DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on a provisional application filed as 63/108,428 on 11/01/2020.
All claims are given the priority date of 11/01/2020.
Application Status
Receipt is acknowledged of amendment, filed 04/04/2025. Claims 8-10, 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of acknowledgment of the information disclosure statements filed on 11/07/2024 and 05/01/2023 have been received and all references have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1) states “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG."”
In the current case, the view numbers for Figures 1-7 are preceded by the word "Figure" instead of the abbreviation "FIG.".
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “wherein the pegylated anti-CS agent is an Aptamer”. It is interpreted that “anti-CS” is supposed to be “anti-C5”. It would be remedial to amend “anti-CS” to recite “anti-C5”.
Claim 8 recites the abbreviations for “iRORA” and “cRORA”. The abbreviations for the ophthalmological diseases, disorders and/or conditions should be spelled out in the first appearance of the claims and should be followed by the abbreviation in parentheses.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, the phrase "about" renders the claims vague and indefinite in that the metes and bounds of the phrase are unclear. The phrase is unclear in that “about” does not define what the amount of the composition would need to be administered to accomplish the desired effects. Also, the phrase “about” does not define how much variation in the dose is possible to accomplish the desired effects. It would be remedial to replace the phrase “about” with the specific dosage or range of dose required to accomplish effective treatment.
Claim 8 is vague and indefinite in that the metes and bounds of the phrase “high-risk drusen” are unclear. The phrase is unclear in that “high-risk drusen” does not define what characteristics, signs or symptoms of the specific disease, condition or disorder the subject would be required to have to be considered as having “high-risk drusen”. It would be remedial to replace the phrase “high-risk drusen” with “drusen”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10, 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Patel et al (WO 2015/006734 A1) as evidenced by Guymer et al (The American Academy of Ophthalmology, Vol 127, No. 3, March 2020; Pgs. 394-409).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, “iRORA” and “cRORA” are interpreted as atrophic stages of dry-type (non-exudative) AMD, related to geographic atrophy, named according to the affected anatomic layers on OCT (instant specification para. 0008).
Patel teaches the dry age-related macular degeneration is associated with the formation of drusen wherein the treating or preventing dry macular degeneration encompasses treating or preventing an abnormality of the retinal pigment epithelium and/or underlying vasculature, known as choriocapilaries, and wherein the examples of abnormalities of the retinal pigment epithelium include geographic atrophy, non-geographic atrophy, focal hypopigmentation, and focal hyperpigmentation [00144]. Patel teaches ocular dosages of compositions comprising anti-C5 aptamers, such as ARC 1905 and ARC 187, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, can range from about 0.1 mg to about 3 mg/eye wherein the composition is administered intravitreally [00308]. Patel teaches the pegylated anti-C5 specific aptamer is a compound, ARC1905 [00106 and 00115-00116] or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, where Aptamer = fCmGfCfCGfCmGmGfUfCfUfCmAmGmGfCGfCfUmGmAmGfUfCfUmGmAmGfUfUfUAfCfCfUmGfCmG-3T (SEQ ID NO: 26) wherein fC and fU = 2'-fluoro nucleotides, and mG and mA = 2'-OMe nucleotides and all other nucleotides are 2'-OH and where 3T indicates and inverted deoxy thymidine wherein each 20 kDa mPEG of the above structure has a molecular weight of about 20 kDa [00117-00118].
Guymer is only cited to show that the atrophic stages of AMD should be named according to the affected anatomic layers on OCT wherein the term complete RPE and outer retinal atrophy (cRORA) was proposed as an end point for geographic atrophy that occurred in the presence of drusen and was defined by the following criteria: (1) a region of hypertransmission of at least 250 mm in diameter, (2) a zone of attenuation or disruption of the RPE of at least 250 mm in diameter, and (3) evidence of overlying photoreceptor degeneration, all occurring in the absence of signs of an RPE tear (Page 397, Column 1). Guymer continues to show that the term incomplete RPE and outer retinal atrophy (iRORA) was introduced to describe a stage of AMD in which these OCT signs were present but did not fulfill all the
criteria for cRORA (Page 397, Column 1).
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Patel teaches the pegylated anti-C5 specific aptamer is a compound, ARC1905,
having the structure set forth below:
[00106 and 00115-00116].
Regarding claims 10, 17, 18 and 20, “iRORA” and “cRORA” are interpreted as atrophic stages of dry-type (non-exudative) AMD, related to geographic atrophy, named according to the affected anatomic layers shown on Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) (instant specification para. 0008).
Patel teaches the dry age-related macular degeneration is associated with the formation of drusen wherein the treating or preventing dry macular degeneration encompasses treating or preventing an abnormality of the retinal pigment epithelium and/or underlying vasculature, known as choriocapilaries, and wherein the examples of abnormalities of the retinal pigment epithelium include geographic atrophy, non-geographic atrophy, focal hypopigmentation, and focal hyperpigmentation [00144].
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALEXANDRA ROSE LIPPOLIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Jennifer Dunston/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1637