Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2023, 03/26/2025, 09/04/2025, and 12/22/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 8, 26, 30, and 37 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-12, 27-29, 31, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra et al (S. Mitra, G. Indiveri and R. Etienne-Cummings, "Synthesis of log-domain integrators for silicon synapses with global parametric control," Proceedings of 2010 IEEE International Symposium on Circuits and Systems, Paris, France, 2010, pp. 97-100, doi: 10.1109/ISCAS.2010.5537019., hereinafter Mitra) in view of Yoon et al (US 20160042271 A1, hereinafter Yoon).
Regarding Claim 1:
Mitra teaches
A spiking neural network comprising a plurality of presynaptic integrators, (Mitra [Page 97, section I, par. 2]: "Theoretical models of synaptic transmission have shown that a first order linear integrator with equal exponential rise and fall time is good approximation of the EPSC [9] (see Fig. 2(a)). Linear integrators can be implemented in VLSI with very few transistors when their exponential transfer function is considered.")
a plurality of weight application elements (Mitra [Page 97. section I, par. 1]: " In Fig. 1, the Synaptic weight essentially provides a local control over the gain of individual EPSC. This gain can be set by a constant voltage reference, or can change with the network activity, e.g. to implement synaptic plasticity [7]."; [Figure 1 caption]: "Each synapse in the array should have a mechanism for local control of their weights (from activity dependent modification) and also global controls for their gain and time constants.")
wherein a first group of weight application elements of the plurality of weight application elements is connected to receive the synaptic input signal from a first one of the plurality of presynaptic integrators (Mitra [Figure 1 caption]: "A cartoon of a synapse shows the generation of post-synaptic current (red) while receiving a pre-synaptic input (blue). Corresponding model of a VLSI synapse is shown below. Each synapse in the array should have a mechanism for local control of their weights (from activity dependent modification) and also global controls for their gain and time constants.")
wherein each weight application element of the first group of weight application elements is adapted to apply a weight value to the synaptic input signal to generate a synaptic output current, wherein the strength of the synaptic output current is a function of the applied weight value (Mitra [Page 97, section I, par. 1]: "Specifically, the EPSC generation block of Fig. 1 is responsible for generating the actual synaptic current, with a biologically realistic temporal dynamics, and an amplitude proportional to its synaptic weight.")
Mitra does not distinctly disclose
and a plurality of output neurons; wherein each of the plurality of presynaptic integrators is adapted to receive a presynaptic pulse signal which incites accumulation of charge within the presynaptic integrator, and generate a synaptic input signal based on the accumulated charge such that the synaptic input signal has a pre-determined temporal dynamic
and wherein each of the plurality of output neurons is connected to receive a synaptic output current from a second group of weight application elements of the plurality of weight application elements, and generate a spatio-temporal spike train output signal based on the received one or more synaptic output current
However, Yoon teaches
and a plurality of output neurons; wherein each of the plurality of presynaptic integrators is adapted to receive a presynaptic pulse signal which incites accumulation of charge within the presynaptic integrator, and generate a synaptic input signal based on the accumulated charge such that the synaptic input signal has a pre-determined temporal dynamic (Yoon [0029]: "The synapses 104 may receive output signals (i.e., spikes) from the level 102 neurons, scale those signals according to adjustable synaptic weights (where P is a total number of synaptic connections between the neurons of levels 102 and 106), and combine the scaled signals as an input signal of each neuron in the level 106. Every neuron in the level 106 may generate output spikes 110 based on the corresponding combined input signal.")
