI to be used for control and/or data channel(s). Parent #1 may activate one or more of beams #1, #2 and/or #3 (construed as one resource set associated with parent #1)) while parent #2 may activate one or more of beams #5 and/or #7 (construed as another resource set associated with parent #2)).
Laddu does not explicitly disclose transmission and reception of one or more reference signals and each of the at least one resource set comprising a spatial radio resource associated with a mode of the operation of the access unit.
Zhang teaches transmission and reception of one or more reference signals (see paragraph [0090], disclose uplink reference signal as first-type measurement reference signal and second-type measurement reference signal (e.g., downlink reference signal)) and each of the at least one resource set comprising a spatial radio resource associated with a mode of the operation of the access unit (see paragraph [0244], in response to receiving measurement, donor node/IAB node 1 may allocate resource 1 on which UB and DA beam pairs are transmitted and resource 2 which is occupied by a backhaul channel and/or signal and a resource 3 all of which is occupied by an access channel or signal. Note: Examiner is reading resources 1-3 as a resource set. Paragraph [0132] explicitly states: “UB link and DA link may occupy resources in an SDM mode on resources with low interference”. Also, paragraph [0081] explicitly states: “..so that the communication node can send or receive signals on resources with low interference in the SDM mode, thereby reducing the mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to a device in SDM mode (as disclosed in Zhang) into Laddu as a way of enabling sending or receiving of signals on resources with low interference, thereby reducing mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
The combination of Laddu and Zhang do not clearly teach and wherein the associated mode of operation for the access unit is a restricted mode of operation that restricts simultaneous transmission and/or reception by an IAB-MT and transmission by the IAB-DU cells.
Wanuga teaches and wherein the associated mode of operation for the access unit is a restricted mode of operation that restricts simultaneous transmission and/or reception by an IAB-MT and transmission by the IAB-DU cells (see paragraph [0149], for alternative timing mode, both the IAB-DU and IAB-MT are transmitting simultaneously requiring IAB-DU DL transmission to be synchronous across Dus and donor nodes but further requiring IAB-MT UL transmission to be performed synchronously with IAB-DU DL transmission. Paragraph [0118] disclose gNB-DU supporting one or multiple cells).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the alternative timing mode (as disclosed in Wanuga) into both Laddu and Zhang as a way of deriving DL alignment between IAB nodes (please see paragraph [0150] of Wanuga).
As per claim 105:
Laddu teaches an integrated access and backhaul node (IAB-node) of a radio access network (RAN) for receiving an allocation of spatial radio resources (see paragraph [0086], teaches a scenario whereby an IAB-node is scheduled to perform reception with multiple beams, each from a different parent. The IAB-node comprise of IAB-MT for using a panel to receive transmissions from spatially separated parents at any time. Note: Examiner is reading said multiple beams and said respective panels as said spatial radio resources), wherein the IAB-node (see Figure 2, IAB node-1 12) comprises an access unit configured to provide radio access to UEs (see Figure 2, IAB node-1 12 comprise of IAB-DU 14 for connecting to UE 110. Figure 2 also shows other IAB node-2 12 connected to plurality of UEs 110 via the IAB-DU) and child backhaul connections to child IAB-nodes (see Figure 2, IAB node-1 12 connected to other IAB node-3 12. Note: Examiner is reading other IAB node-3 12 as the child IAB node, especially since IAB node-3 12 is located “upstream”. Also, even though figure 2 only shows three (3) IAB nodes the topology could also support “more or fewer nodes 12”, please see paragraph [0084] as explicitly stated. Thus, more child nodes could be connected to an IAB node), and a mobile terminal (MT) unit configured to provide a parent backhaul connection to a parent IAB-node (see Figure 2, paragraph [0084], IAB node-1 12 also comprise of IAB-MT for connecting to the donor DU/CU 20 via backhaul link), the IAB-node comprising:
processing circuitry (see Figure 1, RAN node 170 comprise of processor(s) 152);
and memory operatively connected to the processing circuitry (see Figure 1, memory(ies) 155 coupled to processor(s) 152) and comprising instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, causes the IAB-node (see paragraph [0076], the memories 155 and the computer program code 153 are configured to, with the one or more processor(s) 152 to cause the RAN node 170 to perform one or more of the operations described herein) to:
