DETAILED ACTION
Claims 95-103 and 105-114 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the amendment of 08/26/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Applicant Argues:
On pages 8-9 of the remarks, applicant argues Novlan-Fehrenbach combination fails to disclose, teach or suggest "scheduling, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs, wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises: determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission; and indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission," as recited in independent claim 95. Therefore, the proposed Novlan-Fehrenbach combination fails to disclose, teach or suggest every element of claim 95.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits:
Fehrenbach teaches in [0038] for example, the UE group manager allocates resource to the UEs with a UE group. Applicant argues that Fehrenbach discloses in [0200]-[0201] that the UE group manager receives scheduling requests from the UEs withing the group and forwards or relays the scheduling requests to the eNB. However Examiner notes that Fehrenbach discloses different embodiment of scheduling resources to the UEs within the group and that one of the embodiment is that the UE group manager perform the scheduling on its own based on the resources available to its to configuration received from the base station. For example, in [0719], Fehrenbach discloses that Group Manager 11 might either provide the UE resources of a pre-assigned pool for grant-free uplink access or might forward the scheduling request to the base station 13. Therefore, Fehrenbach does disclose "scheduling, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs, wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises: determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission; and indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission"
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 95-103 and 105-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan et al (US 2020/0229192 A1) in view of Fehrenbach et al (US 2020/0092685 A1).
Regarding claim 95, Novlan teaches a method in a coordinator User Equipment, UE, for scheduling resources for a group of UEs in a wireless communications system, the method comprising:
- receiving, from a Radio Access Network, RAN, node a configuration configuring at least the coordinator UE with group-shared Uplink, UL, resources and Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node);
- monitoring a demand for the group-shared UL resources by at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Novlan does not explicitly disclose scheduling, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises: determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission and indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission.
Fehrenbach teaches scheduling, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises: determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission and indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission (Fehrenbach: Fig. 5; [0038], [0051], [0195]-[0201] the group manager schedules resource for the group members for uplink transmission; [0719], the Group Member UE 12 being in the RRC Group Connected state that wants to move to RRC (base station) Connected state to transmit uplink data may send a fast scheduling request to the Group Manager 11 via the sidelink (e.g. sidelink control channel PSCCH). The Group Manager 11 might either provide the UE resources of a pre-assigned pool for grant-free uplink access).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan scheduling, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises: determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission and indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission as disclosed by Fehrenbach to provide a system for UE groups resource management (Fehrenbach: Abstract).
Regarding claim 108, Novlan teaches a method in a Radio Access Network, RAN, node for scheduling and/or allocating resources for a group of UEs in a wireless communications system, the method comprising:
- transmitting, to a coordinator User Equipment, UE, a configuration configuring at least the coordinator UE with group-shared Uplink, UL, resources and Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node).
Novlan does not explicitly disclose wherein scheduling the group-shared UL resources comprises the coordinator UE determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission.
Fehrenbach teaches wherein scheduling the group-shared UL resources comprises the coordinator UE determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission (Fehrenbach: Fig. 5; [0038], [0051], [0195]-[0201] the group manager schedules resource for the group members for uplink transmission; [0719], the Group Member UE 12 being in the RRC Group Connected state that wants to move to RRC (base station) Connected state to transmit uplink data may send a fast scheduling request to the Group Manager 11 via the sidelink (e.g. sidelink control channel PSCCH). The Group Manager 11 might either provide the UE resources of a pre-assigned pool for grant-free uplink access).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan wherein scheduling the group-shared UL resources comprises the coordinator UE determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission as disclosed by Fehrenbach to provide a system for UE groups resource management (Fehrenbach: Abstract).
Regarding claim 110, Novlan teaches a method in a User Equipment, UE, within a group of UEs for receiving resources scheduled for the group of UEs in a wireless communications system, the method comprising:
- receiving, from a Radio Access Network, RAN node or from a coordinator UE, a configuration configuring the UE with Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and configuring the UE that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node).
Novlan does not explicitly disclose wherein scheduling the group-shared UL resources comprises the coordinator UE determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission.