and wherein each of the plurality of output neurons is connected to receive a synaptic output current from a second group of weight application elements of the plurality of weight application elements, and generate a spatio-temporal spike train output signal based on the received one or more synaptic output current (Yoon [0032]: "The signal 108 may represent an input current of the level 102 neuron. This current may be accumulated on the neuron membrane to charge a membrane potential. When the membrane potential reaches its threshold value, the neuron may fire and generate an output spike to be transferred to the next level of neurons (e.g., the level 106). In some modeling approaches, the neuron may continuously transfer a signal to the next level of neurons."; (EN): a spike train is essentially a digital sequence of information not dissimilar to a binary sequence, and could have a sequence of repeated no spikes followed by a single spike)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Mitra and Yoon before him or her, to modify the circuits for implementing silicon synapses with biologically plausible temporal dynamics and independent global control over gain and time-constant of Mitra to include the method for configuring an artificial neuron as shown in Yoon. The motivation for doing so would have been to use the method of Yoon to generate spike trains that exhibit spatio-temporal aspects (Yoon [0032]: "The signal 108 may represent an input current of the level 102 neuron. This current may be accumulated on the neuron membrane to charge a membrane potential. When the membrane potential reaches its threshold value, the neuron may fire and generate an output spike to be transferred to the next level of neurons (e.g., the level 106). In some modeling approaches, the neuron may continuously transfer a signal to the next level of neurons”).
Regarding Claim 2:
Mitra teaches
The spiking neural network of claim 1, wherein each of the weight application elements comprises a weight application circuit comprising: a synaptic input receiver configured to receive the synaptic input signal from the presynaptic integrator and to generate a synaptic input current based on the synaptic input signal (Mitra [Figure 1 caption]: "A cartoon of a synapse shows the generation of post-synaptic current (red) while receiving a pre-synaptic input (blue). Corresponding model of a VLSI synapse is shown below. Each synapse in the array should have a mechanism for local control of their weights (from activity dependent modification) and also global controls for their gain and time constants."; [Page 97, section I, par. 1]: "In neuromorphic systems, a silicon synapse is typically implemented as a controlled current source that produces a post synaptic current (EPSC) upon receiving a pulsed input from a pre-synaptic neuron. Figure. 1 shows a cartoon of a synapse on top and its corresponding VLSI model below. Specifically, the EPSC generation block of Fig. 1 is responsible for generating the actual synaptic current");
a weight storage element configured to store the weight value (Mitra [Figure 1 caption]: "A cartoon of a synapse shows the generation of post-synaptic current (red) while receiving a pre-synaptic input (blue). Corresponding model of a VLSI synapse is shown below. Each synapse in the array should have a mechanism for local control of their weights (from activity dependent modification) and also global controls for their gain and time constants.");
a modification element configured to apply the weight value stored in the weight storage element to the synaptic input current to generate the synaptic output current (Mitra [Figure 1 caption]: "A cartoon of a synapse shows the generation of post-synaptic current (red) while receiving a pre-synaptic input (blue). Corresponding model of a VLSI synapse is shown below. Each synapse in the array should have a mechanism for local control of their weights (from activity dependent modification) and also global controls for their gain and time constants.");
Regarding Claim 3:
Mitra teaches
The spiking neural network of claim 2, wherein the weight value stored in the weight storage element is adjustable (Mitra [Figure 1 caption]: "A cartoon of a synapse shows the generation of post-synaptic current (red) while receiving a pre-synaptic input (blue). Corresponding model of a VLSI synapse is shown below. Each synapse in the array should have a mechanism for local control of their weights (from activity dependent modification) and also global controls for their gain and time constants.")
Regarding Claim 6:
Mitra teaches
The spiking neural network of claim 1, wherein the pre-determined temporal dynamic of the synaptic input signal that the presynaptic integrator generates is an AMPA, NMDA, GABAA, or GABAn temporal dynamic (Mitra [Page 97, section I, par. 1]: "At the same time, independent control of the time-constants is necessary to model different kinds of biological synapses, such as AMPA and NMDA.").
