DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 17, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 8, 11, 15, 16, 19, 22, 25, and 26 have been amended.
Claims 12 and 27 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 15-16, 18-19, 21-22, and 24-26 are pending in this application.
Regarding the 101 rejection of claims 25-27, the amendments have cured the rejection. Therefore, the rejection of claims 25-27 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, 19, 22, and 25-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 16, 19, 21-22, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022/0295323 A1), hereinafter “Wang”, in view of Harada et al. (US 2019/0261347 A1), hereinafter “Harada”, further in view of Bai et al. (US 2020/0028652 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bai.
Re. Claim 1, Wang teaches:
A method for Channel State Information (CSI) reporting on protocol layer 2, (¶0006 Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for measuring configuration and reporting, which can realize the measurement and report of a L1/L2 beam for a non-serving cell.)
the method being performed by a wireless device, (¶0013 Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for measuring configuration and reporting, the method may be applied to at a UE side, as shown in FIG. 1,)
wherein the wireless device is served by an access network node by a serving transmission point (TRP) on a serving beam, (Fig. 1 - S11 teaches a UE receiving network configuration information [which would be transmitted from a serving cell/network node] & ¶0004 The NR also supports a measurement and report of a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam for a serving cell [i.e. would be a serving beam of the serving cell, as in the beam being used for active communication with the UE, and non-serving beams are considered as being potential beams for monitoring]. & ¶0014 In S11, the UE receives a network configuration information, the network configuration information includes a measurement target and a report configuration information, the measurement target can be used for a measurement and report of a Layer 3 (L3) beam or a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam, and the report configuration information can be used for a measurement and report of the L1/L2 beam. & ¶0017 In S12, the UE measures a non-serving cell based on the network configuration information to obtain a measurement result.)
and wherein the wireless device is configured with event conditions as to when to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node with respect to alternative TRPs (¶0021-¶0023 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. (1) a report configuration type, wherein the report configuration type includes an event triggering. The report configuration type may be used for triggering a terminal to measure and report. The report configuration type includes an event triggering in response to a certain condition being satisfied, the L1/L2 can be reported, which reduces overhead and complexity.)
and with reporting configuration as to how to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node, (¶0021 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. && ¶0024 (2) a report Quantity, wherein the report Quantity at least includes three options: a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator-Reference Signal Receiving Power (CRI-RSRP), a Synchronization Signal Block-Index-Reference Signal Receiving Power (SSB-Index-RSRP), and a none. && ¶0025 Wherein, there are three ways to configure the CSI-RS reference signal in NR. The CSI-RS reference signal can be configured with a periodic transmission type, or can also be configured with an aperiodic or a semi-persistent transmission type semi-statically through a high-layer signaling.)
and sending the CSI reporting to the access network node as a protocol layer 2 CSI report and in accordance with the reporting configuration, (Wang: ¶0038-¶0039 when a preset condition is satisfied, the UE may report the measurement result for the non-serving cell to a source cell… Further, the measurement result for the non-serving cell reported to the network by the UE may be carried by a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). [i.e. a MAC CE is strictly defined as being within the Data Link Layer (Layer 2) of the OSI model])
Yet, Wang fails to teach: the method comprising: obtaining CSI values by monitoring candidate TRPs and their respective beams in which reference signals of respective TRP and of respective beam are transmitted by the access network node; determining, based on comparing the CSI values to the event conditions for reporting of a TRP, that at least one of the event conditions for CSI reporting of the TRP is fulfilled;
However, in the analogous art, Harada teaches such limitations:
the method comprising: obtaining CSI values by monitoring candidate TRPs and their respective beams in which reference signals of respective TRP and of respective beam are transmitted by the access network node; (¶0034 The UE measures and reports a CRI-RS transmitted from each TRP [i.e. reference signals transmitted by access nodes] based on a configuration of the CSI process, and the network dynamically switches the TRP used for transmission and reception to and from the UE based on the reporting result & ¶0039 it has been studied for NR to perform measurement reporting for beam selection by using a CRI-RS (CSI measurement RS) or a Mobility Reference Signal (MRS) as an L1/L2 beam control method in a scenario that a cell includes a plurality of beams. [i.e. beam selection involves monitoring candidate beams] && ¶0042 it is considered that the UE measures and reports configured beam/TRP quality according to CSI measurement reporting, and the network dynamically switches a beam/TRP used for communication with the UE based on a CSI measurement reporting result to realize L1/L2 mobility.)
determining, based on comparing the CSI values to the event conditions for reporting of a TRP, that at least one of the event conditions for CSI reporting of the TRP is fulfilled; (¶0090 the UE may report information indicating whether or not an RSRP measurement result exceeds a threshold configured in advance in response to specifying information (e.g., CSI-RS resource configuration information and/or a scrambling ID) configured in advance. The information related to the threshold may be notified in advance by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI) or a combination of these.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Harada’s teaching of threshold based event conditions for CSI reporting because it would increase mobility of the UE. (see Harada ¶0077)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, pertain to at least one of: a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Bai teaches such a limitation:
and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, (¶0045 The 5G/NR frame structure may be FDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for either DL or UL, or may be TDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for both DL and UL. [i.e. FDD or TDD can be used]) pertain to at least one of:
a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold. (¶0092 At 1204, the UE detects a triggering event for providing CSI for the at least one beam. detecting the triggering event may include detecting a measurement of the signal that meets or satisfies a threshold [i.e. a change of best serving TRP due to a measurement meeting or satisfying a threshold]. The signal from the base station may comprise at least one of a CSI-RS, SS, PDSCH, PDCCH, or DM-RS. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting at least one of a RSRP or a CQI being below a threshold [i.e. a serving TRP becomes worse than a threshold]. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting an identification of a beam other than a serving beam that has a better quality measurement than the serving beam. [i.e. a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, could also be considered a change of best serving TRP])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang and Harada’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Bai’s teaching of event conditions for CSI reporting including a serving TRP becoming worse than a threshold. This modification would allow for the transmission of a CSI report to the base station upon occurrence of a triggering event. (see Bai ¶0043)
Re. Claim 2, Wang combined with Harada and Bai teaches claim 1.
