DETAILED ACTION
This is an Office action based on application number 18/034,801 filed 1 May 2023, which is a national stage entry of PCT/JP20201/036675 filed 24 October 2021, which claims priority to JP2020-185938 filed 6 November 2020. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Amendments to the claims, filed 1 May 2023, have been entered into the above-identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the second magnesium hydroxide" in lines 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and any parent claim.
For the sake of prosecution, the limitation is read as “a second magnesium hydroxide” as it is the first time the limitation is recited.
Claim 6 does not remedy the deficiency of the parent claim and is rejected under the same rationale. Note, should Applicant amend claim 1 to read “a second magnesium hydroxide”, claim 6 should be amended to clarify if the “second magnesium hydroxide” recited is the same as, or different from, the “second magnesium hydroxide” recited in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoda et al. (US Patent Application Publication No US 2010/0314573 A1) (Yoda) in view of Hiraoka et al. (JP2019015885A with citations taken from the provided machine translation) (Hiraoka).
Regarding instant claim 1:
Yoda discloses a heat conductive sheet in form of a multi-layered film of two or more layers (paragraph [0069]).
Yoda further discloses that the heat conductive sheet is formed from at least a photo polymerizable component consisting of a (meth)acryl type monomer and a heat conductive filler (Claim 1).
Yoda further discloses that the content of the heat conductive filler preferably from about 400 to about 1,000 parts by mass on the basis of 100 parts by mass of the photo polymerizable component (paragraph [0048]).
Yoda further discloses that the heat conductive fillers are inclusive of inorganic compounds [0047]).
The disclosure of “two or more layers” obviates the claimed plurality of layers including a first layer and a second layer stacked in contact with each other.
The disclosure of “the content of the heat conductive filler preferably from about 400 to about 1,000 parts by mass on the basis of 100 parts by mass of the photo polymerizable component” overlaps the claimed ranges for both the first and second thermally conductive filler (i.e., 500 to 1200 parts by mass and 200 to 400 parts by mass, respectively); however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Yoda further discloses that, preferably, the fillers are used while dispersed uniformly in the monomer composition (paragraph [0046]).
Yoda does not disclose the claimed dispersant.
However, Hiraoka discloses a composition comprising a colorant and a dispersant (paragraph [0009]).
Hiraoka further discloses that the colorant is inclusive of inorganic pigments (paragraph [0121]).
Hiraoka teaches that by including the dispersant, the colorant can be finely dispersed and the dispersed state can be stabilized (paragraph [0133]).
Hiraoka further discloses that examples of dispersants include urethane-based dispersants and polyester phosphate-based dispersants (paragraph [0141]).
Said “polyester-based phosphate” is construed to encompass, within its scope, a linear polyester having a phosphoric acid at a terminal.
Hiraoka further discloses that the urethane-based polymer dispersants have a weight average molecular weight of 1,000 to 200,0000 (paragraph [0144]). While Hiraoka does not disclose the weight average molecular weight of the polyester phosphate-based dispersant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to at least try to use one that has the same molecular weight as the urethane-based polymer dispersants based on their same intended use and effect. Furthermore, the molecular weight range disclosed by Hiraoka includes the range recited by the claims; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art before him or her, to include the dispersant of Hiraoka in the composition of Yoda. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the inorganic components of Yoda are finely dispersed and the dispersion is stabilized.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hiraoka with Yoda to obtain the invention as specified by the instant claim.
Regarding instant claim 2:
Yoda further discloses that the composition contains a plasticizers in addition to at least the photo polymerizable component, wherein the amount of plasticizer is generally and preferably about 40 to about 200 parts by mass on the basis of 100 parts by mass of the photo polymerizable component (paragraph [0062-0063]); however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding instant claim 4:
Yoda further discloses that the heat conductive sheet has an Asker C hardness of 5 to 25 (paragraph [0018])
Yoda further discloses that the heat conductive sheet has preferred heat conduction factors exceeding 2.0 (W/m·K) (paragraph [0092]).
It is noted that the ranges disclosed by Yoda overlap or include the ranges recited by the claim; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
It is further noted that Yoda’s disclosure of the heat conductive sheet compound having the disclosed hardness and heat conduction factors is construed to encompass an embodiment wherein at least the first layer has said hardness and heat conduction factors.
Regarding instant claim 5:
Yoda discloses a heat conductive sheet in form of a multi-layered film of two or more layers (paragraph [0069]).
The disclosure of “two or more layers” is construed to encompass an embodiment comprising at least a third layer stacked at a position in contact with the first layer on a side opposite to the second layer with the first layer interposed therebetween” as required by the claims.
Yoda further discloses that the thickness of the sheet can be changed in a broad range, but is preferably used at a thickness as small as possible from the aspects of producibility, handling property, and use for electronic appliances (paragraph [0068]).
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific thickness of the layers is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the producibility, handing property, and use for electronic appliances are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the overall thickness of the heat conductive sheet and the thickness of the individual layers of the heat conductive sheet, the precise amounts would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness of the individual to obtain the desired properties (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoda in view of Hiraoka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oya et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0291391 A1 (Oya).
Regarding instant claims 3 and 6:
Yoda further discloses that metal oxides and hydroxides are used as the heat conductive filler, said fillers are used in the form of powder and particles having spherical shapes, and the particle diameter of the filler particles can be changed in a broad range but is generally about 500 μm or below. Furthermore, Yoda discloses that relatively large particles and relatively small particles can be combined such that the small particles are arranged between the large particles and improve packing efficiency (paragraph [0046]).
Yoda further discloses that the heat conductive fillers are inclusive of aluminum hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, and alumina (paragraph [0047]).
Yoda does not disclose an amount of silicon carbide filler. Yoda does not explicitly disclose the particle size of the individual fillers. Yoda does not explicitly disclose the relative amounts of the individual fillers.
Regarding the amount of silicon carbide:
Oya discloses a thermal conducting sheet (Title).
Oya further discloses that the thermal conducting sheet comprises at least a low-hardness layer comprising silicon carbide and magnesium hydroxide dispersed in an acrylate polymer (paragraph [0055]).
Oya further discloses that the silicon carbide has an average particle size of 60 μm to 100 μm (paragraph [0013]).
Oya discloses that the silicon carbide is an abrasive and has a large particle size, which enables it to penetrate between layers and as an anchor, resulting in improvement of the adhesion between the layers.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary to add the silicon carbide of Oya in to the composition of Yoda. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the adhesion between the layers composed of the composition.
As to the relative amount of the silicon carbide, since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amount of silicon carbide is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the improved adhesion between layers composed of the composition is a variable that can be modified, among others, by the inclusion of an amount of silicon carbide, the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of silicon carbide to obtain the desired improved adhesion (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
As to the sizes and relative amounts of the first and second alumina, the first magnesium hydroxide, the aluminum hydroxide, and the second magnesium hydroxide:
Yoda discloses that the particle diameter of the filler particles can be changed in a broad range but is generally about 500 μm or below. Furthermore, Yoda discloses that relatively large particles and relatively small particles can be combined such that the small particles are arranged between the large particles and improve packing efficiency (paragraph [0046]).
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the sizes and relative amounts of the conductive fillers are not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the packing efficiency of the fillers is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amount and size of the individual fillers, the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amounts cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the size and relative amounts of the filler to obtain the desired packing efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Oya with Yoda in view of Hiraoka to obtain the invention as specified by the instant claims.
Conclusion
/TAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1788 01/21/2025
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788