Regarding Claim 10:
Mitra teaches
The spiking neural network of claim 1, wherein the spiking neural network comprises a plurality of first groups of weight application elements, wherein each one of the weight application elements in each first group of weight application elements is connected to receive the same synaptic input signal from a respective presynaptic integrator, (Mitra [Figure 1 caption]: "A cartoon of a synapse shows the generation of post-synaptic current (red) while receiving a pre-synaptic input (blue). Corresponding model of a VLSI synapse is shown below. Each synapse in the array should have a mechanism for local control of their weights (from activity dependent modification) and also global controls for their gain and time constants.")
and wherein each first group of weight application elements is connected to receive a synaptic input signal from a different one of the plurality of presynaptic integrators (Mitra [Figure 1 caption]: "A cartoon of a synapse shows the generation of post-synaptic current (red) while receiving a pre-synaptic input (blue). Corresponding model of a VLSI synapse is shown below. Each synapse in the array should have a mechanism for local control of their weights (from activity dependent modification) and also global controls for their gain and time constants."; (EN): it can be inferred that each entry of the synapse array gets different pre-synaptic inputs from the integrators).
Regarding Claim 11:
Mitra teaches
The spiking neural network of claim 10, wherein the spiking neural network comprises a plurality of input neurons, wherein a respective one of the input neurons is connected to provide a presynaptic pulse signal to a respective one of the presynaptic integrators for providing a synaptic input signal for a respective first group of weight application elements (Mitra [Figure 1 caption]: "A cartoon of a synapse shows the generation of post-synaptic current (red) while receiving a pre-synaptic input (blue). Corresponding model of a VLSI synapse is shown below. Each synapse in the array should have a mechanism for local control of their weights (from activity dependent modification) and also global controls for their gain and time constants.").
Regarding Claim 12:
Mitra does not distinctly disclose
The spiking neural network of claim 10, wherein the spiking neural network comprises a plurality of second groups of weight application elements, wherein each second group of weight application elements is connected to provide synaptic output signals to a different one of the plurality of output neurons.
However, Yoon teaches
The spiking neural network of claim 10, wherein the spiking neural network comprises a plurality of second groups of weight application elements, wherein each second group of weight application elements is connected to provide synaptic output signals to a different one of the plurality of output neurons (Yoon [0032]: "The signal 108 may represent an input current of the level 102 neuron. This current may be accumulated on the neuron membrane to charge a membrane potential. When the membrane potential reaches its threshold value, the neuron may fire and generate an output spike to be transferred to the next level of neurons (e.g., the level 106). In some modeling approaches, the neuron may continuously transfer a signal to the next level of neurons.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Mitra and Yoon before him or her, to modify the circuits for implementing silicon synapses with biologically plausible temporal dynamics and independent global control over gain and time-constant of Mitra to include the method for configuring an artificial neuron as shown in Yoon. The motivation for doing so would have been to use the method of Yoon to generate spike trains that exhibit spatio-temporal aspects (Yoon [0032]: "The signal 108 may represent an input current of the level 102 neuron. This current may be accumulated on the neuron membrane to charge a membrane potential. When the membrane potential reaches its threshold value, the neuron may fire and generate an output spike to be transferred to the next level of neurons (e.g., the level 106). In some modeling approaches, the neuron may continuously transfer a signal to the next level of neurons”).
Regarding Claim 27:
Mitra teaches
The spiking neural network of claim 1, wherein the presynaptic integrator is configured to generate a synaptic input current for input to a plurality of the weight application elements (Mitra [Figure 1 caption]: "A cartoon of a synapse shows the generation of post-synaptic current (red) while receiving a pre-synaptic input (blue). Corresponding model of a VLSI synapse is shown below. Each synapse in the array should have a mechanism for local control of their weights (from activity dependent modification) and also global controls for their gain and time constants.").