transmit, to a network function unit, capability and interference measurements (see Figure 7, paragraph [0157], in response to receiving CSI-RS configuration for beam management (step 710) and CSI-RS (e.g., #1-#4) from parent #1 (step 715) and CSI-RS (e.g., #5-#8) from parent #2 (step 720), the IAB-MT of the IAB node performs beam measurement(s) (step 725). The IAB node may determine, based on the beam measurement, that beam pairs (#1, #5), (#3, #7) and (#2, #7) are the best or appropriate (i.e., these beams will allow for simultaneous reception of both parent #1 and parent #2). CSI reporting is sent by IAB-MT to the parent#1 indicating acceptable beam pairs (#1, #5), (#3, #7) and (#2, #7) and also additional information indicating that TDM mode is supported, please see step 730 and paragraph [0157]);
receive, based on transmitted capability and interference measurements (see Figure 7, paragraph [0158], in response to receiving the CSI reporting (step 730) from IAB-MT, parents #1 and #2 activates the reported beam(s) which may be in the form of TCI states associated with the received CRI to be used for control and/or data channel(s). Parent #1 may activate one or more of beams #1, #2 and/or #3 (construed as one resource set associated with parent #1)) while parent #2 may activate one or more of beams #5 and/or #7 (construed as another resource set), allocation information indicative of an allocation of at least one resource set (as explained earlier, Figure 7 and paragraph [0158], in response to receiving the CSI reporting (step 730) from IAB-MT, parents #1 and #2 activates the reported beam(s) which may be in the form of TCI states associated with the received CRI to be used for control and/or data channel(s). Parent #1 may activate one or more of beams #1, #2 and/or #3 (construed as one resource set associated with parent #1)) while parent #2 may activate one or more of beams #5 and/or #7 (construed as another resource set associated with parent #2)).
Laddu does not explicitly disclose transmission and reception of one or more reference signals and each of the at least one resource set comprising a spatial radio resource in association with a mode of the operation of the access unit.
Zhang teaches transmission and reception of one or more reference signals (see paragraph [0090], disclose uplink reference signal as first-type measurement reference signal and second-type measurement reference signal (e.g., downlink reference signal)) and each of the at least one resource set comprising a spatial radio resource in association with a mode of the operation of the access unit (see paragraph [0244], in response to receiving measurement, donor node/IAB node 1 may allocate resource 1 on which UB and DA beam pairs are transmitted and resource 2 which is occupied by a backhaul channel and/or signal and a resource 3 all of which is occupied by an access channel or signal. Note: Examiner is reading resources 1-3 as a resource set. Paragraph [0132] explicitly states: “UB link and DA link may occupy resources in an SDM mode on resources with low interference”. Also, paragraph [0081] explicitly states: “..so that the communication node can send or receive signals on resources with low interference in the SDM mode, thereby reducing the mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to a device in SDM mode (as disclosed in Zhang) into Laddu as a way of enabling sending or receiving of signals on resources with low interference, thereby reducing mutual interference between links that adopt the SDM and ensuring a communication quality (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
The combination of Laddu and Zhang do not clearly teach and wherein the associated mode of operation for the access unit is a restricted mode of operation that restricts simultaneous transmission and/or reception by an IAB-MT and transmission by the IAB-DU cells.
Wanuga teaches and wherein the associated mode of operation for the access unit is a restricted mode of operation that restricts simultaneous transmission and/or reception by an IAB-MT and transmission by the IAB-DU cells (see paragraph [0149], for alternative timing mode, both the IAB-DU and IAB-MT are transmitting simultaneously requiring IAB-DU DL transmission to be synchronous across Dus and donor nodes but further requiring IAB-MT UL transmission to be performed synchronously with IAB-DU DL transmission. Paragraph [0118] disclose gNB-DU supporting one or multiple cells).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the alternative timing mode (as disclosed in Wanuga) into both Laddu and Zhang as a way of deriving DL alignment between IAB nodes (please see paragraph [0150] of Wanuga).