Wang further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: receiving the event conditions (¶0046 the report configuration type may at least include an event triggering.) and the reporting configuration from the access network node. (¶0044 a network configuration information received by a UE [i.e. network configuration would be transmitted from an access network node] includes a measurement target and a report configuration information, & ¶0045 the report configuration information may at least include one selected from a group consisting of: a report configuration type, a report Quantity, a group-based beam reporting, and a measurement cell information.)
Re. Claim 3, Wang combined with Harada and Bai teaches claim 1.
Harada further teaches:
wherein the CSI values are obtained by measuring received power on the reference signals as received by the wireless device. (Harada: ¶0090 the UE may report information indicating whether or not an RSRP measurement result exceeds a threshold configured in advance in response to specifying information (e.g., CSI-RS resource configuration information and/or a scrambling ID) configured in advance.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang and Bai’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Harada’s teaching of CSI values being indicative of RSRP measurements as received by the wireless device, because it would allow more flexible control over the system (see Harada ¶0095)
Re. Claim 9, Wang combined with Harada and Bai teaches claim 1.
Harada further teaches:
wherein the CSI reporting is sent to the access network node as the protocol layer 2 CSI report and in accordance with the reporting configuration as long as at least one of the event conditions for the CSI reporting is fulfilled. (¶0086 The UE may be notified of at least one of a configuration of a (L1/L2 measurement reporting target) CSI-RS for L1/L2 measurement reporting and a reporting configuration in addition to CSI measurement by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). In this regard, the reporting configuration may include information related to a reporting periodicity or may include information related to an event for performing reporting (triggering).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang and Bai’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Harada’s teaching of sending the CSI report according to configuration as long as the event condition is fulfilled, because it would enable a continuous reporting trigger event based on multiple criteria creating a robust and flexible system. (see Harada ¶0086-¶0087)
Re. Claim 16, Wang teaches:
A method for receiving Channel State Information (CSI) reporting on protocol layer 2, (¶0006 Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for measuring configuration and reporting, which can realize the measurement and report of a L1/L2 beam for a non-serving cell.)
the method being performed by an access network node, (¶0014 In S11, the UE receives a network configuration information, the network configuration information includes a measurement target and a report configuration information, [i.e. although not explicitly mentioned, it is implied the UE would be receiving the network configuration information from a network node])
wherein the access network node serves a wireless device by a serving transmission point (TRP) on a serving beam, (Fig. 1 - S11 teaches a UE receiving network configuration information [which would be transmitted from a network node] & ¶0004 The NR also supports a measurement and report of a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam for a serving cell [i.e. serving beam of the serving cell, as in the beam being used for active communication with the UE, and non-serving beams being potential beams for monitoring]. & In S11, the UE receives a network configuration information, the network configuration information includes a measurement target and a report configuration information, the measurement target can be used for a measurement and report of a Layer 3 (L3) beam or a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam, and the report configuration information can be used for a measurement and report of the L1/L2 beam.)
the method comprising: configuring the wireless device with event conditions as to when the wireless device is to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node on a candidate TRP (¶0021-¶0023 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. (1) a report configuration type, wherein the report configuration type includes an event triggering The report configuration type may be used for triggering a terminal to measure and report. The report configuration type includes an event triggering in response to a certain condition being satisfied, the L1/L2 can be reported, which reduces overhead and complexity.)
and with reporting configuration as to how the wireless device is to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node; (¶0021 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. && ¶0024 (2) a report Quantity, wherein the report Quantity at least includes three options: a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator-Reference Signal Receiving Power (CRI-RSRP), a Synchronization Signal Block-Index-Reference Signal Receiving Power (SSB-Index-RSRP), and a none. && ¶0025 Wherein, there are three ways to configure the CSI-RS reference signal in NR. The CSI-RS reference signal can be configured with a periodic transmission type, or can also be configured with an aperiodic or a semi-persistent transmission type semi-statically through a high-layer signaling.)