Regarding Claim 28:
Due to claim language similar to that of Claim 1, claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above in the rejection of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 29:
Due to claim language similar to that of Claim 2, claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above in the rejection of Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 31:
Due to claim language similar to that of Claim 10, claim 31 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above in the rejection of Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 32:
Due to claim language similar to that of Claim 11, claim 32 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above in the rejection of Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitra and Yoon as applied to claims 1, and 28 above, and further in view of Benjamin et al (B. V. Benjamin et al., "Neurogrid: A Mixed-Analog-Digital Multichip System for Large-Scale Neural Simulations," in Proceedings of the IEEE, vol. 102, no. 5, pp. 699-716, May 2014, doi: 10.1109/JPROC.2014.2313565., hereinafter Benjamin).
Regarding Claim 4:
Mitra + Yoon does not distinctly disclose
The spiking neural network of claim, wherein the network further comprises a row spike decoder configured to supply the presynaptic pulse signal on the basis of a presynaptic input spike such that the presynaptic pulse signal is allocated to the presynaptic integrator on the basis of the configuration of the spiking neural network.
However, Benjamin teaches
The spiking neural network of claim, wherein the network further comprises a row spike decoder configured to supply the presynaptic pulse signal on the basis of a presynaptic input spike such that the presynaptic pulse signal is allocated to the presynaptic integrator on the basis of the configuration of the spiking neural network (Benjamin [Figure 16 caption]: "Transmitter and receiver architecture. (a) Transmitter: An interface (I) relays requests from spiking neurons (S) to a row arbiter (J) and dispatches the selected row’s spikes (S) in parallel while encoding its address (Y). Another interface (I) relays the spikes from a latch to a column arbiter (J) and encodes the selected column’s address (X). A sequencer (SEQ) directs latches (A) to deliver the row address, column address(es), and a tailword (T, generated by TB) to the output port. (b) Receiver: A sequencer (SEQ) directs two different latches (A) to load incoming row (Y) and column (X) addresses, which are decoded to select a row and one or more columns. These select lines are activated simultaneously, when the tailword (T) is received, delivering spikes to the row in parallel (S). The remaining latches operate autonomously (B), automatically overwriting old data after it has been read. Small discs symbolize combinational logic.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Mitra + Yoon and Benjamin before him or her, to modify the circuits for implementing silicon synapses with biologically plausible temporal dynamics and independent global control over gain and time-constant of Mitra + Yoon to include the method for a neuromorphic system for simulating large-scale neural models in real time as shown in Benjamin. The motivation for doing so would have been to use the method of Benjamin to create specific transistor circuits for spiking neuron processing at a scale that can produce relevant simulation results (Benjamin [Page 699, section I, par. 1]: " Large-scale neural models seek to integrate experimental findings across multiple levels of investigation in order to explain how intelligent behavior arises from bioelectrical processes at spatial and temporal scales six orders of magnitude smaller (from nanometers to millimeters and from microseconds to seconds). Due to prohibitively expensive computing costs, very few models bridge this gap, failing to make behaviorally relevant predictions”).
Regarding Claim 9:
Mitra + Yoon does not distinctly disclose
The spiking neural network of claim 1, wherein the output neurons are controlled by a neuron control signal such as to control the neuron dynamics.
However, Benjamin teaches
The spiking neural network of claim 1, wherein the output neurons are controlled by a neuron control signal such as to control the neuron dynamics (Benjamin [Figure 12 caption]: "Soma circuit. MEM models membrane time constant s (through Ilks), input current isin (through Ibks), and dendritic input vd(through Id; see dendrite circuit). QF models quadratic feedback v2s=2(through Ian). Kþ models high-threshold potassium conductance (through Ilkk and Ik1). Ref models reset conductance gres and refractory pulse pres (through Ilkref)"; (EN): it can be seen in the circuit diagram(s) that the various signals propagating through the circuits control the neuron outputs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Mitra + Yoon and Benjamin before him or her, to modify the circuits for implementing silicon synapses with biologically plausible temporal dynamics and independent global control over gain and time-constant of Mitra + Yoon to include the method for a neuromorphic system for simulating large-scale neural models in real time as shown in Benjamin. The motivation for doing so would have been to use the method of Benjamin to create specific transistor circuits for spiking neuron processing at a scale that can produce relevant simulation results (Benjamin [Page 699, section I, par. 1]: " Large-scale neural models seek to integrate experimental findings across multiple levels of investigation in order to explain how intelligent behavior arises from bioelectrical processes at spatial and temporal scales six orders of magnitude smaller (from nanometers to millimeters and from microseconds to seconds). Due to prohibitively expensive computing costs, very few models bridge this gap, failing to make behaviorally relevant predictions”).