4. Claim 87 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga and Stirling-Gallacher (US PG Pub. No. 2019/0021084), hereinafter referred to as Stirling.
As per claim 87:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86 with the exception of:
wherein the spatial radio resource in each of the at least one resource set comprises or corresponds to one or more direction units, and wherein the space around the IAB-node is divided into multiple direction units.
Stirling teaches wherein the spatial radio resource in each of the at least one resource set comprises or corresponds to one or more direction units (see figure 2B, paragraph [0071], if SDMA is used, high frequency backhaul link is assigned to use the frequency band only in specific spatial orientations (or beam directions) and the access is assigned to use the same frequency band in other specific spatial orientations (or beam directions), where the spatial orientations may change as a function of time), and wherein the space around the IAB-node is divided into multiple direction units (see Figures 9A-9C, paragraph [0108], the TRP in the IAB implementation transmits using all transmit beams ensuring that all the sectors of the TRP are covered for backhaul and access links to neighboring TRPs in such a way as to mitigate different sector interference).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the distribution of transmit and receive beams in the respective sectors (as disclosed in Stirling) into Laddu, Zhang and Wanuga as a way of reducing interference between sectors (please see paragraph [0108] of Stirling). Therefore, implementing SDM in an IAB environment may result in higher spectral efficiency than that of TDM provided spatial multiplexing of access and backhaul links carefully managed (please see paragraph [0072] of Stirling).
5. Claim 88 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga and Luo (US PG Pub. No. 2019/0373627).
As per claim 88:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86 with the exception of:
wherein the spatial radio resource in each of the at least one resource set corresponds to a subset of the space around the IAB-node, wherein the spatial radio resource in each of the at least one resource set corresponds to a beamforming pattern.
Luo teaches wherein the spatial radio resource in each of the at least one resource set corresponds to a subset of the space around the IAB-node, wherein the spatial radio resource in each of the at least one resource set corresponds to a beamforming pattern (see Figure 3, paragraph [0109], the CU 305 may coordinate UE 115 scheduling, beam patterns, beamformed transmissions between neighboring cells using SPIs. SPIs may be used to coordinate beam sweeping patterns, schedule communications for UEs 115, etc.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the scheduling including the beam patterns between neighboring distributed units (as disclosed in Luo) into Laddu, Zhang and Wanuga as a way of reducing interference and allowing for flexible and efficient scheduling in networks employing CU-DU (e.g., relay architecture) (please see paragraph [0049] of Luo).
6. Claim 89 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga and Luo (US Patent No. 11,889,554), hereinafter referred to as Luo’554.
As per claim 89:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86 with the exception of:
wherein the backhaul unit and the access unit are connected to the same antenna system of the IAB-node for providing the backhaul link and the radio access, respectively.
Luo’554 teaches wherein the backhaul unit and the access unit are connected to the same antenna system of the IAB-node for providing the backhaul link and the radio access, respectively (see Figure 2, see Col 19, lines 34-55, IAB node 215 as a single entity (for example, the MT role and DU role may share an antenna panel of the IAB node 215).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the mobile termination and distribution unit in a same antenna panel of an IAB node (as disclosed in Luo’554) into Laddu, Zhang and Wanuga as a way of enabling the IAB node to perform communication operations such as channel sensing procedures as a single node (please see Col 19, lines 34-55 of Luo’554).
7. Claim 90 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga and Liu (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0039022).