and receiving the CSI reporting from the wireless device as a protocol layer 2 CSI report and in accordance with the reporting configuration. (¶0038-¶0039 when a preset condition is satisfied, the UE may report the measurement result for the non-serving cell to a source cell… Further, the measurement result for the non-serving cell reported to the network by the UE may be carried by a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). [i.e. a MAC CE is strictly defined as being within the Data Link Layer (Layer 2) of the OSI model])
Yet, Wang fails to teach: wherein the access network node comprises a plurality of TRPs, transmitting reference signals for each candidate TRP and for each of the beams;
However, in the analogous art, Harada teaches such a limitation:
wherein the access network node comprises a plurality of TRPs, (¶0025-¶0026 For NR, a scenario that one cell includes a plurality of Transmission Reception Points (TPRs) or a plurality of beams has been studied. In addition, the TRP is, for example, a base station, and may be referred to simply as a Transmission Point (TP) or a Reception Point (RP). FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating one example of a scenario studied for NR. FIG. 1A illustrates an example where a plurality of TRPs are connected to the same Base Band Unit (BBU))
transmitting reference signals for each candidate TRP and for each of the beams; (¶0034 The UE measures and reports a CRI-RS transmitted from each TRP [i.e. reference signals transmitted by access nodes] based on a configuration of the CSI process, and the network dynamically switches the TRP used for transmission and reception to and from the UE based on the reporting result & ¶0039 it has been studied for NR to perform measurement reporting for beam selection by using a CRI-RS (CSI measurement RS) or a Mobility Reference Signal (MRS) as an L1/L2 beam control method in a scenario that a cell includes a plurality of beams. && ¶0042 it is considered that the UE measures and reports configured beam/TRP quality according to CSI measurement reporting, and the network dynamically switches a beam/TRP used for communication with the UE based on a CSI measurement reporting result to realize L1/L2 mobility.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Harada’s teaching transmitting reference signals from network nodes for candidate beams, because it would enable the system to perform dynamic beam selection upon multiple possible beams, which creates a more robust network. (see Harada ¶0042-¶0043)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, pertain to at least one of: a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Bai teaches such a limitation:
and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, (¶0045 The 5G/NR frame structure may be FDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for either DL or UL, or may be TDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for both DL and UL. [i.e. FDD or TDD can be used]) pertain to at least one of:
a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold. (¶0092 At 1204, the UE detects a triggering event for providing CSI for the at least one beam. detecting the triggering event may include detecting a measurement of the signal that meets or satisfies a threshold [i.e. a change of best serving TRP due to a measurement meeting or satisfying a threshold]. The signal from the base station may comprise at least one of a CSI-RS, SS, PDSCH, PDCCH, or DM-RS. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting at least one of a RSRP or a CQI being below a threshold [i.e. a serving TRP becomes worse than a threshold]. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting an identification of a beam other than a serving beam that has a better quality measurement than the serving beam. [i.e. a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, could also be considered a change of best serving TRP])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang and Harada’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Bai’s teaching of event conditions for CSI reporting including a serving TRP becoming worse than a threshold. This modification would allow for the transmission of a CSI report to the base station upon occurrence of a triggering event. (see Bai ¶0043)
Re. Claim 19, Wang teaches:
A wireless device for Channel State Information (CSI) reporting on protocol layer 2, (¶0006 Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for measuring configuration and reporting, which can realize the measurement and report of a L1/L2 beam for a non-serving cell. & ¶0014 In S11, the UE [i.e. the wireless device] receives a network configuration information, the network configuration information includes a measurement target and a report configuration information)
the wireless device being configured to be served by an access network node by a serving transmission point (TRP), on a serving beam, (Fig. 1 - S11 teaches a UE receiving network configuration information [which would be transmitted from a network node] & ¶0004 The NR also supports a measurement and report of a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam for a serving cell [i.e. serving beam of the serving cell, as in the beam being used for active communication with the UE, and non-serving beams being potential beams for monitoring]. & In S11, the UE receives a network configuration information, the network configuration information includes a measurement target and a report configuration information, the measurement target can be used for a measurement and report of a Layer 3 (L3) beam or a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam, and the report configuration information can be used for a measurement and report of the L1/L2 beam.)
wherein the wireless device is configured with event conditions as to when to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node with respect to alternative TRPs (¶0021-¶0023 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. (1) a report configuration type, wherein the report configuration type includes an event triggering… The report configuration type may be used for triggering a terminal to measure and report. The report configuration type includes an event triggering in response to a certain condition being satisfied, the L1/L2 can be reported, which reduces overhead and complexity.)
and with reporting configuration as to how to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node, (¶0021 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. && ¶0024 (2) a report Quantity, wherein the report Quantity at least includes three options: a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator-Reference Signal Receiving Power (CRI-RSRP), a Synchronization Signal Block-Index-Reference Signal Receiving Power (SSB-Index-RSRP), and a none. && ¶0025 Wherein, there are three ways to configure the CSI-RS reference signal in NR. The CSI-RS reference signal can be configured with a periodic transmission type, or can also be configured with an aperiodic or a semi-persistent transmission type semi-statically through a high-layer signaling.)
the wireless device comprising processing circuitry, (Fig. 2 three different types of processing circuitry used)
and send the CSI reporting to the access network node as a protocol layer 2 CSI report and in accordance with the reporting configuration, (Wang: ¶0038-¶0039 when a preset condition is satisfied, the UE may report the measurement result for the non-serving cell to a source cell… Further, the measurement result for the non-serving cell reported to the network by the UE may be carried by a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). [i.e. a MAC CE is strictly defined as being within the Data Link Layer (Layer 2) of the OSI model])
Yet, Wang fails to teach: the processing circuitry being configured to cause the wireless device to: obtain CSI values by monitoring candidate TRPs and their respective beams in which reference signals of respective TRP and of respective beam are transmitted by the access network node; determine, based on comparing the CSI values to the event conditions for reporting of a TRP, that at least one of the event conditions for CSI reporting of the TRP is fulfilled;
However, in the analogous art, Harada teaches such limitations:
the processing circuitry being configured to cause the wireless device to: obtain CSI values by monitoring candidate TRPs and their respective beams in which reference signals of respective TRP and of respective beam are transmitted by the access network node; (¶0039 it has been studied for NR to perform measurement reporting for beam selection by using a CRI-RS (CSI measurement RS) or a Mobility Reference Signal (MRS) as an L1/L2 beam control method in a scenario that a cell includes a plurality of beams. && ¶0042 it is considered that the UE measures and reports configured beam/TRP quality according to CSI measurement reporting, and the network dynamically switches a beam/TRP used for communication with the UE based on a CSI measurement reporting result to realize L1/L2 mobility.)
