DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sunada (JP 2003055409 A, attached with machine translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Sunada teaches chloroprene polymer made from polymerization of 2-chloro-1,3-butadiene (chloroprene) and other monomer(s) (claims 1, 4). The polymer may be a copolymer of 2-chloro-1,3-butadiene and 2-methyl-1,3-butadiene (isoprene) (p. 3, [0006]). The emulsion polymerization of the monomers may take place in the presence of sulfur (p. 3, [0007]-[0008]).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Sunada remains as applied to claims 1 and 4 above. Sunada further teaches sulfur content in amounts ranging from 0.2-2 parts by mass of sulfur to 100 parts by mass of the total monomer content (p. 3, [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, Sunada remains as applied to claim 4 above. Sunada is silent as to the THF-insoluble content ratio of the copolymer at the claimed temperature. Nevertheless, Sunada teaches a polymer having the same ingredients in the same amounts. Sunada’s copolymer will necessarily possess the same THF-insoluble content ratio characteristics as the claimed copolymer. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunada as applied to claims 1 and 4 above.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Sunada remains as applied to claims 1 and 4 above. Sunada further teaches that polymerization is carried out to a conversion of 50-100% (p. 5, [0020]). Sunada’s Example 9 combines 80 parts by mass of chloroprene and 20 parts by mass isoprene (approximately 75 mol% chloroprene and 25 mol% isoprene), reading on claim 2 (pp. 10-11, [0042]). Although Ex. 9 does not include sulfur, Sunada does teach adding 0.2-2 parts by mass of sulfur per 100 parts by mass of chloroprene-containing monomers (p. 3, [0007]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the sulfur of Sunada with the composition of Sunada’s Ex. 9 to arrive at the claimed invention, and to achieve a product with improved tensile strength, flex fatigue resistance, abrasion resistance, and dynamic characteristics, as taught by Sunada (p. 3, [0007]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunada as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Minorikawa (US 2012/0238678 A1).
Sunada does not restrict the average molecular weight of the THF solubles in the copolymer latex. In the same field of endeavor, Minorikawa teaches a chloroprene polymer latex with tetrahydrofuran solubles having a weight average molecular weight ranging from 300,000 to 1,100,000 (p. 2, [0027]). Like Sunada’s latex, Minorikawa teaches use of the latex as an adhesive (Sunada, p. 6, [0024]; Minorikawa, p. 2, [0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adopt the molecular weight range of Minorikawa for use in the composition of Sunada to arrive at the claimed invention, and because it is shown to be suitable in similar polymers with similar end uses. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunada as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Murata (US 11427701 B2).
Regarding claims 9 and 11-14, Sunada remains as applied to claims 1 and 4 above. Sunada further teaches that the polymer may be processed using molding techniques known in the art (p. 6, [0024]). However, Sunada is silent as to the specific molding techniques that may be used. Murata teaches a composition of 100 parts by mass of copolymer particles, 0.1-1.0 part by mass sulfur, 1-10 parts by mass metal oxide, 0.1-5 parts by mass vulcanization accelerator, and 0.1-5 parts by mass antioxidant (col. 2, lines 34-39). The composition may be dip molded and cured to form a medical disposable glove (col. 3, lines 64-66; col. 12, lines 21-28; col. 2, lines 47-49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the copolymer of Sunada and the composition, method, and glove of Murata to arrive at the claimed invention, and to obtain a product having excellent mechanical properties and flexibility (col. 2, lines 3-4).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunada in view of Murata as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Ogawa (US 2022/0073657 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Sunada remains as applied to claim 9 above. Sunada is silent as to use of an additional rubber in the composition. In the same field of endeavor, Ogawa teaches that it is known in the art to use 40-60% by mass isoprene rubber in combination with 40-60% by mass chloroprene rubber to form a dip-molded glove with breaking strength of 18 to 25 MPa. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the isoprene of Ogawa and the chloroprene copolymer of Sunada, to arrive at the claimed invention, and to achieve a product having at least the breaking strength of competitors' products (p. 1, [0006]).
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762