As per claim 90:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more reference signals are transmitted on one or more reference beams, and wherein the spatial radio resource or the one or more direction units in each of the at least one resource set corresponds to one or more of the reference beams, and wherein the reference signals comprise at least one of:
a synchronization signal block (SSB);
a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS);
and a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu teaches wherein the one or more reference signals are transmitted on one or more reference beams, and wherein the spatial radio resource or the one or more direction units in each of the at least one resource set corresponds to one or more of the reference beams (see paragraph [0068], parent IAB node 110 transmits a set of reference signal resources to the child IAB node 120. The reference signal resource may be CSI-RS and/or SSB resource. The child IAB node 120 receives the set of reference signal resources, each associated with a beam, and therefore associated with a spatial domain filter. Different RS resources may be transmitted using different beams (different spatial domain filters)), and wherein the reference signals comprise at least one of:
a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see paragraph [0068], SSB resource);
a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (see paragraph [0068], CSI-RS resource);
and a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of reference signal resources associated with different beams and spatial domain filters (as disclosed in Liu) into Laddu, Zhang and Wanuga as a way of enabling the child IAB nodes to report the power levels for the respective beams (spatial domain filters) (please see paragraph [0069] of Liu).
8. Claim 91 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga and Zhang (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0014344), hereinafter referred to as Zhang’344.
As per claim 91:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86 with the exception of:
wherein the spatial resource or the one or more direction units in one of the at least one resource set corresponds to the radio backhaul link provided by the backhaul unit, wherein the backhaul unit is an IAB-MT of the IAB-node and is configured to provide the backhaul link using radio resources of the RAN, or an access link for the radio access, or a child backhaul link, provided by the access unit.
Zhang’344 teaches wherein the spatial resource or the one or more direction units in one of the at least one resource set corresponds to the radio backhaul link (see Figure 4, paragraph [0064], discloses a backhaul link between IAB donor 405 and an IAB node 410. In an IAB network, network resources for wireless communications (e.g., time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources and/or the like) may be shared between access links 415 and backhaul links 420)) provided by the backhaul unit (see Figure 4, IAB-node 1 410 comprise of MT for connecting to the IAB-donor 405 via the backhaul link 420 and thus MT provides said backhaul connection), wherein the backhaul unit is an IAB-MT of the IAB-node (as explained earlier in figure 4, IAB-node 1 410 comprise of MT for connecting to the IAB-donor 405 via backhaul link 420) and is configured to provide the backhaul link using radio resources of the RAN, or an access link for the radio access, or a child backhaul link, provided by the access unit (see Figure 4, paragraph [0064] since spatial resources are shared by the backhaul links, it is evident that MT communicates with IAB donor 405 on the backhaul link using the spatial resources).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocating of resources on the backhaul links (as disclosed in Zhang’344) into Laddu, Zhang and Wanuga as a way of providing communication between IAB node and the donor node (please see paragraph [0064] of Zhang’344).
9. Claim 92 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga and Abedini (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0337057).
As per claim 92:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86 with the exception of:
wherein the capability and interference measurement indicate a capability of the access unit to transmit and/or receive on one or more of the spatial radio resources or in one or more of the direction units, and an extent to which such transmitting and receiving would interfere with each other.
Abedini teaches wherein the capability and interference measurement indicate a capability of the access unit to transmit and/or receive (see paragraph [0055], the first node such as IAB node may include node multiplexing component 198 that is configured to transmit a report to a CU, where the report includes at least one multiplexing capability of the first node. The capability may comprise SDM or FDM. The first node may also transmit a report indicating a multiplexing capability condition for the at least one first node) one or more of the spatial radio resources or in one or more of the direction units, and an extent to which such transmitting and receiving would interfere with each other (see paragraph [0089], the SDM capability may be beam-dependent, where the IAB node may be configured to use SDM on certain subsets of beams nut not all beams. For instance, IAB node may use beams 1 and 2 because they are spatially separated for SDM (e.g., they are far enough apart not to interfere with each other), but beams 1 and 3 are not sufficiently spatially separated for SDM because they are too close together and may possibly interfere with each other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources based on the multiplexing capability of the node (as disclosed in Abedini) into Laddu, Zhang and Wanuga as a way of enabling the IAB node to communicate with more spatial efficiency and capacity (please see paragraph [0077] of Abedini).
10. Claim 93 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga and Akl (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0061002).
