DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 6/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0026382 (Yao), cited by Applicant.
Yao discloses
1. (Original) An optical sensor using ferroelectrics, comprising:
a substrate 85;
a first type semiconductor 42 stacked on the substrate 45; and
a second type semiconductor 41 in contact with the first type semiconductor 42 to form a heterojunction structure 416 ([0065]),
wherein at least one of the first type semiconductor 42 or the second type semiconductor 41 is ferroelectrics ([0065]).
Yao discloses
3. (Original) The optical sensor using ferroelectrics of claim 1, wherein the first type 42 is a p-type, the second type 41 is an n-type, and the second type semiconductor 41 has ferroelectricity ([0064]-[0074]).
Yao discloses
4. (Original) The optical sensor using ferroelectrics of claim 1, further comprising:
a first electrode 44 in electrical communication with the first type semiconductor 42, and
a second electrode 43 in electrical communication with the second type semiconductor 41.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0203381 (Rabkin).
Yao discloses
2. (Original) The optical sensor using ferroelectrics of claim 1, wherein the first type semiconductor 42 and the second type semiconductor 41 are vertically deposited,
Yao fails to disclose
and the first type semiconductor and the second type semiconductor are 2-dimensional (2D) semiconductor materials.
Rabkin teaches
An optical sensor comprising:
the first type semiconductor and the second type semiconductor are 2-dimensional (2D) semiconductor materials.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use 2-D semiconductor materials in Yao. The motivation would be to provide improved interface quality, reduced dangling bonds, and enhanced optoelectronic performance as taught by Rabkin ([0153]-[0155], [0169], [0206], [0225], [0247], [0281]).
Rabkin teaches (Table 2, [0226], [0227], [0246], [0264], [0267], [0276])
5. (Original) The optical sensor using ferroelectrics of claim 3, wherein the p-type 2D semiconductor material is a 2D material having a smaller bandgap than 3LWSe2 or WSe2, and the n-type 2D ferroelectric semiconductor material is α-In2Se3.
Rabkin teaches polarization ([0079])
This is essentially the functional consequence of using ferroelectric polarization.
6. (Original) The optical sensor using ferroelectrics of claim 1, wherein the optical sensor changes in photoresponsivity depending on a direction in which a bias is applied to the optical sensor, and is determined according to a carrier polarization direction in the semiconductor rather than the ferroelectrics.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ polarization in Yao. The motivation would be to obtain the known benefit of electrically tunable photodetection as taught by Rabkin.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2013/0069110 (Gray), 2015/0172556 (Hamada), 2016/0043242 (Jeong), 2025/0094380 (Mazed), JP Publication Nos. 6365839 (Takayuki), JP H056653 (Kojima).
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893