DETAILED ACTION
Claims 95-114 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
Applicant Argues:
On pages 8-9 of the remarks, Applicant argues the coordinator UE 550A may receive BSRs from other UEs in a group, as alleged by the Office Action, but the coordinator UE 550A does not "schedule them based on their BSRs," as alleged by the Office Action. Instead, coordinator UE 550A aggregates the BSR reports and sends them to network device 510. It is the network device that then takes action based on the aggregate BSR reports. The cited portions of Novlan disclose that one action taken by network device 510 is allocating more resources to the UEs. There is no disclosure in the cited portions of Novlan, however, that coordinator UE 550 performs scheduling, as alleged by the Office Action, therefore Novlan fails to disclose "scheduling, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs," as recited in independent claim 95. Therefore, Novlan fails to disclose every element of claim 95.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits:
Novlan teaches in Fig. 7:704 and
[0055] At 704, example method 700 can communicate, by the network device to a first user equipment device of the group of user equipment devices (e.g., UE 550A receives resource allocation from network device 510), first information corresponding to the first group of resources, the first user equipment device being a local manager of the group, that can communicate second information corresponding to a second group of resources, based on the first information (e.g., UE 550A can generate resource allocations based on the allocations received from network device 510), to respective other user equipment devices of the group of user equipment devices (e.g., UEs 550B-C).
On can clearly see that indeed the local manager UE 550A does perform resource allocation to other UEs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 95-114 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Novlan et al (US 2020/0229192 A1).
Regarding claim 95, Novlan teaches a method in a coordinator User Equipment, UE, for scheduling resources for a group of UEs in a wireless communications system, the method comprising:
- receiving, from a Radio Access Network, RAN, node a configuration configuring at least the coordinator UE with group-shared Uplink, UL, resources and Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node);
- monitoring a demand for the group-shared UL resources by at least one UE within the group of UEs; and scheduling, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Regarding claim 108, Novlan teaches a method in a Radio Access Network, RAN, node for scheduling and/or allocating resources for a group of UEs in a wireless communications system, the method comprising:
- transmitting, to a coordinator User Equipment, UE, a configuration configuring at least the coordinator UE with group-shared Uplink, UL, resources and Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node).
Regarding claim 110, Novlan teaches a method in a User Equipment, UE, within a group of UEs for receiving resources scheduled for the group of UEs in a wireless communications system, the method comprising:
- receiving, from a Radio Access Network, RAN node or from a coordinator UE, a configuration configuring the UE with Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and configuring the UE that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node).
Regarding claim 114, Novlan teaches a coordinator User Equipment, UE, configured for scheduling resources for a group of UEs in a wireless communications system, wherein the coordinator UE comprises:
- a processing circuitry; and - a memory circuitry storing computer program code which, when run in the processing circuitry, causes the coordinator UE to: - receive, from a Radio Access Network, RAN, node, a configuration configuring at least the coordinator UE with group-shared Uplink, UL, resources and Sidelink, SL, resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node);
- monitor a demand for the group-shared UL resources by at least one UE within the group UEs; and - schedule, based on the monitored demand for the group-shared UL resources, the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Regarding claims 96 and 11, Novlan teaches wherein monitoring the demand for the group-shared UL resources comprises: - receiving, via the SL resources, a Buffer Status Report, BSR, from at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Regarding claim 97, Novlan teaches wherein monitoring the demand for the group-shared UL resources further comprises: - monitoring a sum of requested resources in at least one BSR from at least one UE within the group of UEs; and - if the sum of requested resources in said at least one BSR exceeds the configured group-shared UL resources, transmitting, to the RAN node, a request for additional group- shared UL resources (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 98, Novlan teaches wherein the request for additional group-shared UL resources comprises an indication of an amount of desired group-shared UL resources based on said sum of requested resources in said at least one BSR (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 99, Novlan teaches wherein the request for additional group-shared UL resources comprises an aggregated BSR and the aggregated BSR comprises information of a total buffer status of all UEs within the group of UEs (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 100, Novlan teaches wherein the aggregated BSR comprises an identifier indicating that the aggregated BSR is an aggregated BSR (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 101, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - receiving, from the RAN node, a configuration configuring additional group- shared UL resources as a response to said transmitted request for additional group-shared UL resources (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group; network allocates more resource, see [0045]).
Regarding claim 102, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - allocating partial or all the received additional group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs that has data to transmit (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group and allocates resource to the UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 103, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - transmitting, to the group of UEs, a configuration configuring the group of UEs with the SL resources to be used by the group of UEs and configuring the group of UEs that the coordinator UE coordinates the use of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], [0055] UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group and allocates resource to the UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 104, Novlan teaches wherein scheduling the configured group-shared UL resources to at least one UE within the group of UEs comprises: - indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group-shared UL resources to use (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], [0055] UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group and allocates resource to the UEs in the group).
Regarding claim 105, Novlan teaches wherein which group-shared UL resources the at least one UE within the group of UEs is allowed to use is indicated to said UE by indicating a timing of a configured grant for said group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs 5-8, [0039]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 106, Novlan teaches wherein indicating to the at least one UE within the group of UEs which group-shared UL resources to use comprises: - transmitting, to said at least one UE within the group of UEs, a Downlink Control Information, DCI, using a configured search space on Physical Sidelink Common Control Channel, PDCCH (Novlan: Figs 5-8, [0033]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 107, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - transmitting, to the RAN node, an indication of which configured group-shared UL resources that have been scheduled to which at least one UE within the group of UEs (Novlan: [0045]-[0046], [0055] UE 550A/local manager request more resources based on the aggregated BSRs from other UEs in the group and allocates resource to the UEs in the group).
Regarding claims 109, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - transmitting, to at least one UE within the group of UEs, the configuration configuring the at least one UE within the group of UEs with group-shared UL resources and SL resources to be used by the group of UEs, and wherein the configuration further indicates that the coordinator UE coordinates scheduling of the group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8; [0045]-[0046], [0060] UE 550a monitors BSRs from other UEs in a group and schedules them based on their BSRs).
Regarding claims 112, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - receiving, from the RAN node, allocation of group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], [0060], UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node and schedules other UEs in the group).
Regarding claims 113, Novlan teaches wherein the method further comprises: - receiving, from the coordinator UE, allocation of group-shared UL resources (Novlan: Figs. 5, 7 and 8, [0055], [0060] UE 550A local manager/coordinator, receives resources from the network device 510/RAN node and schedules other UEs in the group).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478