DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Amended claim 1, 5-9, 11-17, 19 and 21-23 are under examination.
Claim 2-4, 10, 18 and 20 are cancelled.
Claim 1, 5-9, 11-17, 19 and 21-23 are rejected.
Withdrawn Rejections
The objection over claim 11 as set forth in previous office action has been withdrawn.
The 112 first and second paragraph rejections over claim 1-9, 11-17, 19 and 21-23 as set forth in previous office action have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12, line 12, recites “aquafaba” and should be “the aquafaba” since antecedent basis have been established in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Carter (US 2020/0046001).
Regarding claim 1, Carter discloses a packaged aquafaba (‘001, [0006]-[0007], [0012]) comprising ratio by weight of polysaccharides to protein 50:50 by weight (‘001, [0011], 50% PS : 50% protein), which is in range with the cited range. With respect to the new limitation of “the polysaccharides comprise at least 40% arabinogalactans by weight”; it is well known arabinogalactan is a polysaccharide that result of hydrogen bonding between two molecules arabinose and galactose. Carter discloses a content of the polysaccharides contains mainly arabinose, galactose (arabinogalactan) (‘001, [0022]), in an amount of at least 50% by weight (‘001, [0019]) which is in range with the cited range. Additionally, with respect to the new limitation of “wherein the polysaccharides comprise starch at no more than 30% by weight”, wherein the claimed range includes a zero amount of starch; Carter discloses the content of the polysaccharides contains mainly arabinose, galactose and glucose (‘001, [0022]). Carter does not teach starch in the content of the polysaccharides; hence Carter meets the limitation of zero amount of starch, and within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, Carter discloses the packaged aquafaba comprising a protein content 1.63% (‘001, [0050]) which is in range with the cited range of 12.5 g/L to 30 g/L (1.25% to 3.0%).
Regarding claim 9, Carter discloses the packaged aquafaba obtained from legumes including cannellini beans, chickpeas, black beans (‘001, [0015]-[0017], [0059], claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 8, 11-17, 19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter (US 2020/0046001).
Regarding claim 6, Carter discloses the packaged aquafaba comprising a polysaccharide content by weight of at least 15% (‘001, claim 2). Carter does not explicitly disclose a concentration of the polysaccharide; however Carter clearly teaches the polysaccharide content is controlled by adjusting parameters of process to obtain the packaged aquafaba (‘001, [0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the concentration of the polysaccharide in Carter’s packaged aquafaba as a matter of desired profile.
Regarding claim 7, Carter does not explicitly disclose a concentration of total solids; however Carter clearly teaches content is controlled by adjusting parameters of process to obtain the packaged aquafaba (‘001, [0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to achieve a desired total solids in Carter’s packaged aquafaba by adjusting parameters of process as a matter of desired profile.
Regarding claim 8, Carter does not explicitly disclose a pH of the packed aquafaba. pH values are known in packaged food product to maintain shelf life and deter microbes growth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated by maintain shelf life and deter microbes growth, including the cited pH range in Carter’s packaged aquafaba for suitable distribution to consumers.
Regarding claim 11, 12, 15, 17 and 22, Carter discloses a method of producing aquafaba (‘001, [0040]) comprising blanching legumes in water (soaking) and draining (‘001, [0043]) to separate blanching water from the legumes. Carter discloses heating and cooking the legumes and water in a kettle of pressure cooking vessel (‘001, [0042]) at a temperature range of between 100°C and 185°C for 45-140 minutes (‘001, [0044]), which overlaps the cited range of claim 11, 12 and 22. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Carter discloses the method comprising separating the water and the legumes in the kettle of pressure cooking vessel to provide the aquafaba (‘001, [0045]) and packaging the aquafaba (‘001, [0049]). Carter discloses a packaged aquafaba (‘001, [0006]-[0007], [0012]) comprising ratio by weight of polysaccharides to protein 50:50 (‘001, [0011], 50% PS : 50% protein), which is in range with the cited range. Carter discloses a content of the polysaccharides is a least 50% (‘001, [0019]) which is in range with the cited range. Additionally, Carter discloses the polysaccharides includes arabinose and galactose (‘001, [0022]). With respect to the new limitation of “the polysaccharides comprise at least 40% arabinogalactans by weight” as recited in claim 11 and 12; it is well known arabinogalactan is a polysaccharide that result of hydrogen bonding between two molecules arabinose and galactose. Carter discloses a content of the polysaccharides contains mainly arabinose, galactose (arabinogalactan) (‘001, [0022]), in an amount of at least 50% by weight (‘001, [0019]) which is in range with the cited range. Additionally, with respect to the new limitation of “wherein the polysaccharides comprise starch at no more than 30% by weight” as recited in claim 11 and 12, wherein the claimed range includes a zero amount of starch; Carter discloses the content of the polysaccharides contains mainly arabinose, galactose and glucose (‘001, [0022]). Carter does not teach starch in the content of the polysaccharides; hence Carter meets the limitation of zero amount of starch, and within the claimed range. With respect to claim 15, the heating of the water to boil (‘001, [0024]) is expected to stir the legumes within the kettle with an integrated stirrer (‘001, [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Carter discloses a ratio of the water to legumes in a range of 75:25 to 90:10 (‘001, [0043]), which overlaps the cited range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 14, Carter discloses a pressure of 100 to 6000 millibar (‘001, [0028]), which is in range with the cited range.