determine, based on comparing the CSI values to the event conditions for reporting of a TRP, that at least one of the event conditions for CSI reporting of the TRP is fulfilled; (¶0090 the UE may report information indicating whether or not an RSRP measurement result exceeds a threshold configured in advance in response to specifying information (e.g., CSI-RS resource configuration information and/or a scrambling ID) configured in advance. The information related to the threshold may be notified in advance by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI) or a combination of these.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Harada’s teaching of threshold based event conditions for CSI reporting because it would increase mobility of the UE. (see Harada ¶0077)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, pertain to at least one of: a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Bai teaches such a limitation:
and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, (¶0045 The 5G/NR frame structure may be FDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for either DL or UL, or may be TDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for both DL and UL. [i.e. FDD or TDD can be used]) pertain to at least one of:
a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold. (¶0092 At 1204, the UE detects a triggering event for providing CSI for the at least one beam. detecting the triggering event may include detecting a measurement of the signal that meets or satisfies a threshold [i.e. a change of best serving TRP due to a measurement meeting or satisfying a threshold]. The signal from the base station may comprise at least one of a CSI-RS, SS, PDSCH, PDCCH, or DM-RS. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting at least one of a RSRP or a CQI being below a threshold [i.e. a serving TRP becomes worse than a threshold]. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting an identification of a beam other than a serving beam that has a better quality measurement than the serving beam. [i.e. a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, could also be considered a change of best serving TRP])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang and Harada’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Bai’s teaching of event conditions for CSI reporting including a serving TRP becoming worse than a threshold. This modification would allow for the transmission of a CSI report to the base station upon occurrence of a triggering event. (see Bai ¶0043)
Re. Claim 21, Wang combined with Harada and Bai teaches claim 19.
Wang further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the wireless device to receive the event conditions (¶0046 the report configuration type may at least include an event triggering.) and the reporting configuration from the access network node. (¶0045 the report configuration information may at least include one selected from a group consisting of: a report configuration type, a report Quantity, a group-based beam reporting, and a measurement cell information.)
Re. Claim 22, Wang teaches:
An access network node for receiving Channel State Information (CSI) reporting on protocol layer 2, (¶0006 Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for measuring configuration and reporting, which can realize the measurement and report of a L1/L2 beam for a non-serving cell. & ¶0014 In S11, the UE receives a network configuration information, the network configuration information includes a measurement target and a report configuration information, [i.e. although not explicitly mentioned, it is implied the UE would be receiving the network configuration information from a network node])
the access network node being configured to serve a wireless device on a serving beam by a serving transmission point (TRP), (Fig. 1 - S11 teaches a UE receiving network configuration information [which would be transmitted from a serving cell/network node] & ¶0004 The NR also supports a measurement and report of a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam for a serving cell [i.e. would be a serving beam of the serving cell, as in the beam being used for active communication with the UE, and non-serving beams are considered as being potential beams for monitoring]. & ¶0014 In S11, the UE receives a network configuration information, the network configuration information includes a measurement target and a report configuration information, the measurement target can be used for a measurement and report of a Layer 3 (L3) beam or a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam, and the report configuration information can be used for a measurement and report of the L1/L2 beam. & ¶0017 In S12, the UE measures a non-serving cell based on the network configuration information to obtain a measurement result.)
the access network node comprising processing circuitry, (Fig. 1 - S11 teaches a UE receiving network configuration information [which would be transmitted from a network node, and would contain the necessary processing circuitry for wireless communication])
the processing circuitry being configured to cause the access network node to: configure the wireless device with event conditions as to when the wireless device is to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node on a candidate TRP (¶0021-¶0023 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. (1) a report configuration type, wherein the report configuration type includes an event triggering… The report configuration type may be used for triggering a terminal to measure and report. The report configuration type includes an event triggering in response to a certain condition being satisfied, the L1/L2 can be reported, which reduces overhead and complexity.)
and with reporting configuration as to how the wireless device is to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node; (¶0021 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. && ¶0024 (2) a report Quantity, wherein the report Quantity at least includes three options: a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator-Reference Signal Receiving Power (CRI-RSRP), a Synchronization Signal Block-Index-Reference Signal Receiving Power (SSB-Index-RSRP), and a none. && ¶0025 Wherein, there are three ways to configure the CSI-RS reference signal in NR. The CSI-RS reference signal can be configured with a periodic transmission type, or can also be configured with an aperiodic or a semi-persistent transmission type semi-statically through a high-layer signaling.)
and receive the CSI reporting from the wireless device as a protocol layer 2 CSI report and in accordance with the reporting configuration. (¶0038-¶0039 when a preset condition is satisfied, the UE may report the measurement result for the non-serving cell to a source cell… Further, the measurement result for the non-serving cell reported to the network by the UE may be carried by a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). [i.e. a MAC CE is strictly defined as being within the Data Link Layer (Layer 2) of the OSI model])
Yet, Wang fails to teach: wherein the access network node comprises a plurality of TRPs, transmit reference signals for each candidate TRP and for each of the beams
However, in the analogous art, Harada teaches such a limitation:
wherein the access network node comprises a plurality of TRPs, (¶0025-¶0026 For NR, a scenario that one cell includes a plurality of Transmission Reception Points (TPRs) or a plurality of beams has been studied. In addition, the TRP is, for example, a base station, and may be referred to simply as a Transmission Point (TP) or a Reception Point (RP). FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating one example of a scenario studied for NR. FIG. 1A illustrates an example where a plurality of TRPs are connected to the same Base Band Unit (BBU))
