Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/7/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 7/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17-18 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US20180046182A1 (“Joyce”).
Joyce adds the teaching of diagnosing a component failure and deciding for the autonomous vehicle to take over and maneuver to a stop to wait for service (Joyce [0054], [0086]). Joyce appears to, in most embodiments, ignore the passenger/user/driver, and in most instances not providing control opportunity for the aforementioned. In the event of a component failure (MRM request caused by a failure of the vehicle) the Joyce system determines the vehicle takes control authority and executes the MRM.
Yang (at least FIG. 6) would be able to teach the situation for determining for the vehicle to retain control authority in the event of a driver fault, even if the driver intervenes, and Joyce (as described above) would teach the situation for determining for the vehicle to retain control authority in the even of a vehicle fault, with no provisions for driver intervention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200307646A1 Kato et al ("Kato", previously cited) in view of US20180046182A1 (“Joyce”).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Kato teaches the limitations of the vehicle and method:
An autonomous vehicle (Kato abstract, [0030]) comprising: a sensor (Kato [0030]) which senses an environment around the vehicle and generates data related to the environment; a processor which monitors a state of the vehicle to generate data related to the state of the vehicle(Kato at least [0037); and a controller which controls operations of the vehicle according to the control of the processor (Kato [0030]), wherein the processor controls autonomous driving of the vehicle, controls the controller to perform a minimal risk maneuver according to a request for the minimal risk maneuver, (Kato at least the abstract: “vehicle control system…autonomous driving…stopping mode when an intervention detection unit…acceptance of a driving intervention request”, [0054]: “vehicle position recognition unit”)
Kato does not disclose, which Joyce teaches:
determine an entity of a control authority for the minimal risk maneuver based on characteristics of an event which requests the minimal risk maneuver, wherein when the event is caused by a failure of the vehicle, the processor determines the entity of the control authority for the minimal risk maneuver as the vehicle, and controls the controller to perform the minimal risk maneuver without transferring the control authority to a driver even though the driver intervenes. (Joyce at least the abstract, [0054], [0086])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kato with the aforementioned limitations taught by Joyce with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to manage a failure mode (Joyce [0001]).
As per claims 2 and 10, Kato in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Kato additionally teaches:
the processor controls the controller to perform a stop state management of the vehicle after completing the minimal risk maneuver. (Kato at least FIG. 3 ST22)
As per claims 3 and 11, Kato in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Kato additionally teaches:
the processor stops performing the stop state management of the vehicle when the driver intervenes while the stop state management is being performed, and gives the control authority of the vehicle to the driver. (Kato at least FIG. 3 ST24).
As per claims 4 and 12, Kato in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Kato additionally teaches:
the processor generates the request for the minimal risk maneuver when it is determined that there is an abnormality in at least one of a surrounding of the vehicle and the state of the vehicle. (Kato at least [0083]: “control unit executes the stop process when the driver has become unable to drive the vehicle… or when a failure in the vehicle control system is detected”)
As per claims 5 and 13, Kato in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Kato additionally teaches:
the processor receives the request for the minimal risk maneuver from the driver (Kato at least [0008-0009]: “notification interface…intervention request issued by the control unit to a driver…intervention detection unit…acceptance of the driving intervention request by the driver”) *here the driver (outside the processor) can request the intervention (minimal risk maneuver)
As per claims 6 and 14, Kato in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Kato additionally teaches:
the processor requests the driver to intervene, and wherein, when the driver does not intervene within a predetermined time after requesting the intervention, the processor generates the request for the minimal risk maneuver. (Kato at least [0012]: “driver is encouraged to accept the driving request in a timely fashion”, [0084]: “handover…prescribed time period”, FIG. 3 ST13) *Kato provides for a time period to allow for the driver to acknowledge the request before automatically intervening.
As per claims 7 and 15, Kato in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Kato additionally teaches:
when the driver intervenes within the predetermined time after requesting the intervention, the processor gives the control authority of the vehicle to the driver. (Kato at least [0084], FIG. 3 ST13)
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20190317495A1 ("Yang", previously cited).
As per claims 17 and 18, Kato in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Kato does not disclose:
the processor determines the entity of the control authority for the minimal risk maneuver as the driver when the request for the minimal risk maneuver is generated by the driver
Yang teaches the aforementioned limitations (Yang at least [0045-0046]: “When the driver is conscious and when the reliability of the control input is high, the control circuit 160 may determine to hand over the control authority. … when a probability of collision is low…
When the driver is unconscious or when the reliability of the control input is low, the control circuit 160 may prohibit the control authority transition. … the control circuit 160 may perform autonomous control according to a predetermined minimum risk maneuver”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kato with the aforementioned limitations taught by Yang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to “safely hand over control authority to a driver in the situation where the safety of the driver is ensured, by determining whether to hand over the control authority in consideration of a state of the driver and the reliability of a control input by the driver” (Yang [0086]).
Kato does not disclose, which Joyce teaches:
the processor determines the entity of the control authority for the minimal risk maneuver as the vehicle when the request for the minimal risk maneuver is generated by the vehicle. (Joyce at least the abstract, [0054], [0086])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kato with the aforementioned limitations taught by Joyce with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to manage a failure mode (Joyce [0001]).
Conclusion
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669