Regarding Claim 13:
Mitra + Yoon does not distinctly disclose
The spiking neural network of claim 1, wherein the spiking neural network displays a range of pattern activity in use, comprising full synchrony, cluster or asynchronous states, heterogeneities in the input patterns, neurosynaptic elements spatio-temporal dynamics, non-linear spiking behaviour and/or frequency adaptability.
However, Benjamin teaches
The spiking neural network of claim 1, wherein the spiking neural network displays a range of pattern activity in use, comprising full synchrony, cluster or asynchronous states, heterogeneities in the input patterns, neurosynaptic elements spatio-temporal dynamics, non-linear spiking behaviour and/or frequency adaptability (Benjamin [Figure 19 caption]: "Simulating a million neurons. The neurons were organized into fifteen 256x256 cell layers, arranged in a ring, so the first and last layers are nearest neighbors. Each cell layer’s neurons inhibit neighboring neurons in its layer as well as in three neighboring layers to either side (the central layer’s connectivity is shown). Spike rasters (from a tenth of each layer’s neurons) reveal global synchrony, as expected from the network’s recurrent inhibition.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Mitra + Yoon and Benjamin before him or her, to modify the circuits for implementing silicon synapses with biologically plausible temporal dynamics and independent global control over gain and time-constant of Mitra + Yoon to include the method for a neuromorphic system for simulating large-scale neural models in real time as shown in Benjamin. The motivation for doing so would have been to use the method of Benjamin to create specific transistor circuits for spiking neuron processing at a scale that can produce relevant simulation results (Benjamin [Page 699, section I, par. 1]: " Large-scale neural models seek to integrate experimental findings across multiple levels of investigation in order to explain how intelligent behavior arises from bioelectrical processes at spatial and temporal scales six orders of magnitude smaller (from nanometers to millimeters and from microseconds to seconds). Due to prohibitively expensive computing costs, very few models bridge this gap, failing to make behaviorally relevant predictions”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11630993 B2 – Artificial Neuron For Neuromorphic Chip With Resistive Synapses
US 20210073622 A1 – Methods, apparatuses, and systems for in- or near-memory processing
US 9111224 B2 – a technique for neural learning of natural multi-spike trains in spiking neural networks
US 20140032460 A1 – A spike domain asynchronous neuron circuit
US 20120011091 A1 – techniques for power efficient implementation of neuron synapses with positive and/or negative synaptic weights
US 20050090756 A1 – a neural spike detection system
Bartolozzi, Chiara & Indiveri, Giacomo. (2007). Synaptic Dynamics in Analog VLSI. Neural Computation. 19. 2581-2603. 10.1162/neco.2007.19.10.2581. – experimental data showing how the circuit exhibits realistic dynamics and show how it can be connected to additional modules for implementing a wide range of synaptic properties
S. Tamura, Y. Nishitani, C. Hosokawa and Y. Mizuno-Matsumoto, "Asynchronous Multiplex Communication Channels in 2-D Neural Network With Fluctuating Characteristics," in IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems, vol. 30, no. 8, pp. 2336-2345, Aug. 2019, doi: 10.1109/TNNLS.2018.2880565. – we show that several asynchronous multiplex communication channels can be established in a 2-D mesh neural network with randomly generated weights between eight neighbors
/COREY M SACKALOSKY/Examiner, Art Unit 2128
/OMAR F FERNANDEZ RIVAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2128