transmit reference signals for each candidate TRP and for each of the beams; (¶0034 The UE measures and reports a CRI-RS transmitted from each TRP [i.e. reference signals transmitted by access nodes] based on a configuration of the CSI process, and the network dynamically switches the TRP used for transmission and reception to and from the UE based on the reporting result & ¶0039 it has been studied for NR to perform measurement reporting for beam selection by using a CRI-RS (CSI measurement RS) or a Mobility Reference Signal (MRS) as an L1/L2 beam control method in a scenario that a cell includes a plurality of beams. && ¶0042 it is considered that the UE measures and reports configured beam/TRP quality according to CSI measurement reporting, and the network dynamically switches a beam/TRP used for communication with the UE based on a CSI measurement reporting result to realize L1/L2 mobility.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Harada’s teaching transmitting reference signals from network nodes for candidate beams, because it would enable the system to perform dynamic beam selection upon multiple possible beams, which creates a more robust network. (see Harada ¶0042-¶0043)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, pertain to at least one of: a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Bai teaches such a limitation:
and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, (¶0045 The 5G/NR frame structure may be FDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for either DL or UL, or may be TDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for both DL and UL. [i.e. FDD or TDD can be used]) pertain to at least one of:
a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold. (¶0092 At 1204, the UE detects a triggering event for providing CSI for the at least one beam. detecting the triggering event may include detecting a measurement of the signal that meets or satisfies a threshold [i.e. a change of best serving TRP due to a measurement meeting or satisfying a threshold]. The signal from the base station may comprise at least one of a CSI-RS, SS, PDSCH, PDCCH, or DM-RS. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting at least one of a RSRP or a CQI being below a threshold [i.e. a serving TRP becomes worse than a threshold]. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting an identification of a beam other than a serving beam that has a better quality measurement than the serving beam. [i.e. a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, could also be considered a change of best serving TRP])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang and Harada’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Bai’s teaching of event conditions for CSI reporting including a serving TRP becoming worse than a threshold. This modification would allow for the transmission of a CSI report to the base station upon occurrence of a triggering event. (see Bai ¶0043)
Re. Claim 25, Wang teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program for Channel State Information (CSI) reporting on protocol layer 2, (¶0006 Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for measuring configuration and reporting, which can realize the measurement and report of a L1/L2 beam for a non-serving cell. & ¶0054 Those of ordinary skill in the art can understand that all or part of the processes in the above embodiments of method can be implemented by instructing relevant hardware through a computer program, and the program can be stored in a computer-readable storage medium)
the computer program comprising computer code which, when run on processing circuitry of a wireless device, (¶0054 and the program can be stored in a computer-readable storage medium. [i.e. the program would be stored on the storage medium as computer code])
the wireless device being configured to be served by an access network node by a serving transmission point (TRP) on a serving beam, (Fig. 1 - S11 teaches a UE receiving network configuration information [which would be transmitted from a serving cell/network node] & ¶0004 The NR also supports a measurement and report of a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam for a serving cell [i.e. would be a serving beam of the serving cell, as in the beam being used for active communication with the UE, and non-serving beams are considered as being potential beams for monitoring]. & ¶0014 In S11, the UE receives a network configuration information, the network configuration information includes a measurement target and a report configuration information, the measurement target can be used for a measurement and report of a Layer 3 (L3) beam or a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam, and the report configuration information can be used for a measurement and report of the L1/L2 beam. & ¶0017 In S12, the UE measures a non-serving cell based on the network configuration information to obtain a measurement result.)
wherein the wireless device is configured with event conditions as to when to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node with respect to alternative TRPs (¶0021-¶0023 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. (1) a report configuration type, wherein the report configuration type includes an event triggering… The report configuration type may be used for triggering a terminal to measure and report. The report configuration type includes an event triggering in response to a certain condition being satisfied, the L1/L2 can be reported, which reduces overhead and complexity.)
and with reporting configuration as to how to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node, (¶0021 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. && ¶0024 (2) a report Quantity, wherein the report Quantity at least includes three options: a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator-Reference Signal Receiving Power (CRI-RSRP), a Synchronization Signal Block-Index-Reference Signal Receiving Power (SSB-Index-RSRP), and a none. && ¶0025 Wherein, there are three ways to configure the CSI-RS reference signal in NR. The CSI-RS reference signal can be configured with a periodic transmission type, or can also be configured with an aperiodic or a semi-persistent transmission type semi-statically through a high-layer signaling.)
and send the CSI reporting to the access network node as a protocol layer 2 CSI report and in accordance with the reporting configuration. (Wang: ¶0038-¶0039 when a preset condition is satisfied, the UE may report the measurement result for the non-serving cell to a source cell… Further, the measurement result for the non-serving cell reported to the network by the UE may be carried by a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). [i.e. a MAC CE is strictly defined as being within the Data Link Layer (Layer 2) of the OSI model])
Yet, Wang fails to teach: causes the wireless device to: obtain CSI values by monitoring candidate TRPs and their respective beams in which reference signals of respective TRP and of respective beam are transmitted by the access network node; determine, based on comparing the CSI values to the event conditions for reporting of a TRP, that at least one of the event conditions for CSI reporting of the TRP is fulfilled;
However, in the analogous art, Harada teaches such limitations:
causes the wireless device to: obtain CSI values by monitoring candidate TRPs and their respective beams in which reference signals of respective TRP and of respective beam are transmitted by the access network node; (¶0034 The UE measures and reports a CRI-RS transmitted from each TRP [i.e. reference signals transmitted by access nodes] based on a configuration of the CSI process, and the network dynamically switches the TRP used for transmission and reception to and from the UE based on the reporting result & ¶0039 it has been studied for NR to perform measurement reporting for beam selection by using a CRI-RS (CSI measurement RS) or a Mobility Reference Signal (MRS) as an L1/L2 beam control method in a scenario that a cell includes a plurality of beams. [i.e. beam selection involves monitoring candidate beams] && ¶0042 it is considered that the UE measures and reports configured beam/TRP quality according to CSI measurement reporting, and the network dynamically switches a beam/TRP used for communication with the UE based on a CSI measurement reporting result to realize L1/L2 mobility.)
