DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 95-103 and 105-114 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment of 4/27/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 95-103 and 105-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan et al (US 2020/0229192 A1) in view of Fehrenbach et al (US 2020/0092685 A1).
Regarding claim 95, Novlan teaches a method in a coordinator User Equipment, UE, for scheduling resources for a group of UEs in a wireless communications system, the method comprising:
- receiving, from a Radio Access Network, RAN, node a configuration configuring at least the coordinator UE with group-shared Uplink, UL, resources and Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node);
- monitoring a demand for the group-shared UL resources by at least one UE within the group of UEs; and scheduling, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Novlan does not explicitly disclose wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission.
Fehrenbach teaches wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission (Fehrenbach: Fig. 5; [0038], [0051], [0195]-[0201] the group manager schedules resource for the group members for uplink transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission as disclosed by Fehrenbach to provide a system for UE groups resource management (Fehrenbach: Abstract).
Regarding claim 108, Novlan teaches a method in a Radio Access Network, RAN, node for scheduling and/or allocating resources for a group of UEs in a wireless communications system, the method comprising:
- transmitting, to a coordinator User Equipment, UE, a configuration configuring at least the coordinator UE with group-shared Uplink, UL, resources and Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node).
Novlan does not explicitly disclose wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission.
Fehrenbach teaches wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission (Fehrenbach: Fig. 5; [0038], [0051], [0195]-[0201] the group manager schedules resource for the group members for uplink transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission as disclosed by Fehrenbach to provide a system for UE groups resource management (Fehrenbach: Abstract).
Regarding claim 110, Novlan teaches a method in a User Equipment, UE, within a group of UEs for receiving resources scheduled for the group of UEs in a wireless communications system, the method comprising:
- receiving, from a Radio Access Network, RAN node or from a coordinator UE, a configuration configuring the UE with Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and configuring the UE that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node).
Novlan does not explicitly disclose wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission.
Fehrenbach teaches wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission (Fehrenbach: Fig. 5; [0038], [0051], [0195]-[0201] the group manager schedules resource for the group members for uplink transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission as disclosed by Fehrenbach to provide a system for UE groups resource management (Fehrenbach: Abstract).
Regarding claim 114, Novlan teaches a coordinator User Equipment, UE, configured for scheduling resources for a group of UEs in a wireless communications system, wherein the coordinator UE comprises:
- a processing circuitry; and - a memory circuitry storing computer program code which, when run in the processing circuitry, causes the coordinator UE to: - receive, from a Radio Access Network, RAN, node, a configuration configuring at least the coordinator UE with group-shared Uplink, UL, resources and Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node);
- monitor a demand for the group-shared UL resources by at least one UE within the group UEs; and - schedule, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Novlan does not explicitly disclose wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission.
Fehrenbach teaches wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission (Fehrenbach: Fig. 5; [0038], [0051], [0195]-[0201] the group manager schedules resource for the group members for uplink transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Novlan wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group- shared UL resources to use for an uplink transmission as disclosed by Fehrenbach to provide a system for UE groups resource management (Fehrenbach: Abstract).
Regarding claims 96 and 11, Novlan teaches wherein monitoring the demand for the group-shared UL resources comprises: - receiving, via the SL resources, a Buffer Status Report, BSR, from at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Regarding claim 97, Novlan teaches wherein monitoring the demand for the group-shared UL resources further comprises: - monitoring a sum of requested resources in at least one BSR from at least one UE within the group of UEs; and - if the sum of requested resources in said at least one BSR exceeds the configured group-shared UL resources, transmitting, to the RAN node, a request for additional group- shared UL resources (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 98, Novlan teaches wherein the request for additional group-shared UL resources comprises an indication of an amount of desired group-shared UL resources based on said sum of requested resources in said at least one BSR (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 99, Novlan teaches wherein the request for additional group-shared UL resources comprises an aggregated BSR and the aggregated BSR comprises information of a total buffer status of all UEs within the group of UEs (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 100, Novlan teaches wherein the aggregated BSR comprises an identifier indicating that the aggregated BSR is an aggregated BSR (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 101, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - receiving, from the RAN node, a configuration configuring additional group- shared UL resources as a response to said transmitted request for additional group-shared UL resources (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group; network allocates more resource, see [0045]).
Regarding claim 102, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - allocating partial or all the received additional group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs that has data to transmit (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group and allocates resource to the UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 103, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - transmitting, to the group of UEs, a configuration configuring the group of UEs with the SL resources to be used by the group of UEs and configuring the group of UEs that the coordinator UE coordinates the use of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], [0055] UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group and allocates resource to the UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 105, Novlan teaches wherein which group-shared UL resources the at least one UE within the group of UEs is allowed to use is indicated to said UE by indicating a timing of a configured grant for said group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs 5-8, [0039]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 106, Novlan teaches wherein indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group-shared UL resources to use comprises: - transmitting, to said at least one UE within the group of UEs, a Downlink Control Information, DCI, using a configured search space on Physical Sidelink Common Control Channel, PDCCH (Novlan: Figs 5-8, [0033]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 107, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - transmitting, to the RAN node, an indication of which configured group-shared UL resources that have been scheduled to which at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], [0055] UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group and allocates resource to the UEs in the group).
Regarding claims 109, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - transmitting, to at least one UE within the group of UEs, the configuration configuring the at least one UE within the group of UEs with group-shared UL resources and SL resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Regarding claims 112, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - receiving, from the RAN node, allocation of group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], [0060], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node and schedules other UEs in the group).
Regarding claims 113, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - receiving, from the coordinator UE, allocation of group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], [0060] UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node and schedules other UEs in the group).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478