DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 11-13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by "Performance investigation of surface modified ceramic microfiltration membranes and the effects of ionic strength" to Daches.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 12, 16:
Daches teaches functionalizing a ceramic membrane in situ (i.e., in a reaction zone) using cysteic acid (2.3). The ceramic membrane is AAO having a pore diameter of 0.22 µm (2.2; Table 3). The membrane is connected to the filtration rig and 1M cysteic acid aqueous solution was circulated through the membrane for 12 hours at a temperature of 85°C (2.3). This process does not include any kind of pre-treatment of the membrane, such as a hydration pretreatment or an oxidation pretreatment.
Claim 11:
The membrane is tubular in shape (2.2) and crossflow (abstract).
Claim 13:
The cysteic acid functionalization is a neutral/zwitterionic molecule linked to the ceramic membrane through carboxylic acid groups.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over "Performance investigation of surface modified ceramic microfiltration membranes and the effects of ionic strength" to Daches in view of US 2017/0225128 to Votaw.
Daches is discussed above but does not teach a vacuum or treating one or more different porous membranes. However, Votaw does teach using a vacuum pump to pull a vacuum on the membrane with the hydrophilic solution [0058]. Although Votaw does find this process to be expensive, something does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior. MPEP 2123. Additionally, Votaw teaches the recirculating flowing design for treating plural different membranes [0064]. As the hydrophilic material is deposited onto the membranes, and the concentration of the hydrophilic material in solution decreases, additional hydrophilic material is added to solution [0073]. Votaw does not teach that the particular breakpoint for this addition is 0.5 mol/L. However, Votaw is optimizing for greater functionalization of the membrane [0072] and would have been motivated to keep the concentration of the hydrophilic material in solution high to accomplish this effort in a time efficient manner. Additionally, the concentration of hydrophilic material is an art recognized result effective variable and would have been obvious through routine optimization.
Claim(s) 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over "Performance investigation of surface modified ceramic microfiltration membranes and the effects of ionic strength" to Daches.
Daches is discussed above but does not teach an increase of flux by about 20% or a concentration of the cysteic acid in aqueous solution is 0.5-0.7 mol/L. However, Daches does teach that the flux is increased relative to the unmodified membrane (pg. 24, table 5) and that this increase in flux is attributable to the cysteic acid functionalization (pg. 6, abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tailor the cysteic acid functionalization in order to achieve the desired level of increased flux in an efficient manner.
Daches does not teach a concentration of cysteic acid other than 1M. However, differences in concentration or temperature will generally not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The selection of these parameters would have been obvious for achieving a sufficient level of functionalization in an efficient manner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/21/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 112, 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of co-filed claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further search.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759