determine, based on comparing the CSI values to the event conditions for reporting of a TRP, that at least one of the event conditions for CSI reporting of the TRP is fulfilled; (¶0090 the UE may report information indicating whether or not an RSRP measurement result exceeds a threshold configured in advance in response to specifying information (e.g., CSI-RS resource configuration information and/or a scrambling ID) configured in advance. The information related to the threshold may be notified in advance by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI) or a combination of these.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Harada’s teaching of threshold based event conditions for CSI reporting because it would increase mobility of the UE. (see Harada ¶0077)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, pertain to at least one of: a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Bai teaches such a limitation:
and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, (¶0045 The 5G/NR frame structure may be FDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for either DL or UL, or may be TDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for both DL and UL. [i.e. FDD or TDD can be used]) pertain to at least one of:
a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold. (¶0092 At 1204, the UE detects a triggering event for providing CSI for the at least one beam. detecting the triggering event may include detecting a measurement of the signal that meets or satisfies a threshold [i.e. a change of best serving TRP due to a measurement meeting or satisfying a threshold]. The signal from the base station may comprise at least one of a CSI-RS, SS, PDSCH, PDCCH, or DM-RS. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting at least one of a RSRP or a CQI being below a threshold [i.e. a serving TRP becomes worse than a threshold]. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting an identification of a beam other than a serving beam that has a better quality measurement than the serving beam. [i.e. a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, could also be considered a change of best serving TRP])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang and Harada’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Bai’s teaching of event conditions for CSI reporting including a serving TRP becoming worse than a threshold. This modification would allow for the transmission of a CSI report to the base station upon occurrence of a triggering event. (see Bai ¶0043)
Re. Claim 26, Wang teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program for receiving Channel State Information (CSI) reporting on protocol layer 2, (¶0006 Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for measuring configuration and reporting, which can realize the measurement and report of a L1/L2 beam for a non-serving cell. & ¶0054 Those of ordinary skill in the art can understand that all or part of the processes in the above embodiments of method can be implemented by instructing relevant hardware through a computer program, and the program can be stored in a computer-readable storage medium)
the computer program comprising computer code (¶0054 and the program can be stored in a computer-readable storage medium. [i.e. the program would be stored on the storage medium as computer code])
which, when run on processing circuitry of an access network node, the access network node being configured to serve a wireless device on a serving beam by a serving transmission point (TRP), (Fig. 1 - S11 teaches a UE receiving network configuration information [which would be transmitted from a network node] & ¶0004 The NR also supports a measurement and report of a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam for a serving cell [i.e. serving beam of the serving cell, as in the beam being used for active communication with the UE, and non-serving beams being potential beams for monitoring]. & In S11, the UE receives a network configuration information, the network configuration information includes a measurement target and a report configuration information, the measurement target can be used for a measurement and report of a Layer 3 (L3) beam or a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) beam, and the report configuration information can be used for a measurement and report of the L1/L2 beam.)
causes the access network node to: configure the wireless device with event conditions as to when the wireless device is to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node on a candidate TRP (¶0021-¶0023 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. (1) a report configuration type, wherein the report configuration type includes an event triggering… The report configuration type may be used for triggering a terminal to measure and report. The report configuration type includes an event triggering in response to a certain condition being satisfied, the L1/L2 can be reported, which reduces overhead and complexity.)
and with reporting configuration as to how the wireless device is to provide the CSI reporting to the access network node; (¶0021 A report configuration information in a network configuration information received by a UE may include one selected from a group consisting of following information. && ¶0024 (2) a report Quantity, wherein the report Quantity at least includes three options: a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator-Reference Signal Receiving Power (CRI-RSRP), a Synchronization Signal Block-Index-Reference Signal Receiving Power (SSB-Index-RSRP), and a none. && ¶0025 Wherein, there are three ways to configure the CSI-RS reference signal in NR. The CSI-RS reference signal can be configured with a periodic transmission type, or can also be configured with an aperiodic or a semi-persistent transmission type semi-statically through a high-layer signaling.)
and receive the CSI reporting from the wireless device as a protocol layer 2 CSI report and in accordance with the reporting configuration. (Wang: ¶0038-¶0039 when a preset condition is satisfied, the UE may report the measurement result for the non-serving cell to a source cell… Further, the measurement result for the non-serving cell reported to the network by the UE may be carried by a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). [i.e. a MAC CE is strictly defined as being within the Data Link Layer (Layer 2) of the OSI model])
Yet, Wang fails to teach: wherein the access network node comprises a plurality of TRPs, transmit reference signals for each candidate TRP and for each of the beams
However, in the analogous art, Harada teaches such a limitation:
wherein the access network node comprises a plurality of TRPs, (¶0025-¶0026 For NR, a scenario that one cell includes a plurality of Transmission Reception Points (TPRs) or a plurality of beams has been studied. In addition, the TRP is, for example, a base station, and may be referred to simply as a Transmission Point (TP) or a Reception Point (RP). FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating one example of a scenario studied for NR. FIG. 1A illustrates an example where a plurality of TRPs are connected to the same Base Band Unit (BBU))
transmit reference signals for each candidate TRP and for each of the beams; (¶0034 The UE measures and reports a CRI-RS transmitted from each TRP [i.e. reference signals transmitted by access nodes] based on a configuration of the CSI process, and the network dynamically switches the TRP used for transmission and reception to and from the UE based on the reporting result & ¶0039 it has been studied for NR to perform measurement reporting for beam selection by using a CRI-RS (CSI measurement RS) or a Mobility Reference Signal (MRS) as an L1/L2 beam control method in a scenario that a cell includes a plurality of beams. && ¶0042 it is considered that the UE measures and reports configured beam/TRP quality according to CSI measurement reporting, and the network dynamically switches a beam/TRP used for communication with the UE based on a CSI measurement reporting result to realize L1/L2 mobility.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Harada’s teaching transmitting reference signals from network nodes for candidate beams, because it would enable the system to perform dynamic beam selection upon multiple possible beams, which creates a more robust network. (see Harada ¶0042-¶0043)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, pertain to at least one of: a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Bai teaches such a limitation:
and wherein the event conditions, when Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) is used, (¶0045 The 5G/NR frame structure may be FDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for either DL or UL, or may be TDD in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for both DL and UL. [i.e. FDD or TDD can be used]) pertain to at least one of:
a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, a change of best serving TRP, and a serving TRP becomes worse than an absolute threshold. (¶0092 At 1204, the UE detects a triggering event for providing CSI for the at least one beam. detecting the triggering event may include detecting a measurement of the signal that meets or satisfies a threshold [i.e. a change of best serving TRP due to a measurement meeting or satisfying a threshold]. The signal from the base station may comprise at least one of a CSI-RS, SS, PDSCH, PDCCH, or DM-RS. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting at least one of a RSRP or a CQI being below a threshold [i.e. a serving TRP becomes worse than a threshold]. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting an identification of a beam other than a serving beam that has a better quality measurement than the serving beam. [i.e. a non-serving TRP becomes better than a serving TRP, could also be considered a change of best serving TRP])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang and Harada’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Bai’s teaching of event conditions for CSI reporting including a serving TRP becoming worse than a threshold. This modification would allow for the transmission of a CSI report to the base station upon occurrence of a triggering event. (see Bai ¶0043)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang combined with Harada, Bai, and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0028843 A1), hereinafter “Sun”.