Fehrenbach teaches wherein scheduling the group-shared UL resources comprises the coordinator UE determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission (Fehrenbach: Fig. 5; [0038], [0051], [0195]-[0201] the group manager schedules resource for the group members for uplink transmission, [0719], the Group Member UE 12 being in the RRC Group Connected state that wants to move to RRC (base station) Connected state to transmit uplink data may send a fast scheduling request to the Group Manager 11 via the sidelink (e.g. sidelink control channel PSCCH). The Group Manager 11 might either provide the UE resources of a pre-assigned pool for grant-free uplink access).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan wherein scheduling the group-shared UL resources comprises the coordinator UE determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission as disclosed by Fehrenbach to provide a system for UE groups resource management (Fehrenbach: Abstract).
Regarding claim 114, Novlan teaches a coordinator User Equipment, UE, configured for scheduling resources for a group of UEs in a wireless communications system, wherein the coordinator UE comprises:
- a processing circuitry; and - a memory circuitry storing computer program code which, when run in the processing circuitry, causes the coordinator UE to: - receive, from a Radio Access Network, RAN, node, a configuration configuring at least the coordinator UE with group-shared Uplink, UL, resources and Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node);
- monitor a demand for the group-shared UL resources by at least one UE within the group UEs; and - schedule, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Novlan does not explicitly disclose wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises: determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission.
Fehrenbach teaches wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises: determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission (Fehrenbach: Fig. 5; [0038], [0051], [0195]-[0201] the group manager schedules resource for the group members for uplink transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises: determining, without receiving scheduling assistance from the RAN node, which group-shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission as disclosed by Fehrenbach to provide a system for UE groups resource management (Fehrenbach: Abstract).
Regarding claims 96 and 11, Novlan teaches wherein monitoring the demand for the group-shared UL resources comprises: - receiving, via the SL resources, a Buffer Status Report, BSR, from at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Regarding claim 97, Novlan teaches wherein monitoring the demand for the group-shared UL resources further comprises: - monitoring a sum of requested resources in at least one BSR from at least one UE within the group of UEs; and - if the sum of requested resources in said at least one BSR exceeds the configured group-shared UL resources, transmitting, to the RAN node, a request for additional group- shared UL resources (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 98, Novlan teaches wherein the request for additional group-shared UL resources comprises an indication of an amount of desired group-shared UL resources based on said sum of requested resources in said at least one BSR (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 99, Novlan teaches wherein the request for additional group-shared UL resources comprises an aggregated BSR and the aggregated BSR comprises information of a total buffer status of all UEs within the group of UEs (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 100, Novlan teaches wherein the aggregated BSR comprises an identifier indicating that the aggregated BSR is an aggregated BSR (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 101, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - receiving, from the RAN node, a configuration configuring additional group- shared UL resources as a response to said transmitted request for additional group-shared UL resources (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group; network allocates more resource, see [0045]).
Regarding claim 102, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - allocating partial or all the received additional group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs that has data to transmit (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group and allocates resource to the UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 103, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - transmitting, to the group of UEs, a configuration configuring the group of UEs with the SL resources to be used by the group of UEs and configuring the group of UEs that the coordinator UE coordinates the use of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], [0055] UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group and allocates resource to the UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 105, Novlan teaches wherein which group-shared UL resources the at least one UE within the group of UEs is allowed to use is indicated to said UE by indicating a timing of a configured grant for said group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs 5-8, [0039]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 106, Novlan teaches wherein indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group-shared UL resources to use comprises: - transmitting, to said at least one UE within the group of UEs, a Downlink Control Information, DCI, using a configured search space on Physical Sidelink Common Control Channel, PDCCH (Novlan: Figs 5-8, [0033]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 107, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - transmitting, to the RAN node, an indication of which configured group-shared UL resources that have been scheduled to which at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], [0055] UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group and allocates resource to the UEs in the group).
Regarding claims 109, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - transmitting, to at least one UE within the group of UEs, the configuration configuring the at least one UE within the group of UEs with group-shared UL resources and SL resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Regarding claims 112, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - receiving, from the RAN node, allocation of group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], [0060], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node and schedules other UEs in the group).
Regarding claims 113, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - receiving, from the coordinator UE, allocation of group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], [0060] UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node and schedules other UEs in the group).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478