Regarding claim 16, Carter does not explicitly disclose cited time to soak the legumes in the water (‘001, [0042]), however it would have been it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust soaking time including the cited time period of the legumes in water as matter of preference to provide hydrated legumes.
Regarding claim 19, Carter discloses the method comprising adding acid additives to the aquafaba (‘001, [0053]).
Regarding claim 21, Carter discloses the method comprising the packaging is retort (‘001, [0049]).
Regarding claim 23, Carter discloses the legumes including cannellini beans, chickpeas, black beans (‘001, [0015]-[0017], [0059], claim 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts “…Carter does not disclose the critical requirement that at least 40% of the polysaccharides are arabinogalactans, nor that starch is limited to no more than 30% by weight. By contrast, the present application explicitly teaches that at least 40% of the polysaccharides should correspond to arabinogalactans, and that starch or glucose should preferably be present only in reduced amounts, with a maximum threshold of 30%. These features are not taught by Carter and establish novelty. The amended claimed invention is also not obvious in view of Carter. Carter does not identify arabinogalactans as a particular polysaccharide of importance, nor does it disclose that they contribute to stable foams by interacting with protein. The present inventors discovered this relationship and designed the aquafaba accordingly. Carter also does not recognize starch as detrimental, whereas the present inventors discovered that excessive starch releases glucose that impairs foam stability, and thus deliberately set a strict maximum of 30%. Carter presents an extensive list of protein and polysaccharide combinations, but does not identify any critical ratio. The present inventors selected the narrow range of 40:60 to 60:40 and demonstrated that this ratio produces aquafaba with superior whipping and stability. Finally, the present methods introduce two-stage heating and timely separation steps designed to minimize starch release and glucose content. Carter lacks any such teaching…”
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First, Carter clearly teaches the ratio by weight of polysaccharides to protein 50:50 by weight (‘001, [0011], 50% PS : 50% protein), which is in range with the cited range. With respect to the new limitation of “the polysaccharides comprise at least 40% arabinogalactans by weight” as recited in claim 1, 11 and 12; it is well known arabinogalactan is a polysaccharide that result of hydrogen bonding between two molecules arabinose and galactose. Carter discloses a content of the polysaccharides contains mainly arabinose, galactose (arabinogalactan) (‘001, [0022]), in an amount of at least 50% by weight (‘001, [0019]) which is in range with the cited range. Additionally, Applicant’s instant specification (published [0012]) discloses arabinogalactans are arabinose and galactose or a combinations, wherein Carter discloses the content of the polysaccharides contains mainly arabinose, galactose (arabinogalactan) (‘001, [0022]), as much as Applicant’s disclosure.
Second, it is noted starch and glucose differ in chemical structures, hence they are not interchangeable term. Applicant’s remarks is not commensurate with the scope of the claims. Additionally, with respect to the new limitation of “wherein the polysaccharides comprise starch at no more than 30% by weight” as recited in claim 1, 11 and 12, wherein the claimed range includes a zero amount of starch; Carter discloses the content of the polysaccharides contains mainly arabinose, galactose and glucose (‘001, [0022]). Carter does not teach starch in the content of the polysaccharides; hence Carter meets the limitation of zero amount of starch, and within the claimed range.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG T YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792