Re. Claim 8, Wang combined with Harada and Bai teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: wherein, in accordance with the reporting configuration, the CSI reporting is sent in a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) message
However, in the analogous art, Sun teaches such a limitation:
wherein, in accordance with the reporting configuration, the CSI reporting is sent in a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) message (¶0057 the present disclosure provides a method for CSI reporting. The method includes: configuring a UE with configuration information for CSI reporting; transmitting an RAR to the UE in response to a random access request transmitted by the UE; and receiving an uplink data channel carrying CSI and obtaining the CSI according to a predefined rule. && ¶0137 In another exemplary embodiment, the UE may map the CSI on the uplink data channel (e.g., PUSCH) by means of piggyback.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang, Harada, and Bai’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Sun’s teaching of sending the CSI reporting in a PUSCH message, because it allows the reporting of CSI through a physical layer which improves resource utilization by combining data transmissions for a more effective way to report channel information. (see Sun ¶0008)
Claims 10, 18, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang combined with Harada, Bai, and further in view of Tidestav et al. (US 2019/0281509 A1), hereinafter “Tidestav”.
Re. Claim 10, Wang combined with Harada and Bai teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: wherein the method further comprises: receiving a TRP usage command from the access network node in response to having sent the CSI reporting; and performing a TRP usage action in accordance with the TRP usage command
However, in the analogous art, Tidestav teaches such limitations:
wherein the method further comprises: receiving a TRP usage command from the access network node in response to having sent the CSI reporting; (¶0061 The NW configures the wireless device to measure and report DL MRS quality for multiple candidate links and to send measurement reports to the source access node using the first radio link reporting mechanism && ¶0063 When the source access node has determined the handover target link, which may very well be the recommended target node, the source access node initiates S46 a handover procedure to the handover target link. The network or source access node may also determine if any reconfiguration is required of the wireless device. If any such reconfiguration is required, or if the network has determined handover of the wireless device to another link than the recommended target link, initiating S46 a handover procedure to the handover target node also comprises to send a handover command to the wireless device, similar to the procedure in prior art.)
and performing a TRP usage action in accordance with the TRP usage command. (¶0064 If the network decides to perform a handover to the recommended target link and that no reconfiguration is required, the handover procedure may be initiated by a “go” command over RRC (or possibly a lower layer protocol) to the wireless device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang, Harada, and Bai’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Tidestav’s teaching of the access node sending a usage command in response to receiving the measurement reporting, because it would enable the network to make mobility decisions by using the measurement reporting from multiple candidate beams. (see Tidestav ¶0005-¶0006)
Re. Claim 18, Wang combined with Harada and Bai teaches claim 16.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: wherein the method further comprises: determining a TRP usage command for the wireless device based on the CSI reporting; and sending the TRP usage command to the wireless device.
However, in the analogous art, Tidestav teaches such limitations:
wherein the method further comprises: determining a TRP usage command for the wireless device based on the CSI reporting; (¶0061 The NW configures the wireless device to measure and report DL MRS quality for multiple candidate links and to send measurement reports to the source access node using the first radio link reporting mechanism && ¶0063 When the source access node has determined the handover target link, which may very well be the recommended target node, the source access node initiates S46 a handover procedure to the handover target link. The network or source access node may also determine if any reconfiguration is required of the wireless device. If any such reconfiguration is required, or if the network has determined handover of the wireless device to another link than the recommended target link, initiating S46 a handover procedure to the handover target node also comprises to send a handover command to the wireless device, similar to the procedure in prior art.)
and sending the TRP usage command to the wireless device. (¶0064 If the network decides to perform a handover to the recommended target link and that no reconfiguration is required, the handover procedure may be initiated by a “go” command over RRC (or possibly a lower layer protocol) to the wireless device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang, Harada, and Bai’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Tidestav’s teaching of the access node sending a usage command in response to receiving the measurement reporting, because it would enable the network to make mobility decisions by using the measurement reporting from multiple candidate beams. (see Tidestav ¶0005-¶0006)
Re. Claim 24, Wang combined with Harada and Bai teaches claim 22.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the access network node to: determine a TRP usage command for the wireless device based on the CSI reporting; and send the TRP usage command to the wireless device.
