Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/28/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Chuang was disclosed in the IDS filed on 4/28/2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in claim 4, “the connecting element coupled to one of a first surface of the first member and a second surface of the second member” which must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in claim 6, “second surface of the first member coupled to housing via fasteners” which must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Chuang (U.S 2014/0065455 A1).
In regards to Claim 8, Chuang discloses a method of retaining each of a plurality of cells within a battery pack (Fig.1, #100), the method comprising: positioning a first end (Fig.1,#112) of each of the plurality of cells (Fig.1, #11) within a first set of through holes (Fig.1, #121) defined on a first member (Fig.1, #12) of a cell holder unit and a second end (Fig.1, #111) of each of the plurality of cells within a second set of through holes (Fig.1, #131) defined on a second member (Fig.1, #13) of the cell holder unit; applying adhesive via at least one groove (Paragraphs [0035-0036] and see annotated figure 4), the at least one groove defined at a first end of the first set of through holes (Fig.4, #121 has a groove at the first end of #121) and a second end of the second set of through holes (Fig.1-3, #131 has a second groove at the second end), and the at least one groove defined along an internal portion of the first set of through holes (Fig.4, #121 includes a groove along an internal portion of #121) and the second set of through holes (Fig.1 and 3, #131 includes grooves at the internal portion to properly secure cell #11 within the cell holder unit #100); curing of the adhesive applied within the at least one groove (Paragraphs [0035-0036], which discloses an adhesive composition is placed between the outer deck #122 and #123 to fill the sealed spaces between the cells and holes #121); and retaining each of the plurality of cells within the first and the second set of through holes of the cell holder unit of a cell retainer assembly (Fig.1-3, cells #11 are retained with #100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang (U.S 2014/0065455 A1) in view of Ryu (U.S 2019/0267684 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Chuang discloses a cell retainer assembly for a battery pack (Fig.1), the cell retainer assembly comprising: a cell holder unit (Fig.1, #100) within a housing (Fig.1, #17 in conjunction with #100 creates a housing) of the battery pack, the cell holder unit comprising: a first member (Fig.1, #12) having a first set of through holes (Fig.1, #121) adapted to receive and position a first end (Fig.1, #112) of a plurality of cells (Fig.1, #11) therein; and a second member (Fig.1, #13) coupled to a periphery of the first member (Fig.1-3), the second member having a second set of through holes (Fig.1, #131) adapted to receive and position a second end (Fig.1, #111) of the plurality of cells (Fig.1-3) therein; and at least one groove (Fig.4, #121 includes one groove, see annotated figure 4) formed at one of a first end of the first set of through holes (Fig.4) and a second end of the second set of through holes (Fig.1 & 3, #131 includes grooves to accommodate the second end of cell #11), the at least one groove formed along an internal portion of one of the first set of through holes (Fig.4, #121 includes a groove along an internal portion of #121) and the second set of through holes (Fig.1 and 3, #131 includes grooves at the internal portion to properly secure cell #11 within the cell holder unit #100), the at least one groove having a length lesser than a length of each of the first and the second through holes (Fig.4, the groove has a length smaller than the length of each opening #121 and #131) the at least one groove adapted to receive adhesive therein to retain each of the plurality of cells within the first and the second set of through holes (Abstract and Paragraph [0016 & 0036], which discloses an adhesive composition is placed between the outer deck #122 and #123 to fill the sealed spaces (spaces between the cell and holes #121/131) between the cells and holes #121).
Chuang fails to explicitly disclose: Cell holder unit disposed within a housing.
However, Ryu discloses: Cell holder unit disposed within a housing (Fig.2, #300/400 disposed within #200, as such the office notes that with the combination of Chuang in view of Ryu, the cell holder unit (as taught by Chuang) would be placed within a housing (as taught by Ryu) to protect the cells from external forces).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the cell holder unit (as taught by Chuang) would be placed within a housing (as taught by Ryu) to enclose the cells. By including cells within a housing, would protect the cells from damage caused by external forces such as water, dust, and/or other contaminants.
Annotated Figure 4 of Chuang:
In regards to Claim 2, Chuang in view of Ryu disclose the cell retainer assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the first set of through holes (Chuang Fig.1 and 4, #121) is defined between a first surface and a second surface of the first member (Chuang Fig.1 and 4, #121 are defined between a first and second surface of #12), and each of the first set of through holes is equidistant from each other (Fig.1 and 4, #121 are equidistant from each other).
In regards to Claim 3, Chuang in view of Ryu disclose the cell retainer assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the second set of through holes is defined between a first surface and the second surface of the second member (Chuang Fig.1, #131 are defined between a first and second surface of #13), and each of the second set of through hole is aligned in line with each of the first set of through holes (Chuang Fig.1, 3 and 6, #121 and #131 are aligned in line in order for each cell #11 to be properly positioned within #100).
In regards to Claim 4, Chuang in view of Ryu disclose the cell retainer assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of cells are interconnected to each other via at least one connecting element, the at least one connecting element coupled to one of a first surface of the first member and a second surface of the second member (Chuang Fig.1, #15 is connected to the plurality of cells #11 on the first surface (top surface) and coupled to the second surface of #13 through cells #11).
In regards to Claim 5, Chuang in view of Ryu disclose the cell retainer assembly as claimed in claim 1 comprises a cooling plate (Chuang Fig.1, #17) positioned adjacent to the second surface of the first member of the cell holder unit to aid in one of thermal conduction (Chuang Fig.1, #17 is adjacent to the second surface of #12 to provide thermal conduction, see paragraph [0038]), electrical isolation, and a combination thereof of the plurality of cells.
In regards to Claim 6, Chuang in view of Ryu disclose the cell retainer assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second surface of the first member of the cell holder unit is coupled to the housing via fasteners (Chuang, discloses in Fig.5, #12 second surface (top) coupled to Lid #17 and #13 via #30, as such the office notes that with the combination of Chuang in view of Ryu, the cell holder unit placed within the housing having a cover (as taught by Chuang in view of Ryu) would be secured via fasteners (as taught by Chuang) to hold the cells in place).
In regards to Claim 7, Chuang in view of Ryu disclose the cell retainer assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first and the second member are coupled to each other (Chuang Fig.1 and 2, discloses #12 and #13 are coupled via the respective protrusion and slots, see paragraph [0034]), via one of, but not limited to, welding, ultrasonic welding, and applying adhesives to form an integrated unit (Additionally, to the rejection set forth above, claim 7 is classified as a product by process claim, which MPEP 2113 notes "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698,227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir.1985), thus the limitation provided above is given no patentable weight since Chuang disclose first and second member #12 and #13 coupled to each other, see figure 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (U.S 2019/0372069 A1) – Discloses a cell holder unit comprising a first and second member having a plurality of holes aligned with each other in order to contain a plurality of cells.
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835