As per claim 93:
Laddu in view of Huang teaches the method of claim 86 with the exception of:
the method further comprising: providing radio access to at least one of the radio devices via the access unit in the mode of operation that is associated, according to the at least one resource set, with a spatial radio resource that is used or avoided in the radio access.
Akl teaches the method further comprising: providing radio access to at least one of the radio devices via the access unit in the mode of operation that is associated, according to the at least one resource set, with a spatial radio resource that is used or avoided in the radio access (see paragraph [0092], the bas station CU may transmit CD-SSBs on coordinated resource allocation while an associated base station MT is performing inter-node discovery measurement).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the coordination of resource allocation between base station DU and a parent DU (as disclosed in Akl) into Laddu, Zhang and Wanuga as a way of achieving reliable reception of signals especially since there is no overlap in SSB transmission and measurement for the base station DU and the associated base station MT (please see paragraph [0091] of Akl).
11. Claim 96 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga and Yuan (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0320768).
As per claim 96:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more reference signals are transmitted from the IAB-node to the parent node for the allocation of the at least one resource set.
Yuan teaches wherein the one or more reference signals are transmitted from the IAB-node to the parent node for the allocation of the at least one resource set (see paragraph [0041], for SDM transmission two reference signals precoded with two different set of precoders are transmitted by an IAB node using two resource sets. The IAB donot or parent IAB node may perform channel measurement and interference measurement on the two resource sets to determine at least one preferred precoder to be used for data transmission between the IAB node and the IAB donor. In this way, the IAB node and IAB donor node can communicate with each other with reduced interference).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the measurement of reference signals received from IAB node on different resource sets by the donor node (as disclosed in Yuan) into Laddu, Zhang and Wanuga as a way of enable communication between the IAB donor and IAB node with reduced interference (please see paragraph [0041] of Yuan).
12. Claims 100 and 103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga and Abedini (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0203469).
As per claim 100:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one resource set restricts operation so that the access unit cannot transmit or receive in the associated spatial radio resource.
Abedini teaches wherein the at least one resource set restricts operation so that the access unit cannot transmit or receive in the associated spatial radio resource (see paragraph [0072], the IAB donor may configure resource patterns for IAB nodes in the IAB network. For example, a time resource may be configured as downlink-only, uplink-only, flexible or not available. When the time resource is configured as not available for a wireless node, that time resource may not be used for any communications of the wireless node).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to an IAB node by the IAB donor (as disclosed in Abedini) into Laddu, Zhang and Wanuga as a way of enabling communication with other wireless node supporting the mode of operation (please see paragraph [0078] of Abedini). Therefore, configuring slot formats for the wireless node may help to increase throughput on the wireless link and decrease latency as well (please see paragraph [0005] of Abedini).
As per claim 103:
Laddu in view of Zhang and further in view of Wanuga teaches the method of claim 86 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one resource set is such that the access unit transmits and/or receives using the associated spatial radio resource based on configured time and/or frequency resources, and is further configured for:
a downlink (DL);
an uplink (UL); or
to be flexible.
Abedini teaches wherein the at least one resource set is such that the access unit transmits and/or receives using the associated spatial radio resource based on configured time and/or frequency resources (see paragraph [0072], in an IAB network, network resources for wireless communications (e.g., time resources, frequency resources or spatial resources) may be shared between access links and backhaul links. The IAB donor may configure resource patterns for IAB nodes in the IAB network. For example, a time resource may be configured as downlink-only, uplink-only, flexible or not available), and is further configured for:
a downlink (DL) (as explained earlier in paragraph [0072], time resources for downlink-only);
an uplink (UL) (see paragraph [0072], time resources for uplink only); or
to be flexible (see paragraph [0072], time resources for flexible or not available).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources to an IAB node by the IAB donor (as disclosed in Abedini) into Laddu, Zhang and Wanuga as a way of enabling communication with other wireless node supporting the mode of operation (please see paragraph [0078] of Abedini). Therefore, configuring slot formats for the wireless node may help to increase throughput on the wireless link and decrease latency as well (please see paragraph [0005] of Abedini).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474