However, in the analogous art, Tidestav teaches such limitations:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the access network node to: determine a TRP usage command for the wireless device based on the CSI reporting; (¶0061 The NW configures the wireless device to measure and report DL MRS quality for multiple candidate links and to send measurement reports to the source access node using the first radio link reporting mechanism && ¶0063 When the source access node has determined the handover target link, which may very well be the recommended target node, the source access node initiates S46 a handover procedure to the handover target link. The network or source access node may also determine if any reconfiguration is required of the wireless device. If any such reconfiguration is required, or if the network has determined handover of the wireless device to another link than the recommended target link, initiating S46 a handover procedure to the handover target node also comprises to send a handover command to the wireless device, similar to the procedure in prior art.)
and send the TRP usage command to the wireless device. (¶0064 If the network decides to perform a handover to the recommended target link and that no reconfiguration is required, the handover procedure may be initiated by a “go” command over RRC (or possibly a lower layer protocol) to the wireless device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang, Harada, and Bai’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Tidestav’s teaching of the access node sending a usage command in response to receiving the measurement reporting, because it would enable the network to make mobility decisions by using the measurement reporting from multiple candidate beams. (see Tidestav ¶0005-¶0006)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang combined with Harada, Bai, and Tidestav, and further in view of Huang et al (US 2023/0261729 A1), hereinafter “Huang”.
Re. Claim 11, Wang combined with Harada, Bai and Tidestav teaches claim 10.
Tidestav further teaches:
wherein at least one of: when the TRP usage command pertains to changing the serving beam, performing the TRP usage action involves the wireless device to change the serving beam, (¶0045 in the disclosure, the terms ‘links’ and ‘beams’ are used interchangeably and when referring to a beam this represents one example of a link. && ¶0047 the triggering conditions are set so that the wireless device sends a report when a candidate link is deemed better than the currently serving link and a switch or handover to the candidate link should be considered. Thus, in essence, the wireless device recommends handover to a target link based on the mobility measurements, && ¶0063 The network or source access node may also determine if any reconfiguration is required of the wireless device. If any such reconfiguration is required, or if the network has determined handover of the wireless device to another link than the recommended target link, initiating S46 a handover procedure to the handover target node also comprises to send a handover command to the wireless device, similar to the procedure in prior art && ¶0064 If the network decides to perform a handover to the recommended target link and that no reconfiguration is required, the handover procedure may be initiated by a “go” command over RRC (or possibly a lower layer protocol) to the wireless device.)
when the TRP usage command pertains to switching radio access technology, performing the TRP usage action involves the wireless device to change radio access technology, (¶0006 Upon the reception of these measurement reports the network is capable of taking handover decisions, either to keep the UE in the cell, move it to another cell within the same frequency, another frequency and/or RAT. The link switch decision may then be taken by the NW considering a combination of link quality and network status parameters.)
when the TRP usage command pertains to changing bandwidth part, performing the TRP usage action involves the wireless device to change the bandwidth part, (¶0006 Upon the reception of these measurement reports the network is capable of taking handover decisions, either to keep the UE in the cell, move it to another cell within the same frequency, another frequency and/or RAT. The link switch decision may then be taken by the NW considering a combination of link quality and network status parameters.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang, Harada, and Bai’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Tidestav’s teaching of the access node sending a beam handover command in response to receiving the measurement reporting, because it would enable the network to make mobility decisions by using the measurement reporting from multiple candidate beams. (see Tidestav ¶0005-¶0006)
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: and when the TRP usage command pertains to changing rank, performing the TRP usage action involves the wireless device to change the rank.
However, in the analogous art, Huang teaches such a limitation:
and when the TRP usage command pertains to changing rank, performing the TRP usage action involves the wireless device to change the rank. (¶0052 a base station in a cellular RAN can assign a rank (and therefore, a number of data streams) for a DL transmission to a particular UE based on a rank indicator (RI) the UE transmits to the base station. The UE can determine this RI based on the antenna configuration (e.g., the number of transmit and receive antennas) and a measured signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR) on each of the receive antennas. The RI can indicate, for example, the number of layers that can be supported under the current channel conditions. The base station can use the RI along with resource information (e.g., the available resources and amount of data to be scheduled for the UE) to assign a DL transmission rank to the UE. & ¶0054 in TDD systems, a base station can assign a rank for DL MIMO transmissions based on an UL SINR measurement (e.g., based on a sounding reference signal (SRS) or other pilot signal transmitted from the UE), [i.e. assigning a rank] …From the CSI-RS, the UE can measure the channel quality across layers and resource blocks. The UE can then transmit a CSI report (including, e.g., CQI, RI, and PMI) to the base station for use in updating the rank and assigning resources for future downlink transmissions [i.e. updating as in changing rank if necessary].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang, Harada, Bai and Tidestav’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Huang’s teaching of the access node assigning or changing the rank of the UE in response to receiving the measurement reporting, because it would enable the network to make mobility decisions by using the rank indicator (RI) included in the measurement reporting. (see Huang ¶0052 & ¶0054)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang combined with Harada, Bai, and further in view of Guo et al. (US 2022/0286255 A1), hereinafter “Guo”.
Re. Claim 15, Wang combined with Harada and Bai teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: wherein, in accordance with the reporting configuration, the CSI reporting is sent in a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) message
However, in the analogous art, Guo teaches such a limitation:
wherein, in accordance with the reporting configuration, the CSI reporting is sent in a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) message. (¶0070 In the case of semi-persistent reporting, a device is configured with periodic reporting instances in the same way as for the periodic reporting. However, the actual reporting can be activated or deactivated by means of MAC CE. The semi-persistent reporting can be done on a periodically assigned PUCCH, or Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang, Harada, and Bai’s invention of a measurement configuration and reporting method, apparatus, and user device, to include Guo’s teaching of sending the CSI report in a PUCCH, because it enables the system to optimize transmission resources by sending the report as a smaller payload, opposed to using PUSCH which is used typically for larger payloads. (see Guo ¶0070)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417